Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Coral Reef
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Eat amidst large ocean acquariums. This elegant table service restaurant features seafood, and an extensive wine list.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 19 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 19 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 27, 2005
Reviewer: BigStan727 Burbank, IL near Midway airport     January 22, 2006
I wish I could give this restaurant 6 planets as we had the best lunch ever here. The chef had a fish lunch special of Wahoo. (Wahoo is caught occasionally in the Carribean and looks like something between a barracuda and a tuna.) After the included salad which was good came the the fish which was a thick steak with the texture of tuna but white and mild like mahi-mahi. It sat above mashed potatoes bathed in a burgandy sauce with chunks of sweet tender carrots and a chunk of mushroom. The chef is quite a tease though as I was crying for more of the vegetables. I have never had a fish dish that was so completely astounding. Red wine sauce on fish with almost stewed carrots and mushrooms? Well done! Thumb's up to the chef that provided this recipe. The included dessert was cheescake and that was good. All in all a great deal for the $20.00 fixed price meal. We ordered some German table wine, a modest reisling that was overpriced but it accompanied the meal well. I would have liked the recipe but where can you get Wahoo in the Chicago area? It is a rare fish and I am sure that is why this excellent meal is not on the regular menu. Where in the world can you dine next to the biggest tank in the world with sharks and reef fish swimming about? Coral Reef that's where. Enjoy!!!
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   November 1, 2004
Reviewer: Tiffany Z Baltimore, Maryland     November 09, 2004
What a BIG waste of money!!! The food was very bland. I love seafood and come from a coastal city where seafood is prepared wonderfully. We made this our big night out as a family and I was embarassed that I even made the PS. The menu was so limited and everything on it was prepared in a similar fashion. No one in our family enjoyed it. My husband was never asked if he wanted another drink even though his was gone after the appetizer. We dropped $179 for dinner that I would say was worth about $65. I expected much more for the price.
 
8 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   8/27/04
Reviewer: katmac974 Boston, Ma     August 31, 2004
My father had wanted to eat here for a while, his being a lover of all things tropical, and having had a salt water aquarium for many years, he wanted to see what they had! So I made our PS for 7 people, 4 adults, 3 kids ages 5, 9, & 10. We loved it! My husband had some sort of seafood pasta, I had crab cakes, my parents had the chicken salad special. The kids went with Pasta with butter sauce. It was all wonderful! My youngest was enthralled with all the fish, and kept pointing out the "big ones" to his grandpa. All in all I would recommend this restaurant to anyone... the staff was great, from the gentleman that seated us (and traded pins happily with the children) to our waitress who was very chipper! I'm not sure of the cost, as most know, when dad's around you never see the bill!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   December 1, 2003
Reviewer: RagDahl Ft. Lauderdale, Florida     January 08, 2004
I found this restaurant to be a big disappointment. My parents insisted on taking my boyfriend and I there as a treat. They had gone a few years ago and, aside from children running back and forth in front of the tank, they enjoyed it.

Our PS was for 8:00pm, but they were behind and didn't seat us until 8:30. Our table was on the upper level, as far back from the tank as you can get. Our waitress didn't get to us for at least 10 minutes. That entire time, we didn't have menus, so we were only able to order drinks. Then we had to wait for her to come back to take the food order. In her defense, I think she had a couple of large parties.

I wasn't impressed with anything on the menu. I finally chose some kind of chicken on a bed of noodles. When I got it, it tasted like something you buy in a box at the store and make at home. My parents both got steaks, but had to order them without the strange sauce they come with, so both were pretty small and dry. My boyfriend got a stuffed pepper. It came alone on a plate and was the size of an apple. I couldn't get over how small it was and it cost $17! The only thing worth mentioning is the lobster bisque, which was tasty.

The atmosphere was lousy. The place was packed and was so loud that you had to talk very loudly for someone next to you to hear. At least three times someone dropped a plate or a glass. The waitress never came back during the meal. She just showed up at the end with the check.

I imagine that the main reason to eat here is for the view of the tank, but we could hardly see it. It was nice, but not enough to sit through a bad meal. I'm also kind of biased because I used to work for a company that made large tanks. (See the tanks in the Rain Forest Cafe in Animal Kingdom. I made that coral!) None of us really enjoyed this experience at all.

