Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Hollywood & Vine
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Buffet at Disney-MGM Studios featuring fresh-roasted meats and poultry, seafood, pasta and vegetable delights, and a dessert bar. Open for dinner only. (Character breakfast and lunch discontinued.)
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 14 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   11-19-09
Reviewer: ls3015 Freeland Michigan     November 25, 2009
We went to Hollywood and vine for breakfast and had a great time, the playhouse disney kids were there singing and meeting people, they all came over to me and my wife for pictures, the wait staff was great they gave us a signed card congratulating us for our retirement, we just happened to be wearing our pins.
the food is buffet and everything on it was good. We had a good time here.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Oct 2007
Reviewer: pioneerduster Lake Arrowhead, CA     November 04, 2007
We ate here with the Fantasmic Dinner Package. A great buffet. Our experience was extra special as the cast member waiting on us was very patient as I was on the phone with my Dad in California during the fires and he was giving me all the updates on our area. At the end of our meal, we were comped a couple chocolate-dipped strawberries with a chocolate imprint of Cinderellas Castle on the plate! Wow - What a great idea. It was a little tacky licking the plate, but - hey - it was worth it!

Prime rib was good, veggies were good, and even the rolls were good - multi-grain. Very yummy.
 
6 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 17, 2007
Reviewer: Chicago Wookiee Chicago, Illinois     July 10, 2007
Date: Sunday June 17, 2007 with 8:00am ADR.
Meal: Breakfast
Diners: Two adults (yes, no kids at a character meal!).
Service: Nice but could have been faster.
Price: $52 for two of us with tip (used credits from our premium dining plan).
Value: Good breakfast buffet price for a character buffet.
Food: Good selection and everything seemed fresh and hot.
Atmosphere: Nice 50s diner theme and not too loud even with all the kids.

My original intention here was the 8am ADR would get us in the gate and closer to the Star Wars Weekends registration for trivia and such that started at 9am. It turned out there was no trivia for adults at SWW this year and I didnt need to go through all that trouble. With that considered we kept our meal plans and arrived right at 8am and were quickly seated. Our waitress introduced herself and took our beverage orders and told us to start on the buffet.

The food this early was only on one side of the double sided buffet line (same food both sides) but this wasnt an issue as the place had not yet started to fill up. The fresh fruits were plentiful with an assortment of muffins and breads also available. In the hot section they offered everything you would find at a typical breakfast buffet with the only exception being no make-your-own omelets. There was also a great tasting bread pudding on the dessert island that was a wonderful finish to the meal.

The characters included JoJo and Goliath from JoJo's Circus and Leo and June from the Little Einsteins. They spent a good amount of time at each table (more than other character meals Ive been to) and had sessions where all the waiters and waitresses danced to a recorded soundtrack with the characters. Our highlight at this meal was a baby possibly just over a year old that loved the characters and got very excited when they were close. It was nice to see how the characters reacted to the excited baby and spent additional time at the babys level interacting.

This is a great combination of characters and good food. This was my second visit to the character breakfast and liked it both times. Seems to be one of the easier character meals to get into and is a good value. Worked well for just us two adults and is aimed at a younger childrens audience. Our waitress was slow to bring drinks and refills but that seemed a minor issue. Enjoy!!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   September 28, 2006
Reviewer: lisaboo Sacramento, CA     October 18, 2006
We went to Hollywood and Vine as a part of our Fantasmic dinner package because Mama Melrose was not available for that night. It was about as good as I had expected from the reviews I read. Nothing spectacular but solid food in a minimal 50's Diner theme. It was also rather loud inside the restaurant. My favorite thing there was the tomato mozerella salad. The pinot blackberry chicken was fairly good, as was the carved beef. Overall I found the food to be adequate, although nothing left me craving more. The service, on the other hand, was some of the slowest of our entire WDW trip. Our waitress was trying hard but seemed to have far too many tables. Unless there was nothing else available, I would not return to this restaurant.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 18, 2006
Reviewer: Gislef Iowa City, Iowa     June 18, 2006
We made a 5 p.m. reservation and went with the Fantasmic package. Our two kids (10 and 13) weren't interested in anything fancy, so we opted out of Mama's and Brown Derby. We arrived 20 minutes early to a substantial line and had about a 35 minute wait. There was some outdoor seating and we had time to check (without success) for Fastpass tickets, but still the wait seemed a bit unreasonable.

Once we got inside we were served by Carol and her trainee Barbara. It wasn't clear what Barbara was there for, as she never came to our table again and when I asked her for the check she sent Carol over.

