Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Restaurant Marrakesh
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Middle-eastern food served in a traditional Moroccan setting.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 15 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   October 3rd 2010
Reviewer: Vegitabeta England     October 11, 2010
I thought i would write a review for Marrakesh since it's been a while since anyone wrote one.

We made last minute reservations here about a couple hours before we planned to eat. There were 3 of us, 2 of us had eaten here before. We were lucky enough to get a table directly in front of the stage area (good view of the belly dancer). Our server came along promptly and was very friendly, and our food turn up quite fast. I had the chicken cous cous which was really nice, and there was a lot of it, which I could not finish! The server took a slight turn for the worse when my friend asked for his dessert without almonds and he totally did not listen, since he came back 2 minutes later with the dessert, covered in almonds. The atmosphere here is not as good as some other pavillions, about average, as is the price, considering that the portions are large. I would say eat here at least once, as the food is very nice.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   August 22-27 2009
Reviewer: tinkinparis Hartford, CT     February 02, 2010
I ate alone at Restaurant Marrakesh because noone else in my party wanted to try it and being a French teacher, I was eager to try the food. I was on the free dining plan and therefore was able to order an an entree and dessert. My reservation was for 7:00 on a Saturday night. I checked in promptly at 7:00 and was seated immediately the second row of tables in from the performance courtyard. The waitstaff was exceptional, courteous and always checking on you. The ambiance itself was pretty lively and many families surrounded me, which surprised me because my nephepw (5 years old) would'nt touch most of the food. I settled on the Chicken cous cous and paid on my own for a glass of red wine with my meal. I was extremely disappointed that the chicken was bland and tasted like it was boiled for a soup. There was no salt or spice whatsoever in the entire dish. The cous cous didn't taste any better than that I can make from a box. For dessert I opted for the thin fried crepe like dessert that had cinammon on it and was floating in creme anglaise and almonds. This too was bland and I would've prefered just the creme and almonds. I wanted a different culinary experience and just didn't get it. However, if you like bland food and are looking for a relaxing atmosphere than I would give it a shot. As for value, I would not have paid for this meal.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   December, 2007
Reviewer: Stonewife     June 23, 2009
I was really disappointed with this restaurant!

My first trip to this restaurant was in April, 1999. The service was friendly and attentive, the belly dancer was entertaining, and the chicken bastilla was FABULOUS!!!! I still remember it ten years later.

So fast forward to 2007....

I had the bastilla and it was HORRIBLE... dry and tasteless... it was like they were being cheap and didn't add the usual saffron, cinnamon, and other herbs.... This was such a letdown because the thing I wanted the most out of the whole trip was the chicken bastilla. I don't remember what else I had but both my husband and I agreed the whole experience was mediocre.

Sry for the late posting, but I finally got my own mouse planet username!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   August 4, 2007
Reviewer: bochnikm (bochnikm@cs.com) Yonkers, New York     February 28, 2008
We had dinner during our Disneymoon at Restaurant Marrakesh in Morocco. We had an early reservation and the place was empty. Our service was a tad slow but bearable.

I like to try new foods but my wife is less adventurous. The belly dancer was great but I'd think it would be livelier with more of a crowd.

First we ordered two drinks, one was a Marrakesh Express - Rum, orange juice, pineapple juice, topped with dark rum. The other was I think a Sahara Splash - vodka, cranberry juice, midori, and a splash of soda. Both were Ok, but I've had better other fancy sweet type drinks.

My wife tried the Beef Brewat Roll for appetizer - good, but a bit dry. Her main course was Shish Kebab - very good. For dessert - Bastilla - Crispy leaves of pastry topped with vanilla ice cream and sprinkled with toasted almonds. Also Good.

I tried the Chicken Bastilla appetizer - again dry, probably due to the cinnamon and powdered sugar sprinkled on it. For the main course - Night In Casablanca - Roast lamb Meshoui, Chicken Kebab, and seafood bastilla, served with seasoned rice. Good but not great. I had expected a more flavorful experience.
For dessert - Moroccan Symphony - Assorted pastries very dense and a bit too much on the sweet side and again dry.

