Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
50's Prime Time Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Eat at mom's kitchen and become one of the family (just don't put your elbows on the table). This table service restaurant features lunch and dinner items such as pot roast, meat loaf, and chicken sandwiches.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 38 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1/8/04
Reviewer: whopper65 Hershey, PA     January 23, 2004
We always enjoy coming here. By coincidence, our waiter "Uncle Tim" had the same name as my brother, who we had just visited in Sarasota. My daughter was fascinated that she could call him that name for real. The fried chicken was the best in WDW. Atmosphere for us "oldies" was memory-jogging to say the least. The milkshakes are also pretty darn good. Uncle Tim spent quite a bit of time talking and joking with us, and was part of a picture showing him feeding our daughter the last few bites. Can't go wrong here if you're looking for a good time, good eats, and decent prices (for Disney, anyway).
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   Oct 27,2003
Reviewer: nile6000 NYC     November 07, 2003
This was our 4th time at the Prime Time and sadly I believe our last. Our of 4 time we have only had 1 server who cared to be at all involved with the theme. It is disappointing to watch other groups having so much fun playing along and you can only sit and watch. We tried to play with the server but they had little interest.
The food was only ok this trip and the no longer served burgers which was a disappointment since we all wanted them with shakes. (shakes were A+ but pricey at $6)
I found the whole experience disappointing and not worth the $75 price tag for 3 +infant for lunch.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Dec 2002
Reviewer: Pongo Redford, MI     November 02, 2003
Stay away from this restaurant at all costs! I want to be able to go there when ever I want. My wife says they have the best chocolate shake on the planet! And Mom's Pot Roast taught me the meaning of being full. I'm planning on taking my own mother in-law next year.
 
5 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   9-6-03 & 9-16-03
Reviewer: PineapplePrincess California     October 30, 2003
We went to 50's Prime Time Cafe for lunch. The atmosphere is one of a kind, and we were yelled to come to the table like we were kids. Our server was Uncle Pat, and he acted the part, though I was disapointed that he wasn't as playful as the waiter across the room from us.
I had Fried Chicken, and my husband had Pot Roast. I found the chicken to be very yummy. I think that they put extra beans on your plate so you can't finish them all, but I did, just because they were so good and I was so hungry. My husband didn't talk much, most of the sounds coming from him were along the mmmm kind. We had Cheesecake for desert and it was heavenly. Total for the two of us $38 including tip.
We liked it so much that we went back on 9-16-03. We should have stopped when we were ahead. We had Aunt Gayle, and she was ok, but again, we didn't get the kind of interaction that we wanted. I got chicken pot pie and my husband got pot roast. I found the pot pie to be too cheesy, and I wished that I had ordered the fried chicken again. We ordered cherry cokes that were the homemade kind, and they were very good. Total for the two of us $39 including tip.
I found service to be fine, everything came quickly each time. The price was a little high, but I understand that you are paying for the fablous atmosphere. All the food we got, except for the pot pie were excellent.
Go at least once, it's one of a kind!!!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Aug. 18/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     October 11, 2003
Lunch
Excellent service
Good value
Great food
Wonderfully unique atmosphere

This is a restaurant that everyone should dine in at least once for the unique experience. And that's truly what it is - an experience. You're transported back in time to the 50s where the decor, the wait staff's uniforms, the old 50s sitcoms playing on the TV sets - everything fits together to make you feel like you've entered a time warp. The servers are extremely playful and there is a lot of gentle scolding and fooling around that occurs. Great fun! I had the pot roast and my son had the meat loaf and both meals were fantastic. As long as you're not painfully shy, treat yourself to this one-of-a-kind dining adventure.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 2001, March 2003
Reviewer: disneygirl99 Northern Indiana     September 27, 2003
A fun and kitchy kind of place! Very fun for the adults as you sit in what you think is your mom's kitchen 20 years ago! The clips that are played on the tv's are hilarious and time boggling. The waiters are the best and at one point because my husband lied to him about my daughter finishing off her green beans...he made him stand with his nose in the door way because of it! It was hilarious and everyone got in on it, even the people at the other tables in the room. We had a blast and played it up with him and it was so much fun. This last time, my husband said his and my other daughters food was not so great, but everyone else was in love with theirs....so 6 and one half dozen of the other....just depends I guess. I would recommend it if you are looking for funky and themed atmosphere for you or the kids and want to have a good time. If you don't have a sense of humor, don't bother!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   9/8/2003 - 9/15/2003
Reviewer: drew489 (limitedition@yahoo.com) New Hampshire (near Boston)     September 17, 2003
Date of visit.
· Type of meal. Lunch
· Service: A little above average. Waitress was born 20 minutes from where we were from so she let her guard down. Perhaps too much.

Price: Overpriced, I think we paid about $110 for lunch for 5. The quantity on the food is good...quality is average.

