Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Rose & Crown Pub & Dining Room
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
This authentic pub features fish and chips, prime rib, traditional English ales and beers.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 21 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   9/17/09
Reviewer: relaaxedwheniamthere (dustycheatham@hotmail.com) jax fl.     October 01, 2009
the rose & crown is my favorite place to visit @ epcot . strange i know! started the evening with MISS PAM BRODY she is a treasure & is a must see in the pub . our server was STU in the pub & he did an outstanding job. for dinner SUSAN was our server & she also was outstanding . wife had the americano salad & i had the delish potatoe & leek soup. sadly it went down hill from there . my surf & turf & wifes cottage pie were not up to the ROSE & CROWN standards . the only reason this reivew is not a 3 is the outstanding service all around
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 10, 2007
Reviewer: tjrj Durango CO     May 23, 2007
Checked in 10 minutes prior to our noon adr. We were seated right at noon which is when they open. Asked for and received a patio table. Beaufiful setting. Great view across the lagoon to WS. Nice breeze off the water. Our waitress was Charis-the one server's name that I remember from our whole trip! Probably because she was such a treat to work with. Friendly, answered questions about the menu and her work experience at WDW. ds 15, ds 20 and I(Mom) were all on the DDP-but I wanted to go lighter in terms of lunch so I paid OOP for my food as well as the fabulous beer flight. ds 15 had the soup of the day; ds 20 had the salmon-all yummy and polished off quickly. I enjoyed my beer flight-5 sampler sized beers-all with a tray to tell which is which. From light to dark-dh would be proud-I drank guiness which I normally avoid! Liked it-must be that Disney magic:grin:. Ds 20 had the fish and chips-tender and prepared perfectly; while ds 15 had the bangers and mash. Think it was a comfort to him to have something he recognized. I'd been trying to get him to "sample" some "different" types of food in WS! I had the fruit and cheese plate-lovely-apple slices, grapes, slilton cheese, brie-sourdough bread, roasted pecans as well as the side salad with sliton dressing on the side. For dessert, ds15 had ice cream; ds 20 had the bread pudding with the sauces poured on the side. I had a bite of that one-moist, warm and flavorful. Service was prompt-and as mentioned above friendly and helpful. We couldn't have asked for a better lunch-the setting, the service, the food-all outstanding.
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   12/04/2006
Reviewer: ls3015 Freeland Mi     February 24, 2007
Ask not to set outside in the evening, To cold!
Food Was average nothing fabulous, if paying cash not worth the extras.
possibly a Good buy if useing meal plan.
Service here was extremly slow. showed up at our reserved time. Had to wait outside untill pager went off close to an hour. Once inside found many empty tables where we could have been sitted sooner. was put outside AT NITE IN DECEMBER (COLD) and the lights wasn't very good, dark. I do not think we will return here.
 
1 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   October 05
Reviewer: TinaMouse Farmington, MN     September 10, 2006
R&C is another stop we make each time we're in Epcot. If you can snag a patio table before Illuminations, it is one of the best places to see the show.

On this particular trip, we ate here for lunch. We were seated on the patio, and although it was not covered, it was a fine day and we were comfortable.

Our server attended to us immediately and engaged in more conversation than in other eateries. Some had Bass Ales & some had Harp Lagers (3 adults). They were cold and delicious (obviously on-tap).

For appetizer, we all split the creamed mushrooms. They were divine, with a splash of sherry. Just the right amount of salt. There was puff pastry to dip with.

For entrees, one had fish & chips, one had shepherd's pie, and one had pasty. All were delicious. The fish was flaky and the breading was crispy. It was not greasy. The shepherd's pie was full of beef & veggies, and the potato top was a hit. The pasty was yummy and absolutely huge. For the little guy in attendance, we ended up ordering the fruit & cheese plate. There was several pieces of cheese, grapes, and crackers. He ate all except the Stilton, but of course the adults helped him out.

Prices were reasonable and on par with other WS restaurants. I think we spent $75 or maybe a bit less for everything, tip included.

We were very happy with all aspects of R&C.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   December 29, 2005
Reviewer: BigStan727 Burbank, IL near Midway airport     January 22, 2006
We were seated outside for lunch under an orange canopy with a view of Epcot's lagoon. I really enjoy the inside of the Rose & Crown more because it reminds me of some of the nicer pubs in London. I didn't order the Guiness this time and got a Bass ale. The price is a bit steep, the ale is good but not as good as the German beer at the Biergarten nor as economical. The pint of ale was $9.00 compared to Biergarten's liter of beer at $9.50. Yes that is a liter about twice as much for 50 cents more at the Biergarten. The food was good. They give you one big chunk of cod now and it is a bit heavily battered in spots. The chips (big french fries) were good. The fish & chips here are better than the takeout booth next to the Rose & Crown. My wife got the shepherds pie and that was very good. You can only get this for lunch I believe. For dessert the sticky toffee pudding is a must as it is as good as the Sweet Basil's in Vail, Colorado which everyone raves about. Enjoy!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   03/01/05
Reviewer: Tara13 Memphis, TN     March 07, 2005
Service - 5
Price - 4
Food - 3.5
Atmosphere - 4

