Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Coral Reef
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Eat amidst large ocean acquariums. This elegant table service restaurant features seafood, and an extensive wine list.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 54 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 19 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 16, 2008
Reviewer: rbaadmin Elwood, IL     May 26, 2008
I was a chaperone for twenty high school seniors, and we decided to try some unique restaurants that we thought they would enjoy. Well, we were right on this one. They set us at three different large tables down in front of the aquarium windows for a great dinner and a "show" with the fish and the human divers. From experience, the steak was incredible with a great seasoned sauce spread over it. You have to try the chocolate cake for dessert! We used the meal plan and definately got our money's worth, with my meal alone totalling about $50.00. The service was great even with a huge group!! I would definately return in the future!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   11/13/07 to 11/18/07
Reviewer: HILNDKID Provo, Utah     November 28, 2007
Very nice dinner with a wonderful atmostphere. We had the new york strip steaks and king crab legs. The crab legs were ok, nothing thrilling.....but the steaks were fantastic. The aquariam was nice to see. Overall a great experience for our family of 6 including a picky eater that only likes steak and potatoes! Would go there again for sure.
 
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 21, 07
Reviewer: HauntedGabe Chicago, IL     November 26, 2007
By far the best sit down experience of our six day visit to the world. It has been several years since we dined here and it only became better. All three courses were well presented and tasted so good. Original, which is not always the case anymore. The CM were all friendly from the time we walked in until they held the door for us on the way out. What we did notice was an involved manager. Out and about the whole time we were there, helping out and keeping a watchful eye on everything. I believe this made all the difference in the world. The atmosphere is very special here and has a warm and fuzzy feel for all ages. The kids meals were served on Mickey Head plates. Kids snacks and desserts were arranged to form hidden Mickey's. Small details made it a great experience. I'd give more planets if they were available.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 9, 2006
Reviewer: mickeysgirl17 Jacksonville, FL     October 24, 2007
I was worried about eating here after hearing horrible reviews about the place but it turned out to be a wonderful meal.
We checked in at the podium for a early dinner at 4pm. When I arrived, the lobby area was completely full of people waiting around for a table. I expected to wait a very long time. That wasn't the case. As soon as we found a spot to wait, my name was called and my family of 3 were being escorted to our table in a matter of a minute or two. I forgot to request a table near the fish tank, but we were seated in the middle row area and still had a great view. The restaurant itself was beautiful, and had wonderful atmosphere.
First, we received some bread with butter which my daughter got very full on. Next, came our appetizers, shrimp cocktail and ceaser salad. Both were very good. For entrees, we ordered the steak and it was the best steak I've ever had in my life.
Flavorful, soft and cooked to perfection.
For dessert, I had the cheesecake without the sauce and my husband had the chocolate wave. Both were very good.
Service was pretty good and the fish tank kept my toddler very happy and busy.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 16, 2007
Reviewer: Chicago Wookiee Chicago, Illinois     July 10, 2007
Date: Saturday June 16, 2007 with 1:20pm ADR.
Meal: Lunch
Diners: Two adults.
Service: Very engaging and attentive.
Price: $118 for two of us with tip (used credits from our premium dining plan).
Value: Expensive meal for a lunch but food quality and atmosphere make it worth it.
Food: Great tasting food very well presented.
Atmosphere: Three tier floor with one wall being all windows into large aquarium.

This restaurant is not big by Disney standards and is set directly next to a giant aquarium filled with giant turtles, sharks, rays, tarpons, and many other fish. There are three tiers with the lowest directly next to the aquarium windows and the next about 14 inches higher. Each tier contains only two rows of tables with the walkway running between them. Every table in the place looks to have a great view of the fish.

We arrived a couple minutes late for our ADR and checked in without any issues. We then waited about 20 minutes until we were seated and the crowd in the waiting area was at an overflow causing many to stand and become irritated. While in the waiting area you can not see the table area or any of the aquarium windows.

