Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
50's Prime Time Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Eat at mom's kitchen and become one of the family (just don't put your elbows on the table). This table service restaurant features lunch and dinner items such as pot roast, meat loaf, and chicken sandwiches.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 38 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   August 18-25, 3011
Reviewer: tinkaparis Connecticut     September 10, 2011
We decided to walk up to the 50's Prime Time and try our luck for lunch when they opened since we hadn't eaten there in over 10 years. We were able to get a table for 4 and were promptly seated when they opened. Our server, was not really great at delivering his shtick of being the "dad" and it came across as more annoying than funny. 2 of us decided on the meatloaf, which came with mashed potatoes and green beans. The meatloaf is about a 1 1/2 thick slice that was extremely bland. It needed more of everything including some type of tomato sauce on top. The potatoes were good and the green beans tasted as if they were unfrozen out of a bag and were inedible. The kid in the party got the chicken and carrots option with the starter bowl of chicken soup. This all tasted to be standard cafeteria fare. The last member of the party got the seafood salad, which was a lunch entree that turned out to be the size of a quarter. It was a lump of crab and some other little spoons of seafood with salad to decorate. It was not described this way at all on the menu and it was very dis appointing. The best part was the PB and J shake for dessert but apparently you can get it at the bar there and skip the awful food. For the quality of food we got, the amount we paid was way too much. You are much better off just going to a counter service.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   11-19-09
Reviewer: ls3015 Freeland Michigan     November 25, 2009
We had dinner here for the 1st time and found it to be great, the waitress was great, very attentive, very funny keep checking to see if we had our elbows on the table, the food was great many items and choices, we all enjoyed our meal, by far one of the best eaters at Disney. I had the meat loaf and it would just melt in my mouth, the mashed potato's were real mashed potato's, My wife had the chicken which she said was excellent. we will return to 50s Prime time on our next trip.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Friday, August 22nd 2008
Reviewer: muchado aboutmuffins CAMBS, UK     September 10, 2008
Atmosphere- Personally, as a shy person who goes to a restaurant to be fed as opposed to be yelled at by a server, it was my idea of hell. But the rest of my family enjoyed it immensely, especially my parents who loved the fact that our server, Uncle Ted, made us 'kids' go and wash our hands. Uncle Ted himself was a really nice guy, who sat down with us, chatted, and gave us out-of-towners some advice about the impending hurricane.
Food - Three of us had the chargrilled chicken sandwich in one of many incarnaions (no onion, no ham, no cheese) which was lovely and came as a huge portion. The fries that it came with were lovely. My youngest sister had the chicken pot pie with fries, which she said was nice enough but didn't have enough chicken. She also had the Pirate's Punch, which she enjoyed but to me it tasted like pure sugar. My father had the meatloaf, which he loved, so much so that he was presented with an 'I cleared my plate!' sticker. Two of our party managed to find room for dessert - brownie sundae and ice cream sundae - which we all had a taste of and decided them to be the best part of the meal.
Price - $100 for five people, including tip.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 20, 2008
Reviewer: rbaadmin Elwood, IL     May 26, 2008
We brought twenty high school seniors here for a dinner. We thought it would make them feel less homesick by having the opportunity to get "yelled" at by some Disney "moms" at this restaurant. Well, they certainly got yelled at a few times, and unfortunately they had fun "smarting off" back. We used the meal plan. I had the pot roast with potatoes and it was very good. The most impressive thing I saw all night was the response of the manager after one of our waitresses accidently spilled a full glass of Coke all over two of our students. Before our students could even recover from the looks of disbelief, the manager was there apologizing and offering to buy the students a new outfit and to have their dirty clothes dry-cleaned and delivered to their hotel. This quick and impressive response completely disarmed the frustrated young people and actually made the situation "rewarding." Atmosphere was pretty funny, food was pretty good, and the care for the customers was excellent.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   November 17, 2007
Reviewer: HauntedGabe Chicago, IL     November 27, 2007
This had been one of our favorite sit down places and by far our favorite at MGM. We were promptly seated within moments of our reservations. Waiter within seconds wanted our drink and food picks. DD had salad and I had shrimp, they were OK. Then came beverages, I have to say the Dad's Electric Lemonade was the best part of the meal, the only part not on the DP. We both had the Pot Roast, good. The S'mores were wonderful.
The mood was not the same. We did hear one server half heartedly try to interact with diners, nothing from ours, order & bill. The places needed to be perked up, shelves we were seated next to were dusty, ick. Pieces missing from the displays, not very Disney. I'd almost give it a 2 planet however someone who had not been there in its hayday might enjoy just looking around and the comfort food. The fun interaction needs to be removed from the description of this place. We left full but disappointed.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 25, 2007
Reviewer: WDWFANATIC New Lenox, IL     June 09, 2007
We always enjoy the fun, family entertainment at this restaurant. You never know what your waiter is going to pull.... you become part of their family and like they told our son when asking for a refill on his Coke, "Where do you think this is, WDW??? Go get it yourself." We love the interaction. Two of our party had the Pot Roast dinner with mashed potatoes, gravy and vegetables. This was delicious and cooked just like Grandma's : ) One person had a chicken sandwich that was somewhat dry but definitely edible. I had the Meat loaf which is a definite comfort food to me and tasted wonderful. This was also served with mashed potatoes, gravy, and green beans. We had the S'mores for dessert... ask for the view master to view the dessert choices... lots of fun. We will definitely be back. Our total bill including tax and tip was $112.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5/11/07
Reviewer: tjrj Durango CO     May 24, 2007
We had our lunch adr for as soon as it opened. Waited less than 5 minutes for our table. Waitress was pleasant and friendly. Had us set the table-got my youngest son to eat his greens with the ol' airplane trick. I was surprised 'cause she said those things are nasty-but he gave it a try! 2 adults on the ddp-and I paid oop for my chicken caesar salad. Starters were the shrimp cocktail for the oldest son(20) and onion rings for the youngest(15). Traditional shirmp cocktail-shrimp were firm not soggy according to ds. Onion rings were delcious-yes, I had a couple. Crunchy, hot-not greasy. Entrees were the fish sandwich for oldest ds and fried chicken for the younger. Both were said to be excellent, crunchy not soggy. The chicken was an especially big portion-3 pieces. My grilled chicken caesar salad was just as good as at Coral Reef, if not better. I liked this salad better because the salad greens were cut into bite-size pieces-rather than the large leaves of lettuce that you cut yourself. Desserts? House speciality s'mores for ds 20-fun presentation and not the usual restuarant dessert. ds 15 had the brownie sundae-wow!-brownie with vanilla ice cream-but the toppings set it apart-m & m's , chocolate chips and caramel corn! The decor was simply terrific. It was fun saying "oh, I remember those" or "grandma had that", etc. The tv at each table was cool. It was fun watching "Ozzie and Harriet" and reminding the boys that we saw "the Nelson's"(Rick's sons) at the Flower Power concert the night before. Waitress hit just the right note for us-fun and "family" enough to suit us but not so much that it was uncomfortable. Food was delicious and the atmosphere was great.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 05
Reviewer: TinaMouse Farmington, MN     September 10, 2006
Service: 3 planets
Price: 3 planet
Food: 4 planets
Atmosphere: 5 planets

