Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
T-Rex: A Prehistoric Family Adventure
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
This dinosaur-themed full-service restaurant features steak, pizza, pasta and other dishes.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 4 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 4 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   January 4, 2014
Reviewer: bkeith Dallas, TX     January 18, 2014
We ate at T-Rex for an early dinner in the middle of the afternoon. The T-Rex Cafe is a clone to the Rainforest Cafe in both food quality and atmosphere. We were located in a room that appeared to have a loud meteor shower every 30 minutes, and the lighting changed color every so many minutes. The best thing about the place was the service. My 6-year old son chose the pasta kid's meal and did not like it at all, but after I asked for a favor, the waitress gave him chicken tenders instead and made his day. In conclusion, the service was good, the prices were moderate, the food was average, and the atmosphere was loud and fun. We probably will not choose this restaurant again, but we were happy we tried it once. We'll head to Planet Hollywood if we want a fun and loud atmosphere with food in that price range.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   Monday, April 27, 2009
Reviewer: Kathie New Hampshire     May 31, 2009
We had an ADR for 5:30 pm and arrived shortly after and were seated in the Ice Cave. The atmosphere here was great, loud but fun. The food was good; my family of four opted for drinks and appetizers. We had two Sam Adams Summer Ales, two sodas, Colosso Nachos, Megalosaurus Mozzarella, T-Rexadillas, and Brachiosaur Brushetta ($65 plus tip). The service was horrible. Our server took our order and we never saw him again. Someone else brought us our food and when we were sitting with empty glasses and plates, the manager came by to check on us. We informed her that our server had been MIA for 45 minutes and we wanted our check please. Unfortunately, we were disappointed and will not be returning.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 24, 2009
Reviewer: sbmmickey Athens, GA     February 01, 2009
My experience at T-Rex was probably a bit different than most, because I dined alone and ate at the bar. I walked past the oodles of people waiting to get to the podium to sign up for what I estimated to be about a 2 hour wait and went straight to the bar. I sat down and was greeted by a very nice bartender named JB. I asked him what was good and he had several recommendations.
I ended up ordering an alcoholic beverage with a name I can't remember, but it was very good, and the Colosso Nachos, which were on the appetizer menu but I think that 2 or 3 people could easily share them as a meal.
The nachos were excellent and JB was very attentive even though it was crowded.
The restaurant itself was nicely themed, and I had heard that it was very loud in there, but I didn't experience that at all. I saw the meteor shower go off a couple of times, but either they turned it down or sitting at the bar made it not so loud.

The gift shop was also very crowded but I walked through it. There was a lot of dinosaur-themed merchandise other than the Build a Dino, and there was an area outside much like the dig site at the Boneyard at Disney's Animal Kingdom.

I would eat at T-Rex again but would not wait more than 15-20 minutes to do so, especially if I was traveling with a small crowd and could eat at the bar.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   11/30/2008
Reviewer: Ripley68 Huntsville, AL     December 10, 2008
Took family here on arrival day to get into spirit since couldn't get a character meal reservation. The decor is very cool, though I was disappointed they didn't hide the projectors and other machinery very well. The coolest room to sit in would probably be the ice cave. It is usually blue, but changes to red when the comet crash happens. I think it was purple sometimes too. The mammoths are kind of cheesy looking. The dino room or jungle room looked pretty cool too. We were in the lava room or geological room or something like that. The restaurant is VERY loud, you cannot hear the person across from you. It is also smaller than Rainforest Cafe.

Service was okay, not bad, not good. I ordered an oriental type salad and it tasted great, but was obviously made from a bag of shredded iceberg lettuce. Husband got a chicken dish and wasn't thrilled with it, didn't hate it, just wasn't impressed. Kids meal choices are your typical choices. Son got a hamburger and hate half of it. Cant' really say if he liked it or not.

Son really liked the atmosphere and surprisingly didn't get scared when the comet crash went off, though several other children did. We were right under where they project it, so it was kind of cool. I guess son didn't think too much of the restaurant though because he didn't ask to go back.

The best part of the whole experience was the build a dino. The staff were very nice and outgoing and really helped us with decisions and things.
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page