Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Sci-Fi Dine-In Theater Restaurant
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Enjoy burgers, pasta, sandwiches and ice cream treats while parked in a "car" at the local drive-in. Open for lunch and dinner.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 34 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 2002
Reviewer: Pirate's Life For Me Albuquerque, New Mexico     June 07, 2004
The atmosphere in this building is amazing. We love the nighttime sky and the set which resembles a drive-in theater. If you get priority seating, you will be able to sit in one of the tables that looks like a car. We would recommend that as it is very fun. There is a big screen which plays old sci-fi movies such as "The Attack of the 90-Foot Woman", or "The Blob". These are always highly amusing.
Our parents split a sandwich and salad and really enjoyed it. My sister and I, however, had a barbecue chicken sandwich and didn't like it very much. We felt this restaurant was a little overpriced for the food it served.
We go back there to enjoy the atmosphere and order one of the superb desserts, but we will probably never go back to eat a meal. The waiters and waitresses have always been incredibly friendly and are always willing to take our picture in the cars.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   11/13/02
Reviewer: katmac974 Boston, Ma     April 27, 2004
We ate lunch here, 2 adults and three kids. We did not have a PS, and the hostess told the woman in front of us that there was an 1 hour 45 min. wait for the "car" tables, but that they did have "regular" tables available immediately. She passed, but we were hungry so we opted to take it! The "regular" table turned out to be car shaped, the only difference was we were facing each other instead of the screen (which we still had a clear view of) and had regular seats instead of bench. The waiter was really nice, certainly made the experience enjoyable for the kids! The kids meals were served on glow in the dark frisbees, and my "big girl" drink came with the glow ice cube! Our food was very good, filled us up for the rest of the day. I don't recall the price, but I believe it was pretty in line with other Disney Rest. prices. We will absolutely eat there again!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   2/5/04
Reviewer: justclem New Jersey     March 28, 2004
Service: OK, not great
Price: A little high for lunch
Food: OK
Atmosphere: Good

My husband and I ate here for lunch. We were seating immediately in a car the already had a family in the first two seats. Our waiter took a long time to come and take our order. We ordered cheeseburgers onion rings and sodas. It took a long time for our food to be prepared and when they brought it out it was the wrong order. My husband had ordered onion rings and they brought him a burger with onions on it instead - this wasn't a big deal because I didn't mind having the onions on my burger so we just switched. We asked that they could still bring out the order of onion rings and they did. We thought the burgers were kind of greasy but they did taste ok. It also took a while for the waiter to bring the check. I defititely wouldn't bring my kids here. I didn't like how you don't sit face to face and that it was so hard to read the menu. This is not a restuarant to take a group of people if you are planning on having any type of conservation. It was really quiet in here. I also thought the prices were really high considering it was lunch.
 
2 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   February 5, 2004
Reviewer: Neon Cactus Tucson, Arizona     February 16, 2004
My experience this year was better than in the past. We had priority seating reservations at 12:05 and although we were a little bit late, and there was a line of people waiting, we were seated within 5 minutes of arriving. I love the atmosphere here, it is my favorite of the four sit down restaurants. I would rank the food as the poorest of the four. However, I noticed an improvement in the food quality from my last visit several years ago. I had the BBQ Chicken sandwich which had very good flavor. The house salad was disappointing. It is a great place for younger children because it is noisy and has the feel of a drive in movie theater. I would not rate it as a value restaurant, I thought the menu items were priced a little high for what you get. Overall, it's great atmosphere, but for food quality, Mama Melrose's or 50's Prime Time Cafe are better choices.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Friday, January 16, 2003
Reviewer: Parkatola Salt Lake City, Utah     January 19, 2004
Great place to eat and get off your feet!
We had been in the parks for about a week, brown bagging the lunches to save $, and we thought it might be fun to give the kids a treat. I went in the Sci-Fi Diner about 11:30 a.m. and asked for reservations for 2:30. (We know enough to try to eat at off-peak times.)
Many good things about this restaurant. Everyone in our party (1 senior, 2 thirty-somethings, and 4 kids (11,10,7, and 3)) was able to find something he or she liked. I combined a couple of appetizers into a main meal. My oldest son wasn't thrilled with his burger - it was a bit overgrilled, so our waiter brought him another side order of fries and took the whole thing off the bill.
The trailers for the corny 1950's-era science fiction (including my favorite, The Amazing Collossal Man!) added to the atmosphere.
Good prices for the value; everyone was full and pleased with what he had. Add a cookies -n- cream milkshake to go and you'll be set.
Great place to eat!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   First of August 2002
Reviewer: ppmuse Sacramento, CA     January 06, 2004
The worst part of this restaurant was the wait. We learned from earlier vacations that you made all your reservations 30 - 60 days in advance of your trip, which we did. Our reservation was for 5:00, and we arrived at 4:45, to make sure we got in on time. At 5:15, I asked, at 5:30, my father had fallen asleep and I asked again, at 5:40, we were finally shown to a table. The longest wait, by 35 minutes, at any of the restaurants on the 10 day trip, and we had a reservation.

