Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Planet Hollywood
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Part of the movie-star-owned worldwide chain, Planet Hollywood features American-style table service cuisine set against a backdrop of movie memoribilia. Located in Downtown Disney's West Side, look for a giant planet-shaped restaurant. You can't miss it!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 2.5 out of 52.5 out of 52.5 out of 52.5 out of 52.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 9 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 9 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   August 20th
Reviewer: sleepyjeff Portland, Oregon     August 24, 2007
Had a very late dinner here. Even though it was almost 11pm the place was packed. Our waitress was very friendly but went awol for long strethches. Our meals were fine but nothing to shout about. My son had the ribs which were huge and falling off the bone(a little fatty though). His best friend had a huge hamburger that was a little too big for his mouth. He had to dismatle it to eat it and in the end it looked like someone had attacked his plate. I had the Mahi mahi which was a little on the hot side but still good.

The atmosphere was hollywood(what else). Big screens on the walls displayed music videos and trailers(both new and old)......the sound was way too high for this 40 year old man.

Don't plan to go there again as it just isn't my cup of tea but there really is nothing wrong with the place.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5/5/07
Reviewer: tjrj Durango CO     May 16, 2007
Busy Saturday night-Cinco de Mayo. Here for dinner. DTD was jammed. Travel party of Mom(me) and DS 20 and 15. Host were turning people away or telling them that it was a 3 hour wait. Thank goodness we had ADR's. We still waited about 20 minutes for our table. We were seated in the center room right in front of Dorothy's dress from the Wizard of Oz. We ordered the house speciality of Chicken crunch(chicken fingers with Capt. Crunch cereal) for starters. Very moist and a sweet flavor. I had the Chinese chicken salad, ds15 the cheeseburger and ds 20 the tilipia. Portions were good size but not the huge amount that I had been led to believe from reviews on other sites. Everything was cooked to order; service was prompt. Dessert was a disappointment. They didn't have the creme brulee I had been wanting to try-but the key lime pie that we split was tangy and firm(not soggy).
It was loud with rock music and videos playing; lots of birthdays and proms being celebrated. Ds 20 was on the tv which he enjoyed. We liked the loud, party atmosphere as well as the movie trivia quiz and the movie props. Bill was about $80 with tip(I had one glass of house white wine). We used our travel package gift certificate as well as our AAA card. Decent value. Would I return? Yes-after we sampled other dining places in DTD or if someone requested this location(as my oldest son did).
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   December 6, 2004
Reviewer: DisneyDec Newark, Delaware     December 13, 2004
Meal: Dinner
Service: Good
Price: Moderate
Food: Good
Atmosphere: Good, but LOUD!

As part of our vacation package we had a $25 certificate for Planet Hollywood. We ate there at 9:30 on a Monday night. We waited about 10 minutes for our table, which was on the main floor of the restaurant. Our server was very courteous and was helpful to both my oldest daughter and my wife (who was holding my sleeping youngest daughter).

My wife and I had cheeseburgers, while my daughter had the prennial chicken strips and french fries. We also split a Banannarama smoothie. All items were very tasty. The total bill was about $38, but with the certificate we only paid $20 with tip.

The only problem I had was it was a bit too loud, as they had videos blaring through the restaurant.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   June 2004
Reviewer: sphallx2 Tupelo, MS     November 27, 2004
Wait time was awful but can be contributed to the time of year and no priority seating call-ahead. Food was below average. I had a regular hamburger while my husband had a sandwich. Both took forever to bring out - the service was okay. The atmosphere was nothing outstanding either. I would easily pass on this and do Rainforest or a character meal.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 2nd
Reviewer: kat408 Atlanta,Georgia     June 16, 2004
The Resturaunt had a nice atmosphere,and the food was average. The food was a little expensive. If you have teens this is the place to got to eat. An average meal was $10.00-$15.00.I wouldn't recommend it for small kids but anyone over the age of 9, I think they would really enjoy it. Keep in mind the best time to eat there is for Lunch. I ate there for lunch and dinner on 2 seperate days,and I found Lunch time was the best time to eat ther.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   February 2002
Reviewer: kansaskix KS     April 19, 2004
This is Not a good place for young children. They show very violent, graphic and gruesome movies constantly blaring on the TVs and we were always trying to figure out some way to distract our children from seeing it (impossible to avoid, though, as the screens are everywhere). I didn't like the atmosphere at all. The food was fine, but the service was terrible!
 