In the end, it cost us about $120 for dinner for four with sodas and no alcohol or desserts. I felt horrible and wish that I had tried to lure my parents to Italy for dinner. (Alfredo's is amazing!)
 
8 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 15, 2003
Reviewer: DVCTiff Hudson Valley, NY     November 01, 2003
I had the best meal I've ever eaten in my life at Coral Reef. I deemed it the meal I would want to eat as my last if I were ever on Death Row! Our waiter, Tony, was fabulous, and I had the special South African lobster tail which was amazingly delicious. The food was terrific from our appetizers to the complimentary Chocolate Wave that we received as honeymooners. We could tell that not everyone was enjoying themselves as much as we were (a waitress dropped a plate of food on a child) but I think our experience was more the norm than the exception. There's really not a bad view of the fish tank and watching Mickey dive was quite a treat. We can't wait to go back!
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   9/8/2003 - 9/15/2003
Reviewer: drew489 (limitedition@yahoo.com) New Hampshire (near Boston)     September 17, 2003
Type of meal. Lunch

Service: Pretty good, slightly snobbish but the waiter was nice and friendly. A good personality and was helpful in selecting the meals/wines.

Price: Expensive but again, not overly so.

Food: Average food. 2 out of the 5 in our party disliked the food. Mine was good but not enough to fill me up.

Atmosphere: We didnt get close to the aquarium view even though it was not crowded so I'll say the atmosphere COULD have been great but it was only average.

It would be a nice place for a romanti dinner for two if you can get seats next to the aquarium. Not recommended for families with small children.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   sept 8, 2002
Reviewer: edlowthegreat colorado Spings, CO     June 26, 2003
This place was wonderful! We went there for lunch on our last day at WDW. We had tons of food "credits" left from the package we had purchased and the CM made sure we were able to use them all up. WE each got 2 appetizers and 1 meal plus we totaled 3 desserts! We sat right up against the glass and managed to see all kinds of fish and sharks ( between bites) LOL I would come back for sure! As a matter of fact my hubby and I are planning a trip for the same week this year and it is on our must eat at list!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   July 4, 2002
Reviewer: Odekoz Reading, Pa     August 19, 2002
This was the WORST place that I have eaten in all of WDW. The place was loud, the service was horrible, the food was terrible, and the view, well, there wasn't a very good one. I will never recommend this place to anyone. This place actually gave me an anxiety attack.
 
13 out of 36 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   2/2/2002
Reviewer: Aethan Boston, MA     June 25, 2002
This was, by far, the stand-out restaurant of my visit to Epcot, if not the best meal I ate at Disney World. It was a great experience from beginning to end. The matire d' smiled at us as he led us in. "I hope you don't mind," he said, "but we're giving you a *fabulous* table." They were indeed! We were seating directly against the window into the Living Seas, and we watched rays, sharks, and beautiful fish swimming by as we enjoyed our meal. The atmosphere for the restaurant is definitely half the experience. The music, lighting, and the huge aquarium walls all contributed to making the meal fantastic. The service was top notch; our host was congenial, prompt, and attentive. The food was absolutely unbelievable. For appetizers, I ordered a giant sea scallop in pastry, while my boyfriend ordered the alligator sausage, since he'd never had alligator before. Both were excellent. I had grilled shrimp and lobster tail, while my boyfriend had steak and lobster tail. We both agreed that the lobster was one of the best we'd ever been served - grilled and seasoned to absolute perfection. Finally, for dessert, my boyf had creme brulee, which was nice, but I got the dessert that had been recommended to us by others: the Chocolate Wave. I cannot imagine there is another dessert this good in all of Disney. It was a chocolate torte, served with a scoop of homemade white chocolate ice cream. When the torte was broken into, rivers of melted white and dark chocolate and Gran Marnier flowed out. Absolutely fantastic. We also had a drink called octopus juice - a pina colada with an infusion of chambord - and now we order it in other restaurants. The price is definitely high, but, considering the food and the experience, it is completely worh the price. I cannot recommend this restaurant enough.
 
42 out of 44 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page