Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
L'Originale Alfredo di Roma Ristorante
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
**Closed; replaced by Tutto Italia**
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 2.6 out of 52.6 out of 52.6 out of 52.6 out of 52.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 16 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   June 2005
Reviewer: caroln Glastonbury, CT     October 12, 2005
The service wasn't bad, but it was extremely rushed, as if they couldn't wait to get us out of there. I'd say we were in and out in around 30 minutes, definitely not more than that. I don't like my meal, especially an expensive one, to be rushed. And I paid $25 (including tax and tip) for just myself for a truly unexceptional meal. I had the Trio (fett. alfredo, lasagne, ziti) which was served lukewarm and was no better than anything I've eaten at your run-of-the-mill hometown Italian restaurant. I was hoping for greatness, but this experience sorely fell short.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   February 7, 2005
Reviewer: Captain Electron Wasilla, Alaska     February 23, 2005
We got our priority seating reservation for 11:30 AM, but Alfredo's opened at 12:00 -- very strange. Service was OK, but not exemplary. I felt like the staff was not happy to be there. Most of our food was only fair, but the lasagna was very good.

Overall, not really worth the expense. We will not be eating there again.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   10/16/04
Reviewer: aaauger Austin, TX     October 22, 2004
Finally the answer to my question: Is it worth it? Simply:no. I love Italian, figured I could justify carbs after a day in Epcot, and was looking forward to a nice restaurant with my bambino. This isn't a nice restaurant; it's a restaurant with unjustifiably high prices. Usually high prices are accompanied by special preparation and extras. Not here. $18 buys you a bowl of Alfredo noodles with no bread, no salad, no garnish, no taste. Boxed Noodle-Roni is better - no joke. Ambience is absent - envision a huge crowded noisy room with paper placemats and wall paper reminiscent of Italy. Very similar to a cafeteria dining room. The service was barely tolerant of our presence. Bottom line: it's hard to do worse; pass on it without a second thought.
 
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   Various
Reviewer: aleksandr NH     August 10, 2004
My family has eaten at Alfredo's nearly every time we visit WDW/Epcot (once per year). Each year it seems that things get worse and worse. Even with Priority Seating during a quiet time at the resort (early January), we still had to wait 20 minutes or so for our table. The inside is very crowded with what looks like as many people as possible jammed into the place at one time. As others have mentioned, the roving musicians also seem to be gone.

The previous two times we have eaten at Alfredo's, I developed food poisoning later that night. This was on two separate trips, with the only correlation being where we had eaten earlier in the day. The first time was very, very severe and I never even considered that Alfredo's was the cause. The second time was milder, but I began to wonder about the coincidence of getting food poisoning twice in two years after eating at the same restaurant. I can't say for sure that it was eating here that made me sick, nor could I fathom what I ate that would do it, but it seems awfully coincidental...

For someone who stays at a condo off-property, my time and money is better spent going to one of the various Olive Gardens in the area for average Italian fare.
At least at Olive Garden you can get Fetuccini Alfredo with chicken or seafood!

If you are really looking for a good sit-down meal at Epcot, I would heartily recommend Le Cellier instead. Sure, Canadian is a long way off from Italian, but I've never gotten sick from eating at Le Celliers!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   February 2002
Reviewer: kansaskix KS     April 19, 2004
This restaurant was just okay. It was pretty expensive and the food didn't justify the price. We were a party of four and no one was thrilled with their meal. I did not like the lasagna at all. It was just meat and noodles and nothing else. The restaurant and atmosphere is nice, but there's a lot better places to spend your money on. I have no plans on ever returning to eat here again.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   February 5, 2004
Reviewer: Neon Cactus Tucson, Arizona     February 16, 2004
Alfredo's is the one restaurant I must visit every time. I enjoy the atmosphere of the restaurant and although it is usually busy and loud, I have never felt rushed, and I always enjoy the roving musicians.

On this visit, we had PS reservations and were seated within a couple of minutes of arriving. One of the way my wife and I have found to enjoy a great meal and still save money is to get an appetizer, split the entree and then have dessert if still hungry. We split the pasta sampler that has fettucini Alfredo, lasagna and one other type of pasta. As they were bringing the bread, the food arrived, in less than 5 minutes.

Usually, our meal has taken an hour. This time we were seated, served and out the door in under half an hour. Also, the roving musicians are no longer there. I wondered if that is because the restaurant usually has such a line, that they felt eliminating the entertainment would clear tables out faster. I can't say I felt rushed, but it definitely did not have quite the atmosphere I've had before.

However, the quality of the food remains outstanding. The lasagna is very rich and is one of the best that I've had anywhere. Despite the changes, I still recommend it highly and will be there again on my next visit.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   12/4/02
Reviewer: yecats New Orleans, Louisiana     September 18, 2003
This is one of these places that I don't recommend. We had a PS for 7:00 p.m. We arrived on time and were told that the inside rest. was crowded. The maitre'd asked us if we would like to be seated outside under the umbrella tables as it would be a wait for an inside table. We decided to sit outside. They didn't have a table ready, so we waited a few more minutes for the servers to set one up.

