Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Rose & Crown Pub & Dining Room
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
This authentic pub features fish and chips, prime rib, traditional English ales and beers.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 53.6 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 21 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 30, 2004
Reviewer: mom_online Central Massachusetts     April 21, 2004
The decision to eat at the Rose and Crown was based soley on the fact that they were the only ones available to seat a large crowd of over 10 on short notice. I had no anticipations about the food or service.

The food was delicious but not your typical fare. Going around the table I think we had orders for just about everything on the menu. Everyone enjoyed their meals! I actually loved the pie sampler. Fish and chips are tasty. The kids meals included fresh grapes- good news for parents who are concerned the kids are eating junk all day!

The service however was subpar for WDW. The wait staff seemed inefficient at times and a bit inexperienced. Our seating location wasn't too hot either- our views were of table umbrellas and anti-bird wires. I am glad to hear they will be renovating- it certainly needs refreshing.
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 2003
Reviewer: mbaker1277 Alabama     January 05, 2004
This turned out to be the best meal we had during our entire vacation! We waited until the last minute to decide where we wanted to eat dinner, and since the candlelight processional was going on most of the restaurants were booked up. We were given a pager and told the wait would be 45 minutes, but it turned out to be about 25.
The english pie sampler I had was to die for! It had three types of pies;chicken and leek, pork, and cottage. They were so good I ate until I hurt. My husband had some outstanding grilled slamon, and my daughter had a great grilled chicken. Even though the restaurant was filled to capacity the service was quick and top notch! It was a great value too, with the adult entrees coming in at around $12 for a large dinner. We cannot wait to go back, as it will be on our list of favorites from now on!
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   9/20
Reviewer: bellefan Upstate NY     September 30, 2003
The location of this restaurant in Epcot couldn't be better and the service and food were great too! We had no reservation and only waited 5 mins to be seated for lunch. It was a very hot day in Sept and we sat outside with a beautiful breeze coming off the lake. We looked out and people watched while starting with the fruit and cheese plate - enough for 2 people. I had the vegetables with curry rice and it was wonderful. The service was very friendly and pleasant and it proved to be a wonderful respite from a hot, tired day.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 14, 2003
Reviewer: KSchultz Carol Stream, IL     April 21, 2003
We had lunch here (one of three restaurants we ate at while at Epcot Center). We were offered a choice of tables...either outside or inside. The service was exceptional. The price was not bad. I had the Fish & Chips and thought it was very good (although too much food). My husband had the Cottage Pie which he thought was very tasty. He also had the 5 Ale Sampler. One suggestion is making the samples a little smaller. He is not a big drinker and could not finish all five glasses. Overall, this was a great dining experience and we will definitely eat here again on our next visit to the Disney World Resort.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   Feb. 23/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     April 05, 2003
This was by far and away the worst meal we had at any table service restaurant in Disney World. We were seated quickly at a patio table so that we could later enjoy Illuminations. The meal started well with a cheese and fruit tray which was delicious and well presented. Unfortunately the meal was all downhill from there. Our cast member was friendly but extremely inefficient. We had ordered our main courses at the same time we ordered the appetizer but we waited and waited and our main course never arrived. At first we didn't worry about it as we wanted to kill some time before Illuminations began anyways but when over an hour went by with no meal we began to become concerned. Finally our server showed up and inquired, "Is everything all right with you ladies?" I smilingly replied, "Just fine if you overlook the fact that we haven't received our meals yet." By the shocked look on his face, it was apparent that he'd forgotten all about us. He then whisked away and our food arrived shortly thereafter. We almost wished it hadn't. I ordered the meat pie sampler and it was positively gagworthy. My daughter had the fish and chips and it was edible but certainly not very tasty. The fish was greasy and the chips of the frozen variety. The only good thing about the meal other than the appetizer was the view of Illuminations and even then the roof of the patio blocked our view of any of the "higher-up" fireworks. I would advise people to skip this place and spend your money elsewhere.
 
3 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/13/1999
Reviewer: Nubthesquirrel North Hollywood, California     February 25, 2003
First off, sorry for this review being so late! I just recently discovered Mouseplanet! Anyway, I had the Shepherd's Pie for dinner. The prices are relatively moderate. I won't say this was the cheapest restaurant I ate at when I was in Disney World, but it was certainly one of the best! The service is exceptional. The staff will bend over backwards to accomodate you for seating outside for Illuminations.

However, make your reservations early so you don't get caught with any nasty surprises like not being able to get the seating you want. I heartilly recommend this place to anyone who goes to Epcot. It has a great viewing spot for Illuminations and the service and food are without a doubt some of the best in Disney World
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   November, 2002 (The 14th, I think)
Reviewer: hbquikcomjamesl (jamesl@hb.quik.com) Orange County, CA     November 26, 2002
I came to the Rose & Crown with somewhat inflated expectations, and a reservation. I had heard good things about their prime rib. They were good, and much better than Le Cellier, but not in the same league with San Francisco's House of Prime Rib.

Even with a reservation, I had to wait, briefly. I was issued a pager, and went to look in one of the shops, and long before I'd expected it, the pager went off, and my table was waiting for me. The waiter was quite attentive, and my prime rib arrived quickly enough.

The prime rib came with a somewhat muffin-like (and rather heavily herb-seasoned) form of Yorkshire pudding: neither scorched nor doughy, which is definitely a plus (since relatively few places serve Yorkshire pudding at all, and fewer still manage to avoid over- or under-cooking it). I found it interesting, but I kind of prefer the flat, "skillet" form (but at least it wasn't a scorched popover!)

