Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Le Cellier Steakhouse
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Located in Canada, this restaurant features steak, pasta and seafood.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 34 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   March 20, 2007
Reviewer: steamboatpookster Murfreesboro, TN     April 08, 2007
Being WDW nutjobs, we've driven the 11 hour journey from Nashvielle 18 times since 1998. We've been four times since July 2006 and are going back in June 2007. That being said, you will get an understanding of our place in the Disney Cosmos. We've heard and read many wonderful things about Le Cellier and we FINALLY were able to get in. We were very excited, as we've eaten at every other restaurant in EPCOT except for Norway (allergic to fish, can't). So with great anticipation we arrived for our lunch.

What can I say...it was not very good. We both ordered the steak sandwiches (can't remember the name) and the meat was way over-cooked and dry. The "potato salad" was just small boiled, cut potatos. The fries were few and cold. We also ordered the cheese soup, which was absolutely fabulous--but at $5.00 per six ounce cup, it is highway robbery. In fact, the only reason we wanted to really eat there was because of the soup--my wife had it years ago when she was a kid. We also had it when we were attending the food and wine festival in October, '06. Only then it was cheaper! HA!

The over-all atmosphere was OK, but the quality of the food and the prices were ridiculous. We paid over $50 just for lunch. Forget that, no thanks. At least when we eat in Germany, I can get good food and get filled up listening to the Oompa band.

We have reservations at Le Cellier for this June as well, but will be cancelling them before we arrive. Canada would do better if it had an outdoor cafe like the rest of the countries in world showcase--especially because of the beer cheese soup! Then we could get the soup and not worry about the rest of the dining experience!
 
2 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 2006
Reviewer: Mtnthumper Minnesota (Viking Country!Go Vikes)     April 03, 2007
We went child-less this last trip to WDW and we made ourselves a ADR for lunch here because I had read very good reviews. It did not disappoint! We were on the DDP so we each ordered a appitizer, entree and dessert. I had the Canadian Cheddar Cheese soup (on recommendation from a review I read). I was the most spot on perfect Cheddar cheese soup ever! My husband had the Shrimp Cocktail w/ Wasabi sauce and said it was very good! For an entree we both had the Grilled Petit Fillet. It was the most amazing, tender, perfectly cooked piece of meat I have ever had. I am a very picky person about beef because I love steaks and it was PERFECTION! For dessert I had the Creme Brulee sampler and it was really yummy and great to try the different kinds. My husband had the Double Berry Buckle and was very pleased w/ that as well, and he is not much of a dessert person. The atmosphere was great, we even sat next to a mother and her six year old son and had a lovely conversation. The little boy said he even loved his food. They go there every vacation. I didnt think of it as a child friendly resaraunt before going, but there were several kids there.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   February 16, 2007; February 21, 2007
Reviewer: CraigC Memphis, Tennessee     February 24, 2007
We were seated promptly for our 1:00 lunch reservation. It was our first time in the restaurant, and we enjoyed the explanation of the way the different areas of the dining restaurant represent different regions of Canada.

The food was just delicious. The cheese soup is incredibly good. I also had the sandwich with hickory bargeque and warm potato salad. Also delicious.

The service was near perfection. Friendly, knowledgable, relaxed . . . A very good experience.

While we were waiting to be seated, we noticed a man come up to the hostess and ask to order cheese soup and bread sticks to go. They brought it out to him in a "to go" cup with the bread wrapped up. I thought that was a great idea - and I did the same several days later. It was great to take such a delicious lunch out and find a nice spot in the World Showcase to enjoy the scenery and food.

