Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Doubletree Guest Suites (formerly DoubleTree Suites Disney)
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
2305 Hotel Plaza Blvd, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 53 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 5 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 5 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   8/14 - 8/16/04
Reviewer: Eppinger South River, NJ     August 23, 2004
We were staying at the DoubleTree Villas in Kissimmee, but had to leave after loss of power. We were moved to this property. $89 per night one bedroom suite. Slept the six of us comfortably. View of front of hotel toward Downtown Disney. Room was clean and no mouldy/musty smell. Staff was very friendly helpful. Great job during some difficult times. Did not like the timeshare phone message. Did not use restaurant. Pool closed due to Hurricane Charley. Great location and we would stay there again.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   9/19-9/22
Reviewer: bellefan Upstate NY     September 23, 2003
There were good and bad points to staying at the DoubleTree. Good: location to DTD - only a 2 min drive and it was centrally located - close to grocery store as well; rate - got a MouseSavers rate of $79/night; staff - very friendly and helpful front desk staff; accomodations - sitting area was nice and helpful to have microwave and frig. Bad: got a timeshare pitch at check-in; condition of room - did smell musty, bathroom light kept blowing out, trim coming off some walls in hallway, beds were hard. Overall for the money it was a decent hotel and if you are more than 2 people you will probably appreciate the extra room and appliances.
 
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   6/17-6/21/03
Reviewer: AllisinWunderland (shopping@netstats2000.com) Flagstaff, Arizona     June 25, 2003
Date(s) of Stay:
6/17/2003 for 4 nights
· Type/Class of room:
1 BR suite with standard views (3 rooms rented total, 2 were of parking lot, 1 was of pool area, all same price)
· Accommodations Review:
This all-suite hotel is located on Lake Buena Vista drive, about 1 mile from the Downtown Disney Marketplace. The hotel has a small lobby with a large indoor aviary and each suite had a living room (with sofa sleeper) and bedroom (either 1 king size bed or 2 full size beds) separated by louvered French doors. The bathroom was accessible by entering the bedroom. There was a small kitchenette with a dorm-room sized fridge and microwave in the living room plus a table with seating for four. My first impression of this room was of the moldy smell (presumably the carpets needed to be cleaned, but I noticed this in each of the three rooms we reserved every time the door was opened) and the chipped paint on the dining table. The couch and easy chair were comfortable enough but the dressers and tables were in serious need of updating. The king bed in the bedroom was very uncomfortable and seemed to have needed to be replaced for some time. It was not only hard (as many hotel beds are) I could also feel the springs! The bathroom looked like it had been painted either by a child or very lazy adult who didn't bother to remove the doorknobs and towel racks or even to come close to them when touching up as you could see a definite difference in the paint layers there. There was also a funky little B&W television in the bathroom. I expected more from a DoubleTree hotel and was especially disappointed after having just checked out of the Embassy Suites Lake Buena Vista Resort just prior to checking in here. It (The ES) was just about 2 miles further away from WDW in distance but way ahead in comfort and attractiveness!
Rate/Night:
$130 per night.
Ease of Disney Park Access:
Drive to any park was about 10-15 minutes depending on route (we usually used 1-4 to avoid LBV Dr. traffic and stoplights)
· Park Shuttle Comments:
I did not use the shuttle but it seemed to be fairly efficient, departing about every half-hour during the busier times of the day and once per hour during the slower periods. There were dedicated buses for each park but shared with other Downtown Disney hotels.
General Restaurant/Lounge Impressions:
Did not use. No complimentary breakfast.
Pool Description/Comments:
Did not use but was rather large and looked clean.
Additional Comments:
We checked in to this hotel immediately following a 3-night stay at the Embassy Suites Lake Buena Vista Resort. The ESLBVR was about 2 miles further away, but traffic was never a problem for us and we used I-4 to get to the parks from each hotel rather than Lake Buena Vista Drive and passing by Downtown Disney. We were not impressed at all by this hotel, especially after staying at the Embassy Suites which was far superior in almost every way. If you are considering a suite-hotel, I would highly recommend the Embassy Suites and have written a separate review of this hotel.

 
8 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   May 3-9, 2003
Reviewer: mrmbt Washington     May 20, 2003
Overall this was an average hotel to us. The room (suite, king bed) was spacious, clean, and had all advertised amenities. Received a great deal of $99 per night through special promo, which was better than the $135 quoted for AAA. The sleeper sofa was big, but as they usually are, uncomfortable. The big table, refrigerator, microwave, separate room, and extra storage space was a definite plus that you don't usually find in this area for this price.

The restaurant was way below our standards. The wait for our meal (caesar salad, hamburger, 2 kids meals) was close to an hour and there was only 1 other table being served. The meals themselves were mediocre. Prices were ok, about $30 for our meal with no beverages. This is based on a one-time visit on our first night and we elected not to go back or use the free pizza coupon that came with our room promotion. They do offer buffets throughout the week, that may be better than normal table service. We did "order in" one night which was faster, cheaper, and very good.

The pool area is nice and was uncrowded, but it was a slower time of year. The play area for kids was small and the sand needed weeding and garbage picked up, but otherwise okay.

Transportation to the parks was fair. The buses didn't run as tight as schedule as Disney, but it got us to the parks. Wait times varied 5-20 minutes from the stated every half hour. The park drop off/pick up area at the parks (which is in the parking lot) is further from the park entrance than the Disney transportation, but not too far. Serving 7 hotels made a few of the buses crowded at peak times, we had SRO on a couple of them. If staying until park closing, you may have to wait to get on a bus. They can only put so many people on a bus and the next one isn't for another 30 minutes. There was a bus to Downtown Disney, but only in the evening. It is quite a walk to Downtown Disney from the Doubletree, but we did hop a ride during the day on one of the park buses and got off at the last hotel on the loop, before leaving the area, which put us across the street from DTD.

We were very happy with the room for the price, overall service was okay. Just an average hotel, nothing outstanding.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 3-5,2002
Reviewer: szymcl     July 17, 2002
We stayed in The Doubletree Guest Suites for a quick stop on a basically non-Disney Florida vacation. We usually stay in Disney Resorts, but wanted to try this for such a quick visit. The hotel was great. The suite was big enough for the 5 of us-2 parents, 2 teens, one preteen. There were 3 televisions, a little fridge and microwave. The bedroom had 2 double beds and the living room had a pull out queen sofa. We also used a cot. We paid $169 per night. The pool was large, beautiful and uncrowded. There was a separate kiddie pool and a hot tub.

We walked to Downtown Disney in about 10 minutes and took the Disney Buses from there to Contemporary Hotel then walked to MK.

The only drawback was the Hotel Blvd bus return from the MK was via the ticket & transportation center.

Overall it was a very good value for us. Plenty of room for a great price during the busy, expensive Spring Break Season. The chocolate chip cookies at check in are great!
 
71 out of 71 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page