Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Chefs de France
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Upscale French restaurant featuring escargot, salads, beef, desserts and French wine.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 15 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   May 3
Reviewer: MexicanMickeyFans Mexico City     August 16, 2009
We were celebrating my mother's b-day that day. My dad passed away recently so I took her to WDW all the way from Mexico City to celebrate it so she wouldn't feel real sad that day. We were on the quick service plan so Chefs de France was going to be our only table service for the whole trip and we were paying in full for that dinner.
The food was awful and the service terrible. My mom returned her fish because it was not edible. We waited hours for everything and when they arrived to sing her happy birthday my daughter and I were at the bathroom so they sang when she was all by herself, she was embarrased and we completely missed it.
Definitely not a restaurant I will ever return.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 5, 2009
Reviewer: Jodieileen6 Mechanicsburg, OH     June 25, 2009
I had eaten here about ten years ago and enjoyed it, so when I made our lunch reservations for June 5 and heard that Remy would be here, I was doubly excited.

Remy did not disappoint, and neither did Les Chefs de France. Our server, Kevin, was a very nice young man. He had a good understanding of the menu and the dining plan, and his English was good enough that neither he nor we got confused. Remy came around twice to us, and Armand, the maitre'd with him, was very funny in an overblown, stereotypical French way. We are huge Ratatouille fans so we really got a kick out of Remy.

It was pouring down rain while we were there, and we were seated on the glass-enclosed patio, and it was very pleasant, what I imagine a real French cafe might be like. My boyfriend ordered short ribs served with mushrooms, onions, and pasta, and the lemon tart. It was very flavorful. My 5-year-old had the cheeseburger on brioche and it was delicious (I tried it.) I ordered the prix fixe menu, so I am the only one to blame, but I had french onion soup (good), the macaroni and cheese made with gruyere (great), and the creme brulee' (good). It was only after I ordered this that I realized it was all creamy white food with no vegetables, unless you count the onions in the soup. Kevin had suggested a very good glass of wine with my meal and I guess that's what made it not entirely overbearingly cheesy.

The food and atmosphere were great, but I hope to try at least a salad next time.

