Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Hollywood Brown Derby
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Elegant recreation of the famed West Coast eatery. Open for lunch and dinner, this table service restaurant features steak, seafood, chicken and famous salads.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 18 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   2/17/11
Reviewer: thetony45 Steeleville Illinois     April 29, 2011
Booked a meal at the Brown Derby as part of the Fantasmic Dining Package.

I got to the resturant a few minutes before my reservation so I was prepared for a short wait. I was left waiting for a good 45 minutes AFTER my reservation time.

When i was finally lead to my table the first sound i hear was a crying child. While not out of place at a theme park, it was very unwelcome at what claims to be signature dining.

My server was quick to bring my drink and a basket of rolls. He was also quick to "recommend" the highest price items on the menu.

I placed my order, and that was the last I saw of him until my slad arrived quitre a while later. my empty glass sat so long that i ended up drinking the water that was left after the ice melted.

I started with the Cobb Salad. My server offered to mix it in front of me. If given this choice, pass. Half the salad ended up on the tablecloth or floor.

The salad didnt have enough dressing for my taste. I also like crisp lettuce in salads. The lettuce in the Cobb was all soggy.

Again I finished my drink quickly but wasnt able to get a refill for a while.

There was a long wait between the time I finshed my salad to the time my Duck 2 Ways arrived. I speant the time looking at the charactures on the walls.

The entree was really the only part of the meal I had no issues with.

For desert I decided to go with the famous grapefruit cake.

I don't know if I may have caught them on a bad night, but the cake had no taste at all.

All in all, I don't plan on eating here again. I don't think you should either.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Tuesday,August 6,2007
Reviewer: lisakb22 Prospect Heights,IL     August 24, 2007
My friend and I booked the
Fantasmic package and we were disappointed that this package was 2 table services on the Disney Dining Plan. The food was Ok and it isn't worth 2 table services. We both started with the crab cake.It was tasty but not really a cake but a mound of crab. We also both had the filet,my friends was perfect,mine was rare. My friend had the Flourless Chocolate Cake,he ranted and raved how great it was. I tried the Creme Brulee,it was OK at best. Please don't spend the money or table service on this restaurant, there are much better choices!
 
5 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 2005
Reviewer: decomouse Huntsville, AL     October 31, 2006
My husband I had a wonderful, romantic dinner for two at the Brown Derby. The waiter was very attentive throughout the leisurely meal and we never felt rushed. Our food was all done to perfection and we very much enjoyed the salads, too. Our wine was excellent.

We've booked Christmas dinner here for this year.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   August 16-24, 2005
Reviewer: MattyMouse330 Massachusetts     September 08, 2005
Let's just say that I'm not a fan of this restaurant. When I am caused to have an appetizer as my meal I am not too excited. It was some sort of tortellini, which wasn't fair, which saved me from giving this 1 planet. I didn't like the atmosphere at all, with the celebrity characatures all over the walls. Let's just end it saying that I do NOT recommend the Hollywood Brown Derby, but if you must eat here, try the tortellini (in the appetizer section).
 
2 out of 36 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 14, 2005
Reviewer: Svitavsky San Leandro, California     June 27, 2005
My husband and I visited the Brown Derby for dinner to get the Fantasmic tickets. We liked the quiet atmosphere (especially in comparison to the 50s Prime Time Cafe) and the drawings on the wall. We also got seated almost right away, with the help of our priority seating (this wasn't always the case with other restaurants).

We ordered appetizers (soup and Natural Bacon). The Natural Bacon was unusual, but quite tasty. The servings were small, but I didn't mind, since we had a big meal coming up. My husband ordered the grouper and I had the rack of lamb. The grouper and the lamb were both good, but not exceptional. I liked the spaghetti squash a lot. For dessert, we both ordered creme brulee for dessert. It was great!

