Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Restaurant Akershus
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Enjoy a traditional Norwegian buffet with seafood, meat, cheeses and delicious desserts.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 10 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/19/06
Reviewer: Elfdeutsch Garden Grove, CA     October 26, 2006
I visited Akershus once in 2001 and was lured back by the quality of the unique Norwegian buffet items. 5 years ago I paid around $12 for a full lunch buffet, not including drinks or dessert. Some changes have occured since then. Prices are now a flat $25 for lunch(yikes) and the entres are prepared to order. The buffet portion is cold and little more than salad with norwegian breads, meats, and cheeses. Hot items are no longer offered with the buffet. Your non-alcoholic drinks and an impressive dessert are now included with the higher price. Be forewarned though, this is a character dining experience now also, so even on an early Thursday afternoon we were burned by expecting little or no wait. We ended up having to come back over 2 hours after we originally wanted to have lunch. Princesses do not seem to fit right in this setting, but whatever, a once sleepy establishment gets a lot more business now. I was a little miffed for having to wait so long because the restaurant was still filled to maybe only 40% capacity. I don't fault disney for implementing a dining option that is extremely popular with those who have young daughters or just have crushes on the princesses. They came around to all tables and humored those who were just there to eat. We still got a few pictures; a tolerable experience if you are not interested in princess character dining.

The unique cold cheeses, tasty breads, meats, and cold casserole items are not worth $25 on their own, but they are good enough that you will fill up too much before your meal if you are not careful. What was different this time was the high quality of the prepared food. I had blackened trout with potato and carrot medley. It was top notch. My fiance had a savory hamburger type veal patty served with delicious cauliflower infused mashed potatos with cheese. You get a dessert sampler that we only ate because we were splurging on vacation, we were that full after the lunch. We had a decadent rice pudding, a textured chocolate mousse, and cheescake topped with lingonberry sauce. All three were outstanding, and plenty for two. The overall lunch portions are fine, especially since the salad bar is a buffet with tasty casseroles, meats, and cheeses to lay you out if you are not a disciplined eater!

The princesses came around to every table and even humor those who are just there for the scandanavian style food. It is probably a good second choice for little girls if the Cinderella restaurant is full. For those looking for their fix of Norwegian food, Akershus still delivers.
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Multiple
Reviewer: sparky105t Virginia     May 11, 2004
Restaurant Akershus may very well be the finest dining experience available at EPCOT Center. On each of my visits to WDW, I always make sure that I eat there at least once. The Scandinavian cuisine is authentic and delicious. The waitstaff is among the most attentive in the World Showcase, and dining at Akershus is a pleasure.

The buffet includes a plethora of fish items, as well as traditional meat-and-potatoes dishes like Swedish meatballs, macaroni and cheese, etc. Dishes rotate, so you never have the same experience twice; yet, they always manage to keep my favorites in the rotation.

Dinner can be crowded, but lunch is almost always a small wait. The buffet is essentially the same for lunch and dinner, so can save some money by going early in the day.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Aug. 16/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     October 11, 2003
Lunch Buffet
Excellent service
Good value for what you receive
Food is unique so not to everyone's taste
Atmosphere is lovely

The ambience here is stunning - you truly feel like you're eating in a medieval castle. And the service is phenomenal. Our server was friendly and helpful. This is a great place to celebrate a special occasion. They ended up bringing us free desserts and a special "magic moment" certificate proclaiming this to be an official Disney magic moment. All that being said, the food here is not for everyone. Although my son truly enjoyed all the unusual offerings, I myself did not. The food was just a little too "weird" for me. But it all comes down to a matter of personal taste. It's definitely worth trying the food here to see whether or not you enjoy Norwegian cuisine. It would help if you like seafood. Since I don't, that probably contributed strongly to the factor that the food here was just not my cup of tea. Make sure to try the rice cream. I normally hate rice pudding but this concoction is heavenly and tastes like no rice pudding I have ever come across before.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   24 December 2002
Reviewer: chezp United Kingdom     June 08, 2003
Lunch, 24 December 2002

Service: Excellent, very attentive and extremely chatty!
Price: Very good, considering the range of food on offer
Food: A wide range of exotic and not-so-exotic food
Atmosphere: Wonderful and very romantic

Akerhaus has been a favourite of ours over our last couple of trips and this visit didnt disappoint either. We love the fact that the restaurant is based on a castle and you do feel as if you're in one while you're eating. It's beautifully themed.

Our server, Froydis, was very chatty, particularly after she found out about that I'm desperate to visit Oslo one day, after having fallen in love with the whole Norway pavilion at Epcot. She couldnt have been more attentive if shed tried and told us a lot about her home country and their customs.

The food was just as good as I remembered and not at all filling, meaning I could go back for plenty more courses! I lost count of the number of times I went back to the buffet and we still had room for dessert. My particular favourites are the cheeses, they have a great range and I just gorge myself on them! I also love the various cold fish they have, although some of the sauces they're in are a bit adventurous!