Overall, the prime rib, potato, and Yorkshire pudding were quite good, and a far better value at $26.70 (including a glass of milk and the tip) than Le Cellier would turn out to be, but I was expecting better.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Oct 2001
Reviewer: kennyhues Campbell, CA     August 16, 2002
Having had fish and chips from the takeaway window attached to the Rose and Crown a couple years before, I knew we'd like the place - there's a UK pub here in Campbell called the King's Head, and we've become quite fond of hearty English cookery. Our 407-WDW-DINE CM from months before had kindly put a note in our PS that told the host were were on the honeymoon we' never had and celebrating our 5th anniversary. This was interesting: All around us were dads and husbands trying to cajole, intimidate, or bribe the host for waterside tables so their families/spouses could view Illuminations - the same reason we were there. We said nothing, just figured we'd let the chips fall. A CM led us in, saying slyly, "I know you were hoping for an indoor table tonight, but all we've got is this one here," as he stopped at a waterside table right by the river lock. Score!! Unfortunately, the kitchen was being renovated at the time. We were told that the only difference we'd notice was the single-use plates and cutlery, but the food was a little disappointing. The fish and chips were a good as I remembered, but the fisherman's basket was not that great. The bartender makes a nice shandy and a wicked snakebite, though. I don't remember our server at all, which is an indication that he/she served us well without calling any attention to his/herself. Highlight of the evening was sitting there with my sweetie/best friend, eating berries and lemon cream ("Walt's favorite dessert") while we watched the suddenly more poignant IllumiNations and its message that we're all on this planet together. The song "We Go On" was never more appropriate and was almost too much to take in the wake of 9/11, as it brought to mind how we as a nation felt wounded and scared and how Americans have always plucked up and carried on in the face of trouble.
Anyway, now that the kitchen rehab is finished, the Rose and Crown should be up to its usual food standards. If you like British cookery at all, the Rose and Crown is at least as good as the local British pub in any city with a population of UK expats.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 2002
Reviewer: Trinitys Ghost Denver, Colorado     July 15, 2002
My father and I were in Epcot for the afternoon, so we decided to hit the Pub. We were there early in the afternoon (1pm), and seated quickly by a courteous host. Our table was outside, but under cover in case of any inclement weather. As soon as we sat down, they offered us bread and butter. For our meals, my dad had the fish and chips (a favorite of his at any pub). They looked very good, the pieces of fish were quite large, and the meal came with plenty of french fries. I tried the shephard's pie, which consists of a layer of ground beef, carrots and onions (with a very good sauce mixed in that I couldn't quite place) on the bottom, and mashed potatoes on top. That was fantastic, and very filling. The hosts and hostesses, as well as the wait staff were very helpful and polite. If we didn't know what an item consisted of, our waitress would describe it to us. I recommend eating there any time they're open, and don't forget to buy a bottle of their Woodpecker hard cider. It's very good.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June19,2002
Reviewer: Ebisoman Pittsburgh, Pa     June 28, 2002
We had Priority Seating for 7:00 pm, with the idea of having a good dinner and then watching the Tapestry Parade and then Illuminations. Got to Epcot while the Monsoon had just let up at 5:50, time to spare so we thought we would catch the Universe of Energy. This lasted about an hour total and while there the Monsson started up again. Doing our best yellow duck(ponchos)impersonation got to the R&C at 7:15. A long line of yellow was lined up just outside the check-in desk. The very polite young lady with the most wonderful British accent told us, she would get us in ASAP, but the place was under seige, so we "might try the pub for a pint of ale" while waiting. We no sooner took our first sips of the Bass Ale, when our pager went off and we were seated on the outside (but well under cover from the rain). Priority Seating is great, even if you are late. Steve was our server and you could tell he knew his menu and how to treat his guests in the "Proper British" style. We started with the cheese and fruit ($5.99), which was fresh melon, grapes 2 type of cheeses and crackers. The fruit was sweet and ripe, one cheese was smooth and mild, the other was harder, but fresh and tangy. The crackers were large and not too salty. My wife had the Sampler Pies($15.99) and I had to have the Fish and Chips (after seeing it be served to other guests)($14.79). We each had coffee ($2.00) and we shared a Sherry Trifle for dessert. The pies were very good, but my wife said she did not want to know what was in them (thinking it was kidney or something), The fish portion was about 10 inches long, with some of the best breading I have ever tasted. The chips were a larger type of french frie, but seemed to be baked rather then fried. The Trifle was very creamy with a hint of sherry, a large dessert which would have been too big and rich for just one person. The Bass Ale was pint size,$6.55.
Excellant food and drink, great service and they let us stay as long as we wished. We saw the Illuminations show up close and personal. Great time, one of the few on this very soggy vacation.

SERVICE: Great, both up to and during the meal.

Price: One of the best values, considering the typeof food, location and entertainment in Epcot.

FOOD: Outstanding, I am not a fish eater, in fact more often then not I pass on fish, but this was just great. Large, very tasty, not a strong fish flavor or oder. My wife also, cleaned her plate. Fantastic dessert.

Atmosphere: Because it had been raining so much, it took away from the surrounding, which I am sure on a warm, clear summers night can not be beat.

WE will be repeat customers here.
 
16 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page