Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Mama Melrose's Ristorante Italiano
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
This Italian table-service eatery features pizza, pasta, chicken and steak. Open for lunch and dinner.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 16 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 4,2008 week
Reviewer: DVCmom Alabama     March 19, 2009
Reservations:
Dinner
Service:
VERY good. We were seated quickly. Our server was outstanding. He had many suggestions.
Price:
We were on the deluxe plan so that was not an issue.
Food:
The starters were not my favorites. I was not a fan of the bread or salad (and I am vegetarian?!) My husband did like the bread. It was too hard for me. I had eggplant. This too was not what I had expected. My husband ordered the pizza and loved it. It is very large and he did not finish half. We were very full and only tried a few bites of our sweets. They were good...not outstanding.
Atmosphere:
Similar to Applebees or Olive Graden.
** We had the voucher meal plan too for fireworks. That made the night more easy going for us.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Friday, August 22nd 2008
Reviewer: muchado aboutmuffins CAMBS, UK     September 10, 2008
Atmophere - Great decor, comfortable seating, overall very nice. Our server was great and very attentive
Food - We had the Fantasmic dinner package, which includes a starter, entree, dessert and non-alcoholic beverage. We found this to be a great deal, although we wouldn't normally eat three courses. Four of our party had the vegetarian minestrone soup, which was good, not great. My father had the mozzarella and tomatoes, which is just what it says. He found it to be a good sized portion. For the entree, three of us had the woodgrilled pizza (two cheese and one grilled chicken) which we found to be too cheesey which marred the taste. My oldest sister had the penne alla vodka, which she enjoyed. My mother had the wood-grilled salmon. She was a little disappointed with it, because it was just salmon and a few vegetables which, to her, didn't make a meal. For dessert four of us had the crema limone, which was amazing, and one of us had coffee which was listed as a dessert on the plan.
Price - $35 per person, which is great for the amount of food that you get, plus the priority seating for Fantasmic. I would note, however, that in the event of Fantasmic being cancelled (as it was when we went) you don't get a refund or priority seating for another night. We sat in the pouring rain for 45 minutes waiting for the show to start, when we were then told that it would be cancelled. As you can imagine we weren't happy.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Sep 2007
Reviewer: GrumpyFan (grumpyfan@gmail.com) Houston, Texas     March 27, 2008
Mama's is one of our favorite places to eat. We eat here most every trip. The last time we were here, we had 16 in our party, and they handled us just fine. We were all on the DDP, so we didn't really pay attention to price, but I believe it's about mid-priced, but worth it. The food was exceptional and everyone enjoyed what they had, many of us passed it around and sampled/shared.