The food was good and very different but doesnt top our list of the best we ate in Disney. I enjoyed the counter service food more in the Moroccan area. It's more flavorful and not dry. Try that first if you're looking to try different tastes.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   February 6, 2007
Reviewer: celtfiddler Everett WA     February 08, 2007
This was our first trip to Restaurant Marrakesh. We were very impressed with the service and quality of food. Our waiter (unfortunately I don't recall his name) provided outstanding attentive service.

The shishkabobs were outstanding and portion sizes were perfect. We just wish we'd had room for dessert.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Tuesday, February 14, 2006 (Valentine's Day)
Reviewer: crazy4daisy Connecticut     February 21, 2006
My husband and I went to eat at Restaurant Marrakesh for our Valentine's Day dinner. It was just the two of us. This was my first meal here; my husband's second. Although our reservations were for 6PM, they were able to seat us at 5:30. Service was quite excellent. The Hostess was friendly and our waiter (named "MO") was very polite and attentive. The restaurant itself is very clean and well-decorated for that type of ambiance (middle-eastern). As six o'clock approached, a musical group started playing. It actually consisted of 2 people, but they filled the room with traditional Morroccan music. The bellydancer came out and danced around the stage. She then danced herself to each side of the restaurant, visiting each table as she went. Her performance lasted about 20 minutes. My husband and I enjoyed the freshly baked bread and later shared an appetizer called "Beef Brewat Rolls". Our entrees were "Shish Kebab" and "Lemon Chicken". I had the chicken. My meal was quite filling since it had 2 large portions of chicken, but the rice was not so spectacular. Very blah. We didn't stay for dessert. Overall, with 1 appetizer, 2 entrees, 1 glass of soda, and tip, the bill came out to be $70 for the two of us. The quality of food was mediocre, but the atmosphere was quite inviting. Next time, I would probably go here for lunch instead and save my money to go somewhere else for dinner.
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   Thursday June 02, 2005
Reviewer: Chicago Wookiee (anthony@wookiee.com) Chicago     June 20, 2005
Being 6pm already there isnt time to look around the Moroccan pavilion and we head straight to the restaurant for dinner. My son is still not feeling too well from Mission Space and the decision is made that he will just order from the kids menu because a heavy dinner may push him over the edge. The place is quite empty but we are placed quite far away from the main floor area up on the right side. The place looks very nice and the theme good to this style restaurant but its easy to notice there are quite a few empty two and four person tables closer to the stage area in the middle. The wait is over ten minutes before the waiter comes by just to introduce himself and get our drink orders. Orange soda for my son and Coke for myself. Drinks take another ten minutes and the show gets rolling below with some nice music. Since we are on the dining plan I order beef rolls for an appetizer. For the main coarse my son just orders basic pasta on the kids menu and I decide the seafood combo with shrimp ragout, broiled salmon and seafood bastilla is my best value and good food. Our drinks arrive and Michaels is wrong, looks like sprite rather than orange. The belly dancer comes up to our level and poses for a picture with Michael but keeps her distance from me. There are almost no people up here and she is gone as quickly as she came. The beef brewat rolls arrive and I dig in also offering My son a taste as we then realize he has a knife but no fork. The waiter passes by and Michael asks for a fork the waiter simply grabs one from another table and drops it on the table without saying a word. The rolls are not that good being fried but just above room temperature. The cinnamon and beef make a good combination but I just cant get past the fact they are not hot. The bread arrives at the table seems good and its warmer than the beef rolls. There is a long wait and the entrees finally show up. Pasta is just room temperature and my dish is hot but my bastilla has a creamy sauce that is not good and the salmon is drenched in ketchup. For dessert we order the crepes atlas without almonds and this turns out to be the best part of the entire meal great honey and apple flavor. My coke is never refilled and it also takes a while to get our check. The waiter forgot that I wanted to use one of our dinner credits (and need to pay for the childrens meal) and after I point this out to him he goes off to the back room for almost fifteen minutes what a pain. We leave having paid $6 for Michaels meal and saved $45 by using my meal credit. Out of five points I give Marrakesh just one and thats for the dessert, nothing more.
 