Food: As stated above, the food is ok but not great. At least you get lots of it. I had the Pot Roast which was very similar to my Mom's but just not satisfying for my taste buds. PBJ shake tasted like Peanut butter Ice cream milk shake. I tasted everyone elses meal and found the averageness (so to speak) throughout.

Atmosphere: This is obviously where the restuarant shines. 50's stuff galore, tables, walls, ceilings, tv's, chairs, etc.. Very authentic, from what I hear.

Overall, eat there once and that will be good enough for a lifetime.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   30 December 2002
Reviewer: chezp United Kingdom     June 26, 2003
30 December 2002, lunch

Service: Nothing special
Price: Reasonable
Food: Hit and miss.
Atmosphere: Not bad

I will admit that I was a bit apprehensive about eating here, after what Id read about it and it didnt really help when we saw one girl sent to stand in the corner. I really didnt want to be doing that later on. Im a reserved Brit after all!

Cousin Roy didnt seem too bad though and was very sympathetic when I told him I liked the look of the salmon, but didnt want the vinaigrette dressing. If Id have had that, theres no way Id have finished my meal. DH and I met up with my friend Joy, who had the chicken Caesar salad and DH went for the special steak, which wasnt mentioned on the menu. Joys dish was the cheapest and I think she got the best deal out of the three of us. There was plenty for me, but DH was disappointed with the quantity of his. As soon as hed finished it, he asked Cousin Roy where the entrée was!

Joy nearly got herself into trouble for not finishing her salad and DH talked back when told to get his elbows off the table. I knew hed do that. His attitude was he was on vacation and no-one was going to tell him to mind his manners while he was on holiday!! I thought Cousin Roy would send him to the corner there and then, but no. All in all, I think we got off quite lightly, compared to some of the other tables. I think they respected the fact that we wanted to talk and left us alone, which was good.

I love the way you got to view your dessert, but I thought it was a joke at first! For dessert, we really confused Cousin Roy. DH wanted a banana split, but with no ice cream, but I wanted ice cream with no whipped cream, so Cousin Roy did us a deal, pay for just one banana split. I could have the whole lot, minus the cream, and DH could have just the bananas. We were pretty pleased with that compromise! The bill, for the three of us, came to $80.64, which we felt was reasonable.

I think this is one of those restaurants where you'll either be lucky or unlucky with the food - Joy and I were fine with our choices, but DH was very disappointed with his. It was fun to eat here once, but I don't think any of us will be racing back here, as we felt there was something lacking.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 15, 2003
Reviewer: Cindywannabe Littleton, CO     May 20, 2003
Party of 10 (6 adults, 4 kids) for dinner. Changed our PS at the last minute to watch the parade and they were very accomodating. We were seated within 15 minutes of our new PS. Restaurant was packed. "Cousin Christopher" our waiter, was hilarious, like a young Jerry Lewis. He called us Scooter, Skippy, Cousin, Princess, Sugar Booger! Our kids loved watching 50's TV during dinner in a kitchen that looked like their Nana's when she was a kid! I had the meatloaf with green beans (frozen, but good) and mashed potatoes. Very yummy. My Mom had the chicken with potatoes and green beans which she didn't finish. I won't spoil it but just say "choo-choo treatment"! My dad had the pork loin which was very good. Kids had the usual kids meal and make your own sundaes for dessert. The dessert menu is in a Viewmaster...kept them busy for awhile. The food was a welcome change from hamburgers and hot dogs. I would recommend it!
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 30, 2003
Reviewer: AVP Anaheim, CA     April 10, 2003
*Date of visit: March 30, 2003
*Type of meal: Lunch
*Service: Good, were it any other restaurant
*Price: $50 for two, including tax and tip
*Food: Good
*Atmosphere: It's an acquired taste

This is our second trip to the 50's Prime Time Cafe. We did not have Priority Seating reservations, and expected a wait. The wait was quoted at 20 minutes when we arrived, by the time we were seated they were quoting 90 minute stand-by lines. Unfortunately, the weather was not great, and everyone was looking for an indoor restaurant to escape the rain, so there was no place to sit while we waited - the bar was completely full.

When we were seated, our "Aunt Linda" came by to take our drink and appetizer orders. We decided to try the fried boursin cheese again. On our prior visit this was served too cold, but on this trip it was hot and crispy.

Our entrees were served quickly, and Linda was good about keeping our drinks refilled. In fact, Linda was an absolute gem, which would have been fantastic in any other restaurant. But the Prime Time Cafe is known for it's "attitude," and poor Aunt Linda was too busy to really play with the customers. When she got a moment to breathe, she chatted with us about our trip, and we played a joke on another server.

As you can see from other reviews, the restaurant is either "on", or it's horrid. We got them on a good day, even given how busy they were, but can easily see how a bad day could be really, really bad.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page