Inside, we got seated at a front car right in front of the big screen. As we watched the silly cartoons and the funny sci-fi movies, we got soda in a cup with glowing ice cubes (they still work). The menu had some great items, but my wife and I had lived on steak, italian, mexican...and we just wanted an old fashion burger, and they brought us one, God bless them. As we savored our burgers and milk shakes, waiters would fly by on roller skates. The fries were delicious, the burgers were juicy, and the milk shakes were rich.

The atmosphere was dark, and was a nice relief from the sun. The waiter could've been nicer, but he did bring us a hamburger, so he couldn't be all that bad. It's just too bad we had to wait almost an hour.

Service: 3.0
Price: 4.0
Food: 4.0
Atmospher: 5.0
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 30, 2003
Reviewer: Photographer Canton, Massachusetts     December 04, 2003
I had a 7pm reservation and showed up just 5 minutes early. That seated me right after reading a note that said I was allergic to onions and peppers that the girl who made my reservation put in there for me. They (waitresses) went over with me things I might like.
I was seated in the back of a car with 2 kids in the front and their parents in the middle. Waitress was named Valeria and she was great. Attentive, funny with 50's drive-in humor and dubbed me the hitch hiker. I ordered the Penne shrimp, it was drenched in butter but they did follow my instructions for no capers and light on garlic. I drank a cherry coke and had the pecan apple cobbler for dessert. YUMMY!! Bill was $30.85 including 20 percent tip. I'd go back in a heartbeat
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   November 18, 2003
Reviewer: mom22gls Jenkintown, PA     November 23, 2003
We had lunch scheduled for the 11AM opening, and the place filled up fast. My husband and I ordered burgers, which were good. My kids had mac and cheese and liked the fries, and my daughter had a milkshake. I enjoyed the atmosphere (being of an age to actually remember a lot of the movies features, and having actually been to drive-ins as a kid), but it was so dark that it was a strain to read anything.
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Aug. 18/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     October 11, 2003
Dinner
Excellent service
Fair value
Food not very good, except for the desserts
Fantastic atmosphere

As soon as I stepped inside this restaurant, I was blown away by the ambience. For all intents and purposes, it truly feels that you're at a drive-in at night. The old sci-movie trailers being shown on the "drive-in" screen are extremely amusing but even more entertaining is the sight of some of the servers zipping around on roller skates. Once you're seated in your car - another treat in and of itself - the meal commences in earnest. My son had onion rings and I had some sort of pasta dish and neither one of us liked our meals. Then, because we were celebrating a special occasion, they brought a complimentary dessert - one of their amazing sundaes. This thing was HUGE and absolutely delicious. We had also ordered milkshakes - cookies and cream for me and chocolate for my son. These too were wonderful - the real old-fashioned kind of milkshake that is hard to find nowadays. All in all I would certainly visit this establishment again but just for dessert and drinks. My advice to everyone is to skip their entrees and head straight to their forte - DESSERT!
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   12/3/02
Reviewer: yecats New Orleans, Louisiana     September 18, 2003
We made PS for 12:30 p.m. and arrived on time and was seated immediately. We were seated in the third row of a vehicle which had a family of 5 in the first two seats. We were provided with the menu and within about 5 minutes the waitress was taking our order.

We ordered the spinach dip, ham sandwich and a pasta dish.

Don't get me wrong, the rest. is a great themed rest. with the vehicles as tables, the movie clips, the drive in feel - these are all great things. However, the best thing I ever had here was the hamburger and shake (on a previous vacation). The meal that we ordered above (this vacation) was truly disgusting. The spinach dip was made out of artichokes with very little spinach (it was certainly not green), the pasta had a very thin sauce and tasted overly cooked and how can you mess up a ham sandwich? The ham looked dry and was. We were very disappointed. The server could tell we were disgusted and apologized.

We decided before we left to order two shakes to go. That was the best thing ever. The server did not add them to our bill as we did not like the meal. Service was very timely and efficient. I couldn't even tell you how much the meal cost as I still get disgusted, even today, remembering the meal.

If you want to eat there, get the burger.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page