Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Teppan Edo
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Formerly Teppanyaki Dining, this table service restaurant features Japanese-style entrees and sushi
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 54.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 14 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 14 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   February 7, 2004
Reviewer: Neon Cactus Tucson, Arizona     February 27, 2004
The food was excellent, but the atmosphere and the service were a little disappointing. They took our orders and brought the rice and salads quickly, but then we sat there for about 20 minutes waiting for our chef. The chef we did get was not very enthusiastic. Tables in the other room were lively, but ours did the onion volcano, flipped one shrimp and that was about it. We always thought the cast members in World Showcase were from the countries themselves, but my wife noticed his name tag and he was from Fort Worth. No offense to Texas, but that's like getting salsa from New York City :-)

Again, the food quality is very good, but the overall experience depends a lot on the chef. And that was lacking this time around.
 
1 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   1/12/04
Reviewer: Family5LovesDisney New Jersey     January 22, 2004
This was our first time to eat here after many years of visiting Disney World. It was my husband's birthday and he said he wanted to try it.

It was WONDERFUL!! The service was great! Even my three children enjoyed watching the chef prepare all the food right at our table. They especially enjoyed the " onion volcanoes" that erupted while cooking.

We all cleaned our plates, even my picky three children. I had called ahead to inform them it was my husband's birthday. They brought out a piece of cake with a candle and we all sang Happy Birthday. My husband was very happy!!!!

While we were waiting for the bill, a man came by and made origami frogs and birds for the boys to play with.

Overall it was an excellent place to eat with delicious food!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   1 January 2003
Reviewer: chezp United Kingdom     June 08, 2003
Lunch, 1 January 2003, New Year's Day

Service: Reasonable from our server, with an excellent performance from our chef!
Price: Reasonable for some pretty exotic food
Food: Excellent
Atmosphere: An amazing display by our chef in front of our eyes!

We really enjoyed this restaurant the last time we were here, as the chefs put on a great performance for you. When we came here in 2000, we'd never had Japanese food in our lives, but figured if we liked Chinese food (as we did), then it would be pretty similar and we'd enjoy it. We were right on both counts.

I have to start though with a warning for vegetarians and one I wished I'd had before I first went to Teppanyaki. All the food is cooked together and in front of you and that usually includes meat. If youre all vegetarians in your particular party, that wont help either, as youre seated with other people, as there are eight of you at each table. I can live with it, as the fish and vegetables (both of which I do eat) arent cooked on top of the meat, although its close. If youre a strict veggie, youre probably best giving this place a miss though.

The fact that you sit with other people doesn't always mean you'll end up talking to them either. Ironically, Teppanyaki seems to be about the place in Disney where we never get to chat to people. We always strike up conversations everywhere else, but it's just never happened on our two visits to this restaurant! I don't know why that it is - maybe everyone's too interested in the food on offer!

Speaking of which, for appetiser, both DH and I had the sumashi, clear fish soup with tofu, which was lovely. I would recommend this to anyone. For entrée, I had the Nihon-Kai - shrimp, scallops and half lobster tails and DH had the San-Kai - steak and lobster, both of which were cooked beautifully apparently. Just as well as those items were the most expensive two on the menu! For dessert, I had ice cream and DH had fresh fruit.

Our chef was a real showman, more so than the one we had two years ago. He spelt out no forks in vegetables, but luckily he was only joking, otherwise eating wouldve taken me a long time! If youre not vegetarian and you like Japanese food, then youll love this place. Its worth it for the entertainment alone. As soon as we got the camera and video camera out, that was it - our chef played up totally for us! We got some amazing shots and video footage of him in action. The way they cut up the food really has to be seen to be believed!

Once we'd all finished with our desserts, I was told it was apparently my birthday again (I'd turned 30 in fact on 21 December) and I was presented with a cake, which was then shared amongst our table of eight. A lovely touch. I like birthdays that go on for ten days!

The bill came to $69.44 and we felt that was well worth it for a very enjoyable three course meal with food you'd usually struggle to get anywhere outside of the biggest cities. I think the number of Japanese families in Teppanyaki each time we go also says something about the quality and authenticity of the food in there.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   September 7, 2002
Reviewer: AVP Anaheim, California     September 21, 2002
* Date of visit: September 7, 2002
* Type of meal: Dinner
* Service: Somewhat forgetful
* Price: $65.00 for two.
* Food: Good to excellent
* Atmosphere: Good

We arrived for our Priority Seating time, once again to discover that the PS fairies had messed up our reservation time. Once again, the restaurant was able to seat us with minimal wait.

We were seated with a mixed family - a mother, father, the mother's sister, and three assorted children. One of the children was cranky and didn't want dinner, another was simply fussy, and the family appeared to be on the 8th day of a 7-day vacation. They were NOT having a good time, and they all looked like they needed a nap.

We were given a sushi menu, which had a very limited selection. When we asked if there were other items available, the hostess told us that we would need to go over to the bar and place an order there, and then bring it into the dining room. We declined.

Our hostess took our drink orders, and was extremely slow in returning. We placed our dinner order, and waited.

Teppanyaki is quite similar to the international Benihana chain, so we knew what to expect food-wise. The chef arrived and began cooking, but either he was tired, or the lack of enthusiasm radiating from the other party at the table caused him to be more subdued than other chefs in the room. He barely made eye contact with us, didn't do any of the normal "tricks", and looked happy just to be done.

My husband's appetizer appeared to have been forgotten, and was actually presented with the meal. (Normally the appetizers are cooked first)

My husband has a hard time holding chopsticks, and had asked for one of the pairs usually given to kids - with the tops banded together like tongs. The hostess said "Oh, you want CHEATERS", and made a smart remark when she brought them to him.

Once our meal was cooked, the hostess pretty much disappeared. It took a long while for her to return to refill drinks. It looked to us as if she had serveral other tables, so I don't think she was being inefficient - I just think she was overworked.

Strangely enough, once the other party at our table got up and left, our hostess was extremely helpful. I asked about one of the dipping sauces we had been served, and she went to get the recipie for me.

Overall, we give the restaurant three planets for this visit. Having read other reviews, I wonder if we were not simply there on an off night.

 
6 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page