We had heard a lot of great things about Le Cellier, and when we finally enjoyed it for ourselves, it was even better than we had imagined. A real "must experience" restaurant.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Sunday, 10/29/06
Reviewer: crazy4daisy Chilly Northeast USA     October 31, 2006
My husband and I made lunch reservations one week before our trip. Our time slot was 2:30pm. We arrived 10 minutes early and were seated exactly at 2:30. The restaurant is small in size, so that's probably why dinner time is well-booked in advance. The hostess gave us a brief explanation about the restaurant (how it is divided into the different areas of Canda). We were seated in the "Manitoba" section. Shortly afterwards, our waitress brought 3 breadsticks, which were very tasty! One was pretzel, one was sourdough and I forget the third kind. We shared one appetizer called Crab & Salmon Timbale ($12). It was a bit salty for my taste. My husband ordered the 10oz NY Strip Steak ($22) which was a bit tough (and he's a steak eater). I ordered the Sauteed Jumbo Shrimp ($20). It's a small portion of noodles, sauce, tomatoes, and 7 shrimp. It tasted very good. We were full at the end of our meal, so we did not order dessert. Overall, the service was excellent and the atmosphere cozy. However, they could have lowered the price, especially for lunch. The meal (which consists of 1 appetizer, 2 entrees, 2 sodas and no dessert) costs approx. $62 w/tax (before tip). I only gave 4 planets due to the tough steak that my husband received.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 29, 2006
Reviewer: lisaboo Sacramento, CA     October 18, 2006
We had a very nice dinner at Le Cellier. We were on the dining plan so we had more food than we knew what to do with. I had the salmon and shrimp turriene appetizer and my fiance had the shrimp cocktail, which was more like an asian glazed shrimp over wasabi slaw. I liked my fiance's appetizer so much that I ate most of his when he realized it was too spicy for him. My fiance had the pork loin with sweet potato puree for his entree and I had the mushroom filet mignon with wild mushroom risotto. Both meals were very good. Don't miss the pretzel bread either. For dessert we had the creme brulee duo (maple and vanilla, the maple was very good) and the chocolate whiskey cake. Delicious. I will definitely return.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Oct 05
Reviewer: TinaMouse Farmington, MN     September 10, 2006
EXCELLENT restaurant. In my opionion, probably the best, most-consistent meal in Epcot.

We walked in, on time, for our PS (now called ADRs). We walked through an unexpected downpour, so we were soaked to the bone when we walked in. The hostesses laughed with us and chatted while our table was being set. There were no other parties waiting to be seated, but the restaurant was quite full.

Most of us had the cheddar soup, which is absolutely fabulous. The recipe is in the Disney cookbook, on a few websites, and came out exactly as we had it in Le Cellier. The breadsticks that are complimentary are worth the trip all by themselves. There are several types of bread, and your server will tell you the history and type of breads.

Entree's included pan-seared salmon on noodles, strip steaks, and filet mignons. One child had a side of mashed potatoes and then shared a big steak. I don't remember a plate charge, but I'm not sure. It just wasn't worth spending $30 (he was 10 and couldn't eat off of the children's menu) on something he'd never finish.

Desserts all around, including creme brulee, and chocolate "moose." Our bill, including 1 cocktail for adults, appetizers, entrees, desserts, and tip was $260. Sounds a little high, but it was a highlight of the trip. It was worth every cent.

Service was competent, friendly, and efficient. We never felt rushed. The decor was wonderful. Very castle-like. It would be a great spot for a romantic dining experience.
There was a lot of laughing, talking, and even though it was a little loud, everyone was having such a great time it didn't detract from the meal in any way.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   08/19/2006
Reviewer: Jodi Lawndale, CA (20 min from Disneyland)     August 28, 2006
Without exaggerating, this was one of the best meals I have EVER had!

Based on reviews we had read, we all (myself, DH, DS9 and DS5) started with the cheese soup. It was fabulous. The pretzel bread sticks they serve with it are perfect for dipping. I cleaned my bowl and finished DS's.

DH ordered the 14oz New York strip with roasted potatoes. He loved it. I had the 7oz filet with maple BBQ sauce and cream cheese mashed potatoes. AMAZING! DS9 had chicken strips, and DS5 had the kids steak (He was very impressed with being able to order a steak from the kids menu)

DH had a Canadian beer, and I had a cosmo-type martini that tasted like rainbow sherbert (YUM) but after a day in the heat, it was a bit strong (not in taste, but in affect)

For dessert, DH and I had the chocolate whiskey cake, the kids ordered a smores and a chocolate "Moose" which was cute. The desserts were all very good.

