Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Wolfgang Puck Express
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Marketplace scaled-down version of the West Side location, this cafeteria-styled restaurant features pasta and pizza house specialties.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 9 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 9 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1/13/08, 1/18/08, 3/11/08
Reviewer: csuwyn Sacramento, CA     October 20, 2008
The Westside location of Wolfgang Puck Express ranks right up there with Flame Tree BBQ as the top counter service meal in all of WDW. The first time we went was our first night getting in to WDW. We stayed at Old Key West (which we highly recommend) and cruised on over to Downtown Disney. After walking all of downtown, we decided to see if our Disney Dining Plan worked, so we stopped in to Wolfgang Puck Express. The decor of place left much to be desired, and the seating was limited, but luckily we're from California, so our times were off and we didn't eat dinner until 10 pm, so we easily found a spot. Anyway, back to the real reason I'm writing this review, the food! My wife, wanting to get the most out of the dining plan, ordered the most expensive thing on the menu, the Madcadamia Nut Crusted Chicken Breat. I, not thinking about it monetarily, ordered a 4 cheese pizza. The pizza was good, but paled in comparison to the chicken. Two chicken breasts, on top of a heapingly delicious pile of mashed potatoes with some wonderful sauce (kind of reminded me of a mango chutney, or something like that). Not only that, with the meal plan, we also each got a drink and a dessert, my wife chose the carrot cake, which was so-so, and I chose the key lime pie, it was delicious. The service was also superb, with the cashier really helping us out on how the dining plan worked, and making suggestions for us. This restaurant was so good, we decided to go back one more time on that first trip, and we went again this last trip. Both of those times we each ordered the chicken. Which is probably what we'll order when we make our trip this January.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   05/11/07
Reviewer: tjrj Durango CO     May 24, 2007
Had dinner at the Marketplace location. A late dinner-it was about 8pm when we arrived. Location was busy. Saw a table outside and had ds 15 grab it-he already knew that he wanted pepperoni pizza. ds 20 and I, waited in line to order. Line moved quickly. Only waited about 5-10 minutes. Ds 20 was disappointed that this location did not have sushi like he had previously at the West Side location. He chose the 4 cheese pizza instead. Again, large portion-filled a large size dinner plate. Both pizzas were crunchy with lots of toppings. I chose the asian chicken salad-asian style greens, spring peas, crunchy noodles, grilled chicken with honey mustard dressing-which I asked for and received on the side. Delicious and way too much to finish.

For dessert the choices were brownie, cookie or creme brulee. Each of us chose something different-the boys took their pre-wrapped desserts to go and shared the creme brulee that I ordered. Server brought the creme brulee with our entrees so it sat while we ate our entrees. Still had excellent vanilla flavor but the top wasn't as crunchy as I'd have liked.

Bill was approximately $47 for three adults. IMO excellent use of cs credit on the dining plan. Again, I liked that the servers bring the food to your table. It was a warm evening so it was nice to sit outside-I could see sitting outside being a problem on a hot summer day though. If possible, have someone look for a table while others in the party order.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 9, 2007
Reviewer: tjrj Durango CO     May 21, 2007
This review concerns the location on West Side-across the street from DisneyQuest. I'll be submitting a review for the Marketplace location at a later date as we ate at both. My sons(15 & 20) and I split an entree-along with additions of sushi(oldest son) and extra drinks. We were on the DDP. Wanted a substantial snack at 4pm to tide us over to our dinner adr at 8pm. We were the only ones at this location-definitely pixie dust timing as the seating is quite limited. Ordered a 3 cheese pizza and for dessert was able to chose a brownie, cookie or any dessert in the cooler(offerings were cheesecake, key lime pie, and a frosted chocolate cake). DS20 throughly enjoyed his sushi-said it was fresh and prepared perfectly. 3 cheese pizza was delicious. Size was overflowing a restaurant size dinner plate. Crunchy yet tender crust and the different cheeses complimented perfectly. For dessert we chose the key lime pie-tangy wo being soggy and a perfect sized portion for sharing.
Really liked that it was "real" silverware and sturdy plates rather than the plastic and paper that we had grown used to at counterservice places throughout the week. Also liked that the food was brought to you rather than having to balance trays with drinks, silverware, food etc. As stated before, seating is VERY limited here-try to dine at off times or send one person to scout a table. Had no problems or attitude from the server that we were sharing on the DDP. He was helpful and friendly when asked questions.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 3, 2007
Reviewer: TinaMouse Twin Cities, MN     March 03, 2007
Stopped into this restaurant when my fellow travelers decided to stay into for the night and I chose to venture out. I arrived for a mid-evening dinner (around 8:00). The restaurant was toward the end (bus line end) of Downtown Disney and was easy to find. The outside eating area was covered and during the meal, the workers brought out heating lamps to warm the area.

