Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For no longer accepting new reviews
Bistro de Paris
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
**Closed; replaced by Monsieur Paul**
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 2 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 14, 2007
Reviewer: RockDoc07 Long Island, NY     June 23, 2007
We knew that this was an absolute must visit during our trip to Epcot. We made the reservations exactly 30 days in advance of our visit. I would certainly recommend this, as people were being turned away for walkins. Also, we were told they were trying to make the restaurant feel a little more upscale and so they are trying to gradually phase in a sort of dress code like some of the other resorts on the property. We heard this and were planning on wearing shorts and tshirts to the park that day. My DW2B was wearing her French soccer jersey and is a French teacher so she went up to the host and started speaking French to her asking if we were ok for our reservations later that night. She sort of looked at me (jean shorts and tshirt) and after a few seconds said it was ok. I think it was the French and the jersey that won her over. So just be warned, they might go business casual pretty soon.

Anyway, onto the restaurant. We had someone said up VIP viewing for IllumiNations for us and so we were a little more pressed for time than we were originaly anticipating. I mention this because it kept us from doing the 4 course with wine-pairing flight menu. So instead we shared one bottle of wine and each had an appetizer and a main course.

Our waiter recommended a cocktail that we both thought we would try with our appetizers. She had crepes and I had a double consommee. Both were FANTASTIC. For our main course she had swordfish and I had a duck duet that was phenomenal. We had two bottles of perrier with our meal. For dessert we shared a cheese plate. Classic French touch to finish out a perfect meal.

Our service was amazing. Our watier (Guillame) was top notch. He was funny, very knowledgeable, offered a perfectly-paired wine for us given what we were having for our main course. He took care of us very well and spoke French with my fiancee which made her very happy.

The meal was a bit pricey but not any different than most other good French restaurants you could go to anywhere else. The atmosphere was lovely and we had a table overlooking the street below which DW2B said really looked a lot like a Parisian street. Everyone was super friendly, and we could see the lagoon and Spaceship Earth from our window seat which they saved for us (again, I think it was the French).

We will certainly eat here again on our next trip. We both agree this is the best French restaurant we have ever eaten at for overall experience outside of France.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Oct 2001
Reviewer: kennyhues Campbell, CA     August 16, 2002
We stopped into the Bistro spontaneously for lunch. Megan had the Croque Monsieur, a fancied-up fried ham and cheese sandwich, and I had a tuna salad number whose fancy French name I can't recall. The sandwiches were quite good and fairly large. The Croque was crispy without being oily and the tuna salad was made more interesting and with a slathering of tasty olive tapenade. About halfway through lunch, we had a giggle over how mundane the food actually was despite the taste upgrades and fancy names. "We went to the France Pavilion at Epcot and had French food: Ham-n-cheese and tuna salad sandwiches!" Ice-ice-cold Perrier with lemon slices washed it all down delightfully. We both ended up taking leftovers with us when we left Epcot for our afternoon "siesta."
Our waitress spoke with a thick French accent, and was quite eager to please, though a little shy. We tried out some of our high-school French with her and we all had a laugh misunderstanding each other.
As with all WDW eateries, the price is high compared to the same meal in the outside world. I'd definitely recommend Bistro de Paris for lunch, though I doubt we'll return for a while, since there are so many options at Epcot we haven't yet tried. Dinner is another matter, and we will try the Bistro for dinner next time we visit.
 
22 out of 28 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page