Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
 Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About Restaurant Akershus!
 
Want to tell someone about Restaurant Akershus? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
Restaurant Akershus
Description:
Enjoy a traditional Norwegian buffet with seafood, meat, cheeses and delicious desserts.
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 10 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/19/06
Reviewer: Elfdeutsch Garden Grove, CA     October 26, 2006
I visited Akershus once in 2001 and was lured back by the quality of the unique Norwegian buffet items. 5 years ago I paid around $12 for a full lunch buffet, not including drinks or dessert. Some changes have occured since then. Prices are now a flat $25 for lunch(yikes) and the entres are prepared to order. The buffet portion is cold and little more than salad with norwegian breads, meats, and cheeses. Hot items are no longer offered with the buffet. Your non-alcoholic drinks and an impressive dessert are now included with the higher price. Be forewarned though, this is a character dining experience now also, so even on an early Thursday afternoon we were burned by expecting little or no wait. We ended up having to come back over 2 hours after we originally wanted to have lunch. Princesses do not seem to fit right in this setting, but whatever, a once sleepy establishment gets a lot more business now. I was a little miffed for having to wait so long because the restaurant was still filled to maybe only 40% capacity. I don't fault disney for implementing a dining option that is extremely popular with those who have young daughters or just have crushes on the princesses. They came around to all tables and humored those who were just there to eat. We still got a few pictures; a tolerable experience if you are not interested in princess character dining.

The unique cold cheeses, tasty breads, meats, and cold casserole items are not worth $25 on their own, but they are good enough that you will fill up too much before your meal if you are not careful. What was different this time was the high quality of the prepared food. I had blackened trout with potato and carrot medley. It was top notch. My fiance had a savory hamburger type veal patty served with delicious cauliflower infused mashed potatos with cheese. You get a dessert sampler that we only ate because we were splurging on vacation, we were that full after the lunch. We had a decadent rice pudding, a textured chocolate mousse, and cheescake topped with lingonberry sauce. All three were outstanding, and plenty for two. The overall lunch portions are fine, especially since the salad bar is a buffet with tasty casseroles, meats, and cheeses to lay you out if you are not a disciplined eater!

The princesses came around to every table and even humor those who are just there for the scandanavian style food. It is probably a good second choice for little girls if the Cinderella restaurant is full. For those looking for their fix of Norwegian food, Akershus still delivers.
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Multiple
Reviewer: sparky105t Virginia     May 11, 2004
Restaurant Akershus may very well be the finest dining experience available at EPCOT Center. On each of my visits to WDW, I always make sure that I eat there at least once. The Scandinavian cuisine is authentic and delicious. The waitstaff is among the most attentive in the World Showcase, and dining at Akershus is a pleasure.

The buffet includes a plethora of fish items, as well as traditional meat-and-potatoes dishes like Swedish meatballs, macaroni and cheese, etc. Dishes rotate, so you never have the same experience twice; yet, they always manage to keep my favorites in the rotation.

Dinner can be crowded, but lunch is almost always a small wait. The buffet is essentially the same for lunch and dinner, so can save some money by going early in the day.