Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Le Cellier Steakhouse
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Located in Canada, this restaurant features steak, pasta and seafood.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 34 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/9/05
Reviewer: coloradomousefan Aurora, CO     October 16, 2005
We made our advance reservation for LeCellier 90 days in advance and are glad we did. The restaurant was completely booked for our entire stay at every sitting and now I understand why. The meal was outstanding. The pretzel bread and cheese soup are amazing. The atmosphere was wonderful and the wines superb. Our waitress was a bit slow and unattentive but the meal really great. Would make a point to eat here again without question.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Sept 22
Reviewer: rob hanson1979 Ottawa, Canada     October 13, 2005
Being Canadians, my parents were not too excited about a Canadian restaurant, but I knew it would be good, so I made our reservations here.
When we first walked in, we were greeted very nicely. Then once they found out were were from Canada, they all got very excited, as everyone had only started 3 weeks before, and they were all quite homesick. They enjoyed asking us about the news and the weather and the hockey and so on.
We were seated at a central table in the middle of the restaurant, but it was not crowded or rushed. We felt very relaxed, and it has a really nice atmosphere.
I had the cheddar cheese soup, and it was good. It wasn't as good as the reviews had me expecting, but it was fine for what it was.
I had the filet mignon, and it was delicious. Well cooked, and nice and moist. The presentation left a lot to be desired though, as the steak was just thrown on top of some cream cheese mashed potatoes. That was the only complaint though.
Our waitress was very very good, and she was from Quebec, so she seemed very happy to be able to speak french with us. She was so good that in addition to the tip included with the dining plan, we tipped her on top of that as well.
This restaurant may be a little boring for children, compared to the other options that Disney has. However, for adults it is just wonderful, and it does our country proud!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 20, 2005
Reviewer: Neon Cactus Tucson, AZ     August 25, 2005
We had lunch at Le Cellier today, and have had dinner here twice before. What was unique about this is we were on a pretty tight budget and that usually would exclude a restaurant like Le Cellier. But, we decided we had to have their cheese soup, so we were able to walk in at about 11:30. We were seated almost immediately. Besides the soup, they brought us some excellent breadsticks. I was able to make a lunch out of soup, breadsticks and a soda for about $7 plus tax and tip. That was cheaper than we ate at any of the counter service locations, and we got air conditioning and excellent service to go with it. The atmosphere is nice, it's relatively small and it's nice to walk through the gardens and by the waterfall afterwards.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 16, 2005 and June 18, 2005
Reviewer: Svitavsky San Leandro, California     June 27, 2005
Le Cellier was such a great restaurant, we ate there twice. It was a last minute choice after doing the Segway tour at Epcot. We were pleasantly surprised at the food, the service, and the atmosphere. I suppose that, since the restaurant is tucked away in the pavilion, it doesn't get as much traffic as other restaurants. It was never crowded when we went (both times for lunch).

We both enjoyed the little explanation of the breadsticks and the seating. I went wild over the pretzel breadstick... I recommend asking for some extra of these for anyone going. Our server was happy to bring out extra when we asked. On our first visit, we both ordered the cheese soup. I can only say - DON'T MISS THE SOUP! It was delicious and the front desk is kind enough to give out the recipe. I'm looking forward to trying it myself, but don't have high hopes to repeat it with the same skill.

We tried filet mignon, seared tips, and the new york strip steak over two visits. All of the steaks were delicious and very well cooked, just as we asked. I would definitely recommend the seared tips, particularly since the pastries and vegetables are a great combination.

For desserts, we tried the creme brulee and the dessert trio. The creme brulee was delicious. While we had had the same dessert the day before at the Hollywood Brown Derby, this was by far a better version. The dessert trio is fun and good for sharing.

The service at Le Cellier was wonderful. Both times we visited the servers were attentive and full of fun Canada facts. The prices were a bit expensive, but since we were on the premium package, we splurged. The atmosphere was pleasant. The food was too good... just writing the review right now made me hungry!
 
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   February 3, 2005
Reviewer: Captain Electron Wasilla, Alaska     February 19, 2005
This was a very difficult evening for us because we were so jet-lagged and tired from our marathon schedule: our 13 year old daughter was nearing collapse and everyone else was pretty beat. We waited for a while in the darkening, water-themed outside grounds of Canada and slapped Floridian mosquitos, which are small, silent, and hard to see compared to our Alaskan ones.

Once inside, it wasn't much brighter, but by now our eyes were well-adjusted to the dim light and our tired eyes couldn't have stood bright light at that time anyway. The staff was as friendly and sympathetic as can be imagined, and that helped a lot.

The breadsticks and cheese soup were excellent, and when the rest of the meal arrived we were all delighted. Everyone had something different and everyone thought that their dinner was excellent. We definately had the impression that there was no bad selection at Le Cellier.

Overall, we felt it was the best food we had while on our 3-week vacation of premium dining at various resorts, so Le Cellier gets our collective nod for 5-star food and 5-star service.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 14, 2004
Reviewer: listamy Los Angeles, Ca     May 12, 2004
There was a large group of us dining here for lunch. We actually wound up growing from a party of 4 to a party of 9. When we called the restaurant from inside Epcot, about 20 minutes before our P.S. we were told that it wouldn't be a problem to accomodate the additional people. After we all nibbled on the amazing breadsticks, we all started with appetizers...some had the cheddar cheese soup, some had the small caesar salads, others had shrimp. I had the cheddar cheese soup which was out of this world! The portion was just big enough without you getting too full. For the main entree I had the filet mignon and had substituted cream cheese mashed potatoes for the potatoes that came with it. I was so glad that I made that choice. Those potatoes were to die for. The meal was outstanding. For dessert we shared the maple creme brulee, which I didn't care much for as I don't really like maple, and the chocolate mousse cake. That cake was incredible. The mousse was light, creamy and delicious. The ambience in that restaurant is very nice. Calm, cool and relaxed. Our server, who really had her hands full with a group like ours, never lost her composure. She was attentive, kind and probably one of the best waitresses we have ever had. I would definately dine here again. It was phenomonal!
 
