Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Restaurant Marrakesh
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Middle-eastern food served in a traditional Moroccan setting.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 15 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 15 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   december 13, 2003
Reviewer: mbaker1277 Alabama     January 05, 2004
On our first day at Epcot, we were caught in a torrential downpour which drove everyone out of the park. We walked up to the Restaurant Marrakesh and they seated us immediately at the height of lunchtime. We were only 1 of 2 families in the whole restaurant. They immediately brought us drinks and some delicious bread. My husband and I both ordered the sampler platter, and it was delicious, especially the kabobs. The childrens menu was nice too, and my daughter enjoyed some tasty grilled chicken. The decor was spectacular, and it was a wonderful stop for lunch, expecially to get out of the rain.
The service was very slow and inattentive, which it should not have been since there were only 2 families in the restaurant. Try it, because it is delicious and not your everyday food!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Aug. 24/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     October 11, 2003
Lunch
Service was wonderful
Excellent value for what we received
Food was delicious
Atmosphere was exotic and delightful

We had an extremely memorable meal here. When we first walked in, we were blown away by the setting. It truly felt like we'd entered a sultan's palace - the lighting, the mosaic tiles, the banquette seating. The service was fantastic - quick, efficient and attentive. This is a terrific place for any kind of celebration. In honor of my son's birthday, they brought him out a complimentary dessert and stuck a fez on his head while all the servers sang Happy Birthday to him in their native language. Later on, the belly dancer came right up to our table and asked him to come out on the dance floor with her where she proceeded to give him a belly dancing lesson. The food was absolutely wonderful from start to finish. My son had the chicken bastilla and I had beef brewat rolls, chicken kebabs and couscous. Every item was mouthwateringly delectable including the complimentary dessert called bastilla (layers of flaky pastry soaked in honey and almonds and served with cream.) I also heartily recommend their mint tea - delicious and refreshing (just be sure to add lots of sugar). All in all this was a truly unforgettable meal.

 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 13, 2002
Reviewer: LauraD Alberta, Canada     November 18, 2002
Meal: Dinner
Price: Expensive
Service: Quick
Atmosphere: Exotic

We had dinner before the fireworks. Being new to Moroccan food we purchased the safe items of chicken and beef shish kebabs. We were only given 2 a piece with a cup of rice. A bit disappointing as were were paying $24.00 for the beef. They did taste excellent. If we go again, we would splurge on the platters ($27.00 per person and lots more food). The music and belly dancer were wonderful. We were distracted by the beauty of the room.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   September 6, 2002
Reviewer: AVP (avp@mouseplanet.com) Anaheim, California     September 21, 2002
* Date of visit: 9/6/02
* Type of meal: Dinner
* Service: Efficient, but lukewarm
* Price: Very fair for portions served
* Food: Excellent
* Atmosphere: Subdued

We have been looking forward to a meal at Restaurant Marrakesh, having been unable to squeeze it into previous visits. We arrived for our Priority Seating time, only to learn that the reservations hostess had made a mistake, and booked our seating for the wrong time. No matter, the restaurant was almost deserted, and we were seated immediately.

Our server took our drink order, and left us to study the menu. We decided to order the Royal Feast, a meal for two or more diners.

The meal started with a chilled salad plate of eggplant / tomato / pepper mix (like babaganoush), hard boiled egg, marinated chilled veggies and warm bread.

The second course contained two filo rolls, one stuffed with diced chicken in filo and dusted with sugar and cinnamon; the other stuffed with diced seafood in filo.

The main course was chicken baked in a tapenade of green olives and preserved lemon; lamb in natural sauce; and couscous with steamed fresh veggies. The meats were so tender they could be fork cut.

Dessert was crepe filled with warm apples, topped with honey and roasted almond slivers, and served with ice cream.

Our drinks were NEVER empty the servers refilled our water constantly, new soft drinks were brought before we finished the first one.

Total for two, $75.00 w/ tax and tip.

Entertainment there was a live musician and dancer, who performed in 20-minute sets once per hour. The dancer was good about involving audience little girls, etc.

While our waiters were efficient, they were not overly friendly. One of the aspects I most enjoy about dining in Epcot is the opportunity to interact with the cast members, and learn something about their native cultures. Our waiters did not engage in any conversation with us, even when I asked about a certain dish.

Overall, we rate the restaurant a 5 for food, but an overall 4 for atmosphere and service.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   Oct 10, 2001
Reviewer: kennyhues San Jose CA     June 17, 2002
The service was terrible (what little staff they had was courteous but overwhelmed and incompetent), but the kitchen was on its game the day we visited, and the food was outstanding. There are undoubtedly better Moroccan restaurants in major cities throughout the country, but as an introduction to Moroccan cuisine, this was very enjoyable. I'll admit my ignorance, but as someone who cooks and has a teaspoon or two of understanding about Moroccan culture, bolstered by the exhibits on display elsewhere in the Moroccan pavilion, I get the feeling that the dishes aren't too badly bastardized, if at all.

The entertainment was a little disappointing - while the musicians were great, our dancer didn't seem like the genuine article. Her lillywhite skin and dark wig made me wonder if she and her dance were authentic. I hope they were. That said, the restaurant's decor and ambiance makes for a completely transporting experience.

We were saddened to find Morocco a bit of a ghost town during our visit, and we hoped our fellow Epcot visitors weren't avoiding it because it's thought of as an Islamic nation. (The small number of diners made the wait staff's ineptitude all the more baffling.) Morocco's culture is varied and interesting, and many layers of foreign religious and cultural influence have made their way into the food, resulting in exotic and unusual flavors.

Put any anti-Islamic sentiment aside and let the people who staff this pavilion show you a little of their fascinating culture. And by all means try the brewat and pastilla with a Moroccan beer. The tastes, sights, and sounds available at Marrakesh overcame the woeful service and made me want to visit the real Morocco.
 
16 out of 19 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page