Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
50's Prime Time Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Eat at mom's kitchen and become one of the family (just don't put your elbows on the table). This table service restaurant features lunch and dinner items such as pot roast, meat loaf, and chicken sandwiches.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 38 ( Displaying Reviews: 31 - 38 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   February 22, 2003
Reviewer: aimster (aimster7609@hotmail.com) Tampa, FL     March 01, 2003
Priority seating was made for lunch 2 days before our visit. There were 2 guests in my party (myself and a friend). Our priority seating time was for 12:05pm, however we got there about 10 minutes early. Got checked in, then waited approximately 10-15 minutes before we were seated. The restaurant was very busy right then as it was the real start of the lunch crowd. Our server was named David and was very attentive, but we missed out on the whole "mom's kitchen" atmosphere I had heard so much about. I could hear some tables getting the full treatment. The food, however, was great. I had the ham sandwich and my friend had the chicken Caesar salad. Total cost was approximately $30. I plan on visiting again and hopefully next time around I'll get the "show" I wanted.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/02
Reviewer: lisareneeo Maryland     December 19, 2002
This was our first experience at the Prime Time Cafe. We had a priority seating for 3:30. We were a few minutes early and had to wait 10 minutes until our table for 7 was ready. Our server's name was "Topher" (maybe short for Christopher) He was a riot and made this meal very enjoyable. We also had a 12 year old girl with us that had an "attitude" which was perfect for this restaurant. Our server gave us a lot of attention because of the 12 year old. He even made her get up and dance with a boy from another table. It was a lot of fun. My kids who are a little shy (ages 4 and 6) enjoyed watching their friend act silly.
The food was good. I had a turkey sandwich for around $15. My husband had the fried chicken platter (he finished every bite!) The kids got chicken nuggest and fries. These portion sizes were good(6-7 nuggets and a lot of fries) Our friends had Chicken Ceaser salads and Pasta with Shrimp. Everyone enjoyed their meals. It was a little more expesive then what we would usually spend on lunch. But we expeceted this and this was not a problem. They did offer the kids a drink with light up ice cubes for appoximately $5.00 ( Sprite, Coke, etc.. nothing special) I did think this was too expensive and opted not to get these drinks when we dined at the Sci Fi Cafe later in our trip.
We did not order desert, although they did look yummy!
We had a great experience here (we credit a lot of this to the 12 year old) and would eat here again.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 12, 2002
Reviewer: DisneyDec Gaithersburg, MD     December 18, 2002
The first time my wife (then girlfriend) and I went to this restaurant was the summer of 1997. We loved it so much the first time that we made sure I obtained a Priority Seating for this most recent trip. Our PS was at 11:45 but we arrived about 15 minutes earlier and were seated fairly promptly. Our server was Aunt Elaine who was fairly helpful in recommending the specials and whether or not my my pregnant wife should order the child or adult's portion of fired chicken. My wife ordered the adult plate of friend chicken, which comes with one each breast, thigh, and leg, and a vanilla milkshake. She loved both, but thought the milkshake was too sweet (this was the pregnancy talking).

I ordered a mac & cheese kids meal for my 2-year-old daughter, but what really came out looked like an adult's portion (Gosh, I'd hate to see what the adult's portion was). She enjoyed it, but was more interested in Mommy's fries (and was probably a bit distracted by Aunt Elaine, who scared my daugher.). I ordered the turkey sandwich, which was huge, but I was able to finish it.

We were very full so we didn't order any desert. With tip the entire meal was about $45. We enjoyed ourselves and grateful to meet our long-lost cousins from New Jersey, Georgia, and Michigan.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   January 2002
Reviewer: mbaker1277 Northport,Alabama     September 10, 2002
This is our very LEAST FAVORITE of any restaurant in Disney World! The food is mediocre at best, and actually rivals school cafeteria food. I ordered a chicken pot pie, which was very bland and had no vegetables in it, and my husband ordered meatloaf which he said was just o.k. This could be a great restaurant if the quality of food was brought up a notch or two.
 
3 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   February 2001
Reviewer: poweraap Millburn, New Jersey     July 30, 2002
Primetime Cafe is a very fun restaurant. This is one of the places that I always take WDW first-timers because it really embodies the creativity of the Disney Imagineers. The 50's decor is great. The waiting area makes you feel like you are sitting in a 50's tv show. The service is so fun. The food is average, however, the experience of the restaurant in general is the real reason to go. . .especially if you end up singing I'm A Little Teapot in front of a room full of strangers!
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Dec 14, 2001
Reviewer: lmmilbert Pittsburgh, PA     July 10, 2002
My husband and I had a PS and were seated 30 minutes beforehand since we were early. I had the fried chicken with green beans and mashed potatoes and a chocolate malt. My husband had the meatloaf with potatoes. We both loved our meals. The potatoes were awesome as was the chicken. My chocolate malt was the best I have ever had. Husband had the smores desert and it was huge! Definetly enough for 3-4 people. I liked it also. Our waitress was Mary and she was very sweet and attentive. My husband told her up front that he wasn't into all the games, so she left him alone. I got to play around with her though..which was fun. We got out just in time for Fantasmic and all in all it was probably the best place we ate our entire trip and we ate alot!
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   October, 2001
Reviewer: NJ Mike Blackwood, New Jersey     July 02, 2002
This was probably the single worst experience we have had is a Disney park. Despite making a PS 60 days in advance, and despite arriving 20 minutes before our ps time, we waited 1 hr and 45 minutes to be seated. after being seated it took an eternity for our food to arrive. Despite a ps for 5:00pm, we ended up missing the fantasmic show at **7:30pm** as we were still in the restaurant eating. A simple "I'm sorry for your wait" would have done a world of good, but didnt come from anyone. The food was average at best. The fried chicken was comparabe to kfc. The greenbeans were hard, very hard, almost uncooked it seemed. The meatloaf my father had is the only piece of meatloaf i have ever seen him not want to finish in my life. The children didnt like the taste of their meals and ended up eating very little. If you have read my other reviews most of them are pretty glowing as we have had good experiences, i am not unduly trashing prime time, this review was well deserved, trust me. Definitely our first "never again" experience in WDW.
Service: incredibly poor
Food: Average at best
Atmosphere: Maybe the one good thing about this place, but not enough to warrant a bad meal and very bad service.
Price: Moderate, but not at all worth it. Next time we'll just head to the food court/market near TOT and RRC.
 
9 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   6/16/2002
Reviewer: T R Wolf West Chester, PA     June 21, 2002
If you only visit one restaurant in the Studios, this is the one you cant miss. After a 15 min wait from our PS time, we were greeted by a very entertaining server. He was able to entertain us all (4 tables), throughout the meal, while also providing great service. Everything here is good, old-fashioned food served in a famliy -friendly atmosphere. The pot roast was especially good, and we were scolded for elbows on the table, and not saying "the magic words". The tables nearby were made to sing I'm a little teapot, and twinkle twinkle, and then my wife was singled out and had to stand in the corner while she was shamed for elbows on the table! The Dad sundae was great also, covered with whip cream, m&m's and cracker jack. Price totaled around $60 for 2 adults and one child. DON'T MISS THIS ONE!!!!!!!!
 
11 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page