24 out of 25 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 26, 2003
Reviewer: javagirl Noblesville, Indiana     February 05, 2004
We had a dinner PS for 6:50. We arrived early,and waited for maybe 15 min. or so. The outside of this restaurant is so lovely, and we enjoyed the setting while we waited for a table. The wait staff was very friendly. We were unsure of which wine to order, and our waiter brought several to the table to sample. My daughter ordered the "Northern Lights" drink;juice and ginger ale with a glowing ice cube, and my son ordered a sprite. Our nice waiter gave him a glow cube too which I thought was very sweet. For appetizers we had the tomato stack-delicious! and the caesar salad-mediocre. I had the filet with mashed potatoes, delicious but very small portions. My husband had the chicken, he said it was good but nothing special. The breadsticks were wonderful! The kids ordered the same chicken nuggets you can get anywhere in the park, but the experience for them was wonderful as the waiter was so friendly and attentive. At the end of the meal he put their glowing cubes in a Chinese take out box to make a "lantern" to carry home. A very nice touch! We shared the Canadian club cake-very rich and chocolatey! After tip the bill came to $150. A little expensive given the size of the portions, but the food quality and wonderful service made it worth every penny! This is one of our new favorites!
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Aug. 21/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     October 11, 2003
Lunch
Service was excellent
Price was okay
Food was delicious
Atmosphere was charming

We had an excellent dining experience here. Our server was bubbly and helpful and enthusiastically made entree suggestions for us. We both had the cheddar cheese soup which had to be tried to be believed - the best soup I have ever tasted. Our waitress suggested we try dipping the pretzel bread in the soup and she was right - it was a gastronomic delicacy. Again at her suggestion we ordered the beef tips for our main course and they were phenomenal - tender and tasty. The ambience here is also delightful - like eating in a huge yet comfortable wine cellar. It's a particular treat on a really hot day. If you have yet to try this establishment, by all means do so. You won't be disappointed.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   11/30/02
Reviewer: yecats New Orleans, Louisiana     September 18, 2003
Awesome. Really loved this restaurant. I would encourage everyone to try it.

We had a PS for 2 for 7:15 p.m. Arrived on time and was taken immediately to our table in the cellier. There were several people waiting outside in the cold to eat here (it was about 49 degrees at that time).

Atmosphere is very nice but it is a small rest. with plenty of tight spaces. We ordered two ceasar salads (very good) and some of our neighbors asked us about them and ordered them as well (they seemed to enjoy them to). We also enjoyed the breadstick selection that was left at the table. Our main meals consisted of a fresh baked fish of the day (I think it was a trout) and the NY strip steak. Both were awesome. I forgot what the side dish was but there was nothing left on our plates. We also split the creme brulee and enjoyed that as well.

Our server was great and talked to us quite a bit about her home in Canada. She also informed us that this restaurant is the second best reviewed rest. next to Calif. Grill. In my opinion this is absolutely true.

We truly enjoyed this experience as did plenty of others who were commenting at the table next to us.

Our bill was about $80 for 2 adults (no alcohol was ordered) but we enjoyed every minute. We walked out about 8:30 and waited for Illuminations to begin. It was truly a wonderful (and cold) night.
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   31 December 2002
Reviewer: chezp United Kingdom     June 07, 2003
31 December 2002, New Year's Eve Dinner

Service: Excellent and well beyond the call of duty!
Price: Very reasonable for the quality of food
Food: Excellent quality
Atmosphere: Very enjoyable

I really can't fault the meal we had at Le Cellier, it was probably the best we had during this vacation and I can see why so many people rave about Le Cellier. And to think, Id been worried when I booked here for New Years Eve, because I wanted the meal to be special!

The service we had from Elaine was magnificent, well beyond the call of duty. After having checked a couple of days earlier that I could have the cheese soup without the bacon content (I'm vegetarian, but do eat fish), Elaine went and double checked and told me it was made with bacon stock, but she did go to see if the chef could do anything. Unfortunately, it was all pre-made and as it was New Year's Eve, they didn't have time to make a separate batch for me. Elaine told me on any other night, that probably wouldn't have been a problem. I was disappointed, but I opted instead for the mussels, as did my husband. I have never seen mussels so big and they tasted wonderful. This is high praise indeed, bearing in mind that we've both visited Belgium a couple of times and they are experts when it comes to mussels!

For entrée, I had the salmon, after negotiating to do away with the pecans on it, as I didnt fancy the sound of that. My husband had the fillet mignon. He quickly polished it all off and his side order of asparagus, but I was struggling with my salmon, which came with mashed potatoes and asparagus (special deal from Elaine for not having the pecans!). Despite that, I still managed the raspberry sorbet for dessert and that was an excellent way to finish the meal - very light indeed and beautifully laid out to look like a maple leaf.

The restaurant itself was beautiful, albeit a little on the dark side. When we arrived, I thought it would be a loud place, but this wasn't the case at all and we barely noticed the tables around us during the meal.

The bill came to $116.92, including a generous tip for Elaine, who had been the best server wed come across. It also included a bottle of wine for the two of us at $22, so I wasnt unhappy with the bill. Easily our most expensive meal, but we really enjoyed it and felt it was worth every penny.

We will be returning in the future and so far, this is the best restaurant of all the ones we've tried in World Showcase. If you've never been, you should give it a go. I don't think you'll be disappointed with it - we certainly weren't.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3 4
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page