The only problem with a lot of the World Showcase restaurants is that they show you the desserts and you dont get a menu with prices on, so you pick the one you like the look of. I went for a 100 years of magic one and it turned out to be $6.99, while DHs was half that price. Having said that, it did taste good, but I was just annoyed that I wasn't told it was a lot more than the rest of the desserts on display. Had I known that, I might have made a different choice.

In total, including a generous tip, the meal came to $55.12. Considering that included desserts for both of us, which are extra, I think that's very good value, especially as we did both eat a lot!

I love this buffet, because there is a lot of choice for those who dont eat meat. Theres lots of fish and cheese on offer, very different to other buffets. If you like fish, youll love this and there is still a good selection of meat as well. It's well worth giving this one a go, if you haven't already. If you're willing to experiment with your food and try something different, then I think you'll be pleasantly surprised by it.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 2002, December 2002
Reviewer: Music Mole Fort Worth, Texas     April 25, 2003
We love this place! We make sure to eat there at least once on each trip. I grew up in Alaska and my husband in Switzerland, so the types of food served on the buffet are very familiar to us. My favorite is the shrimp salad, followed by the salmon. This buffet has some side dishes on it that my husband has not found anywhere else since coming to America.

Our favorite dessert is the veiled maiden, and the Ringnes beer is quite nice as well. The CMs are always good at giving the "guided tour" of the buffet and refilling drinks as needed. We like the atmosphere and the folk music that they play in the background as well.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/28/01
Reviewer: Stwineham Georgia     November 23, 2002
This place was amazing!!! It is a very nice buffett with absolutely wonderful food. A little pricey--but after all this is Disney and the food is worth it. It is also fun having a waitress that is from the foreign country, adds a little culture to the whole experience.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 27, 2001
Reviewer: fyfx Belton, MO     October 15, 2002
The ambiance of this restaurant was great for me a history buff. When you walk into this establishment you feel like you have been transformed into a mid-evil castle that is alive and well in modern time. We had the best table service so far at Epcot. We ate the buffet. It was a lot of fish dishes, cheese samplers, soups, dried breads, fruits, and a lot of flavored pâtés with specialty crackers. We really enjoyed it and feel it was a reasonable representation from a Walt Disney World perspective. Though, we were with our parents who are beef eaters and their opinion was not as favorable due to limited beef availability on this particular buffet. I would highly recommend this fare, flavor, and atmosphere if beef is not a main staple in every meal you devour.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   7/27
Reviewer: Jenny Drake (peacepast@aol.com) Lancaster, TN     September 01, 2002
This was our fifth visit to Akershus, and it remains one of our favorites! It is one of my favorites restaurants ANYWHERE-not just WDW.
We had nieces (16 & 18) and nephew (14) with us. They are "meat and potatoes" kind of eaters, as is hubby (AKA John Wayne.) Because my husband DOES like this, we thought the kids would too. Hubby, nephew and I thought it was grand, the nieces were more reserved. [If someone in your party does NOT like fish/seafood, I would skip this restaurant. there ARE other meats on the buffet, but it is heavy on the fish.] As always, I found all of the food to be well prepared and at proper temperature. The smoked fish and breads are my favorites. The buffet is about $15.00 per person and does not include drinks. There is nothing resembling a dessert on the buffet. You can order them a la carte, and they are costly, but delicious.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   April 6-14, 2002
Reviewer: disneygirl1955 Mammoth Lakes, CA     August 12, 2002
I decided to try this restaurant for lunch based on favorable reviews in several guidebooks. The atmosphere was wonderful. The restaurant building is handsome inside and out, and we felt very comfortable and relaxed being there. Our server from Norway, Goril, was friendly and attentive, and we enjoyed talking to her about the trip my husband and I had taken to Norway. Everyone was very helpful in telling us about the food offered in the buffet. My husband and I tried a little of everything, and though the food was on the whole very good, it was not amazing or that memorable. We were also disappointed that, unlike other buffets such as "Boma", sodas and desserts were not included in the buffet price. Therefore at $30 (not including gratuity or desserts, just two sodas and the buffet for two), it did not seem like a great value. We enjoyed our meal, and it was great to try something different; however it is just not a restaurant I am sure I will dine in again.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   2/2/2002
Reviewer: Aethan Boston, MA     June 28, 2002
We went to Akershus on a spur of the moment decision, but I don't at all regret our decision to go. The decor is very handsome, evoking the feel of a grand dining hall in a medieval castle. Our server (I think her name was Marina) was extremely courteous, but I would've liked her to have been just a tiny bit more attentive. Really, she was great; I'm nit-picking a touch. The food is set up as a buffet, and it was wonderful. There was a venison stew which was just excellent, a pork roast which was very nice, and many other dishes were hearty and good. My only real complaint with the food was that there didn't seem to be a huge variety of flavors - a lot of things tasted quite similar to one another, or were not particularly well-seasoned. Maybe that's Norwegian cuisine, though; I don't have a lot of experience on the subject. After dinner, we each had a dessert - my boyfriend had a rice pudding parfait, made with a raspberry layer in it. I had a lingonberry torte. My torte was okay; his parfait was very tasty. We were on Discovery Magic, so we didn't actually pay for the food. As a result, it is difficult for me to judge how good a value it was, but it was an excellent and filling meal.
 
3 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page