Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Garden Grill at The Land
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Character breakfast, lunch and dinner dining with Disney pals Mickey, Pluto, Goofy, Chip and Dale. Restaurant rotates for 360-degree view while in Future World at Epcot.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 20 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   September 2011
Reviewer: 3Princesses1Prince Modesto, CA     September 26, 2011
We arrived right at our ADR time and got in fairly quickly. We were seated on the upper level but didn't mind at all. The food was delicious. We really enjoyed the mahi mahi and steak the most, as well as the mashed potatoes. My kids loved the drumsticks and sweet potato fries. I was partial to the kid's baked mac n cheese. It was really creamy and good. The character interaction was excellent. In the hour we were there we saw all the characters multiple times. The only thing we weren't thrilled with was the dessert. It was a raspberry-apple crisp and the raspberry overpowered the rest of the flavors. Service was great. She was very attentive and brought us seconds on nearly everything. We were on the dining plan so it was an excellent value (especially for the 3 kids). If paying out of pocket, I'm not sure if we'd go back because of the pricing. Especially since my oldest would be charged as an adult and my youngest will no longer be free.

Service: 5
Price: 3-4
Food: 4
Atmosphere: 4
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 2007
Reviewer: tmlande Chicago, IL     October 09, 2008
This was my boyfriend's first Character meal and we were lucky enough to get a reservation two days before. We didn't really know what to expect since we hadn't initially planned on attending. When we arrived for our 5:30pm seating time the restaurant was sparsely populated. We were seated in our own little section of the rotating floor. The food was amazing and the fact that they just kept bringing more was great (even if I couldn't possibly stuff myself any more). The most memorable part for us was the character interaction. Pluto, Chip, and Dale were all very friendly and funny. Instead of the typical waving and hugging, they hammed it up and brought it to a more adult level of interaction. They came around several times and remembered us as well. Mickey stopped by once for a brief time, but I guess he's Mickey so for some just seeing him is enough. Great food, great character interaction, great atmosphere (getting to see other attractions while rotating made dinner even more eventful), and great waitstaff. Highly recommended.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Sept. 18, 2007
Reviewer: indybraces luvdisney (susiebhthackney@yahoo.com) Anderson, IN     August 06, 2008
We had late dinner reservations for 7:45pm. We were seated in approx. 20-25 minutes. I love the way the restaurant revolved and you get a great view of The Land. The characters are absolutely wonderful. It was so nice to have Mickey sit down beside me and tug at my "bibs" because we were dressed alike. And Chip & Dale were equally as friendly. My husband and I had asked our server to take a pic of us. As she was instructing us to say "cheese" I was pleasantly surprised to have Dale literally run up behind us to get in the pic. The food is served family style and in abundance. The country-style catfish was great. The carved steak could have had a little more flavor. I loved that they actually used veggies from the land. Our service was wonderful and everyone was quite cheery. We had food on the table at all times and our glasses were never empty. Will definately eat there again.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   December 10, 2006
Reviewer: mickeysgirl17 Jacksonville, FL     October 24, 2007
I thought this would be a great place for a relaxing character meal, but it was a disaster. Food was terribly bland. It had no flavor and my husband actually asked the server for a child's meal for himself since he could not eat the food served on the platter but my daughters food looked great. Service was excellent though. Now, on to the characters...Mickey Mouse was out of character. He did not interact well at all. Chip also just quickly passed by and waved hello. Pluto and Dale, however were great. One more quick note: I get dizzy easily and this place made me feel a bit unbalanced because of the constant rotation and change of scenery. I don't recommend this place at all and I will never return.
 