As we are being walked to the table we enter the seating area and what an amazing view of the tank. Once seated it takes a couple minutes for our waitress to approach but when she does there is a good amount of time spent explaining the menu, what options we have on the dining plan (including non-alcoholic specialty drinks!), and the fish guide at the table. We order a specialty drink that comes with a clear blue plastic dolphin along with a soft drink.

Our appetizers consist of a tasty Curry Cauliflower soup and a rich Creamy Lobster soup with brandy. Main entrees are Pesto Risotto that includes a good tasting Portobello mushroom topped with some crispy onion straws along with a fantastic grilled Mahi Mahi served over Israeli couscous. Dessert is a freshly prepared and flavorful citrus crème brulee that is topped with a raspberry and a small orange zest along with a dessert called The Chocolate Wave that includes some brandied cherries this thing was super rich and out of this world!

Great service and great food overshadow the slight wait and expensive menu. This meal gets five stars in our book and goes down as one of the best ever had at WDW!
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5/11/2007
Reviewer: jayetee Royalston, MA     June 07, 2007
Although menu tends to be pricey, the aquarium show made it worth the trip. The food was excellent and you were certainly full upon leaving. Service tended to be slow, but the staff was friendly and helpful.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   5/7/07
Reviewer: tjrj Durango CO     May 18, 2007
11:30 ADR. Checked in and waited about 10 minutes for our table. Was on the 2nd tier next to the rail. Liked this view because I think we got a better over-all view of the tank rather than being right up close to it. Enjoyed matching the sea life to the guide that is given to you. Service was prompt and friendly wo being intrusive. 3 adults used 2 ts credits on the DDP-and I paid OOP for my wine(chardonney) and chicken caesar salad. Sourdough breadsticks were crusty on the outside and tender on the inside. DS 20 had asian shrimp cocktail and DS 15 had the lobster bisque. Their entrees were the prime rib for ds 15 and tilipia for ds 20. Fish was perfectly cooked according to him and ds polished off the prime rib, so I'm assuming he liked it! Desserts were a treat(yes, I sampled both)-the chocolate wave cake and the citrus creme brulee. I had better creme brulee at Concourse on this trip; but the chocolate wave was fabulous-filing was warm and the cake was moist. My entree? The chicken caesar salad was...well, chicken caesar salad. Good but nothing to write home about. Place was loud-and it wasn't full. Lots of kiddos(but that's to be expected at WDW).

Actually, for a seafood restaurant, I found the menu fairly limited on seafood-particularily on shellfish.

Expensive-if one wasn't on the DDP. If you are then it's certainly a good use of your credits from a money standpoint.

Would I return? After I'd tried other places at Epcot. The menus I've seen for dinner is a bit more varied-I'd like to try that. More shellfish would be a plus.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Christmas 2006
Reviewer: Tink77 Tampa, Florida     March 22, 2007
This is NOT a meal! The Coral Reef (@WDW Epcot) is a DINING EXPERIENCE! (I'm a good eats junkie, wanna-be CHEF - and THIS was GOOD EATS!!!)
My fiance and I had lunch there during our Christmas stay in 2006. We were seated almost immediately to a beautifully decorated booth with richly colored shiny mosaic tiles surrounding us. It was dimly lit (VERY romantic) and in front of us was one of the most amazing oceanic displays I've ever seen in a restaurant! It was simply breathtaking, filled with sharks, sea turtles, stingrays - so many different species of fish I couldn't count!! We ordered drinks (we ARE on vacation (and w/o kiddies :)) and 1 Crown and Coke and 1 glass of Merlot was delivered right away.
Our server was extremely friendly!! We just loved her! (Wish I could recall her name, - well deserved coodos!)
We ordered 2 appetizers - the seafood souffle and Snow Crab Claws and spicy coleslaw. We were completely silent as we ate (change for me especially :)) Our first experience with the Coral Reef was looking good!
I ate the Prime Rib with a baked potato and fresh veggies. My fiance ordered the NY Strip with the same sides.
The food (in entirety) was SO good that we asked our server to personally thank the Chef and his staff for such a wonderful culinary experience. We then thanked our server (tipped her Very well - deservingly so) and as we walked out of the restaurant, talked about our next visit and how WE HAD to make sure this was on the agenda!!!

