Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Garden Grill at The Land
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Character breakfast, lunch and dinner dining with Disney pals Mickey, Pluto, Goofy, Chip and Dale. Restaurant rotates for 360-degree view while in Future World at Epcot.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 53.8 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 20 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   February 2002
Reviewer: kansaskix KS     April 19, 2004
This is a fun place to eat for a character experience, but not the very best. The restaurant in itself is neat because it rotates in one complete circle by the time you are done with your meal. It opens up to The Land ride in Epcot, but you can't really see anything unless you get out of your booth and go look over the railing. It's still neat knowing you're very slowly moving the entire time! The food is all you can eat, but you have to tell them to refill stuff, which I find annoying (they never offer, of course). The food is basically down-home country cooking and is pretty good. We got good interaction with the characters and the kids enjoyed it, but I don't like that it is somewhat difficult to interact with the characters. You are in a U-shaped booth that backs to a wall, so the characters cannot come behind you or get at anyone else except those seated at the ends--so they can basically only get to the two people sitting at the ends of the booth. For this reason, I don't think I would return here. I liked this restaurant better when it was just a regular restaurant and not character dining. I would spend my money on Crystal Palace or Grand Floridian for a buffet style meal in an open and much easier to interact atmosphere.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   11/17/2003
Reviewer: dizneyraver (travis@ideabranch.com) Covington, KY     November 28, 2003
My Partner Matt, his Mother Joann, and I (Travis) enjoyed Garden Grill for my 25th birthday. I had been curious about Garden Grill for a while, but it was not top priority for me to eat there. We had experienced the family-style, all-you-can-eat type of service at the Liberty Tree in Magic Kingdom, so we knew how the concept worked. The novelty of the rotating restaurant was interesting, but you really could not see anything unless you got up and walked to the edge to look over. We heard a few other people enjoying birthdays and Joann thought it would be fun to tell them it was mine. The next time the waitress came by Joann mentioned it. The waitress sort of responded politely, but generically. I really didn't think she heard/understood what Joann had said. However, at the end of the meal out came a few servers with a birthday cake, along with Pluto, Minnie, Mickey and a few other characters. The waitress also brought out some apple crisp that was very good. We saved most of the cake back at our room to eat later. (Be warned, when we went to eat it the next day, there were ants all over it. We had to throw it out. It is Florida, bugs come with the territory.) The food was good. I liked the catfish. Joann and Matt aren't a fan of the usually overly-fishy taste of catfish, but they enjoyed the catfish as well. The flavor was a bit more mild then expected. I thought perhaps they raised it there (like the fish you see in the boat ride) but the waitress told me they used to but now they just serve some frozen brand. We also had flank steak and turkey, along with a mixture of squash and other vegetables. I believe it was about $20 a person, so about $70 or so for all three (with tax). Don't know the exact price, as Joann was nice enough to treat us for my birthday! The whole experience met the high Disney Restaurant standard, but I don't have to go back. I enjoyed Liberty Tree much better.

Service -- 4/5
Price -- 3/5
Food -- 4/5
Atmosp -- 3/5
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/4/02
Reviewer: yecats New Orleans, Louisiana     September 18, 2003
Lunch was around 12:30 with PS. We arrived on time and had about a 10 minute wait and were provided a beeper. We were eventually seated on the second tier level next to the entrance to the kitchen.

We both enjoyed the buffet which was served in a large skillet and included fried fish, flank steak strips and turkey. There was also steamed veggies, mashed potatoes and fresh bread. Dessert for the x-mas holiday was a pumpkin cheescake type dessert served in smaller skillet for two. We thoroughly enjoyed every bit of it. I can't say enough about the food but it really hit the spot and couldn't get any healthier if they tried. Delicious.

Service was great. We were served in a timely manner with dessert coming as we were finished eating the main meal. Our drinks were refilled several times.

The characters were wonderful. We had a great time meeting Farmer Mickey, Goofy, Chip and Dale. We had enough time to interact and take photos.

The total of our meal came to about $47 with tip for 2 adults. As stated before, we had an absolutly great time and are returning soon to eat here again.