My only real complaint would be that the appetizer choices were a bit on the slim side, not enough choices.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   December 13, 2006
Reviewer: mickeysgirl17 Jacksonville, FL     October 24, 2007
We ate here as part of the fantasmic dinner package. I'm italian so I expected some good italian food here. We had to wait in the lobby area for 10 minutes and then were seated at a both in the corner. It was nice and cozy. Our server was great and provided excellent service.
For appetizers, my husband and I both ordered the calamari because we love calamari!!!
It arrived very quickly. It was hot and deliciouse. Very good.
Next came the main courses. I ordered the penne alla vodka and my husband ordered the veal. Unfortunately, the main courses were disgusting. The penne had no flavor whatsoever and my husband said he couldn't even eat the veal so he ate some of my pasta since it was a huge portion.
After this, we got our desserts. I had the honey hazelnut and ricotta cheesecake and my husband had the gelato.
I'm a cheesecake lover and I thought this was the best cheesecake I've ever eaten in my life. Outstanding!!!
The gelato was good too.
Overall, I was very dissappointed with the entrees, but the service, appetizers and desserts were phenomenal so I may return.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 11, 2007
Reviewer: Neon Cactus Tucson, Arizona     June 21, 2007
I used to go to Mama's all the time and have not been back in several years. We opted to eat here for the Fantasmic dinner and it was outstanding. The service was very good. The food was excellent. I had the pasta with shrimp which was very good. My wife had the steak and it was good. It was very rare but they took it back and made it right. I enjoy the atmosphere there. From the menu, we could pick one appetizer, one entree, one dessert and a soft drink or ice tea. Based on the regular menu costs, the cost of the Fantasmic dinner about broke even, so the reserved seating was a bonus. Unfortunately, the skies let loose about 20 minutes before the show and Fantasmic was cancelled, and they don't do rain checks for the show, but the food was definitely worth it.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   5/8/07
Reviewer: tjrj Durango CO     May 20, 2007
3 adults on the DDP. Chose Mama's for the fantasmic package. Waited about 10 min. for our 5:50 adr. Like the neighborhood restaurant feel with lots of wood, unstuffy atmosphere. Server was prompt and very friendly. Offered shopping tips at DTD as well as thoughts on the menu when asked. I enjoyed a glass of the house sangria-perfect flavor and a nice change from the glass of wine I usually ordered at dinner. For starters ds20 had the calamari, I(Mom) had the house salad and ds15 had the soup of the day-minestrone. Waited quite awhile for the starters but all enjoyed them when they arrived. Entrees ordered were the pepperoni flatbread for ds 15; spagetti fra diavolo(pasta with seafood) for ds 20; and I had the penne with sausage. My pasta was firm wo being crunchy, spiced perfectly and a really big portion(I ate half of it); oldest son polished off his seafood-lots of mussels and clams; youngest son didn't even make a dent in his pepperoni flatbread-took a couple of bites and pushed it away. When my pizza loving son doesn't eat his pizza-then something is wrong. Waitress was happy to box up our desserts to go. Even made suggestions as to what would "survive" the best. Ds 20 had a cafe mocha to go; youngest son decided on the chocolate cake and I took the sugar free limone custard. We enjoyed our desserts later that night back in the room. Our entrees took a l-o-n-g time to arrive. From the time we were seated until we left, it was 2 HOURS. Add in the screaming preschooler we were seated in front of, and it wasn't a quiet experience. We would have liked to enjoy a couple of attractions prior to having to get to Oscar's for our fantasmic seating-but due to the length of dinner, that wasn't possible. So, would I return to Mama's? It depends. As stated, we chose it because it was the only 1 credit place on the dining plan that was a table service restaurant-rather than a buffet(I dislike buffets and we were already doing 2 this trip). So, it served it's purpose with the fantasmic seating. Server was friendly, food was decent(except for the flatbread) and I liked the atmosphere. But having this type of dinner take two hours was simply unacceptable. Next time, it may be worth it not doing the fantasmic package and staying for the 2nd show(if offered) or doing the the Brown Derby. If I do go to Mama's again, I will make an earlier adr, and allow plenty of time for dinner.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 1, 2007
Reviewer: Imjusta babyduck Pace, Florida     May 15, 2007
We ate here for the first time this trip. We were on the DDP and opted for the fantasmic package (which I would recommend). Both the food and service were outstanding. However, the wait for a table was long (45 minutes with an ADR). We had artisean breads and mozeralla and tomatos for our starters. We had butcher steak and seafood spaghetti for entrees. We had cheesecake and chocolate cake for dessert. Each course was excellent. The seafood pasta was quite spicy so if that is not your thing, avoid it. Our server was great and very attentive. We will definitely eat here again.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 22, 2006
Reviewer: CraigC Memphis, Tennessee     January 07, 2007
Although we had read some poor reviews of Mama Melrose's, we decided to give it a try for ourselves. We were pleasantly surprised. We really found the "neighborhood restaurant" atmosphere to be comfortable and relaxing, and the food was good.

My daughter (10 years old) and I each had flat bread pizzas, and thought they were very good. The service was also very good.

We would not hesitate to return to Mama Melrose's.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 2005
Reviewer: Tumuluscrux Bangor, Maine     December 18, 2005
Our family enjoyed a lovely evening at Mama Melroses after a very difficult day in the parks. Kevin took good care of us from the start. He told us that we, "break all the rules at this table" and he quickly helped us to relax and begin to enjoy the evening. Our daughters loved the attention and Kevin made solid recommendations for our meal choices that we accepted and fully enjoyed.

Kevin gave the girls a tour of the restaurant and the pizza making process. This gave mom and I a chance to visit for awhile. One of our daughters has a serious allergy to all dairy products and great attention was paid to her needs.

The girls had pizza and mom and I had a pasta dish made with sausage. It was very tasty and filling. The salad was wonderful and the bruschetta was great. The only complaint was that most of the deserts had choclate in it and my wife does not eat chocolate.

The atmosphere is what you expect in a Disney restaurant, nothing new, but fun just the same. The price is well within the norm at a table service establishment on Disney property as well. We had a wonderful time and will make plans to include Mama Melrose's on our next trip to Disney.

Kevin took over from the start and we were happy to oblige. Of our ten day stay at Disney this was probably the best dining service we experienced. Thank you Kevin for making the evening a memorable and special time for our family.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   10/10/05
Reviewer: coloradomousefan Aurora, CO     October 16, 2005
We ate here as part of the Fantasmic Dinner package. The atmosphere was inviting and the service impeccable. Now about the food. The only thing I could really say about it is that it was somewhat edible. Not disgusting but certainly not very good. The bread was hard and cold, the pasta was the best and it was just OK. If you took a jar of spaghetti sauce and put it over pasta you would have the dish we were served. The pizzas were not good at all. The price was very high for what you were given. I would not eat here again.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page