Special Note: our entire meal and tip cost approx. $120 however, in our opinion, it was worth EVERY penny.

The ambiance is amazing. It only adds to the delight of the food, which needs no "extras" to be described as delectible!!!

PLEASE TREAT YOURSELVES TO THIS CULINARY GEM!!!!!!!!!!

MAKE RESERVATIONS IN ADVANCE AND REQUEST A GLASS SIDE TABLE. :)
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 7, 2006
Reviewer: SandraVB79 Brussels, Belgium     May 18, 2006
I went to the Coral Reef by myself for a late lunch on Saturday May 7, 2006. I hadn't made ADRs before arriving at WDW, so I went to guest relations at Epcot first thing in the morning, and asked for a lunch ADR as late as possible, and I think gotone for 2.50 pm.

I arrived at 2.45 pm and got seated in a couple of minutes. The restaurant was rather empty, don't know if they have some sort of a "buffer" between lunch and dinner or not.

I sat on the second "tier" of tables, next to the railing, and was somehow glad I didn't sit right next to the tank, since I think you get a better view when you can see all of the windows.

For lunch, I had the lunch special ($20.99). I could choose between salad and lobster bisque, between baked potato with shrimp and a Rueben sandwich and it also came with cheesecake.

As appetizer, I chose the lobster bisque, which was very good, but it could have been warmer. It came with bread that was so fresh, it was hard to put the butter on it!! It was very very good!!

After that, I had the baked potato with shrimp and some butter sauce. At first, when it arrived, I was disappointed because the portion looked so small. It was baked potato (obviously) with 6 or 7 shrimp on top. It was absolutely delicious, and after finishing it, it wasn't that small a portion at all!! I was quite stuffed.

Dessert was some cheesecake with mango/passion fruit coulis. Since we don't have that kind of cheesecake in Belgium, I have no idea how it is supposed to be. I can only tell you that in this case, I had a hard time to behave and not lick the last crumbs of the plate!!!!!

I think the atmosphere in the restaurant is really nice. It wasn't loud at all, it was rather dark, and the fish kept me, a single luncher, very entertained!! Because I wasn't sitting with my nose next to the tank, I had a very good view of everything in the tank. At some point, there were also some divers, but no scuba-diving Mickey. the waitress said he doesn't come out often because "he is too expensive", lol! In the years she worked there, she has only seen him 5-6 times.

It was the best meal I had while at WDW, and I will certainly return to the restaurant, especially when I'm there by myself, because it's the only restaurant where you don't get bored between courses!!
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 2003
Reviewer: eizenga13 Longont, CO     March 22, 2006
I was formerly a cast member at WDW rld in the fall of 2001... A Jungle Cruise skipper, SKIPPER MATTHEW, do you remember me!?!?

In 2003 I went back as a guest and asked my (now) wife to marry me at the Coral Reef... Disney was so accomidating to us the got us a seat right next to the tank, my wife at that time just thought we were lucky, YEAH RIGHT it was packed in there and that ONE table was open, I guess she was in denial about that was possibly going to happen that night. During our dinner I had a diver go down into the tank and he unrolled a sign next to our window that said "will you marry me?" -Matthew

I got down on one knee, and it was the most memorable thing that could happen. EVERYONE in the resturaunt came up to me and said, NOW I HAVE TO DO SOMETHING just as romantic, thanks a lot!! Everyone cheered and clapped it was GREAT! AND Disney brought us champaigne (as well as another guest bougth us a drink... or desert, SORRY pal, I don't remember which one it was kinda a crazy moment!) However I was so impressed with everything, they took photos and gave us all this stuff, FOR NOTHING, as memory serves once again I was very nervous, but everything was great. We are making another trip down this October 2006 and look forward to reliving that moment (that is if the Living Seas is open by that time!) and creating new ones!
 
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page