Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
San Angel Inn
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Dine next to an indoor volcano while enjoying Mexican cuisine. Beer and wine.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 23 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   June 2004
Reviewer: sphallx2 Tupelo, MS     November 27, 2004
We did not like this place. What kind of Mexican restaurant does not have tacos on the menu? The service was awful - After waiting 15 min. for the waiter to come back and take our orders, we got up and left. We will not be back. - The atmosphere, surroundings were beautiful. That was the whole draw for us to eat there in the first place.
 
2 out of 31 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   most recently 6/04
Reviewer: Robflys     July 21, 2004
I was never receptive to this place until I ate there with my wife's family one visit. Now, my wife and I can't pass up at least one meal here on our (almost) monthly trips to WDW.

I always have the mole poblano. You just can't believe how well they make it. None of the many Mexican restaurants at home can even come close. The dish has a 1/2 chicken smothered with the sauce (which is very spicy and has just the right amount of chocolate flavor). The sauce itself has many many chicken chunks in it. You definitely get your money's worth and it's delicious to boot.

My wife usually gets the "sampler" type plates. We've never been disapointed. I asked the waiter once how they made the mole poblano and he appeared a few minutes later with a print-out of the recipe from the kitchen. I did this in the Biergarten as well and got a print out for their schnitzel recipe as well....interesting.

Don't miss it. Great food, great ambiance.
 
12 out of 12 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 4th,2004
Reviewer: kat408 Atlanta,Georgia     June 16, 2004
The Resturaunt had a nice atmosphere.The food was ok. i liked seeing the boat riders on the ride while I was eating. The food was a little expensive. 7PM is the BEST,BEST,BEST time to eat here. The castmembers are happier at that time!
 
1 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   5/30/04
Reviewer: Tuke Pensacola, FL     June 02, 2004
Date: 5/30/04
Meal: Dinner
Food: A+
Service: A
Price: C+
Atmosphere: A++

To be honest, the bad reviews here surprise me. In a word , all I can say is "WOW!". My wife and I LOVE this place. The atmosphere is un-matched. You really leave the world behind here.
Being Hispanic, I tend to be very critical of "Mexican" restaurants, but this place does NOT disappoint. We arrived at 4:25, for a 4:30 Priority seating and were seated almost right away. We asked for a seat by the water, which the host made sure we got. Keep in mind this was Memorial Day weekend, so the crowds were killer.
The salsa and chips held off our appetite while we enjoyed the "top shelf" maragitas (not on the menu, you have to ask). You can also ask for the extra hot (mas picante) salsa as well, which is nice and toasty (also not on the menu). You can also get heated chipotle peppers to go with your meal which are wonderful (and free). My favorite meal here is the Plato Mexicano, but the Cholula combination is great too. Our server (Victor) was super-nice and took care of us and our rambunctious 3 and 5 year old. We have eaten here on EVERY visit (8-12 times) and and never, ever been let down. Not to be missed.
 
19 out of 19 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   March 8th,2004
Reviewer: creative coworker Minnesota     March 15, 2004
My husband and I had priority seating for 6:00 pm and we arrived at 5:50 pm. We were seated to the right of the podium which didn't have the prefered view. Very disappointing. The couple just before us with no priority seating got the better table in the same section. The waitress spoke little english and it was hard to understand her when she did speak english. The menu only consisted of 6 choices for dinner. We each got the combo platter which was just OK. I don't think we will be going back. The prices were average, about $65 after tip. I had a margarita and my husband had a coke.
 
4 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1/15/04
Reviewer: Family5LovesDisney New Jersey     January 22, 2004
We have always enjoyed eating here at the San Angel Inn and this time was no exception.

The views are wonderful and the food is good. We ate here for dinner and spent about $72 with tip for our family of five (two adults and three children)

Our waiter refilled our chips basket as soon as it was empty. I was also impressed with the attention he paid to my children. One of my boys ordered a children's meal of chicken and cheese on a tortilla. When it arrived, it wasn't what he had expected. He tried it but didn't like it at all. Within seconds, the waiter appeared and offered to bring him another children's meal that he would find more to his liking. I was going to force my son to eat it........but since we were on vacation and the waiter was so nice about it, we took him up on the offer.

 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 2001, August 2002, March 2003
Reviewer: disneygirl99 Northern Indiana     September 27, 2003
One of our family's favorites for atmosphere and food! We hit this everytime we are in Epcot. We love the setting and the marketplace could bankrupt me! The little ride on the "river" is a fun way to burn some time while waiting if you have to for a table. Otherwise, you can just shop the treasures in the marketplace and have a nice time enjoying the atmosphere. The service is really great and the food is very good. Not too spicy and very good margaritas! Definitely a great addition to your "regular visit" list when at WDW.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   sept. 3 '02
Reviewer: edlowthegreat colorado Spings, CO     July 04, 2003
This place had a nice atmosphere, but horrible food and terrible service. Our waitress was so slow and the place was almost empty. We will never go back to this place again. We have had better mexican food at taco bell.
 
1 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Feb. 27/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     April 06, 2003
We had lunch at the San Angel Inn and were delighted from the moment we stepped up to the check-in desk. The atmosphere is incredible! It was only two o'clock in the afternoon but it felt for all the world like we were in a Mexican plaza at night. The Mayan pyramid, the smoking volcano, the river running by - all of it contributed to making this the most romantic atmosphere I've ever seen for a restaurant. The food was good. The complimentary chips and salsa they bring to precede the meal are excellent. I had a combination plate which was tasty and my daughter who doesn't like spicy food opted to have a dessert and drink - chocolate chimichanga which she prounounced to be excellent and a strawberry margarita which she loved. The service was fabulous - our cast member made recommendations which we followed and certainly didn't regret. I would suggest eating here for lunch rather than dinner as the menu is basically the same with large portions but with a much smaller price tag attached. The only word of caution I would give is that there is nothing on the entree menu which is not spicy so if there's anyone in your party that doesn't like hot, spicy foods, then they would be best to stick to just ordering a dessert.

 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   November 13, 2002
Reviewer: LauraD Alberta, Canada     November 18, 2002
Meal: Lunch
Price: Expensive
Service: Outstanding
Atmosphere: sexy and relaxing

We had a wonderful meal at a quiet table at the back. Our server was wonderful about explaining everything, his accent was a bit hard and he did speak very fast. The food was Excellent! The tortilla chips they bring are incredibly better than store bought. I don't know if we'll be able to eat store bought again.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page