Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Le Cellier Steakhouse
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Located in Canada, this restaurant features steak, pasta and seafood.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 34 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   11-16-2009
Reviewer: ls3015 Freeland Michigan     November 25, 2009
I Read numerous reviews saying how good LeCellier was, well I will tell you something has happened to it It was by FAR the worst dinner we had on our vacation at WDW this trip,We finally was able to get a Res in LeCellier and was totally disappointed, We had a 4:00pm Res and was at the check in at 3:30 and was told to set and wait until called, We watched party's that had later res than us come in and were seated right away, after seeing this 4 times I asked why we hadn't been seated yet, The check in lady was elderly which appeared to have trouble reading and hadn't posted us a table,Why would such a valued restaurant have a incompetent person at check in.With much more confusion, check in is not well organized, we were than seated in what was a cafeteria style seat 2 person tables side by side just inches apart with other people we didn't know, in a dark area of the restaurant, although it's a cellar everything is dark. There were plenty of tables, so not sure why they seated us like that. I think they like it dark so you can't see how bad the food looks. The waiter was nice and that's all I can say good about LeCellier, the menu didn't have a good variety and 2 choices of steak which is what we wanted, we ordered the new york steak without any coffee rub, and was brought out some long HARD bread sticks. Yum, they stayed in the cradle. When the steak came it was the worst steak we had ever been served, tasted like shoe leather and was tough, and the potatoes tasted like they had sand mixed in them. The waiter told us this was the trademark steak, and they are all like this, we will NOT be going back to lecellier. We left with paying $75.00 for a dinner of 2 we didn't like and were still hungry. If you want a good steak at disney go to Yachtsman steak house.
 