My family and I made a priority seating at the Rose & Crown with the hopes of being able to eat on the patio and watch Illuminations. Unfortunately, the weather was dreadfully cold and the R&C didnt open seating on the patio. However, we were still allowed to go out there and watch the show! We had the best of both worlds we ate inside the nice warm restaurant and got to see the show! The R&C was turning guests away at the host stand, so I highly recommend priority seating. Our food was good. I had the English pie sampler very good. My dad had the bangers and mash he felt was a bit salty, but still seemed to enjoy it. My mom had the steak and prawns she felt it was good, but could have been a little hotter. My sister had the roast chicken. Unfortunately, the jam came on top of the chicken and she wasnt too pleased with that (she is a bit picky and is currently pregnant making food choices difficult). It looked very tasty to me. Our server was very sweet and gave us excellent service. We had a couple of drinks in the pub before dinner and the service there was good as well! However, there is no place to sit in the pub. I would recommend this restaurant to anyone interested in trying English Pub food. However, dont count on being able to seem Illuminations from the patio it isnt guaranteed.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   December 28, 2004
Reviewer: MusicMama Coatesville, Pennsylvania     January 11, 2005
I chose this restaurant as part of the CP package and because it had fish and chips - something the 3 of us (me, DH, DD - age 11 and wanting to eat as an adult) enjoy. How nice that the meal comes with appetizer, drink, entree and dessert. DH had caesar salad, which was OK but not overly large or tasty, DD ordered a Mushroom soup which I ended up with - to die for! thick and creamy broth and 3 kinds of mushrooms in large pieces, not pureed to death, I ordered grilled prawns that went to DD - she loved the very large and tasty prawns but was hesitant about the accompaniment (raspberry vinaigrette was a little sour). For dinner, DH and I had the steak and prawns - steak was done a little more than the medium rare I requested but still tasty and way too much for me to eat with the prawns - the steak leftovers went to DH. DD had the fish and chips - very good, not greasy, very large pieces of fish. Dessert was even better - we ordered the sampler and a piece of pie. Yum! especially the creme brulee. It was cold that night and we happened to be between 2 heaters, so we were a little chilly. Also, our server was a little on the slow side, so we had to run in order to not be late for the CP. Our res was for 4:40, but the slow service meant that we left restaurant at 6:15 instead of 6:00. Oh well, lesson learned. All in all, the best dinner we had in Disney for the whole trip!
 
3 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   12-22-04
Reviewer: oregonjuli Lafayette, louisiana     December 30, 2004
We purchased the Dinner package for the candelight processional. Our show time was for 5:00 with dinner reservations for 7:00. THe show was great. We got to the Rose and Crown early and tried to check in, but the told us to wait til closer to our reservation time. We still had a 20 min. wait after we were finally allowed to check-in. We requested inside, but we seated out on the patio right on the rail by the water. It was cold this night and we requested they turn on the heater, We were told they didn't work by one person and that they had to find the key by another. We all ordered the Steak and shrimp. While it was ok, it was not steak I am accustomed to growing up in Texas, more like a piece of roast they called a steak. The potatoes were just so-so, they are much better at the crystal palace. My husband and mother shared the dessert sampler, which they both agreed was very good. With the dinner package you get one beverage per person, and my husband had ice tea with his meal, but when dessert time came around he wanted a cup of coffee. The waiter, who was very nice, told him it would have to be a separate check for the coffee. While I understand this, it did seem a bit obnoxious. It was only a cup of coffee. Afterall, I had already paid $34.99 per person to eat there and see the show, couldn't they have thrown in a cup of coffee?
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 2004
Reviewer: sphallx2 Tupelo, MS     November 27, 2004
We both had the fish and chips. Fish was super greasy and fries were very dry as if they had been sitting there a long time. We have not been back to see if we just hit a bad day there.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   September 2001
Reviewer: tinkertoad Marietta, Georgia     July 24, 2004
Rose and Crown should have been closed the day we went for lunch. It was hot outside but hotter inside with no air conditioning or cross ventilation. The dishwasher was broken so we ate greasy fish on paper plates with plastic forks. Even on china the fish would have been greasy. There were flies everywhere because the doors were open. Our server was pleasant but unattentive and the thought of refilling our beverages never entered his mind. Scotch eggs were good but I wouldn't go back just for that. There are too many other places to try. ("toad" of tinkertoad says the meal should be served with Maalox).
 
1 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page