The ordering area was congested as most guests, including me, seemed not to have been there before. The cashiers did what they could to move us along, but it was a bit unnerving.

I ordered a BBQ chicken quesadilla. It was quite good. It had BBQ chicken, cheddar, and mozzarella in the inside. After it was grilled it was topped with more BBQ sauce and perhaps a sour-cream-type sauce. It was served with a delicious pico de gallo.

With my drink, the total cost was around $9.00.

After you pay, you receive a numbered card which identifies you to the food runners. They bring you your food. They also get refills and to-go boxes for you. Because of all of this extra attention, I was unsure if I was supposed to tip them. I did not, after looking around the restaurant when others left.

The portion was quite generous. I only ate about 1/3 of the quesadilla (about the size of a small pizza); I brought the rest back to the hotel and the other two travelers ate it as a snack.

I would certainly go back; I will be better prepared for the next visit. I could see how this restaurant could be quite congested during peak visit time, so plan accordingly.

Taste=5 planets
Value=5 planets
Atmosphere=3 planets
Service=4 planets
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   October 3, 2006
Reviewer: lisaboo Sacramento, CA     October 18, 2006
We stopped in here while shopping at DTD to split a lunch on the dining plan. The manager did not seem too happy that we were splitting a meal, whereas all of the Disney run counter-service restaurants had no problem with this. We had the lasagne with focchia bread, a drink and cookie for dessert. The lasagne and bread was good but the drink size was very small and the cookie was the worst dessert value on the dining plan. (The only choice was a cookie or brownie.) The dining area was nothing special and we felt like we were watched the entire time by the not-so-happy manager. All-in-all the food was good but I would not return due to the treatment and poor value.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   OCT 2005
Reviewer: ChristianT (sincat@hotmail.co.uk) Lancashire England     March 31, 2006
been using the express for around seven years now always had a good meals, can sometimes be busy in the hight of summer but isnt everywhere? the Chicken and Potatoes are wonderful and if you can manage it try the Foccia Bread, children often shared when they were younger as the portions were so large, good quality reasonably priced food worth a visit.
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   Jan 12 2006
Reviewer: schauerte Central Florida     January 27, 2006
I have been a fan of this location since opening.

It is sad to see a vast decline in quality, with a huge increase in prices.
The welcoming, homelike atmosphere is gone.
This seems due to the fact that Puck sold the restaurant to Levy Restaurants (specialists in sports stadium foods).

A simple childs Mac and Cheese or grilled cheese sandwich should NOT cost $6 each!
My adult lunch price was $18 for a greasy chicken sandwich & one bottled domestic beer.
Two (used looking) dry jalapeno peppers garnished; not even a pickle!

Dirty plates were seen in the reception area, and the men's room was filthy. The flatware was clean; but salt and pepper shakers or packets were nowhere to be found.

I have NO plans to return....
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   September 23, 2002
Reviewer: Pat_Elliott (patelliott@hotmail.com) State College, PA     April 22, 2003
We dropped in here almost by accident due to lines at Rainforest Cafe. The prices were reasonable, and the pizza was, without being dramatic, the best we've ever tasted. Limited seating was available, which would have been a bigger issue if there had been a few more people there. We each had pizzas; mine was a sausage, pepperoni and onion, wife's was BBQ chicken. Mine was excellent, but the BBQ pie was very unique. We enjoyed it so much we ordered one to go for dinner at the hotel! We also ordered Chicken Caesar Penne and Mediterranean Pasta as side dishes. Our total bill was $40 with two sodas, and that bought us more lunch than we could eat, and a pizza and leftover pasta for a light by-the-pool dinner. I enjoyed the place, I'd drop by again. I wouldn't call it "Magic" in any way, just real good food at a reasonable price.
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   February 2002
Reviewer: hilaryc Cambridge,England     July 23, 2002
We stopped here for a light lunch! Decided on home made pizzas fresh from the oven these were delicious. We did think about the chicken and mash but it was huge. I have never seen a whole chicken each served before. This came on a pile of mashed potatoes and covered in gravy. Im sure it could have fed a family of four.

Good value for money if you want a quick unfancy but tasty bite.
 
11 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page