P.S. the restaurant did one full rotation during the time we ate, so we must have only been there for about an hour.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   01/27/2003
Reviewer: pa-mom2twins Pennsylvania     June 20, 2003
We arrived for our reserved Birthday Dinner for our 5 year old boy/girl twins about 5 minutes early, and gently reminded the hostess again that it was the twins birthday. When we were seated within 20 minutes and our waiter almost immediately arrived and explained what the family style meal consisted of. The meal came in sections, and was very good, but consisted of rather small portions. The flank steak and catfish were excellent, but everything else was very blah and ordinary. The waiter was very rushed and we did not see him very often when reorders were needed. The characters made their way around the revolving restaurant several times and this was the most character interaction we had at any Disney Restaurant ever. There was Minnie, Mickey, Goofy, and Pluto present on our day and we got to see them all about 5 times in the approximate hour that we were there. They sat in our booth, took photos, and played with our children. Fairly quickly, the waiter arrived with our check, so we thought that was it and proceeded to the front. As we were walking, we noticed a couple that the characters were singing happy birthday to and were being presented with a cake. My children immediately began to cry because they had forgotten their birthday. One of the waiters came to us and told us if we wanted to sit down again, they would send the characters over with the cake. Well, at this point my kids were tired and they were very upset, so we proceeded to leave (with smoke coming out of my ears...I was angry). The Manager came after us with a cake in a box and an apology...which was very ridiculous I thought. Although a discount or free meal would not have made my children feel better at the time, it sure would have been a nice gesture after what had occured. But nothing other than a cake to go was offered. Obviously, this is the reason that I gave this restaurant such a low rating. The food was just ok, the service was poor, the environment of the revolving restaurant and the various view of "The Land" were superb, the character intereaction was second to none, but the Birthday celebration did not occur and my children's experience was ruined for the day. When I made my reservations with WDW Dine, they told me to remind the hostess upon check in of a Birthday, because they are known to forget (not her exact words, but close). Well let me tell you...they forget!
 
3 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Feb. 23/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     April 05, 2003
We attended the ice cream social at the Garden Grill. We were seated immediately and the character interaction began very shortly thereafter. It was pretty much non-stop characters as there were very few customers at this time of day (3 p.m.). The rotating restaurant aspect was fun as we got to see various scenes from "The Land." And the ice cream was nothing short of fabulous. A huge sundae was served most appealingly in an ice cream cone bowl that had a chocolate chip cookie as its base. This proved to be a very filling afternoon snack. My only complaint was the service - not that the cast member was slow or rude or anything. But it was very apparent that he was trying to rush us through the whole process. He actually brought our bill at the same time as he brought our sundaes. My recommendation would be to go to the ice cream social for the character interaction (by far the cheapest character "meal" at only $7 per person) and the yummy ice cream but just don't let your server rush you. We simply ignored his pointed looks and took our time, enjoying both the characters and the surroundings.

 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   03/26/03
Reviewer: marklar Colorado     April 04, 2003
Had character lunch Farmer Mickie, Chip and Dale and Pluto. Character interaction was great. Food was excellent husband really liked the catfish. Everything served skillet family stlye. Our server was the best we had while at WDW. Restraunt slowly rotates while you eat which is really neat. Cost for 2 adults and 1 child plus tip about $55.00. Highly recommend!!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/13/1999
Reviewer: Nubthesquirrel North Hollywood, California     February 26, 2003
Breakfast.
We had tried to get Cinterella's castle for the character breakfast and we couldn't. I am glad we had gone with the Garden Grill! First off, we didn't have to worry about payihng as it was part of or flex features that we could pick somewhere to eat. We were going to Epcot anyway so we figured we would just go there instead. Seating was very quick and easy. We got in with little to no wait. The food is excellent. Definitely a repeat location when I go back there in October of this year. The service is exceptionally good. And the characters give ample time to each table and make it a point to interact as much as possible with the guests to make the day all the more special for them! It was a great time all in all!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   August 28, 2002
Reviewer: Eppinger South River, NJ     January 05, 2003
This is a review of the Mid-Afternoon Ice Cream Social.
The seven members of our party arrived 15 minutes early (as required with our PS)--the only time during our trip that we waited (25 minutes) to be seated. This was odd, as there is only one seating per day at 3:00pm.

