Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Biergarten
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Sing along with a German oom-pah-pah band while enjoying a buffet of traditional German foods.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 16 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   October 7th 2010
Reviewer: Vegitabeta England     October 11, 2010
I had heard a few bad things about Biergarten, although I read a lot of positive reviews, so I decided that we needed to try it for ourselves! We went there for dinner, and were seated very quickly on a table with two other parties. We had a few words, but on the whole, everyone kept to themselves. The server was nice enough, although she did not keep on top of the dirty plates, and we were struggling to fit them on the table after a while. The food on the whole was nice, but I would say don't expect as much as you would from some of the other restaurants in World Showcase, because it's not the same sort of set up. Lots of sausages and salads, and the desserts were nothing extraordinary but were still nice. The price, at 32.99, I think was a little high, since there was not as much choice as some other buffet restaurants around the property. The atmosphere was really nice however, and it gives the impression that you are outside, almost like San Angel Inn at Mexico. The band were really entertaining, so if you get a table with a bunch of people who don't want to talk, this makes it a little less awkward!

I would possibly go back, but it would not be my first choice in World Showcase.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/14/09
Reviewer: suecoppola brooklyn, ny     January 11, 2010
In all of the times we have been to the world we have never even considered Biergarten. I amnot sure why but we just didn't. So we were very surprised when 2 friends who are also cast members said it was their favorite. We took the candlelight processional package for lunch. They were alittle disorganized when it came to clearing tables and getting us seated but that was the only complaint. The buffet had lovely salads. The roasted chicken was nicely done as were the sausages. The pork roast that was being carved was very moist. The pretzal bread was fabulous...warm and plentiful. if you like the bread sticks in canada then you will love these and this is a much easier reservation to get. The cheesecake for dessert was light and tasty. The regular price for dinner is 30.00 and with the 20% off from the tables in wonderland card it is a GREAT value.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   FEBRUARY 15, 2004
Reviewer: JEANYLASER34     September 10, 2008
I really love the Biergarten! And our family will love it too! And including The dancers at the Biergarten is cool and awesome! and the Food is awesome as well. I can't wait to go back to the Biergarten very soon. I love it so much.
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   June 2006
Reviewer: tominco Colorado     June 10, 2006
Unfortunately, we were late in making reservations for our visit to Epcot and could not visit our first choices. We decided that German food would something that was a little different, yet would satisfy the four of us (two adults and two children 7 & 10). We were seated quite quickly after arriving. The waiter was quick in bringing our drinks; however, he had trouble understanding my wife's wine order (she tried it in both English and German). The buffet style was nice, as you could sample a variety of German dishes, unfortunately, none of them was very good. The schnitzel was simply breaded chicken with too much black pepper. The sauerbraten was ok, but not as strong tasting as I was used to. We could have easily found better versions of the desserts (black forest cake, cheese cake, and apple strudel) at our local Safeway store bakery. My son picked up an apple to eat and found that it was partially rotten. All in all, this dinner for four was not worth the $100+ tab.
 
4 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 2004
Reviewer: AMT Big Rapids, Michigan     June 04, 2006
I not a German cuisine expert, but the Biergarten was good. The buffet was tasty, and had a wide selection of food that I think even picky kids would enjoy. I believe they had some macaroni and cheese, applesauce, small sausages, and German pasta that tastes the same as some of the better stuff you can buy at the grocery store. For more exotic eaters, there was a really good chicken schnitzel, sauerkraut, pork, and tons of other stuff, The desserts (the specialty is Black Forest Cake) were excellent, but the main meal was so filling, you could hardly eat them! The beers were good, of course, too. We were there at Christmas time and there was a little band performance with German music and they pulled kids out of the audience to come dance and say what they wanted for Christmas. The prices were a little high, but it is an all you can eat buffet at Disney, so what can you expect? We had a great time and look forward to coming back.
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 28, 2005
Reviewer: BigStan727 Burbank, IL near Midway airport     January 22, 2006
We had an enjoyable time. My wife and I met some very nice people at the table we shared with six others. The band was fun. I cant believe another reviewer complained about the price of the German beer. Where can you get a liter, yes a liter of a very good mug of German beer for $9.50 in a restaurant? The bratwurst is the best I ever tried. The red cabbage was perfect. Not too sweet not to sour. The apple strudel was excellent and even my wife was pleased as it had no raisens. The sauerbraten was good but I have had better. We came to dinner to try it. Next time we will do lunch as it is more reasonably priced (no Sauerbraten). Thumbs way up on this fun restaurant. Why we waited so long to try it was because my sister didn't like the idea of sharing a table with strangers. The Biergarten is like Octoberfest in Germany. You never know who you will be sitting with.
 
8 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   November 24, 2005
Reviewer: sewshawn Laredo, Texas     December 29, 2005
We had PS for 1:15pm, but didn't seat until 2pm. Our party of 6 was extremely hungry and when we were finally seated, our waitress didn't arrive at the table for at least 5 minutes. She did get our drink order and managed to get them to the right people, but then, that was the last we saw of her. We were seated with a party of two that didn't talk to anyone and made our kids very uncomfortable, even after we introduced ourselves. (KIDS are 17, 15, 11, 7) The food was plentyful and tasty and believe it or not, even had Turkey and stuffing and cranberry sauce for Thanksgiving. The show was fun, but we had to remind a customer several times to sit down because those of us in the back couldn't see. (All three tables were complaining, but no waitress or staff around to deal with the problem) I think we liked the food, the atmosphere would have been better if we were seated with another family type, and they definitely need more employees to take care of the customers.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   28 March 2005
Reviewer: LindaR Alamogordo, New Mexico     April 05, 2005
We had not eaten here in years and decided to eat dinner here. I "warned" DD16 that we would be seated with strangers and she said that I could do all the talking! Unfortunely.......we were seated directly across the table from a middle-aged man and his teenage son who both did nothing but STARE at my daughter (she IS very attractive, but this was very rude). She was so uncomfortable that she could barely eat and turned around to watch the entertainment. On my second bite, I found a medium length, very curly HAIR in my cabbage. We were done with dinner! I asked to speak with a manager......and they could not have been any more UN-concerned. I paid our bill, left no tip, and we left. I know that sometimes things like this (hair) happen. BUT, the attitude of management will keep us from coming back. YUCK.
 
