Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
50's Prime Time Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Eat at mom's kitchen and become one of the family (just don't put your elbows on the table). This table service restaurant features lunch and dinner items such as pot roast, meat loaf, and chicken sandwiches.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 38 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 18
Reviewer: rob hanson1979 Ottawa, Canada     October 13, 2005
This restaurant was by far the most fun meal we had at Disney. Right from the start when you walk in and see the lobby and environment, its really well done. All the employees get into the role and have a lot of fun with it. We has priority seating, but we showed up about a half an hour early. We were seated within 10 minutes. We were first seated at an ordinary table, and my mom was very disappointed, as she wanted to sit at one of the special "kitchen" tables in the corners with the TVs. When one of the waitresses named Grandma saw how disappointed my mom was, she came right over to us and brought us right to an empty kitchen table. My mom was thrilled. Then we had Auntie Mary B as our waitress, and she was so much fun. She played the part with just the right mix of sassiness and love. She wasn't rude or mean, and I think she smiled as much as she made us smile. As you eat, you do get yelled at to get your elbows off the table and finish your veggies, but its all in good fun.
As for the food, as appetizers we all ordered the fried cheese, and it was absolutely delicious. We all just loved it, and Mary gave us the recipe.
I don't remember all the main courses, but I had the chicken burger with fries. It was good, but the bun was a little dry. Also, after the cheese, I could only finish half of it. Mary certainly gave me some flack for that, and instead of getting my dessert that I ordered, I got my cheeseburger back, only with whipped cream an a cherry on it.
Then I got my real dessert. My Smores, which was amazingly delicious, but I only ate a bit as I was so full by that point.
Then afterwards Mary gave us her address and made us promise that we would send her pictures once we got home!
Overall, amazing experience. The food was quite good, but it was the fun and the service that really made the experience as amazing as it was. Like I said, it was the best meal we had at Disney.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Sept. 8, 2005
Reviewer: epmc3 Long Island, NY     September 17, 2005
Fun, cute restaurant; food okay. One of my daughters ordered chicken nuggets that were like hockey pucks. She couldn't even eat them. She then ordered ceasar salad that was fishy. The rest of us enjoyed our meals. Our waiter "Cousin Jeff" was friendly and did not reprimand us too much; maybe we have good table manners!! My husband did receive a cell phone call during dinner and he was not reprimanded. I wished he was, but being the 50's, Cousin Jeff said he didn't know what a cell phone was and therefore, did not know my husband was being rude.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 26,2005
Reviewer: JoCarey@cox.net Smithfield.Rhode Island     July 18, 2005
This was our fourth visit to Prime Time over the last 9 years, and it was the best! Our waiter Cousin Richard was wonderful, very funny but not too crazy. Another party we were with sat in another section and their server was not so entertaining, but not to worry, when a member of their party came to our section, Cousin Richard chased her back and visited their table several times. At one point he even brought over our leftovers to her. I had the fried chicken which was wonderful. The last time I was there in 2003 I found this dish to be only lukewarm and a bit chewy , not this time it was hot and crispy. We will definitely be back to this fun place.!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 14, 2005
Reviewer: Svitavsky San Leandro, California     June 27, 2005
The Prime Time Cafe did not live up to our expectations. While the atmosphere was quirky, it was not quite what my husband and I had imagined. The wait was long, despite our priority seating, and the Cafe was only taking priority seating people. While we waited for our table, the hostesses shouted names to get people to come. After a long, hot morning, this was not what we wanted.

Our hostess picked up on our mood and took my husband and I to our table in the kitchen without scolding us about keeping our elbows off the table. We ordered appetizers (onion rings and fried cheese), entrees (chicken pot pie and pot roast), and a root beer float for dessert. The food was good, though not exceptional. It does come in heaping portions and is exactly what they call it, "home cooking." Don't expect anything light to eat at the Cafe.