Service: Very good. Kevin was there for us when we needed him, and standing by when we didn't. I also noticed other servers throughout our meal--the restaurant is well staffed and appears to run very smoothly.
Price: We were on the Dining Plan. The prices seemed about in line with most Disney table service.
Food: Delicious. A taste of France in Orlando, FL! If you don't understand something on the menu, just ask your server. Kevin was very good at explaining things to us and even recommended desserts and wines.
Atmosphere: My favorite part of this experience! Remy definitely adds to the atmosphere, and I felt like I was in a French cafe! It was especially nice because it was POURING down rain and we could look out the long windows. I could have stayed at Les Chefs de France all day.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Monday, August 18th 2008
Reviewer: muchado aboutmuffins CAMBS, UK     September 10, 2008
Atmosphere - Lovely decor, tables a little too close together (we were practically sitting on the laps of the party next door), our server was very slow and had trouble understanding us, but the amazing food more than made up for it. We waited ten minutes for a glass of wine and a glass of milk, which was sitting at the bar one table away from us for the whole time - it was only brought to our table after we prompted the server.
Food - My mother and I weren't hungry enough for a full dinner entree, so we both had appetizers. My mother had the onion soup, which she loved. I had the leek and potato soup (the soup du jour) which was wonderfully creamy and filling. However despite us ordering them together, my mother had finished her soup before mine arrived at the table. We also shared a Tarte a la Flame Alsacienne (flatbread with creme fraiche, onion and bacon) which I found to have a strange flavour, but was enjoyable none the less. My younger sister had the burger from the childrens' menu, which came with fries. She found it to be too much for her, even though she would usually have an adult portion since she has long outgrown the maximum age for the childrens' menu. My older sister had the Demi poulet fermier roti, pommes puree au basilic et tomate braisee (half a roast chicken with mashed potatoes and tomato). She liked it, but found there to be too much chicken and not enough potato to go with it. For dessert, we all shared a portion of creme brulee. We weren't expecting it to be served cold, but it was still nice. We found it to be one of the most enjoyable meals of the trip, and would definitly go back.
Price - $60 for four people including tip, baring in mind that two of us only had appetizers and one ate from the childrens' menu.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 30, 2007
Reviewer: Imjusta babyduck Pace, Florida     May 15, 2007
We have eaten at Chefs de France several times and we love it. This time we had a tomato and goat cheese tart and a cheese plate for starters. The tart is kinda like pizza only so, so, so much better. I love cheese, and the cheese plate was yummy! Not this time, but often we get the french onion soup and it is the best you will ever have. We had the spare ribs (which fell off the bone) and grilled tenderloin -- both exceptional. For dessert we had creme brulee and apple crepe' -- both very good. We ate late and got a window table so we were able to watch Illuminations while we ate dinner; that certainly added to the already lovely ambience. Our servers were both just wonderful. We were on the DDP and tipped them extra because they were so good. We will eat here again, and I would recommend Chefs de France to anyone.
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   Oct. 1, 2006
Reviewer: Tuke Pensacola, FL     December 28, 2006
We had heard mixed reviews about Chefs de France, so we waited unitl we had the meal plan to eat there. We arrived a few minutes early, and had a small wait. Our waiter seemed friendly, and we were seated by the window, giving us a lovely view of EPCOT. Sadly, those are the only nice things we can say about the entire experience. The waiter was inattentive and we waited a long time between his visits. I came quite near getting up and pouring my own tea one time. This was on a quiet night in October, the crowds were low and not a factor. We were first served rolls with our meal, which could have doubled as hockey pucks at the nearby Canada pavilion. We sawed through a couple of them but even butter did not help.
We then received our appetizers the Tarte a la tomate et fromage de chevre (melted goat cheese on bread). This was already room temperature, so it must have waited a while as our waiter was off doing other things. For dinner, my wife ordered the chicken, and I ordered the steak. Unfortunately, by the time we started eating we were unsure if the steak was more tough or the chicken more rubbery. Not wanting to waste a steak, I did attempt to eat it, but eventually my jaws got tired of the chewing and I had to admit defeat. My wife picked at her chicken but was by this time was so unhappy there was no rescuing the evening.
My wife tried the sherbets for dessert, but did not care much for them as the flavors were a little over-powering. I had the crème brulee, but it was unremarkable. In summary, the service was poor, the portions small, and the food unpalatable. It will be a very long time before we eat here again, if ever. With all the selections at EPCOT it will be no difficulty to find a better meal.
 
7 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 4, 2006
Reviewer: lisaboo Sacramento, CA     October 18, 2006
This was actually my favorite meal at Epcot, even more so than Le Cellier, as hard as that may be to believe. Perhaps it was because Le Cellier had been hyped up so much and I had lower expectations for Les Chefs de France. It also might be because we had superior service here. We arrived slightly before our reservation and were seated immediately at a table right next to the window. It was actually the only table-service reservation where we didn't have to wait before being seated. Our waiter was from Avignon and was delightful and friendly. For appetizers my fiance had the lobster bisque which was creamy and rich and I had the escargot, which was the second best I have ever had. For entrees I had the pork chop and my fiance had the lamb shank, both of which were delicious. For dessert we had the creme brulee and the profiteroles, which were both amazingly good. The atmosphere of this restaurant is, as it should be, like something directly out of a paris bistro. The view out of the huge windows of World Showcase was lovely and a wonderful way to people watch. This was the final meal of our WDW trip and we felt it was a magical way to end our stay. I will definitely return on future trips.
 