The meal was excellent and the atmosphere was very nice. We liked the peace and quiet of the restaurant after a busy day and the service was attentive and polite. I would definitely recommend it.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 14, 2004
Reviewer: Joanna Virginia     December 02, 2004
I adore this restaurant! My sister and I had enjoyed a meal here back in 2000. I can still taste the delicious chicken dish I hadit was a roasted chicken placed on a spinach and sweet potato salad and it was GREAT! This time, DH and I watched part of the Stars and Motorcars parade and went straight to the restaurant for our 5:20 seating. They werent quite ready for us and gave us a beeper and we sat for a few minutes on the benches outside. We were soon seated on the upper tier with a good view of the interior. Since our package included three courses, we ordered appetizers. I got the Potato Crusted Lump Crab Cake with Napa slaw tossed in citrus beet vinaigrette and a classic tartar sauce. It was superb. Id love to be able to re-create the dish. It was presented beautifully. I have to tell you that I dreamed about these selections for days after. I can still taste the flavors and see the presentation. It was truly memorable. DH ordered the Portabella Mushroom, Chevre Cheese Raviolo with tomato fennel sauce and sweet basil. He was less than satisfied with this. He just did not like it very much and after I gave him a taste of my crab cake, realized his mistake. My entrée was the Roasted Pork Tenderloin with tomato Napoleon, butter bean succotash and Madeira sage pan juices. The pork was slightly pink in the center, tender and juicy with delicious crusty seasoning on the outside. The corn in the succotash was crispy and sweet. The tomato Napoleon was a stack of thinly sliced tomatoes that had been broiled or baked with a buttery sauce. MMMmmm good. DH ordered the Pan-Fired Grouper over balsamic roasted asparagus, lemon plugra butter sauce, topped with Bermuda onion marmalade. He really liked this. I tasted it and it was indeed delicious. For dessert I had the Grapefruit Cake. It was phenomenal. The cake was fresh, moist and light and the cream cheese icing was tart and sweet. It was garnished with a chocolate lace and sat on a caramel & cream center that tasted like the ingredients included some type of liqueur. I LOVED IT!!! I rarely get to eat desserts and Im still dreaming about this one. There is a photo of it posted online at Intercot. DH was curious about the handmade black pepper ice cream that garnished the Granny Smith Apple Tart, so he ordered it. He liked it well enough, although cherry pie is his favorite. The meal was expensive but, comparable to the price of the meal at Fultons--well worth it. I determined to make this dining experience a ditto as well. Price for the Fantasmic Dinner Package for 2, including tip was $90.79.
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Oct 31, 2004
Reviewer: MiMa Derry, New Hampshire     November 09, 2004
This wasn't our first trip to the Brown Derby. Our first time was in 1999 and we make sure we fit this in for at least one dinner every visit!

I felt bad for the couple who posted about their bad experience, but I didn't understand the comment they made about the waiter "reaching over the heads with smelly armpits to toss the salad". It didn't make sense seeing how the salad is tossed at the end of the table!

The cobb salad is a must have at this restaurant, and it's never been served without the dressing. Also, the waiter never tosses the salad, we have always had it prepared (not just tossed but actually prepared) right at the end of our table by an "expert prep person". We have always had the best service and always leave very satisfied and comfortable. I have had the surf and turf, the rack of lamb, the filet mignon, the salmon, probably everything on the menu by now, and every entry has been a great eating experience. I highly recommend this restaurant.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   Late January 2004
Reviewer: tinkertoad Marietta, Georgia     July 23, 2004
I wish I could give this a minus one planet - our experience was SO BAD! After hearing so much about the "famous" Cobb Salad, we decided to try it for lunch and even invited a guest. We were seated in a shell booth. Our disinterested waiter was slow, aloof, and possibly borderline rude. When he eventually served our salads he asked, "you want them tossed?" We did. He then stretched his smelly armpits over our heads and STIRRED our salads. Then he disappeared. Our salads were dry, VERY dry, but it wasn't until we were back in our hotel room coughing up lettuce pieces, that we realized there was no salad dressing. "Mr. Surly" (not his real name), brought our bill and said "You didn't want dessert, did you?" We did want dessert but decided to make our escape before anything else went wrong. And yes, I can't believe it, I actually left him a gratuity. Had the salad been digestable, the price would have been fair. It was however so awful, "free" would have been too much!
 
4 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 9, 2004
Reviewer: listamy Los Angeles, Ca     May 11, 2004
I just have to say that I absolutely love this restaurant. There were 2 of us dining. We had priority seatings for 6:30. We arrived just at 6:30 and waited about 10 minutes for our table. We were brought to a little table for 2, with a charming little lamp, linen napkins and nice flatware. My friend started with the house salad which he enjoyed very much. I asked if there was any way to get a small cobb salad. Our waiter was very kind and went out of his way to make sure that it could be done, and too my liking. We both had the filet mignon with potatoes. We absolutely loved every bite. Not a single fatty or tough bite in the entire thing! We cleaned our plates! For dessert he had the vanilla creme brulee, which he proclaims is the best he's ever had! I had the flourless chocolate cake which was divine. The main reason for our love of this place comes from the feel that we get just from being in there. It takes us back to such an amazing time in history. The look and feel of "old Hollywood" is so well reproduced. It is remarkable that the restaurant is situated in a busy theme park, but yet you feel a million miles away, even if it is just to have a nice quiet meal. It is our favorite restaurant in all of WDW and we make sure we visit it every time.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 14 & 20 2003
Reviewer: Kaemarie Indiana     November 06, 2003
1st I should say this is one of my favorite places to eat at WDW. The 14th we had lunch. I had Portobello Mushroom Raviolo is was a WOW! Hubby had The Clams he said they were very good. We both had the Cobb Salad it was wonderful our favorite. It is chopped very-very fine you get a mouthfull of yum.
For Dinner on the 20th We started with the Cobb Salad. I had the Filet it was very good & the potatoes were fab. Hubby had the rack of lamb it was great also. We had desert this time I had the Chocolate Flourless cake it was ok wish I would of had the grapefruit cake. Hubby had An apple pie with BLACK PEPPER Ice Cream-What a combo it was a great mix of spice. Must add we had the Watermelon & key Lime Martinis they were so good. I need one right now.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page