Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Chefs de France
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Upscale French restaurant featuring escargot, salads, beef, desserts and French wine.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 15 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 15 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 19, 2003
Reviewer: jpradonc     December 24, 2003
We bought the "Candlelight Dinner Package" for two adults and two children. The Candlelight Processional was at 5 PM and the dinner reservation was at 6:20 PM. The show let out at 5:50 PM and it was a short walk to Chefs de France and we were seated by 6:10 PM. We gave the dinner coupon which includes gratuity to the waiter. The service was superb from Roman our waiter even though the gratuity was already paid.
We were allowed one item from the appetizer, salad or soup page. I had the onion soup and my wife had the warm goat cheese salad. Both were excellent.
We were allowed one entre. We both had the Hanger Steak which also was superb.
I had the puff pastry and I have forgotten what my wife had and I also had decaf coffee. Great desserts.
We would only have ordered one half of what we ordered if we had not been on the plan but I am glad we did. We gorged but then did not really eat the next day and got to have the best experience at this restaurant.
The kids' meals were only $10 but they got a drink, main course and dessert. Lots of fruit so it was better than most kids' meals.
A note on the atmosphere. My description would be that it is an exact replica of a typical French urban cafe from a few decades ago. All of the waiters are French and are speaking French as they bark out orders, etc. It was similiar to my experience in France except all of the employees were unbelievabley and authentically nice. It also is a very casual place and people should not be hesitant to go if they do not think that they are dressed well enough.
We were so enthusiastic about this meal that it put a great spin on the rest of our trip.
The next day we were walking in front of the restaurant and two French performers from the restaurant were out doing gags with the crowd. Then they stacked a set of tables and chairs twenty feet high and climbed to the top and did handstands!
The restaurant also is not that expensive. Around 5 to 7 dollars for an appetiser, 20 to 25 dollars for a main course.
Do not miss Les Chef de France!
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Aug. 23/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     October 11, 2003
Lunch
Superb service
Excellent value for what we received
Delicious food
Incredible atmosphere

This is a fantastic restaurant and I don't normally even like French cuisine. The setting is charming and we were lucky enough to be seated at a lovely little table for two right up against the windows with a great view of the promenade. The service was nothing short of fabulous. Our waiter was extremely helpful and attentive. One sip from your water glass and he was there to unobtrusively refill it for you. I felt very pampered. The food was outstanding. We both ordered their lunch special which they always offer and which consists of French onion soup, green salad, grilled ham and gruyere cheese sandwich and creme brulee. Every mouthful was out of this world. And the total cost was about $15 each for the entire meal. I heartily recommend this establishment to anyone.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   25 December 2002
Reviewer: chezp United Kingdom     June 08, 2003
Dinner, 25 December 2002 Christmas Day, part of the Candlelight Processional dining package

Service: Good
Price: Difficult to comment, as this was a Candlelight Processional dining package
Food: Excellent
Atmosphere: Wonderful, extremely authentic and reminded me of many great trips to Paris!

The meal was superb, with just the right length of time left between each course to allow the previous one to settle. I enjoyed every mouthful and was determined to finish it all, which I did, apart from a couple of mouthfuls of dessert. I had the French imported cheese plate as an appetizer, which was excellent. I love my cheese, but DH cant eat dairy products, so for me this was a great treat. Most of the cheeses were familiar, but one wasnt and come to think of it, I did ask our server to write down the name of it, but he never did. Shame, as Id love to try and get it over here. DH had the escargots, but didnt enjoy them as much as he had two years ago. He said they just didn't seem to taste as good, which was a disappointment for him, as two years he'd been blown away by them.

For entrée, he had the duck, with natural jus, Puy lentils and braised endive. He loved the duck, but wasnt too impressed with the accompaniment. I had the seared grouper, salmon, scallops and crab meat with stuffed tomato and saffron sauce and spinach ravioli. This was a perfect melt in the mouth combination. I think on both courses, I ended up with the better choice!

Again, desserts werent listed on the main menu, but were explained separately. As a result, I cant remember what either of us had, but I do remember mine being very nice and something chocolate!

As far as the atmosphere goes, it was like the Flying Fish Café, in that the interior was very light and airy. We left there feeling satisfied and full, but not stuffed and really thats how it should be with a good restaurant. The tables were a little crammed in together, but it allowed us to strike up conversations with the two families at the table next to us during the course of our meal, which was nice. One family had a CM who worked in Epcot and it was fascinating to chat to him.

The bill here was just $14.79 for a bottle of wine, as everything else was included in the Candlelight Processional package. I like the package, as you pay for it upfront, so it doesn't have to be added to your bill during your stay at Disney. I felt $79.95 for the package was a reasonable price for some excellent food, especially as that price also includes the tip. This is a great choice for a meal at Epcot.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   December 2002
Reviewer: Music Mole Fort Worth, Texas     April 25, 2003
Service: great service from a wonderful waiter. We really enjoyed visiting with him.

Price: expensive, but we expected that

Food: DH enjoyed his entree more than mine. I didn't realize the lamb would be this huge shank! It was intimidating - enough to feed a family of 4 in my opinon! Overall the food was good, including the desserts.

Atmosphere: It was really warm and inviting on a cold December night.

We were seated at a table along a banqette that ran the length of a wall, with tables in a row in front of it. Because of this set-up we did feel like we and our neighbors were very "aware" of what was going on at each other's tables. My preference would have been to be at a regular table, but considering the fact that they were turning people away at the podium outside, we were just pleased to have a PS to get in!

We might not go back again for dinner (tab for two people with 1 glass of wine and dessert was over $100), we are going to try them for lunch on our next trip.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   February 2001
Reviewer: poweraap Millburn, New Jersey     July 30, 2002
The service in this restaurant is very charming. The French waiters are very accommodating, as well as very pleasant. The ambience is also charming, though, can feel a bit cramped at times.

The biggest disappointment came with the food itself. Each of our party of four had a different dish ranging from beef to fish to chicken. None of us were too impressed with our meals. All of us felt that the entrees were heavy and somewhat bland. The desserts were very good. However, after hearing all the wonderful things about this restaurant we were disappointed. There are definitely many restaurants in WDW, even EPCOT, that are considerably better.
 
10 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page