Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Hollywood Brown Derby
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Elegant recreation of the famed West Coast eatery. Open for lunch and dinner, this table service restaurant features steak, seafood, chicken and famous salads.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 18 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 18 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   July 7, 2003
Reviewer: MolinariZoo Chicago area, Illinois     July 15, 2003
Everything about this restaurant was a disappointment. I had been there 10 years before as a single mom and 12 year old son and remembered the food, service and atmosphere as being great. Just the opposite this time. Although we had PS for 6:40 and checked in at 6:15 they told us PS were running 15 -30 minutes past our 6:40 PS time. Fortunately when I told them my husband was diabetic and had already taken his insulin they moved our time up by about 20 minutes. Our party of 7 was crowded into the back with nothing really to look at. The waiter was indifferent and only one thing on the menu interested most of the party - the Cobb Salad. It WAS good but it was dinner. My husband's filet was good. We all split the grapefruit cake and it was very good. Don't go there unless you have sophisticated taste - the menu (and the prices) was not appealing to our regular Midwestern family.
 
6 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 12, 2003
Reviewer: KSchultz Carol Stream, IL     April 21, 2003
My husband and I ate here in order to get the reserved seating for Fantasmic. The ambiance was all it was cracked up to be and it was enjoyable looking at all the pictures on the wall. Unfortunately, I was not pleased with the quality of the food. My husband had the pan-fried grouper which he said was very good (he also had a salad). I had the French Onion Soup which I found to be very bland (I've had better at TGIF's). For my entree, I had the Filet Mignon which was absolutely horrible. It was too thick and it was as rough as could be. I will say the mashed potatos were very good. My husband had the Grapefruit Cake for dessert and said it was "different" which means it was nothing to shout about. I did not order dessert after the meal that I did not enjoy. I did order a cappacino, but the machine was broken. I doubt very much we would go back here on a future visit.
 
3 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Feb. 26/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     April 03, 2003
From the minute we entered the Brown Derby, we were blown away - lovely ambiance, extremely attentive service and then there was the food. We asked our cast member for recommendations and then ordered what he suggested. My daughter and I shared a Cobb salad. I then had the filet mignon, she had the rack of lamb and we both had white chocolate cheesecake for dessert. Every single item we ordered was delicious. In fact we both agreed that the cheesecake was the best dessert we had ever tasted. This was the best meal we had at WDW.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1/29/03
Reviewer: Mugsy Worcester, Massachusetts     February 03, 2003
My wife, my 21 month old son & I visited the Brown Derby (w/o a PS) for a late lunch/early dinner (around 4pm, after the parade). We were seated almost immediately. Although many people would hesitate to take a toddler into this restaurant, we often go out to dine with our son. Plus, I think almost every Disney restaurant is experienced in dealing with children of all ages -- so no worries. Our server arrived with crayons and childrens' menu in hand, so he was happy. We were even happier when we found out that he could get a grilled cheese sandwich (his favorite), which was not on the menu!
We started with two very well-made martinis, and appetizers. My wife had the portobello mushroom on polenta, while I had the baked french onion soup. The mushroom appetizer was wonderful -- meaty, savory and different! The soup was also very good -- a traditional preparation, with the addition of fresh herbs in the broth.
Our entrees were equally outstanding. I had the filet minion, which was presented sandwiched between garlic mashed potatoes and a sweet potato chip, with a little aioli on top. The meat was tender and well-flavored -- it melted in my mouth. My wife -- who sets very high standards for lamb preparations -- ordered the rack of lamb. It came with half an acorn squash, and had a large sprig of rosemary standing straight up. The effect was very nice, but the lamb was spectacular. My wife said it was one of the best pieces of lamb she every had, and (after she begrudgingly gave me a taste) I had to agree.
Dessert was two double vanilla bean creme brulees, a coffee (for me) and an espresso (for her). Our son decided he liked creme brulee, so we both had to compete for bites. Although this was an expensive meal (about $60.00 each for my wife and I, with the bottle of wine we ordered), it was well worth it. The staff at the Brown Derby treated all of us well, and we will definitely go back when we visit Disneyworld again.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 6-14, 2002
Reviewer: disneygirl1955 Mammoth Lakes, CA     August 12, 2002
My husband had the Cobb Salad here during our first WDW visit in June 2000. He's been raving about it ever since (he says it's the best he's ever had before and since), so we knew we had to come back for lunch. His Cobb Salad was perfect this time, too. I was a bit disappointed in the limited menu selection this time. I tried the Caesar Salad with barbequed chicken. The chicken was served hot, on the bone, and on top of a few large leaves of Romaine lettuce. This was not what I was used to and made it a little difficult to eat, but it was still good. For dessert we tried the 'famous' Grapefruit Cake. It was much more tart than sweet, but it was refreshing. Service was speedy and friendly. The atmosphere is posh and relaxing - a nice treat in the middle of a hot, crowded day at the park. Lunch was over $35, but seemed a fair value for the experience. I'm sure we'll be back, especially because of my husband's love of their Cobb.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 17,2002
Reviewer: Ebisoman Pittsburgh, Pa     June 28, 2002
During Mosoon week at WDW, we decided to try and get in as much as we could at the Studios before it became a complete"wash". After getting fast pass to Aerial's show we realized we had not eaten for almost 4 hours, and had no Priority Seating. This can be serious for me a diabetic. Were to go? Long lines or PS at most restuarants. Thought we would try the Brown Derby. Probably because of its upscale name and pricing not too many dinners were present at noon. We were taken right to a table. There is an advantage of being two adults only for seating when you have no priority scheduled. Place is definately for adults. But for empty nesters that is fine. My wife had the Grilled Samon ($14.99), I had the Caesar Salad with BQ chicken ($13.99) we both had ice tea ($2.00 each). Meal came with bread and butter and was served quickly. Fonzie was our waiter, (no not the one from Happy Days) and he was good. There was plenty of food with our serving, the chicken was hot, included a leg and breast (I had expected strips and cold) and was very tender and a lot of white meat. Salad was fresh and very good. My wife said her Samon was just right. We had Fast Passes for 12:45, since it was a short walk, we made it, with time to spare. If you are looking for a quick sit down lunch with good food and no priorty reservation previously made this is certainly worth a try.
Service: Excellant, very attentive, offer wine but do not push it. Desserts as well, if you can eat it after a big meal.
Food: Not a whole lot to choose from but there should be something for everyone. Food is fresh and well prepared.
Price: At little pricy, but considering the decor, the service and quality of food, worth it.
Atmosphere: Soft wood and brass, tables with real cloth covers, real knives and forks

 
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 3, 2002
Reviewer: cj324 Boston, MA     June 21, 2002
We got a PS here so we could get the Fantasmic tickets. It was fun to look at all the pictures -caricatures of stars -on the walls. Service was attentive and quick. We split the Cobb salad which was excellent - just enough for 2 people. I had the pan fried grouper which was very good and my boyfriend had beef. We were so full we didn't have room for dessert. Prices were reasonable. Highly reccommended for dinner if you are at MGM.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Oct 9, 2001
Reviewer: kennyhues San Jose CA     June 17, 2002
We went for the Cobb Salad and were treated to outstanding service and a mellow atmosphere. It was alternately hot and rainy that day, and the spacious, air-conditioned restaurant was a welcome respite from the weird weather outside. Not to mention it's a kind of grown-up feeling place, which gives adult minds a break from the theme-park assault on the senses.
Quick, attentive, friendly service, wonderfully fresh and tasty food in generous portions. A must-eat-here place.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page