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   First of August 2002
Reviewer: ppmuse Sacramento, CA     January 06, 2004
After so many visits to WDW, we finally decided to eat at Planet Hollywood. No wait, instant table, it was nice. Unfortunately, it was the only thing nice about it.

Every time we go to WDW we get this package deal that includes three meals a day. Each meal, we get an appetizer, entree, desert, and two drinks. It's an awesome deal. The problem is, you aren't sure what on the menu justifies which part of the meal. So you have to ask.

This was lunch time, and usually for lunch, you don't want anything big. A burger and soda, and your on your way. That's what we wanted, but that's exactly what we didn't get. I ordered a burger, which was pretty good, and ordered no appetizer. Same with my wife, aunt, and my Dad. We weren't hungry. Amazingly, we got salads with our meal. First restaurant ever to serve salads with your burger. I don't like salad, I didn't order it, and I didn't want it. But my Aunt and father ate a little.

Half hour later, our burgers come out. They were good, it's pretty hard for someone to mess up a burger. Forty Five minutes later, sundaes come out. We didn't order sundaes, but apparently they too were included for the 4.95 burger price. Not shabby. Salad, burger and fries, and a sundae for 4.95. We were getting a steal. Unfortunately, no steal. And we weren't happy. When we got the bill, which they didn't want us to look at, they just wanted the card and to charge us, had the salad as the appetizer, burger for the entree, and the sundae for the desert. And we were there for 2 and a half hours. But they got there 15% tip.

What was even worse, we had reservations at five for Fulton's, and it was 2:00, and we were stuffed. That was the last time we mentioned the card.

As for the server, she didn't care too much about impressing us because she had the tip. She also lied to us. She also took 2 and a half hours to get us out of there. Plus, her conversation with one of the other waiters was a lot more important than the poor morons with the "card."

Server: 1.0
Atmosphere: 3.0 It was a nice area, it was just uncomfortable to walk around the restaurant looking at the things on the wall with other eating.
Price: 2.0
Food: 2.0
 
1 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   February 11, 2003
Reviewer: gatorgirl Farmingdale, NY     February 17, 2003
The wait for a table was very short, maybe because the food was terrible. I din't think it was possible to make really bad spaghetti & meatballs but here you have it. Bland and tastless. No one in my party finished their food
 
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 24, 2002
Reviewer: NoelSBurt Grand Blanc, Michigan     January 14, 2003
Our family met with my wifes' step-dad for dinner at Planet Hollywood. The building itself is a landmark that can't be missed. Outside large movie props are on display. Forest Gumps' Jenne (fishing boat), the President's helicopter, and some other planes and vehicles used in movies. Inside the structure is very large and open with 3 levels of eating areas. Hanging from the ceiling is Herbie(the love bug), the Hillbillies car and other large props. Along the walls are varoius other set pieces such as customes or items from films. There are also large video screens throughout running various music videos.

My wife and I ordered a salmon streak dinner and her dad had a steak. The kids ordered from the childrens menu and had chicken strips with fries and coleslaw. We
found the food to be very good. Our salmon was excellent and it was served with mashed potatoes and a fresh vegetable. We also had a very good shake to go along with our meal. The service was also good. Total price was around $70 for the 5 of us.

One thing that is to be noted is that it is very loud. The music and videos are turned up very loud making normal conversation hard to come by. This even when we were there and there were very few patrons. After eating we were encouraged to look at movie props on the other floors. This is fun and interesting, a great many things to see.

One additional tip, we did some shopping in the Planet Hollywood shop at MGM and the manager gave us a $10 off coupon for the restaurant. In short, if you want a quiet sit-down dinner I would not pick this place. If you like movie memorabilia, good food, and loud music this is the place to be.
 
13 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page