We probably should have realized the Prime Time Cafe's atmosphere wouldn't have been what we wanted from the descriptions. The one time I did start to enjoy the fussing and yelling was when a couple of little boys behind us started wrestling on the floor. A hostess walked up to them and started yelling at them that that was "outdoor play" and if they were going to keep it up, they would have to leave. I thought that was a little funny. The Cafe's decorations were excellent and very in keeping with the atmosphere. However, make sure you know what you're getting when you go there.

Service: Good, but noisy; Price: Good lunch prices, very reasonable; Food: Good but not notable, heaping portions; Atmosphere: Loud and busy, but like a timewarp into the 50s
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   January 1, 2005
Reviewer: bravsunlov (bravsunlov@aol.com) Orlando     February 12, 2005
1st, thank you MP for the wonderful site. After reading these reviews for some time now, and how negative some are, not saying justly so, I've decided to attempt an honest non-biased insight, mostly for this rest., from an insider. As you see I give it a 4, always room for improvement. I not only have dined here several times but have worked here as well. 1st and formost, please keep in mind, if you don't let someone know, server/manager/chef, good/bad, some things never change. I personally have seen atmosphere, food, change because of good/bad guest comments. The servers in this rest.MUST theme, even though this IS NOT a dinner show. They DO NOT get any additional pay other than tips and the avg.tipped position wage. FYI, most of the USA is an avg.of $2.50hr. Most servers in the USA support their family by tips alone. At this time there isn't any acting pre-rec. They now try to hire people w/some kind of knowledge of what this place is like. Each servers act, is either taken from someone else and/or out of their own. There is not a general format other than you're eating in mom's kitchen in the 50's. This IS NOT a diner theme. This is a resort area, the prices in this rest.are because of this, same as any mid price rest.chain.in the same area. As far as food, look at all the reviews, mixed on the same item. Ex.Meatloaf. Don't like it, and this goes for where ever you eat, let the server know ASAP. Not everyone has the same tastebuds. Want more gravy, to cold, to this or that, not enough of, I'm allergic, etc., ask. For most, they really want to please. They will bring a chef to your table if need be! To save time and disappointment, look at the menu BEFORE making resv. Lastly keep in mind, servers are trained to "read" people, if they get a bad vibe from a table, they will not theme w/that person(s). If you don't like how things are going or do, food/atmosphere/etc., please don't hesitate to contact someone, and the sooner the better. Thank you for your time.
 
12 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   January 22-29, 2005
Reviewer: HaleyAnn Chicago, Illinois     February 12, 2005
Like other reviews I have read here, the waiter's lack of interest can spoil the experience. That is what happened here. This was my fourth time at the restaurant. We decided to go again because we had family with us. Instead of mom, we had a "cousin" waitress which may as well have been just a regular waitress. There was very little interaction with her besides ordering our meal. The waiter in the next room was a "brother" and he played the act well. Too bad he wasn't our waiter. Since you are paying inflated prices for the atmosphere, it is disappointing when the roles are not even attempted. Food was a disappointment as well. No burgers are offered on the menu. Burgers would be an obvious choice for this type of eatery. Instead, my husband ordered meatloaf. It was rather thick and kind of dry. I had the chicken ceaser salad. The salad had a heavy fishy taste. Don't order it unless you love anchovies. (I don't). My daughter had the macaroni and cheese. A better description would be cheddar soup with macaroni. There was twice as much sauce and macaroni and the cheese sauce tasted heavy on the flour. As my daughter would fish out a noodle, the cheese sauce would be dripping off of it. It was truly disgusting. My other daughter had a hot dog. Nothing significant about the hot dog kids meal noted. The only good part of the meal was the smoores dessert. It was excellent. Graham crackers, chocolate bar and toasted mashmallows on top. It is big enough to share. Our bill was over $60 and a total waste of money. I will not return, but I may attempt the smores at home.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 13, 2004
Reviewer: Neon Cactus Tucson, Arizona     December 27, 2004
We had dinner here, the prices were fair, and the I've had a good experience before. This was my 4th time here. It's got great comfort food, it's got a lot to keep young ones entertained (so we could actually make it through a sit down meal with a 1 year old). Our server was a little subdued, but the other server in the room was excellent and more than made up for it. My wife had the pot roast and I had the meatloaf, which was very good.