5 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 29, 2005
Reviewer: BigStan727 Burbank, IL near Midway airport     January 22, 2006
We reserved priorty seating but were admitted a bit late after sitting down on a bench. But it was worth the wait. We had the special that included the French onion soup, rotiserie half of chicken, and creme brulee. I ordered extra the goat cheese salad. The soup was the best I had. There was a nice amount of browned cheese floating on the bread above the sweet onions and broth. Very delicately flavored not like the robust beef flavored soup of Cafe Bistro 101 in Chicago which is also excellent.
Viva la differance! The goat cheese salad my wife and I shared was very good. If you have never tried goat cheese it is sweeter and smoother with a slight muskiness. You either love it or hate it. The chicken was very moist and delicious. The mashed potatoes were very good too. A tomatoe was sliced in half and broiled with herb. Nice touch. Finally the dessert came and it was very good creme brulee. For wine we chose the better bottle of champagne offered on the wine menu and I was very impressed by its finesse and taste.
The champagne was $68.00 which is a good deal considering location. Since we both had the chef special pre fixe dinner which is moderately priced we thought their best champagne was appropriate. The atmosphere is busy and a bit noisey but we still enjoyed this restaurant. The waitress asked us if we were on the Disney Dining Plan and seemed happy by our reply of no. The dining plan includes gratuities with table meals but I strongly recommend tipping extra if you can as I am sure the tip percentage is lower by Disney. This restaurant reminded me of dining in Paris.
 
7 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   07/30/05
Reviewer: Bassgod76 Delray Beach, Florida     August 02, 2005
While this was my first experience in an Epcot restaurant, my wife has been to every country's restaurant except, Canada. We made reservations for a 7:20pm dinner, but apparently they were also taking walk-ins as well.
PROS:
MENU: The menu is relatively easy to navigate, while having a reasonable amount of choices.
STAFF: Despite that it is a French restaurant, all employees were courteous and friendly.
Appetizer: We ordered the imported cheese tray. It consisted of Brie, some sort of goat cheese, and camenbeir. I love cheese, but wasn't very impressed by what we were served. It tasted like Disney purchased the cheese from a local supermarket.
SOUP: Disney has a deal where you get soup, a main course of chicken, and creme Brulet for $25.99. We chose this as our meal. The French onion soup was impressive, and came to our table steaming hot.
MAIN COURSE: Unlike most French dining I've experienced, Disney takes a simpler route in meal preparation. The chicken was roasted, and very tender. Also, the mashed potatoes were creamy and contained no lumps. Lastly there was a side of tomato halves that were marinated in rosemary.
DESERT: Disney knows how to make a mean Creme Brulet. The crust on top was perfect, and the creme inside was exquisite.
PORTION SIZE: I thought I was going to die after this meal. The portion size could satisfy even the hungriest person.
PRICE: This meal for two people + two glasses of wine cost us $69.00. Not bad considering what you got.

CONS:
Like most Disney restaurants, this is not a place for quiet dining. In fact, the loud atmosphere an close proximity of tables made the meal seem longer than it actually was.

While the servers were nice, they weren't the quickest. There were points where we wouldn't see our server for 10 minutes at a time.

I would go back to Chefs De France again. I was in no hurry, so a long meal wasn't such a burden. However, my wife says the restaurant in Italy is better. Next time, I will skip the cheese tray and the soup, due to the incredible portion size of the main course and desert.
 
4 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   March 22, 2004
Reviewer: OneForTheTeam Boston     March 30, 2005
A few years ago, I remember having a really good meal at Chefs de France. I had a reservation and got seated at a table upstairs. The service was excellent. The food was excellent.

When my wife and I were there on a decidedly off-peak day last spring, we put our name in at the desk. The place was packed, but that's not unusual. We were seated after not too long at a table downstairs.

The menu seemed much simpler than before; the entrees were all things that could be mass produced. And they were not very good. I don't even remember what we had. It was "unmemorable."

For dessert, we had burnt creme brule. How hard is to to make creme brule? It isn't. That's why they serve it at half the Disney restaurants. And if no one notices that the top is black as it comes out of the kitchen, that's bad.

Our server was hurried, inattentive, and unapologetic. It made me wonder, "Are my standards too high?" Has Chefs de France changed personality from be a good French restaurant to simply being a tourist trap? I hope not, but the place is too expensive for me to "test" with any regularity.
 
6 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   December 2003
Reviewer: barb45 Ontario, Canada     February 18, 2004
Worst steak my brother and I have ever eaten in our lives. My son and sister-in-law had good meals though. Our waiters were wonderful although when we asked about the steaks and the reason we ordered them is that the waiter said they were "lean and juicy". In Canada that is a good thing but in France must be bad. Anyway the service was wonderful and atmosphere is wonderful but for the price I was not happy.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page