Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Fort Wilderness Campground Fort Wilderness Campground
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 19 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 15-20, 2012
Reviewer: Liv4sun Asheville, NC     June 20, 2012
Our first time at Fort Wilderness, after reading alot about it. First impression was not great. You pull in to register, they give your all your paperwork and directions to your campsite and then you are on your own...no escort, no nothing. We found the campsite, whice was nice and large. It was asphalt and sand area with a picnic table, grill and water hose. The restrooms are very clean as is the campgrounds...but disappointed as you never see any Disney workers if yoy hae any questions or need anything! The transportation service was great...buses every 10-15 minutes and the boat to Magic Kingdom. You surely need your bikes or you can rent a golf cart for $60+ a day. The large pool has life guards, but the smaller one doesn't. The prices in the campground at the stores are extremely high, so make sure you get everything you need outside of Disney...for example, a six pack of Coke cans was $8.00 and the marshmallows, graham cracker and hershey bars for the campfire were $10 a package. The camp loops do permit pets for an additional $5 per night and the pets are in special loops. Not sure if I would stay here again as the prices are a bit high for camping!!!
 
2 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 22-29th 2009 & February 20-26th 2010
Reviewer: DisneyfanMae (maemcgarry@yahoo.com) Erie, Pa     April 21, 2011
Fabulous! The first year that we came as a family (2 adults, 10 years, 9 years and 4 years old) we really struggled to find accomidations that could house 5 people and was still affordable. Our "affordable" options were narrowed down to The Cabin's at Fort Wilderness, and Port Orleans. I can't comment on Port Orleans because after just ONE stay at the cabins we are HOOKED!
Check in was smooth and simple, both visits the cast was friendly and efficent, and our cabin was never "musty or dusty" as I have read in other forums. It trully is a get a way facility, and we really love the separated units. Every year we have our children take the full size room in the back, they actually fight over who gets the top bunk! Now Disney could accomodate a little better by adding more dresser space. My husband and I always end up ethier living out of our suit cases, or out of the cupboards next the the (uncomfortable) Murphy bed. We love the set up for the price. We find our selves drawn to the cabin look since we have stayed there.
Our next trip is actually comming up in September, same place!
A must do at least one time is the "Hoopty Do Review" and may I add that if you have young ones try to be the first in line waiting, they will pick you child to be the "bell ringer" and they get a special certificate and everything for it. It really was just one of the many Magical Moments we experienced not only at Disney but at the Fort Wilderness Cabins!
The campfire with Chip and Dale, is awesome, and the pools are also a gem. (I think my kids would prefer to just play on the water slides all day!) One thing about the full sized kitchen with a large fridge and dish washer is that it lacked a pizza pan. They sell frozen pizzas in the out post but didn't suppy a pan. We called the front desk and within moments there was a knock at our door with a Pan! I have nothing negative to say, just give them a try and decide for yourself!
Year three heeeeere we come >>>sqeals with excitement!<<<
 
8 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March 15 - 22, 2008
Reviewer: cobaltman Philadelphia     March 30, 2008
My family loves Disneyworld and having vacationed there many times since my childhood, I find Fort Wilderness to be the most varied and accomodating resort on the grounds. My wife and I camped there five years ago and this time joined my father, sister and little nephew in a wilderness cabin.
Our flight was delayed several hours and we arrived at the outpost (check-in desk) around 3:00 am. They had just shut down the computers (why?), but, luckily, my father had instructed them to register us early and set aside our keys. It wasn't a great start, but the circumstances surrounding our arrival weren't Disney's fault. A castmember took us directly to our cabin in a park van. We finally slid into bed by about 3:30. [check in service: 3.5 planets]
The cabin was cute and tidy. We four adults and one peewee ended up being a little oversized for the place, but a couple with kids -up to four small ones- could probably get by comfortably. The bedroom had one modest-sized bed and bunkbeds. Along with a closet, tv and dressing stand, it made for a very practical, comfortable space. The bathroom was attractive and clean. The shower's water pressure was decent and the (excuse me) toilet's power was reminiscent of a jet plane's. Our housekeeper made a fresh toothbrush holder out of a washcloth everyday, which was very nice. The kitchen was small and seemingly efficient. We only made coffee, but could have probably cooked good, simple meals if we had wanted. I would recommend making a simple, eyeball tally of the pans and utensils before beginning a meal, though. There were some there, but it was a very spare collection. Our small living room doubled as our bedroom. The murphy bed was very easy to use, but it was small and uncomfortable. A tv, dining table and small activity table completed the room -along with charming decorations and facsimiles of original concept art for Fort Wilderness and other frontier-style Disney locations. The outside deck was sturdy and plain, and the charcoal grill was of the old-fashioned type, like you may find at your local metropark. Had we not spent nearly every waking hour at the parks, I am sure we would have found the cabin a pleasant place in which to have a barbecue and a few drinks.
[cabins: five planets]
Fort Wilderness campground is a lush and beautiful area that artfully balances real wildlife with cheerful theming. You probably won't see an alligator on the grounds, but armadillos are abundant (exotic to me, at least) and lovely birdsongs can be heard day and night. From the Outpost on down to the Settlement area -including the Meadow Trading Post and swimming pool areas- Disney has created a delightful frontier theme that incorporates recognizable motifs from the old west and the old mid-south. Some of it is very bluegrass Kentucky and some of it is very California goldrush, but the overall effect is seamless and familiar. Any day spent on the grounds offers the chance to relax like at no other Disney resort. Easing into a front-porch wooden rocker or whiling away the time engaged in pleasant conversation around the cracker barrel aren't the kinds of fantasies most people go to Disneyworld to fulfill. Nonetheless, escaping the bustle for a day or two quickly appeals to many visitors, and Fort Wilderness offers an attractive, old-timey way to wind down.
Getting around FW was not difficult. Footpaths lead in all directions and busses take folks the length of the grounds every 15 minutes or so. Fort Wilderness' ferry service to the Magic Kingdom beats any other method of transport in that it offers a wonderful view of the old Treasure Island, Wilderness Lodge, the Contemporary and much of the Magic Kingdom area.
A day spent exploring the Fort Wilderness grounds and participating in the many activities offered there would be a day well spent.
[Fort Wilderness grounds: five planets]

