Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
San Angel Inn
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Dine next to an indoor volcano while enjoying Mexican cuisine. Beer and wine.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 23 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   6-17-09
Reviewer: mousenut18 Hollidaysburg, PA     January 11, 2011
My wife picked this restuarant since she has a liking for mexican food. The atmosphere was great we were seated on time and from then on it went downhill. The waiter our first one was in need of people skills. For the amount of food that we recieved and the price paid was shameful. The second waiter was no better when we were still eating he comes around reminding me of the tip. My wife looked at me asking me did he say what she thought he said. I nodded my head as I was looking at a platter of food next to me with burritos and tacos and rice that the kid was not going to eat. I wanted to offer the Mom some money but I thought better of the situation. We figured the lowest amount of the tip since the dining plan does not include tips. This was my wife's first trip to Disney world since it was our Honeymoon and first year anniversary and this was the only blotch on our trip. We will never again book this place as the food was average and the price was way to high. Maybe the waiters were fueding or whatever but something like this could put a damper on anyone's trip.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   1/19/2009
Reviewer: csuwyn Sacramento, CA     January 27, 2009
After visiting the Mexico pavillion in Epcot last year when we came to WDW, I decided I wanted to give the San Angel Inn a try on this trip. I was not disappointed. The service was absolutely wonderful, our server treated us so well, as most WDW restaurants do. The atmosphere was great, with the temple and volcano in the background, which kept my 3 year old princess entertained. We had lunch, my wife and I both ordering the Churrasco Con Chilaquiles - Grilled flank steak with chilaquiles (layers of fried corn tortilla, green tomatilla sauce, topped with fresh cheese, onions, and sour cream) $18. This was delicious, and we both noticed the flavors weren't tamed down for us gringos, there was quite a kick to it. My daughter had a taco and she devoured it. Prices were somewhat pricey for lunch, but we were on the DDP, so we really didn't think much of it. I only give this restaurant a 4 world rating instead of a 5 because it's probably not one I would have to return to on our next trip to WDW (such as places like Le Cellier, Boma, Yak & Yeti). It's more of a one time experience kind of place. But if you haven't been there, by all means give it a shot.
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 21, 2008
Reviewer: wishiwasthere Old Bridge, New Jersey     July 29, 2008
· Date of Visit: July 21, 2008
· Type of meal: Dinner (6:15 reservations)
· Service: Good
Price: Increased since last year, yet they took side dishes away
Food: Good, but if you are looking to be full then order an appetizer as well
Atmosphere: Perfect. Dark and cool which makes everyone pretty quiet which is nice after a day in the parks.

I eat at San Angel Inn on almost every trip so I decided to take the family I was visiting WDW with there. We arrived early and was seated within 10 minutes. We were a party of 6 and we were seated right next to the water which was nice. Our waiter seemed new which doesn't bother me because I was a waitress once and being new is hard.

They still put the tortilla chips and salsa on the table. They got rid of the nachos which I think is kind of silly considering you are at a Mexican restaurant, but replaced them with crab nacho type dish. We were looking forward to the nachos too. We received our food pretty quickly with 5 of us ordering the Plato Mexicano and one person ordering the Chicken Rojas (I believe it had a name like that), which was chicken with a cream sauce and had peppers and onions. I always order the Plato Mexicano and I was sad to see that they no longer serve it with rice and beans. So you get a steak, enchilada, and one other beef roll and that was it. I really think that there should be some type of side dish. It still left me a little hungry. I tried the chicken with the cream and peppers and onions and that was very tasty.

It was someone's birthday in our party so they came out with a cake and everyone sang and put some creation on his head. We then ordered tea with cake and the waiter brought out the mini teapots on a plate not realizing that you needed a cup to drink it. No big deal. We ordered a full cake and it was still freezing in the middle, but after a hot day in the parks everyone still enjoyed it.

I would go back to San Angel Inn again because of the ambiance and the food. The only thing I would like to see is the nachos brought back and side dishes with the meals. Prices went up since last year and they took away the side dishes.