Gott love the 50s! We have eaten here several times before. We did not have a ADR, but we were accommodated with 20 minutes. If you don't have an ADR, go as soon as they open.

We had a fabulous table. Our waitress didn't "play along" as much as others had done, but she was still entertaining and went through all of the "rules."

We had the fried boursin cheese appetizer. It was really, really good. Even the kids ate it! Entrees went through fried chicken, pot roast, and chicken pot pie. Cost saving tip: We ordered a side order of mashed potatoes for one son, and let him nibble off of our plate. There's so much food that there's plenty to go around. We also flipped for the ice cubes that light up. HUGE crowd pleaser for the tots in the group.

Food was as expected, although I thought it could be a little hotter. It came quickly, and service was good. Atmosphere is fab here. Themes are accurate, fun to look at, and wonderful!

50s has always been on our "must-do" list. Go prepared to have fun and play along!
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 26, 2005
Reviewer: sewshawn Laredo, Texas     December 29, 2005
I've read the bad press on this restaurant and it is totally unfounded. We were here during the busiest time of year. We got to the restaurant, with no reservations (priority seating), around 11am. Early lunch, but our large group (eight people) was hungry. We were seated in less than 10 minutes. We were totally unaware of the experience we were about to have. If you want a cozy, quiet, elegant dinner or lunch...don't do this restaurant. It is Disney, it is intended to entertain you and this restaurant does just that. Our waiter Manny was terrific. He truly played his role to the max and delighted both young and old in our party (oldest 50 and youngest 7).
We ate the meatloaf, chicken, caesar salad, and some other things. Everything was flavorful..and while not the best food (again, Disney, you want top of line...go to one of the really expensive restaurants) it was good and we didn't leave much on our plates. Yes, it was expensive, but everything in Disney is expensive. Live a little, have fun...role play yourself...it is what old Walt wanted us to do! Also, the BEST bargain in all of Disney is at this restaurant. The GIANT and I mean GIANT ice cream sundae is well worth the 5.99 price tag.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   September 2005
Reviewer: AndyComputerGuy Charlotte, NC     November 15, 2005
We always try to make it to the '50s Prime Time Cafe when we go to Walt Disney World. This restaraunt with it's "make you feel at home" atmospherere and cast member interaction makes it a "must see" on my family's to-do list. On this particular visit, we had my family, my parents, and my aunt and uncle (1st time ever to Disney!) down for a family reunion. Of course, my wife and I just HAD to take everyone to the '50's Prime Time for a late lunch. I had eaten there on several trips before and knew exactly what to expect from the waitstaff. My unsuspecting family however, was in for a real treat because I had planned to be a bit "naughty" so I could give the cast member that was our server something fun to play off of. When you first walk inside, you see the waiting area which has a hodge podge of all types of sofas and chairs pulled straight out of June Cleaver's living room. The walls, carpet and other room decorations are all themed to the '50s as well -- right down to the "Honeymooners" and "I Love Lucy" clips that play on all the TV sets around the restaraunt. We had priority seating so we were seated almost immediately (10 minutes or so wait time), even with the large group we had (9 in all). The roleplaying of the castmembers is what makes this place a special treat everytime I go. It didn't take me long to get "Cousin Sarah" to start making me take my elbows off the table, stop blowing bubbles in my drink (she took away my straw!), stop being a brat (she made me stand in the corner!), and eat all of my string beans. She really did a great job and my family and I had a great time. The food is excellent - (where else can you go out to get meatloaf cooked just the way mom used to make it?) and the portion sizes are adequate. The deserts, in my opinion, are top notch - my brother had a HUGE ice cream sundae which he must have enjoyed because he practically inhaled it. My wife had an oversized cobbler that was to die for. The prices of course are - Disney (I wouldn't dream of paying $13 for meatloaf anywhere else on Earth) - so that should not be a surprise - but relatively speaking, not bad compared to other places you could go to eat on property. My aunt, who is a waitress herself, had nothing but compliments for our castmember/server and wrote her a note praising her for the excellent service we all received while we were there. I would recommend the '50s Prime Time Cafe to anyone wishing to take a break from the park and dine in at a place where you can cast your mind back to a simpler time, get a good meal, and remember what it was like to be treated like a kid again. Make sure to clean your plate!
 
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page