The experience you have relies largely on the quality of the server. The other server in our room kept getting on a teenager about eating her green beans, and finally covered the green beans in whipped cream and sprinkles to get her to eat it. She came and gave us a homework question to work on. It was a fun time and the food was good.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 2004
Reviewer: sphallx2 Tupelo, MS     November 27, 2004
Atmosphere was much fun! Service was outstanding. Food was pretty good. We had lunch here and husband had meatloaf, which he said was very good. I had a sandwich which was better than average. A FUN place to have a meal.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Nov 1, 2004
Reviewer: MiMa Derry, New Hampshire     November 09, 2004
This was my fifth time eating here and I think as one other review mentioned, it may be my last.

The first time I ate at this restaurant was magical. Although the decor is suppose to be the 50's, I remember my Mom had some of the decorations in the late 60's early 70's (so I don't know if Mom's decorating style was really retro or if Disney goofed on a few items) but it brought back alot of great memories. And watching the old tv shows while sitting in the living room waiting to be seated in Mom's kitchen is so nostalgic.

The first time eating here our waitress was a lot of fun and reminded me of Lucille Ball. She wasn't over the top but really got into her role, which made our experience memorable. We had the cheeseburgers and fries for lunch and it was the best I've ever had. We had purchased the food option with our vacation plan (at that time they gave you food coupons to use) and the gratuity was included, but our "Mom" was so great in her part that I still left her a tip on top of the gratuity. She actually tried to give it back but I insisted she keep it; she earned it.

I have to say the next experience wasn't as memorable and the food was just so, so. I had the meat loaf and it just didn't measure up to mine. But I was there with different people and it was fun watching them interact. But my first experience with "Mom" was so much fun and this "cousin" just didn't meet my expectations. If your server isn't a good actor then your not going to have a great experience. And a big part of the fun is getting yourself in "trouble".

And so it goes for each experience after. I guess I would eat there again if only to watch someone new to the experience, but it just lost it's appeal for me. Or maybe it's the other guests who don't make it as much fun. Everyone has to be in on the acting. I guess I was spoiled the first time around.

I recommend this restaurant for people who know how to have fun and want to have fun; because the food just isn't that great. If you don't want people bothering you and you don't like to act out, do not go to this restaurant. You will spoil the fun for everyone else.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   1/14/04
Reviewer: Family5LovesDisney New Jersey     January 26, 2004
Dinner on 1/14/04. We had priority seating for 5:30. We arrived about 10 minutes early and waited about 10 minutes to be seated.

Our server was okay. She hammed it up with other people more then she did with us but I think she may have sensed that our oldest son was a bit shy and she didn't want to make him too uncomfortable. I was glad we weren't in the other room......the server in there was way too loud and took things too far!!!

I didn't really like the seating arrangment but for a family of five, you can't fit at one of the tables that has the small T.V.

I had the pot roast and my husband had some sort of chicken. The food was pretty good. The red mashed potatoes were good but the veggies were too mushy to appeal to me. My husband had the same thing to say about his overdone green beans. The boys enjoyed their children's meals. My middle son eat every last drop and every last crumb. The waitress had the whole room clap for him and he was very pleased. My oldest son made sure he left just a few chips because he would have been embarrased with all the attention.

For dessert, my boys split the Smores dessert. I tasted just a little and it was one sweet dessert. They loved it. It was GIANT!!! Enough for all three boys and they didn't eat it all. My husband and I split another giant creation called "Dad's something??" It really could be for three or four people. It was huge and an excellent value for the money........($4.79 and large enough for 2-4 people to share!) There were two huge brownies, several scoops of ice-cream, whipped cream, hot fudge sauce, carmel sauce, cracker jack, and small M n M's. My husband and I were not able to finish the whole thing but we enjoyed what we could eat.

I think we spent around $65 for dinner with tip. For the money, you get a lot of food. It is a good value.
 
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page