5 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   11/13/09
Reviewer: DayTrader Nothin' could be finer     November 17, 2009
I have been trying to get a reservation here for years, and finally got in for an early dinner seating. We were seated next to a kitchen door that swung open constantly into one persons back, and in full view, and earshot of the kitchen. We were constantly distracted by all the opening and closing doors. We all (4) ordered the prime rib. 1 had soup, 3 had salad appetizers. We all tasted the flavorful but lukewarm soup. The field green salads were a good size, bursting with different flavors and textures. The prime rib was disappointing. Cooked to order, (all had different requests) but so much gristle. We were all sawing, chewing and trying to delicately spit out what we could not gnaw. This was the chewiest prime rib any of us had ever had. It was a cut of meat that shouldn't have even been used at a Country Buffet. We are not ones to return food, so we ate what we could. The deserts were great. I would suggest the Crème brûlée.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/31/09
Reviewer: bmxmom Southern California     November 02, 2009
This was the last meal of our trip and it did not disappoint! We had eaten here in 2006 and loved it so we had high expectations. We had 11:30 lunch reservations and the wait staff started the lunch seating with the Canadian national anthem...fun touch! Our waiter was attentive and funny and told great stories and had amazing food recommendations! I had the filet mignon with Mushroom risotto and it was the most tender amazing thing ever! My daughter had the New York Strip and it was so tasty and delicious! She got the Maple Creme Brulee for dessert and I had a Warm Apple Tart. They were both delicious! This is a must do for us and we would most definitely recommend it.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   March 24, 2009
Reviewer: HaleyAnn Chicago     March 29, 2009
We love Le Cellier and have eaten there many times. For the first time, we were disappointed. We waited 55 mintues for our table even with priority seating. There was some kind of mix up as the hostess told us the wait was 15-20 minutes....others around all all seemed to be seated before us. We asked twice if we were to be seated soon but the woman at the desk was very frazzled and didn't tell us confidently that we would ( once saying the inside staff must have your name bacuase it isn't on my list anymore but never checking with the inside staff) When we were finally seated, we asked the hostess if we could see the manager. She said he was "really good about checking on the tables" so we would see him later. This didn't sit well with me, if we ask to see the manager she should send the manager. So, we asked our waitress. She explained the situation and the manager came over with an apology and an offer to buy us appetizers. He did a great job...told us there was no excuse for us waiting so long and not being sent the manager after we had requested. The steaks were delicous which made up for the waitress forgetting to give us soup spoons. Luckily the manager was nearby and he retrieved some for us. Both diners on either side of us had complaints to the waitress too. One side had "grizzly" steak which they sent back and the other side the waitress kept forgetting their requests for drinks, a new knife, etc. Just an off night for the staff I guess. My husband and I both had the Kansas City Steaks which were delicous. My daughter had the salmon and my younger daughter the kid's steak. For appetizers two of us had the cheddar cheese soup, one had onion soup and one had the tomato/basil salad. The bill for the entrees and drinks (no alcohol) was $119.00.
So I give the restaurant 4 planets for the food but only 2 for service.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 21, 2008
Reviewer: jhh422 Thomasville, NC     May 27, 2008
My wife and I recently ate lunch at Le Cellier and we arrived with high expectations. Most reviews we had read talked about how good the food was and how great the service was. Well let me say we were not disappointed. We arrive at 12:30 for a 1:00 reservation and were seated by 12:45. I tried the cheeder cheese soup and it was as good as advertised. My wife really loved the pretzel bread sticks. As a matter of fact we asked for seconds. We both had the 5 oz filet with the mashed potatoes. Our steaks were cooked perfectly. We could cut them with a fork. For dessert I had the triple chocolate whiskey cake and my wife had the chocolate "moose". Both were absolutely delicious. We will without any doubt be eating here again. It was wonderful
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   4/05/08-4/11/08
Reviewer: brs214 Philadelphia, PA     April 13, 2008
We had lunch here on our first full day of vacation; and it set the bar very high for all other meals to follow. My husband and I started with the Beefsteak Tomato Stack and the Chicken & Chipotle Sausage. I enjoyed the tomato stack; I thought it was very flavorful; however I did not enjoy the sausage. I thought it was way too spicy. To me it seemed like the spices were just too over powering. For main dishes my husband had the New York Strip (and subbed the Yukon Gold potatoes for the sour cream mashed), and I had the Filet Mignon. Both dishes were cooked to our liking and the meat was very tasty. My husband raved for days after having this lunch about how his steak was seasoned perfectly. He also loved the sour cream mashed. I have to admit, my filet was also seasoned perfectly. For dessert my husband was quite full, but the waiter, Patrick, suggested he get the seasonal sorbet because it is light and refreshing, if course he was right. I got the chocolate mousse, and it was delicious and cute. The mousse was actually shaped like a moose. I do recommend reservations. I called in February for April dinner reservations and they were all booked up. I was able to make lunch reservations and Im glad we were able to enjoy a meal here, I would highly recommend it.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Thursday,August 9,2207
Reviewer: lisakb22 Prospect Heights,IL     August 30, 2007
My best friend and I on a week long trip, had a Great dinner at this restaurant. We did have to wait about 25 minutes with a reservation,I find that annoying but what are you going to do? We were on the DDP so we both had the Cesear Salad(good ) and the BBQ filet with mashed potatoes. Mine was cooked perfectly and was very tender. I had the Chocolate "Moose" for dessert which was cuter looking than it tasted and my friend had the creme brulee which he liked. The server was attentive and friendly. I would eat here again and encourage others to do so.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 19, 2007
Reviewer: Chicago Wookiee Chicago, Illinois     July 30, 2007
Date: Tuesday June 19, 2007 with 7:00pm ADR in order to be out before Illuminations started.
Meal: Dinner.
Diners: Two adults.
Service: Attentive and friendly.
Price: $89 for two including tip (used credits from our premium dining plan).
Value: Average park prices for upscale steak restaurant.
Food: Good food and mostly a great presentation.
Atmosphere: In the cellar its a bit dark (the way it was planned). Tables are close together and there are many children making it a little loud.

It was starting to rain as we approached for our reservation. The rain caused the people waiting outside for their ADRs to all move inside and create a large mess while people tried to move past. We had been a couple minutes early for our reservation and we ended up needing to wait about twenty minutes before being seated.

We were seated at a table for two near the back close to the restrooms. The tables here are a bit close and we quickly ended up including the couple at the table next to us in our conversation. The noise level here was pretty high and it was almost difficult for us to just here each other at our table.

For starters we selected the Beef and Barley Soup and the Duck Two Way that consisted of duck confit and seared smoked duck breast. The soup was rich and flavorful and the duck goes down as the best appetizer on the trip as it was very moist, full of flavor, and had such a beautiful presentation that I felt bad eating it!

