Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Sci-Fi Dine-In Theater Restaurant
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Enjoy burgers, pasta, sandwiches and ice cream treats while parked in a "car" at the local drive-in. Open for lunch and dinner.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 53.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 34 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   06/20/12
Reviewer: rcb31768 Lexington, SC     August 03, 2012
The food was not bad, excellent atmosphere. Great place to escape the heat for a lunch. Movies that run are great. Wonderful nostalgia
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September, 2009
Reviewer: JCardillo New York     October 13, 2009
I have to say that this is one of our favorite Disney restaurants. The atmosphere is just great. We loved the clips from old movies and commercials. Sitting in the old fashion, car style table was fun too. Our waitress was very personable and prompt. She took the time to talk to us. We were on our honeymoon so we talked about our wedding and so forth. The service was quick, which was a surprise because it was packed and she still took the time to be so courteous. We were also seated quickly but we did have reservations. My husband and I were on the meal plan so price didnt matter. The food was wonderful. We had the artichoke dip for an appetizer which was so delicious we contemplated ordering another. The entrées were great as well. I had ribs (that practically fell off the bone) and fries and my husband had a burger a fries. Both were really good. We were too full for dessert so we shared a chocolate milk shake which was delicious as well. My husband and I are returning to Disney in April 2010 and will definitely be eating at the Sci-Fi Dine-in Theater. I highly recommend going there for a true Disney Dining experience.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Monday, April 27, 2009
Reviewer: Kathie New Hampshire     May 31, 2009
We had an ADR for noon and my family of four were promptly seated in a car. The atmosphere is great and my teeangers enjoyed the film clips. We had four burgers with fries, soda (with glow in the dark ice cubes and a travel cup for my daughter), and shakes ($70 plus tip). We were impressed with the service and all agreed to come here again on our next trip.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   July 4, 2008 week
Reviewer: DVCmom Alabama     March 19, 2009
Reservations:
Lunch - and glad
Service:
OK - we only saw her 3 times...order...drinks...meal w/ check
Price:
We were on the deluxe plan so that was not an issue.
Food:
Hubby had hamburger and fries with onion rings as app. Onion rings were good. Rest- not so great. I had dip w/ chips. OK. I ordered tofu dish. Odd for here I thought. Why not serve a veggie burger? Anyway, it was good. Not the best I've had but not the worst.
Atmosphere:
NEAT - a shame the food is not better. We did get in a car. We liked that part.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Feb. 14 2009-Feb. 22, 2009
Reviewer: KGuidoneRunning Southington, CT     March 01, 2009
We ate here for lunch, and had reservations for 12:30. When we arrived at 12pm, they were very pleasant and seated us early. My husband had informed them that we were on our honeymoon; that might have accounted for their pleasant attitude.
We were delighted by the atmosphere, sitting in the back seat of an old-fashioned car at an old-fashioned drive-in theater. With the stars and the B movie clips playing, we were enchanted!
Our waitress greeted us quickly, and being from France was difficult to understand, but we managed. My husband ordered a burger, and I had the shrimp pasta, but I asked for it with a marinara sacue rather than a cream sauce, and they willingly complied. It was a little difficult to read the menu because the lighting is dim, but we didn't mind that. We laughed at all the movie clips, and enjoyed the pasta, though the shrimp was a bit gummy. Jason's burger was...a burger, nothing special. I liked his melon salad better than he did; we think it had cilantro on it, and I like that more than he does.
At the end of the meal, our waitress presented us with two free drinks (mimosas) in honor of it being our honeymoon, and gave us a card she had all the other servers sign, congratulaitng us on our honeymoon. It was a truly thoughtful gesture, and we were touched. They made us feel special.
The food earned three stars, and the service five. We had a good time.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 2007
Reviewer: tmlande Chicago, IL     October 09, 2008
My boyfriend and I made this our first table meal during our Disney stay. He is not as huge of a Disney fan as I am, but after this meal commented that he would come back anytime. It has been a while so the lunch meal escapes my mind, but I cannot get the dessert out of my thoughts. We had the cheesecake with treats and it was fantastic. Both of us enjoyed it immensely. The atmosphere was romantic and fun, and being a film major I quite enjoyed the classic B-film trailers. We stayed for over an hour, long enough to see the loop of trailers begin again. Having long romanticized about the 50s drive in theaters, I was quite fulfilled eating a meal in a classic car. I have been to other sit down restaurants at Disney and this one is not to be missed.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   7/20/08
Reviewer: adasmart     July 21, 2008
Atmosphere is pretty good. The food was awful at best.
Bread tasted as if it were grilled with rancid butter, melon and cucumber salad is actually more like a salsa. The artichoke dip is a coagulated rancid tasting mess. The server rarely came by except to pick up the plates and deliver the check. Was not interested when I mentioned the food was bad. This was our first visit and is definately our last. We left the park to have a second edible lunch.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   April 24, 2008
Reviewer: OneForTheTeam Boston, Massachusetts     May 02, 2008
The concept of this restaurant seems good until you realize that you get to see only clips of movies. That got tiresome quickly.

