Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Sci-Fi Dine-In Theater Restaurant
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Enjoy burgers, pasta, sandwiches and ice cream treats while parked in a "car" at the local drive-in. Open for lunch and dinner.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 34 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   August 30, 2006
Reviewer: LaurieR Exeter, Ontario     September 06, 2006
We had PS for 720pm. We got there at 630pm. We could have gotten right in if we wanted to sit in the 'stretch limo'. Everyone sits in the middle of the car, facing each other. We wanted the drive in atmosphere, so we waited about 10 minutes for a car. It was dark, but what an experience! The kids (5 and 7 years) absolutely loved it. The old movie clips are hilarious. It was hard to read the menus, but we managed. We started with the spinach and artichoke dip which was delicious. The kids had veggies and dip and enjoyed that, as well. I had the grilled chicken burger which was tasteless. My husband had the hamburger, and thought the same thing about his. Kids had the mac and cheese and enjoyed it. The sundaes for dessert were wonderful. We purchased the cosmic drinks for the kids with a glowing icecube, which they loved. Overall, I enjoyed the whole experience even though the food wasn't great. I would go back again.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 18, 2006
Reviewer: Gislef Iowa City, Iowa     June 18, 2006
This was our first visit. We had an 11 a.m. lunch reservation and arrived about 10 minutes early. We had about a 10-15 minute wait so got in about on schedule, and we had nothing major scheduled afterward. There isn't much seating for folks waiting and the entry area (behind the "screen") just isn't very well designed.

We enjoyed the atmosphere of the "theater" itself and obviously some care had gone into it. We had a party of four and got a four-seater car, everyone facing front in two rows. We put the kids in the front and adults in the back, so conversation wasn't really an issue.

One problem is that you can't see the menus! There's one strip of light on each "table" but there isn't much illumination and you have to hold the menu sidewise up to the light to make out about half of it.

My daughter (10) went with the chicken nuggets while my son (13) had the ham sandwich. I went with the ham sandwich as well, and neither one of us were impressed. The bread seemed a bit dry and hard-going for chewing. My wife had the reuben which she said was good.

We got a side order of onion rings, which were excellent - not undercooked, some seasoning. I ended up with the cucumber melon salad, which was a mistake as it wasn't quite what I was expecting. I should have subbed in french fries (as my son did).

We didn't get any specialty drinks, and the waiter didn't really sell them. Which was a shame, as we were interested in getting a glowing ice cube but couldn't read the menu to see what you had to do to get one! Nor did he say we could "upgrade" the kids' drinks to get one. Other then that, the waiter was good but nothing exceptional. We had a sundae and cheesecakes which were okay.

The atmosphere was good although the selection of movie clips was a bit odd. We would have preferred more actual movie clips and less of the cartoons and the excessive # of drive-in type "commercials," but my son appreciated the old/bad movie clips. There wasn't any staff participation in the "theater" except for one waiter a few tables away who made a brief stab at mocking the movie clips.

Overall, go for the atmosphere, not the food. And bring a flashlight!
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 21, 2006
Reviewer: oznog27 (oznog27@hotmail.com) San Diego, CA     May 26, 2006
This was my second visit to the Sci-Fi Dine In and I really have a great time whenever I go. We had PS for 2:45 and were seated right away. The food isn't fancy, but that's great because my friends can be a little picky about food. I had the Rueben and my two friends had the ribs and a hamburger, they both loved their food and mine was great! The service wasn't amazingly fast but our server was extremely friendly and attentive, everyone working that day seemed like they were having a great time- all talking along in unison to certain parts of the movie clips!
The cars are really fun to sit in, but it is hard for the people in the front seat to have a conversation with the people in the back- but with all the fun clips playing, who wants to talk anyway! It's a great break from the noisey park and a really fun place to eat. The prices aren't crazy, it's about average for theme park food.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   02/23/2006
Reviewer: ecoll39638 New Jersey     February 28, 2006
Very upset with this one. We had a 6:30 reservation and got there about 6:15. A women ahead of me had a 7:10 reservation and was seated before me. I was finally seated at 6:55. Waitress was full of attitude but perked up when I told her I was on the dining plan so she knew she was getting her 18% tip. The entertainment on screen was awful for the kids, they were bored with it. They did like sitting in the cars. The only plus, this is the quietest dinner you will have. No one talk because your back is to the perspn behind you and there isnt much room in the cars to turn and chat. The food was mediocre if that. I had equal quality at my local diner.
 