For the cost of $6.95 per person, each member of the party received a very tasty, but small ice cream sundae. The "bowl" was an edible cone.

We did have some great interaction with the characters (Mickey, Minnie, Pluto, Goofy and Chip & Dale).

The service was fine, but we got the impression that this ice cream social was an inconvenience to the staff.

We found this to be an expensive mid afternoon snack. HOWEVER, if you have small kids and are looking for the least expensive and most personal character meet & greet, this would be a good option.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 11, 2002
Reviewer: LauraD Alberta, Canada     November 18, 2002
Meal: Lunch
Service: Average
Price: $39.98 for 2 adults
Food: steak, turkey, vegetables, mashed potatoes, pumpkin cream pie for desert
Atmosphere: Wonderful - one of our favorites

My husband and I purposely had a character lunch. Mickey, Pluto, Chip and Dale. We saw them plenty of times and heard lots of screams of joy from other tables. The interacted with us enough to make us happy. The food was fresh and well cooked. The service was slow at times. We did have PS reservations for 12:10 (the first seating available), so it could have been the huge demand on the kitchen of everyone at once. Our server brought us back seconds of everything we had obviously liked. I was disappointed in the dessert as I'm not a pumpkin fan - but I was already full anyway.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 10, 2002
Reviewer: Justjen0929 (jen@southsideweb.com) Atlanta, Georgia     July 11, 2002
*Date of visit: April 10, 2002
*Type of meal: Character Lunch
*Characters: Farmer Mickey, Chip & Dale, and Pluto
*Service: Excellent
*Price: $16.95/adult; $9.25/child ages 3-9
*Food: Excellent
*Atmosphere: Very Fun (Excellent)

This was my husband and my first trip to Walt Disney World without our children. We talked that morning on the way to Epcot about where we thought we might want to eat for lunch that afternoon. We decided on the Garden Grille, but we did not have a Priority Seating (PS) yet. So, the first thing we did as we walked in the gates was to go to Guest Relations (on the left side of Spaceship Earth as you are entering the park) and asked for a Lunch PS for the Garden Grille. They said they were wide open. So, we picked a 2:50 pm PS.

We arrived 15 minutes early and were seated immediately. The restaurant was almost completely empty. The restaurant revolves and has two "tiers." We were seated in the lower tier and were thrilled to be able to see the "Living with the Land" ride sights and boat from our table as it revolved. It takes approximately 1 hour to make a full revolution. As we were seated, we were given some placemats that were coloring sheets of Farmer Mickey. I proceeded to color and was joined almost immediately by Pluto. He waved "Hi" and proceeded on. Our waiter came and explained the menu for the day:

9-grain bread w/honey butter
The Land's Garden Salad w/Ranch dressing
Marinated Flank Steak
Rotisserie Chicken
Plantain crusted Cat Fish
Honey glazed carrots
Cornbread Stuffing
Mashed potatoes w/mushroom gravy
And unlimited fountain drinks (Coke products)
Dessert was Apple Bread Pudding drizzled in white chocolate with a white chocolate Mickey Mouse

Everything was absolutely fantasic and melted in your mouth. It came to us in a warm skillet and whenever we needed more of something, our waiter was more than happy to bring us more. Neither my husband nor I are big fish eaters, but the Plantain crusted Cat Fish was wonderful. It didn't tasty fishy at all and the crust was sweet,but not over bearing.

Most of the food came directly from the Land greenhouses, including the fish.

As far as character interaction, it was fabulous. The characters came around at least 5 times each and at one point Mickey sat down and colored with me for a good 5 minutes. And we were adults. So, I'm sure that if we had had our children with us, there would have been even more interaction.

I highly recommend this restaurant and can't wait until I can personally go back and take my children.
 
44 out of 44 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page