7 out of 15 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   January 22-January 29
Reviewer: HaleyAnn Chicago, Illinois     April 12, 2005
We had priority lunch seating for our fourth visit to Restaurant Marrakesh. The restaurant was 3/4 empty and extremely cold...in fact it was freezing! We had hoped to enjoy the food and music/dancing in a relatively warm spot as it was cold outside, but we did not enjoy this visit at all. Despite being a small crowd, our server was very slow and disinterested. The lunch took one and one half hours for four of us....2 adults, 2 children.
The food was also a disappointment. The chicken was very dry and the vegetables were soggy. The carrots with the couscous were cut two different ways and some were hard and some were soft. It was as if they mixed frozen carrots with fresh. We asked for chicken for my daughter and it was terrible, then we asked for pasta that was awful as well. We all ended up leaving and going to the American Adventure for an ice cream. Previous visits were much better...I don't know if we caught them on an off day or if the quality is declining.I will probably give them another chance next time, but only as a second or third choice.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 9, 2004
Reviewer: Joanna Virginia     December 02, 2004
I love this restaurant. DH had not been here yet and I knew he would enjoy the food as well as the music and belly dancer. ;-) The architecture and décor is so beautiful and the wait staff are all native to Morocco. I ordered the Roast Lamb Meshoui - roasted lamb in natural juices. The lamb was fork tender and flavorful. It was served with rice, squash medley and a delicious tomato sauce. I ate every crumb! DH ordered the Marrakesh Feast which consisted of Harira soup, Beef Brewat Rolls, Lemon Chicken, Beef Shish Kebab, Couscous with Seven Vegetables, and Assorted Moroccan pastries. DH loved it so much that he requested that we return for another meal before our vacation was over! The pastry selection included Baklava and he loved that also. We will make this a regular stop on all of our trips. Price for the meal for 2, including tip: $63.28 We came back later in the trip (as promised). This time, he ordered the lunch special which was Beef Brewat Rolls, Chicken Kebabs with rice and an Apple Crepe for $14.99. I ordered the braised Lemon Chicken, seasoned with garlic, green olives and preserved lemon and served with rice. We were seated far from the stage/show area and moved closer to get a better view. The music and the beautiful dancer were very enjoyable. DH also loved the whole grain warm bread they serve before the meal. Everything we ate was fresh and delicious. This restaurant is definitely a favorite. Price for 2 including tip came to $35.78.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   4/26/04
Reviewer: jjsander Illinois     June 27, 2004
Outstanding! I had always wanted to try this restaurant and finally got a chance to on our recent visit and it was everything I'd hoped it would be. Our waiter was excellent and very friendly. He answered all our questions about the food and told us a little about his home in Morocco.
Since there were 3 of us we decided to order one of their family style meals because it gave you a chance to try many different things for about $28 per person. Each person starts out with their own appetizer plate, with three differnt appetizers. It was so delicious and filling, I could have stopped there...but there were 2 courses to go. next they brought out 3 large plates of lemon chicken, lamb, and vegetable couscous. we were quite full after the main course so we asked our waiter to hold off on the dessert course for a little while. So we sat back and watched the entertainment - the belly dancer was quite good and it was really funny when she pulled a body-builder type man from the audience and had him dance with her!
After the dancer was finished our waiter brought us our dessert - crepes filled with apples and carmel sauce topped off with vanilla ice cream - yum! yum! :)
Even though we practically had to roll ourselves out of the restaurant, it was a wonderful dining experience and I can't wait to go back!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page