Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Mama Melrose's Ristorante Italiano
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
This Italian table-service eatery features pizza, pasta, chicken and steak. Open for lunch and dinner.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 53.7 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 16 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 16 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   Sept. 9, 2005
Reviewer: epmc3 Long Island, NY     September 17, 2005
Disgusting!!!!!!!!! My husband had the eggplant and he could hardly eat it. My children had what they call pizza (overcooked totillas covered with sause (?) and cheese). I had the chicken parm which was not that good, but the best of what we got. My husband could not even face the waitress to pay her. (He left and went outside while I paid the bill) It's a wonder she was able to face us as she served the meal. She did her job very nicely and we left her a tip to reflect that, but the food was disgusting. When we got home and I told a friend of the dining experience, she said Mama Melrose is her absolute worst restaurant in all of Disney. We felt that Disney does not scimp on anything except when it comes to Mama Melrose. It should be shut down!!!!!!!!!
 
1 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 23, 2005
Reviewer: Marty Vancouver, B.C.     April 02, 2005
I was very impressed with the food at this restaurant. Everything we ordered was tasty and represented real value for a Disney eating establishment. I would like to see a little more effort go into the the theming of Mama Melrose's, but given the quality of their offerings I won't hold this against them. If you are looking a quality meal while visiting Disney Studio's, then I highly recommend Mama Melrose's.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   10/31/2003
Reviewer: poweraap Millburn, NJ     November 03, 2003
The day that we (myself and 3 other adults) dined at this restaurant, it was quite empty which was very nice. We were seated immediately. I believe that this is probably due to its location. It is a little bit off the beaten path. To start, we ordered the calamari, which was tasty but a bit rubbery, and the salad, which was quite tasty. Between the 4 of us, we ordered the Spicy Italian Sausage, the Chicken Parmagiana, and the Wild Mushroom Risotto. The Spicy Italian Sausage was tasty, however, we had to send back the first order because it had only one sausage in it. They were very apologetic and brought a new one right away. The Chicken Parmagiana was good, although it was served over spaghetti that was way too overcooked. The Wild Mushroom Risotto was good, but it was VERY mushroomy tasting - a bit much for an entire meal. The service was great. It is a bit overpriced considering that the quality is almost that of the Olive Garden, yet the entrees are significantly higher priced. Overall, it was a good quick fix for lunch. It was exactly what we need while enjoying a day at Disney-MGM Studios.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 2002
Reviewer: mbaker1277 Northport,Alabama     September 10, 2002
This is one of our favorite reataurants in all of Disney! There is hardly ever a wait, and usually you can walk in at lunchtime. The atmosphere is so great and relaxing, you feel as if you are in a funky old neighborhood diner with Frank Sinatra tunes playing on the jukebox. The appetizer portions are large enough to make a small meal out of, especially if you add a side ceasar salad. The pizzas the make are wonderful, as are all of the pasta dishes, but Best of all are the desserts. The baked cappucino creme brulee is the stuff dreams are made of. We specifically plan our visit around this one dessert!
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 6-14, 2002
Reviewer: disneygirl1955 Mammoth Lakes, CA     August 12, 2002
My husband and I choose this restaurant for dinner both because we love Italian food and because we wanted to take part in the 'Fantasmic Dinner Package'. The food was not the best Italian we've had, but it was good. My husband had a tasty personal 4-Cheese pizza. I had Orecchiette ("Little ear" pasta) with chicken, which was good, though a bit on the bland side. We also split chocolate gelato for dessert; after having gelato in Italy this tasted much more like regular ice cream than real gelato. Our server, Barbara, was friendly and attentive. We were both seated and served quickly. The look of the place is nice, but it's by no means relaxing, fine dining. The dining room is wide open, and even though we were seated towards the side of the dining room, we didn't feel like lingering after eating because it was and had been so loud. However, the price and value were good. It was only a bit over $30, not including gratuity (also note only one of us had a soda and we split dessert).

I recommend this restaurant, but only with the caveat that you take advantage of the 'Fantasmic Dinner Package'. We booked our meal specifically as this package when we arrived at our hotel (you must book after you're onsite and less than 7 days in advance). We confirmed we had the package when we checked in for our meal, and we were given a voucher for seating with our meal. About 40 minutes before the only Fantasmic showing of that night, we showed our voucher at a gate near the entrance of the park (NOT the Fantasmic amphitheater entrance) and took a backstage path to the theater. We were warned our seating would be on the extreme right, but we were actually in the second section from the right and we were able to sit in the far left of the section, so that we were almost centered. The view was great, and it was SO nice not to have to line up so far in advance for the show. Take advantage of this package with Mama Melrose's if you want a good meal and a non-hectic way of seeing Fantasmic (plus, there is no extra cost beyond the price of the meal, which was the same price as some of the table service restaurant lunches we had).
 
20 out of 20 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   6/16/2002
Reviewer: T R Wolf West Chester, PA     June 21, 2002
Being so far from the main entrance, this is the last place many people find at the Studios. However, on our visit it was also one of the best meals we had at WDW. It is a very clean and comfortable dining room, with excellent service. It was only moderately busy for lunch and so we were not rushed and could enjoy our meal. We had light italian dishes and salads and it was prompt and delicious! One item to note, was that our server was courteous and did not push for "upsells" (adding apps or desserts). We then walked over to Pizza Planet for the delicious Chocolate chip cookies for dessert. Price was around $50 total for 2 adult and one child.
 
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page