Our entrees were the Spiced Black Bean Cake with roasted red pepper stuffed with black bean and corn dressing served with noodle salad and peanut sauce and the Filet Mignon glazed with maple barbecue sauce and included some cream cheese mashed potatoes. Again we were greatly impressed with the presentation of the black bean cake and the flavor was quite fresh and tasty. The filet mignon lacked greatly in visual presentation with just a very dark piece of meat poached atop a scoop of mashed potatoes but the taste was great on both and made up for the odd appearance.

Desserts were fantastic. We had the Crème Brulee Sampler that included both a maple and a vanilla crème brulee in a side by side dish that was excellent tasting and freshly prepared. We also had the Duo of Sorbet that included a small scoop of peach sorbet topped with a strawberry sauce, a small scoop of blackberry sorbet topped with raspberry sauce, and a large flat cookie perched on top of the two scoops to make an upside down Mickey head that tasted as good as it looked.

With the slight issue with noise here this is still one of the best places to eat dinner in all of Walt Disney World. Its too bad the dining room and wait areas are not just a bit bigger to handle the crowds. If you plan on eating here it is almost required that you call 180 days in advance to get your reservation.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 12, 2007
Reviewer: tjrj Durango CO     May 29, 2007
Arrived 10 minutes early for our dinner adr. Were seated promptly-with only a 5 minute wait, if that. Our last table service of our 10 day newbie trip. I wanted to "end with a bang"-and we certainly did! 3 adults on the dining plan. Server couldn't have been friendlier or more attentive. It was her last day, and we asked what she had enjoyed most, what she did in her "real life" and where she was from. Boys were allowed to get smoothies on the dining plan-first and only place to allow this; I asked for a white wine recommendation. Didn't disappoint! Dry but not too dry-I want to say inniskilin but I could be wrong. For starters ds 20 had the shrimp cocktail, ds 15 had the cheddar cheese soup(I had a bite-I truly see what all the fuss is about!) and I had the salad greens with their house blue cheese dressing on the side. Goodness! We were all quite happy and the entrees hadn't arrived yet! Bread sticks-we all tried the whole grain, the sourdough and the pretzel. They were all good but the pretzel was amazing. Crusty on the outside; tender on the inside. Our server offered to bring more-but we declined. Entrees were a special seafood pasta for ds 20; filet with mushroom for ds 15 and the maple bbq filet for me. Seafood pasta was full of mussels, clams and shrimp. Filets were cooked to perfection. I could have cut mine with a fork-super tender and the bbq sauce added just the right touch-not overwhelming. Must try the cream cheese mashed potatoes-worth every calorie! Dessert-ds 15 had the chocolate mousse-in the shape of a moose! Adorable! Not on the adult menu-it's on the kids menu. Ds 20 got a cafe mocha to go. Me? I of course had the house speciality of the creme brulee duo-vanilla and maple. Crunchy top, fabulous flavoring. I ate every bite-no sharing on this one! Plus, I topped it off with a terrfic "ice wine"-very sweet-a dessert wine. Pricey-yeah, it was $15 but worth it. Again, it was an Inniskilin I believe.

Loved the atmosphere. Low lighting, similar to dining in a wine cellar(as apros it's name), intimate tables-but there were lots of kiddos there when we were(adorable twins celebrating a birthday at the next table)-and if anything it only enhanced the experience. Service was top notch-attentive and helpful without being intrusive. Dinner was expensive-close to $200 for the 3 of us, but I DID have those 2 glasses of wine-but well worth the money. And as we were on the dining plan, I thought it was an exceptional value. I couldn't have asked for a better dinner to "end with a bang" as it were.
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 4, 2007
Reviewer: Imjusta babyduck Pace, Florida     May 15, 2007
We have eaten here many times. Even though some people think it is "just a steakhouse", it is much more. The food and service have always been outstanding each and every time we have eaten here. Even though we love exotic food and have eaten all the countries of EPCOT except England, we continue to come back to Le Cellier. We had the cheese soup and duck two ways for our starters -- both excellent. We both had the filet for our entrees -- didn't even need a steak knife -- could not have been better. We had chocolate cake and creme brulee for dessert. The best we ate anywhere. I would urge people to give this place a try. It is well worth it.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page