2 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 16, 2004
Reviewer: Klutch Colorado Springs, Colorado     October 31, 2004
Our party of seven had dinner at the Biergarten on our first night at Walt Disney World. We had a Priority Seating for 6 PM. We arrived at 5:45 and were told we couldn't be seated until 6. I had heard it was best to arrive 15 minutes prior to a PS. Based on my experience there and elsewhere, there's no point in getting to the restaurant before your PS time. On time or shortly afterward is better.

I have been to Oktoberfest in Germany and was looking forward to long benches of food, fun and fellowship. Unlike most Americans, I enjoy meeting new people and dining with them. However, since we had a party of seven, we got our own table (ironic, eh?).

The Biergarten atmosphere is very well-done. It is painted and lighted to give the appearance of being outdoors in a German town square at night. There is a small stage at a lower level where an oompah band plays periodically. I was somewhat surprised that the band consisted only of a few musicians. I used to frequent Busch Gardens Williamsburg (BGW) which also has an indoor Biergarten. The "Festhaus" at BGW is actually larger than at Epcot and the band features numerous musicians with wonderful dancers who interact with the audience. Oh well. Epcot certainly has many more venues to choose from. I enjoyed the music while my Mom found them to be too loud (and she is a big Aerosmith fan).

Our server was a pleasant and pretty German girl who was helpful with choosing beer (my 21-year-old son was quite taken with her). I asked for a Pilsner. She said they didn't have true Pilsner, but a Lowenbrau was close. She was correct. My dad said years ago he had seen a character on an episode of "Roseanne" order a yard at the Epcot Biergarten. Alas, they are no longer available.

The servers at the Biergarten appeared hurried. Ours did a good job of keeping with up with drinks, but I think the place could use more help.

The Biergarten has a large, German buffet with numerous dishes to choose from. Each dish is fairly high-quality for a buffet. The food is put out in small pans which are rotated often rather than the typical, giant steam tray sitting for hours on end. Guests can choose from roast chicken, schnitzel, sausage, pork, and fish. Side dishes include potatoes, spatzel, soups, and breads. There is also a large salad and vegetable bar.

During my numerous trips to the buffet I sampled the chicken, sausage, schnitzel and fish. All were quite good but, typical of buffets, not very hot. Having a tall, cool, glass of Lowenbrau certainly made up for this.

Everyone in my party, even my very picky daughter, found plenty to eat. We finished off at the dessert bar with apple strudel. My son tried the Black Forrest cake. He said it was good, but I don't think it was authentic enough to include liqueur.

With the buffet costing over twenty dollars per person and the large beers running close to ten, the Biergarten isn't the most economical place to eat at Walt Disney World. Since it's all you can eat, those with a large appetite can definitely make up for it in quantity. It's also not a place for couples to have an intimate meal. Families with small children need not be worried about being loud and the kids who were there enjoyed dancing to the music. For a group of young adults, which was my party, the Biergarten was good food and fun with great beer.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Several May 2002, Nov 2002, Nov 2003
Reviewer: cocoabeach Portland, Oregon     April 26, 2004
Seating
As already mentioned, seating is with other guests and, in fact, they will often try to seat you with other guests even if the restaurant has empty tables in order to promote the social interaction. I know that the american protocol is to prefer privacy (myself included) but it really has been surprisingly fun for us to chat with others at our table. The tables seat 8 so it isn't like you are going to be chatting with a throng. The one unfortunate (and generally unlikely) possibility is you may find yourself with a group of teenagers like the poor previous reviewer mentioned. Since this is an out-of-the-way sit down, that doesn't happen often I suspect. We've gone on about 10 occasions and have always sat with the standard vacationing family, memorable ones from England, Spain and another from New York and we had a great time. That said, if there were open tables, they did ask us if we wanted to be seated alone on a couple occasions but by this time we were initiated and preferred to sit together anyway.

Food
The food is great too. It is hearty German fare so as one reviewer indicated, if you really love meat you might find yourself loading up with some heavy food but you can pick your fill. If you preferred, you could eat only the spactacular cakes and strudles. And price is quite reasonable. They also accept the annual pass discount for lunch so I recommend that time.

Atmosphere
As mentioned, there is a German band that plays fun and interactive songs with the crowd. They have the long horns and everything. I heard that there are show times but honestly, I've seen them every time we've gone and never even thought about timing it. We've always gone for lunch and maybe we were just getting lucky, it's hard to say.
The restaurant styling itself deserves mention: the indoors is arranged around the stage and the seating all appears to be a village in the outdoors (evening of course) and it has the appropriate Disney magic feel. Oh yeah, and apparently the German hosts/hostesses (yes they were from Germany) don't like the Florida heat because they keep it mercifully nice and cold in there.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page