The buffet was more than expected - comparable to any other buffet we've eaten at back home and with a good variety. There were three salads, a number of appetizers including chicken breast slices in a pichot/blackberry sauce, fresh fruit, herb-crusted salmon, carved flank steak with a red wine sauce, pasta, a good-sized children's buffet. Oddly, the baked chicken as well as nuggets was in the kid's section. Desserts were plentiful.

The decor was okay - nothing special. It did indeed look like a 50's diner, but it wasn't hugely overdone or anything. It's only marginally a "theme" restaurant.

Our only complaint was the service, as it took forever to get the check when we were in a hurry to make a 6:30 show. We were using traveller checks and so had to not only wait for change, but then get change for the change to leave a tip. This took about 15 minutes total.

Overall I'd highly recommend this place. It's a great meat-and-potatotes all-you-can eat buffet, which seemed pretty rare for dinner at WDW in the parks themselves. Since it's one of only three restaurants offering Fantasmic packages, and the least "sophisticated" of the three as well as the best bargain IMO, this may have accounted for the excessive waits. Lunch might not be as busy but don't know if the selection is as large.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   03/03/05
Reviewer: Tara13 Memphis, TN     March 07, 2005
Service - 3 planets
Price - 3 Planets
Food - 3 planets
Atmosphere - 3 planets

We choose H&V as part of the Fantasmic Dinner Package. H&V is a buffet with a bunch of different choices. It is set up like a 1950s diner. The atmosphere was so-so. The service was okay. It seemed to take a long time to get our bar drinks. The food didnt really excite any of us. We, by no means, went hungry, but we werent really thrilled with the choices. The red meat, wasnt prime rib, but some sort of steak. Other items were okay, but nothing wowed us. The desserts were plentiful and small enough to allow you to try several different types. They have pretty good soft-serve ice cream there. If you eat there as part of the dinner package, they give you a voucher to go to the special seating in the theater. The day we visited MGM, it was raining, so the special ticket wasnt needed! Overall, I think this is a good way to see Fantasmic, but dont expect a fantastic meal.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   03/10/03
Reviewer: tracey Charleston, SC     January 23, 2004
THE BEST!! We did 6 character meals and this was by FAR the bst! Why? Because the characters spent the most time with you! Chef Mickey's was awful - 20 seconds at most - here it was minutes spent at our table and they came around so may times! They really seemed interested in my dughter and you felt as if they were having fun w/ their characters and were really enjoying themselves. It was not rushed or hurried and that made the diners as well as the staff and characters relax and have fun. This is the little known character encouter so sshhhhh..don't let it get out or people will come in droaves and it will be ruined!
 
3 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   22 December 2002
Reviewer: chezp United Kingdom     June 26, 2003
22 December 2002, dinner

Service: Fine
Price: Not bad
Food: Very good and a wide selection
Atmosphere: Lacking something

We ate here as part of the Fantasmic dining package. It was meant to be an evening meal, but the only time I could get when I booked it a couple of months ahead was 3.30 p.m., so it ended up being more of a late lunch for us, but at evening meal prices, which was a bit of a disappointment.

The selection of food here was excellent, some very good salmon and seafood pasta, with a number of vegetarian options. We both went up a number of times for re-fills, which means none of the items on offer was too filling. As a result, we felt as if we'd got value for money here. The bill for the two of us came to $48.38.

We did feel the atmosphere was lacking something, as at this time, dinner was the only meal without characters and we came away thinking we'd prefer to return for a character meal there. As Disney have since changed things here, it doesn't look as if we'll be able to do that in the near future, which is a great shame.

For the Fantasmic! dining package, this is the cheapest option available and it's a good one to choose if you want to ensure you're filled up with a good selection of great food.
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Feb. 26/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     April 05, 2003
We had lunch here at 11:10 a.m. and the cast member checking us in very kindly mentioned that, should we wish, we could either enter right away while the breakfast was still being served and enjoy the breakfast items before lunch was opened up and then still stay to enjoy all the lunch items once they were put out. The added advantage to this was that we would then be charged the breakfast price. Our other option would have been to wait a while and then just enter in time to have lunch. We opted for the first option and didn't regret it. The service was wonderful and the character interaction was fabulous, particularly Chip and Dale, who performed their adorable little heads off. The atmosphere is nothing special - more or less just like a big cafeteria. And the food was okay but nothing really unusual or special. I felt that the biggest plus of this restaurant was the character interaction - by far the best I encountered in Disney World.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   03/27/03
Reviewer: marklar Colorado     April 04, 2003
Did the fastasmic dinner package so no characters. Buffet had ok selection of food. We thought it was a bit expensive but we typically do not like buffets. Was worth it though for the priority seating for Fastasmic. Service was slow but it was really busy. Cost for 2 adulds and 1 child plus tip about $60.00. Would do it again only for the priority seating.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page