Eventually, we were seated where we proceeded to wait 15 minutes for someone to come up (no joke) - we even had to ask another waiter who was working our table. Just a side note, the only light on the outside tables is provided by a candle - romantic but could barely read the menu.

It was becoming a little bit windy at this moment and someone at the next table was mentioning rain. The waiter finally appeared and took our orders which we decided to be on the safe side and ordered ceasar salads and the pasta alfredo. Another ten minutes later we finally got our tea. Another 10 minutes later we finally got our salads (which btw were very good). Halfway through the salads it began to rain lightly. As we finished our salads we caught our server (at this point we were glad for the table umbrella as it began to rain moderately) and asked him if we could back out of the pasta dish. He said that was fine and then took another 10 minutes to give us the bill. By this time we were standing under the front overhang to the restaurant as it seemed like there was a mini hurricane happening (several groups were crowded in under this overhang as we were all eating at the outside tables).

We paid the bill and didn't think that salads were worth the one hour of time we had waisted there (I think the bill was $18 for salads, tea and small tip). Don't think were going back anytime soon.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   1 January 2003
Reviewer: chezp United Kingdom     June 08, 2003
Dinner, 1 January 2003, New Year's Day

Service: reasonable
Price: expensive
food: very good
atmosphere: excellent

This was another restaurant that we weren't planning on eating at when we started our vacation. Like Spoodles, we heard quite a few great reviews from other guests while we were at Disney, and we decided to give it a go. It was hard to get a reservation here, so obviously it was popular particularly for the Candlelight Processional dining packages.

I was very impressed with the theming of Alfredos, what a lovely place. The moment you walked in the door, you felt as if you walked into somewhere special. The decoration is very ornate and reminiscent of a very expensive, exclusive restaurant. I can certainly vouch, having eaten there, that it is a very expensive restaurant!

When we arrived, the staff seemed to be run off their feet and our server Luana kept apologising for keeping us waiting, but although we waited a while to order, our food was very quick in arriving.

As appetizer, I had the mozzarella salad, very good, but not what I had expected. It wasn't so much of salad, as mozzarella with tomatoes. I'd been expecting to have some greenery on my plate. DH had the calamari and I think he got the better deal out of the two of us. We couldnt believe how much there was on the plate!

My entrée was the pasta sampler. I did some negotiating as it was meant to include lasagne and obviously that had meat in it, so Luana arranged for spaghetti with tomato sauce instead. Also in the pasta sampler was the famous Alfredo's dish, which I was very keen to try, but I didn't feel that I could face a full plate of it. I loved every mouthful of the sampler and although it didnt look like a lot when it arrived, it was just the right size. I think I made the right decision in ordering the sampler, as there is no way I would've been able to eat all of the Alfredo's dish, had I ordered that is my entree. DH had the lamb, which he told me was perfectly cooked with a lovely sauce.

The bill, including tip and a glass of wine for me, came to $86.42. It was a bit on the pricey side, considering neither of us had desert. Having said that, we really did enjoy our meal and were pleasantly surprised by it, having read some very bad reviews in the past.

I'm not sure we will come here again on our next trip, simply because there so many other restaurants that we want to try at Disney. However, one day I think we will return, although it may be for lunch when things are a little bit cheaper.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   May 11, 2003
Reviewer: Cindywannabe Littleton, CO     May 20, 2003
Okay food, high prices. We were a party of 10 (6 adults, 4 kids) for dinner. We were seated fairly quickly. We were in the first room so it felt like we weren't in the main section of the restaurant. We started with an anti-pasta and buffalo mozzerella. Both were good...the provolone was like the kind you get back east. I had the fettucine Alfredo which was okay...not great. I was disappointed in the lack of pasta choices. Kids had spaghetti and meatballs. The busboy served us warm Ice Tea...he just came over from Italy! Then he brought us a glass of ice! Too funny... Waiters are cute, atmosphere was nice (from what we saw), food wasn't so great...I'll skip it next time.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   April 3, 2003
Reviewer: Michael Harrison (sspdy@aol.com)     April 08, 2003
As a non-meat eater, my guests and I picked the Alfredo thinking that this would offer something for me to enjoy. It was completely disappointing. Their vegetarian menu is almost non-existent, with the fettucini Alfredo dish being the only one slightly interesting. Trying to avoid a lot of heavy sauces and cheeses, I asked for a simple plate of pasta Primavera. My waiter came back minutes later to tell me they only had mushrooms, spinach, and one other vegetable to make this dish. I finally took the fettucine Alfredo, which was so horrible that I returned it to the kitchen. I then ordered a simple dish of pasta and marinara just to keep from starving. I paid an extravangant amount of money to treat four of us to dinner at Alfredo's, and I think that I am going to regret this decision for a very long time to come. Do not, repeat do not, go to this restaurant if you do not eat meat.
 
3 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page