The only complaint I had is that because of the free dining, they were booked solid for at least a month, and we could not come back during our trip! I would have loved to eat there again. I guess I have to wait for the next trip.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 18, 2006
Reviewer: Gislef Iowa City, Iowa     June 18, 2006
We visited with our two children (10 and 13) and made a 5 p.m. reservation. In part we chose Le Cellie because of the good reviews here, in part because it had a fairly "safe" menu for kids, and in part because it was close to Future World and we figured the timing would work out for when we'd hit World Showcase. We were correct in all three assumptions. We arrived about 20 minutes early and got in 10 minutes before 5 - not busy at all.

We passed on appetizers, as none really appealed and we figured the breadsticks would be sufficient - they were, and we were able to get a second order. One was a bit soggy but other then that, excellent. The kids had standard kid menu stuff. I went with the 7 oz. mushroom filet mignon. I found it a bit small for the price, but it was excellent quality and even the fried parsnips and risotto were good - I wouldn't have chosen either one normally but was feeling experimental as I often do on vacation. My wife went with the herb crusted prime rib and she swore it was the best she'd ever had. I didn't find it that "crusted" but the veal demi glaze was excellent.

For dessert the kids both had smores, my wife went with the brulee and I had the strawberries & balsamic ice cream. The ice cream seemed pretty generic vanilla, but the strawberries were excellent quality and the warm vanilla sauce made the serving.

Overall we found the place very enjoyable. The only problem was that perhaps due to the underground/cellar layout, or just due to the busy nature by the time we left, it was very difficult to hear what the waitress was saying, making it hard to engage her in conversation. There was some story about hwo the pretzels represented four different areas of Canada, but I couldn't make it out either from our waitress or the one at the next table. We also ended up sitting int he same area as a large group that had a lot of billing problems, so it took us a long time to get our check settled. The waitress apologized and we weren't in a hurry, but it might have been upsetting under other circumstances.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 2005
Reviewer: sdhenck Florida     November 20, 2005
Service, Price, Food, Atmosphere - 5 planets for all

My husband, daughter and I had a 5:30 p.m. PS and were seated within 15 minutes. The atmosphere was awesome and our server was friendly and fun. My husband and I ordered the cheddar cheese soup and the filet served over mushroom risotto. My daughter ordered from the children's menu. The assorted breadsticks that came with our meals were delicious. We felt that the prices were reasonable for an upscale steakhouse. We were extremely pleased with everything and can't wait to return. This is our favorite restaurant in all of WDW!
 
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 2005
Reviewer: kansaskix     October 17, 2005
We wanted to eat here for dinner, but all reservations were completely booked two months in advance, so we settled for a lunch reservation. We arrived promptly for our 11:30am seating and were seated in 5 minutes. I recommend if you are eating here for lunch, try to make an 11:30 reservation--this is when the restaurant first opens for lunch and starts off somewhat empty and quiet. Our waiter was excellent until the last third of the meal, when the restaurant began to fill up for lunch and then he became too busy to be attentive. We received three different kinds of Canadian bread: pretzel, sourdough and praire (multigrain). Very good. For appetizers, we ordered the shrimp cocktail, which comes served in a sideways chinese takeout box, along with sauce and horseradish. It was excellent. Our entree was a brand new menu item: steak tips over creamy risotto with grilled asparagus. It was FANTASTIC! All the meals are beautifully and artistically prepared and therefore visually delightful. For dessert we ordered the sampler platter, which consisted of three different items in smaller portions: Chocolate whiskey cake, maple creme brulee, and rasberry sorbet. My favorite, by far, was the chocolate whiskey cake! It is fabulous--you have to try it. Thankfully, we were on the Disney Dining plan, but the total for the meal for 2 adults and 2 children (who ordered from the children's menu) was $112. Very pricey for lunch, but honestly I can say, if I had to pay for this meal, it would have been completely worth it. I will go back here every time if I can get a reservation--the food is superb! Also, the kids' desserts were fun and yummy--the fanciest s'mores you have ever seen!
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page