The menu is pretty basic: burgers, salads, sandwiches. We got an overcooked burger and smoked baby back ribs that tasted like they were cooked in a pressure cooker then slathered with smoke flavored barbecue sauce.

The onion rings are acceptable. The milk shakes are undrinkable - appearantly just soft-serve ice cream service in a glass.

You will see the waitstff only breifly, so if you were hoping for entertainment there, go to the 50's Prime Time Cafe.
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   June 17, 2007
Reviewer: Chicago Wookiee Chicago, Illinois     July 10, 2007
Date: Sunday June 17, 2007 with 1:20pm ADR.
Meal: Lunch
Diners: Two adults.
Service: Just average.
Price: $63 for two of us with tip (used credits from our premium dining plan).
Value: Seemed high for a sit-down lunch with counter-service style food..
Food: Fair selection but lacking on flavor.
Atmosphere: Everyone loves the way this place looks!

Having been here before and received poor service and food I was reluctant to try it again but it had been a couple years and I was bringing someone who had not been to the Studios and wanted her to get a taste of some unusual dining options. I made the ADR months in advance and its a great thing as everyone that walked in while we were waiting for a table was turned away as even at 1pm there were no more spots available for the rest of the day!

We were a couple minutes early and needed to wait about ten minutes to be seated. Having been here before I found that a party of just two didnt always work out in a cramped car booth with other guests so we requested a table and enjoyed the seating much more than the car booth.

The waiter clearly explained the dining plan options and I happily ordered a chocolate shake as it was included in the DDP. I found the lighting over the table to be much better than that in a booth car and was happy to be able to read the menu this time. For appetizers we ordered the BLT soup that was fresh and flavorful and the Seven Bean Beef Chili that was quite thick and dry. Entrees ordered were the Angus Chuck Burger with a nice tasting cucumber-melon salad and also a Ruben sandwich with fries that was almost cold and a bit dry. Dessert was a sundae (can you mess up one of those?) and a Chocolate Tart with a mix of chocolate mousse, fudge, and ganache that was so dry and tasteless that I needed a glass of water to wash it down with!

As before the food was fair to poor but found the service to be better than in the past and enjoyed the table seating much more than the car booth that I have sat in before. The setting with the big movie screen is always fun and kids seem to love this the most and dont much care about the food.

 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   April 2006
Reviewer: kittylovesthemouse Marshall, Michigan     January 15, 2007
We did not have priority seating, but on the Tuesday of our visit managed to get seating for Thursday at an off time (mid-afternoon). The CM was very pleasant. When we arrived Thursday, the CMs were atypical in behavior...unfriendly, impatient. We were hurriedly seated in a car, adults in front, kids ages 7 and 9 in back. The server seemed to be in a great hurry and moved and spoke so fast, we weren't sure if we had even ordered! He brought those pricey light-up ice cube drinks for the kids which we did NOT order. We made him take them back, which upset the kids (mean mom, I know). We ordered spinach dip...very tasty. I had the chili and hubby had salad, neither even remotely good. Very odd flavors. Kids had kid-fare...burger and soda, ok. We enjoyed the movie clips, atmosphere. Getting to toilet was a bit of a challenge...dark, crowded maze of a place, and the potties are off in a separate area. We were rushed out as quickly as we were rushed in...I hardly put my spoon down, and waiter was there to collect. Bill was almost $50 and we felt ripped off. I emailed to Disney when we got home and suggested that a "fun" place set up like a drive-in should have "fun" food...good burgers, fries, malts. Our food was not fun, the choices seemed out of place, and the quality of food and service were not there. And that situation with the light up ice cubes was pretty bad...bad waiter, bad bad! We will not return unless at least the menu changes. If you simply MUST go see this place (it is pretty nifty), stop in for dessert and leave it at that.
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page