2 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   June 2007
Reviewer: annebkpk California     July 11, 2007
We ate here after reading good reviews but we were not impressed. The service was good and the characters did come by and visit but the food was blah. It was lukewarm and not very tasty at all. The catfish was dry and tasteless. The waiter seemed surprised we didn't want seconds on the food. The characters seemed to skip by us most of the time (just me and my hubbie) which was a bit disappointing. Especially since I was wearing my birthday button.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 4, 2007
Reviewer: Imjusta babyduck Pace, Florida     May 15, 2007
We eat here everytime we go to WDW, most recently on May 4, 2007. We go mainly for the food -- it is EXCELLENT! The characters are always great as well, taking their time and having fun with the kids. These are the same characters that you get everywhere else though, and they are dressed like farmers. No real reason to go for them, but there is a reason to go for the food. It is family-style buffet and I cannot say enough good things about the food. It is always fresh, hot, and beyond delicious. Oh, and the restaurant rotates, but you really don't notice, and for me it is not that big of a deal scenery wise.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   May10, 2005
Reviewer: nrc Santa Clara, CA     July 05, 2005
I enjoyed the atmosphere and the seating of the booths. I didn't feel like others were on top of us we had our own private area to enjoy the characters when they came around. The characters came around often and spent adequate time with our family. The food was ok, nothing spectacular. I believe we had prime rib and potatoes. The characters were what made it so nice and to see our little one so happy to be with them. The service was very good and our waiter very friendly. I just think the food could be better.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Sept. 2004
Reviewer: rt2dz Texas     November 08, 2004
Characters Present: Mickey, Pluto, Chip, Dale

By this time, my husband and I were really sick of the same characters, but the kids were thrilled. This is one of the best themed restaurants I have seen at Disney. It revolves around the boat ride in The Land at Epcot. Very adult like, but the kids were thrilled with it and enjoyed seeing what comes next. We were there long enough for one full rotation, which we were told was typical/average.

Our server was very nice. I would describe her as professional and friendly. She never let anything slip. Drinks were constantly full and trash removed from the table. The food, family style again, was beyond good. There were many vegetables and the meats were good. My husband was in awe of how good the catfish was. There was a different set of foods for the kids. They ate both, finding favorites on each serving. There was a special dessert for them, which was wonderful. In addition, here they had coloring pages and crayons on the table. They were just constantly busy. They would have been just fine without any characters.

The characters here were again excellent. They came by frequently and took turns how they rotated around the restaurant. I do not think we ever went longer than 5 minutes without attention from the characters. They played and had a fun time with our kids and other children around us. They were enjoying themselves. They played with each other also. It just could not get any better. No doubt about it, we will revisit this one every trip.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 7, 2004
Reviewer: laurenblythe Shreveport, LA     June 27, 2004
Went for dinner-character. This is a good place if you are quick hungry. The food is "home-like"-roasted meats and potatoes. Characters very attentive. My son (age 3) enjoyed watching the different scenes as the restaurant revolved. Good service.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 27, 2003
Reviewer: Pirate's Life For Me Albuquerque, New Mexico     June 05, 2004
Since we were going to be in DisneyWorld for Thanksgiving, we decided what better place to eat Thanksgiving dinner than the Garden Grill where the food is plentiful. We have been to the Garden Grill every time we've gone to WDW and this is even when we have eaten at a vast number of the other sit-down restaurants needing priority seating.
The meals come family style meaning that they put all the food on separate plates and you serve yourself from there. Our particular late lunch meal included catfish, flank steak, chicken, mashed potatoes with mushroom gravy, vegetable blend, dressing, and apple cinnamon crisp for dessert. This has been our meal each time with the exception of the dessert which has been, in the past, lemon meringue pie, and strawberry shortcake. All of which have been absolutely delicious.
The food is amazing and there is always plenty to go around my family of four. When we run out of something, the waiter is always there quickly to replenish the supply. My sister and I(14 and 19, respectively) had mentioned that we weren't too fond of baked apple desserts and the waiter brought us 'dirt and worms' even though we ended up really enjoying the apple crisp.
In the past, we have also ordered fresh salads. The cucumbers are grown downstairs in The Land and a wonderful cucumber-ranch dressing was also made from these fresh-grown cucumbers.
The only complaint I would have about the Garden Grill is that you always eat more than you should because it is incredibly tasty. We are going to WDW at the end of June and cannot wait to go back to the Garden Grill.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page