3 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Sept 18
Reviewer: rob hanson1979 Ottawa, Canada     October 13, 2005
We had dinner at this restaurant, and its a good thing we had priority seating, as the wait time was about 3 hours.
When we were seated, our waiter came around to give us the menus. He had a really bad attitude. At first we thought he was just playing for fun, but it just kept going, and we felt like we were ruining his evening by sitting in his section. He gave us menus, took our drink orders, and then demanded right away to know what our food choices were. It was really not a pleasant experience.
As for the food, I ordered the spinach dip for an appetizer, and it was really very good. Then I had a chicken burger for the main course. The chicken was fine, but the bun was so hard, I took the chicken off and ate it with a knife and fork. I forget what my dessert was, but I remember it was fine.
The atmosphere was pretty cool. You walk in and see all these cars just like a drive in. There wasn't too much to watch on the screen, as they mostly show old drive in ads for the canteen or snack bar, with the occasional old movie trailer. We probably would have watched more if they at least showed some cartoon shorts or something. Nonetheless, it was a fun atmopshere and people seemed to enjoy it.
If it wasn't for the service, we would have enjoyed this meal much more. However, everyones servers are different, so someone else could have a great experience here.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5/21/05
Reviewer: Pookie (pookie397@comcast.net) Kent, WA     June 03, 2005
The atmosphere at the Sci-Fi is great. We were seated in the first two rows of a car. This is a great place to take kids and keep them occupied. I had a turkey sandwich with melon salad. The bread was too hard for me and I didn't like the melon salad. My husband had the ribs with fries and coleslaw. He said the ribs were excellent. Gabby had the Mac & Cheese with glowing apple juice. They put a light up ice cube in her drink. We all shared the onion rings which were really good. Total bill $50.

The service was a little slow. We sat for a while waiting for the bill to show up. Gabby and I finally went back outside because the AC was too cold for us.

We would go back since we have a child. I don't think we would do this again if it was just the two of us.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 8, 2005
Reviewer: azgdave Massachusetts     May 17, 2005
We had dinner at the Sci-Fi on our first day at DW. We found the service a little slow but very friendly. The food was very good (we both had the steaks) and the atmosphere is unique. Meal pricing is about what you would expect at a park restaurant.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Nov 2004
Reviewer: 3disneynuts Long Island NY     February 02, 2005
Although the food is not fancy (even after a menu change) it is great to eat here. The atmosphere alone is worth it and the food being good is an added plus. The prior menu had things like giant hotdogs and was themed around drive in foods. I guess many people would have preffered a better selection so the menu changed adding some unique things. It does make it a better dining experience. This is one of our must stop places when we visit WDW. It is really fun!
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 2004
Reviewer: sphallx2 Tupelo, MS     November 27, 2004
Atmosphere is fun. Food was okay. Service was great. Prices were somewhat high but not outrageous. You sit in a parked car as if you are in the drive-in - Was fun. Kids sitting around us seemed to love the theme.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Aug 4, 2004
Reviewer: MouseMom Freeport, IL     August 09, 2004
We had dinner reservations and were seated promptly. The food wasn't too memorable, but the atmosphere was highly entertaining for our daughter. I had the catfish (very good) and my husband the chicken sandwich (a little on the tough side). I had hoped for more variety in the menu and our entrees were in the $15 range. Our waitress was very attentive and sat and talked to our 9 yr old who just loved watching the clips! The restaurant was rather quiet -- probably because the kids were so focused on the screen. This place rates high on the entertainment scale, but ok for a memorable dinner.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page