 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 23, 2008
Reviewer: rbaadmin Elwood, IL     June 24, 2008
I never was all that interested in this restaurant until I rode the boat ride in the great Aztec pyramid a month ago. The atmosphere and ambience are incredible. I imagine it to be incredibly like actually sitting at an outdoor restaurant in Mexico. We were on the dining plan and used priority seating reservations. We were seated within five minutes of check-in and were promptly given chips and salsa to munch on as we browsed the menu. With the great ambience comes great difficulty actually seeing your menu -- I needed a flashlight or a miner's hat to read the menu and park maps while we waited to eat. Now to the food in a nutshell. . . the quality was very good and the selection was not. It is definately not a place for picky eaters or for kids. Just remember, this is fancy Mexican cuisine, not Taco Bell. We asked to have a simple beef taco made for our six-year old, who loves tacos and we were told that was impossible. We then just asked for some nacho cheese for our two kids to dip their chips into but were then told that was not available either. However, the waitress did make an attempt at having the chef melt some monterrey jack cheese for us, which was very thoughtful of her. In conclusion, we loved the "feel" of the restaurant and enjoyed our food, albeit we "went out on a limb" and took some risks. Seems quite authentic but be aware that your kids may have a hard time finding something.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May, 2008
Reviewer: ArnyVee South Florida     June 09, 2008
This restaurant is great! Our family goes to it every trip to Epcot and it's always a wonderful experience. The ambiance is nice and the staff has always been helpful. The food is not five star, but it's solid. Nothing wrong with it IMO based on our experiences.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   04/05/08-04/11/08
Reviewer: brs214 Philadelphia, PA     April 13, 2008
This was our last meal at Disney for this trip and it was a real let down. We had reservations for 1215 and arrived at 1210, we didnt get seated until 1230. I understand we were early, but I dont understand why we had to wait for 15 minutes after our reserved time. Once finally seated, we had a nice table near the water. Our chips and salsa came it was good. Both my husband and I started with soup, I got the Sopa Azteca and he had the Crema de Elote. Both of us thought the soups were OK, nothing extraordinary. For our main course I ordered the Carne Asada Tampiquena and my husband had the Costilla de Res. I thought the Carne Asada was just OK, but the enchilada was horrible, it wasnt even an enchilada, it was more like a soft taco. The chicken was dry and the enchilada sauce was bland. My husbands was really ruined by this dreadful sauce that coated the meat, potatoes, and onions. For dessert we were looking forward to some exciting Mexican creations, however we were disappointed with standard desserts. I got the bread pudding and my husband ordered the flan, and neither of these dishes were anything to rave about. I would not recommend this restaurant. My husband grew up in Southern California; around Mexican food all his life and he thought the Mexican dishes at this restaurant were weak at best.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   August 28, 2006
Reviewer: LaurieR Exeter, Ontario     September 06, 2006
We had PS for 710pm. We arrived at 630pm and got a table right away! The atmosphere is very nice, although it is quite dark and they have many tables extremely close together. They started us off with nachos and salsa which was very good. What I thought I was ordering was not what I received, so I was disappointed. It was a steak, and was very good, but I was expecting a variety of Mexican dishes. My husband had filet mignon and loved it. The kids had burritos and they were delicious. Dessert was chocolate cake and icecream which was great.
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   December 27, 2005
Reviewer: BigStan727 Burbank, IL near Midway airport     January 22, 2006
This restaurant has slipped quite a bit over the years. The menu used to offer many more choices. I think they must be trying to do less but offer better quality. My wife had the the rudest waiter in the world here a few years ago. The only reason we came back is because the manager sent us a letter for free dinner after receiving a letter from my wife describing the waiter and her experience. The margaritas are very good here and the cervice was enjoyable. But after that everything else was merely OK. Karen got chicken in mole sauce and I ordered a beef dish. I can't remember the name nor wish to as it was slightly tough. My wife says the margaritas are just as good at the stand outside the pyramid so I see no reason to come back here. The dining experience can be more magical if you are seated near the water where the volcano is. It would be a nice touch if they could put LED lights in the ceiling to look like stars. I have to admit the atmosphere is nice in this Mexican restaurant and helps make up for the so-so Mexican food. Our waiter this time was extremely pleasant and at least apologised that a meal could not be amended to our son's taste. In other words if you have any meal change requests this restaurant is not flexible. It is like trying to order a ketchup only cheesburger at McDonalds yet even worse. Enjoy!
 
5 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/05
Reviewer: foofoome Dallas, TX     October 17, 2005
We were not expecting this restaurant when we toured the pyramid, but once inside, we were blown away! It was so dark and colorful, and we sat right by the water watching the boats and staring at the volcano...the food was good, the waitress was great, and it was fun strolling through the mexican market afterwards. We were seated immediately, and ate dinner by candlelight. LOVED IT!!
 
8 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Sept 22
Reviewer: rob hanson1979 Ottawa, Canada     October 13, 2005
I was most sceptical about this restaurant because of the reviews, but the moment we walked into the pyramid, we were blown away. The decor is amazing. The scenery, the soundtrack, the live mariachi band, it all blew us away! We actually felt like we were in some small Mexican town.
We were about half an hour early for our meal, but the hostess said she could seat us right away.
When you sit down, the tables are a little close together, but as the restaurant wasn't busy, it wasn't a big deal. Also, the table wasn't lit very well, but that goes as part of the ambiance.
Our waiter was nice and friendly. We had no complaints about the service.
For an appetizer, I ordered the Queso Fundido. It was really delicious. It could have been a meal in itself. My main course was Carne Asada Tampiquena, and it was also quite good. The chicken enchilada was a tad dry, but the rest of the platter was very good, and it was really an entire platter that they brought me.
For the people who were not thrilled with the menu, this is a traditional Mexican restaurant with traditional food. They won't serve the same food as what you expect at Taco Bell. I have been to Mexico several times, and this food was the real thing.
I would absolutely recommend going to this restaurant. It was wonderful. And as if the food wasn't enough of a reason, the scenery and atmosphere should definately not be missed!
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page