A stay at a Fort Wilderness cabin receives my heartiest recommendation. Please give it strong consideration against booking a hotel room at one of the other Disney resorts. The bustle of a large and noisy lobby has little on the natural tranquility offered throughout the FW grounds. Furthermore, Disneyworld buffs will find the Fort -one of the very early resorts on Disneyworld grounds- less changed from the early 70s than any hotel on the property. They really got it right from the start.
 
82 out of 83 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 21-28 2007
Reviewer: tchatters Sacramento, CA     April 21, 2007
What a welcome surprise on property- quiet, serene and peaceful just minutes from fun and chaos! Our cabin was perfect for our family since our son likes to get up really early and we try really hard not to bother other families. We had food delivered before we even checked-in from gardengrocer.com and arrived after a long cross-country trip to snacks and drinks.

I would have given FW Cabins 5 planets, except for the travel time it takes within the area. It was such a scam to pay an additional $47 a day for a golf cart, but really a necessity to make early morning character breakfasts and late nights returning. For the price of the cabins, I really believe a cart should be included. That being said, the bus service was quick and reliable, but often it'd take 10 min just to get to the marina to take a boat for 20 min to MK.

If you're looking for a little space, quiet and your own food, this was the way to go! We easily could have stayed three days without going to the parks and just going to the pools, playing games, fishing and going to the campfires.
 
39 out of 40 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 17-21, 2006
Reviewer: katmac974 Boston ma     June 21, 2006
We stayed at Ft Wilderness while on a recent trip with my sons Cub Scout pack. I am not a camper, so sleeping in a tent is not my idea of vacation. That said, we had a great time. The site was very nice, flat and large. We were abutting the road and right around the corner from the bus stop, we never were disturbed by noise. The Comfort Station was steps away, across the road. We could walk to the pool. I found the lack of bugs to be amazing. I had stocked up on bug spray and we didn't even open the pack. The Trails End was lovely, we ate both a breafast and a lunch here. I would absolutely stay here again, even in a tent, and I am the one who usually books the Yacht Club, conceirge level, for our trips!
 
25 out of 28 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   01/12/06 to 01/18/06
Reviewer: PNicholas Colorado     January 19, 2006
First off, we are a little unorthodox in our Disney vistits. My husband and I don't feel the need to pound the parks anymore so this is basically a review of lazy days spent at the resort. We stayed at Fort Wilderness cabins from 01/12/06 to 01/18/06. Got tons of wonderful info from this site, Deb's and Mousesavers.
The resort proved to be everything we had hoped it would be! We payed $239 per night before fees. Checking in we realized that we hadn't received our request even after 11 months in advance so we checked out our assigned cabin to find that we didn't like the location at all because it backed up onto the road and I could hear the buses. One quick phone call and they immediately reassigned us deeper into loop 2700 which was perfect. The cabins are comfy and cozy and very clean. The high ceilings are accented by beams, even the bathroom. We brought a little stereo system and discovered that they have a combo DVD/VHS player! The front desk wasn't even aware of that. The bedroom has a tv,clock radio and the blow dryer. You might want to bring an extra for the bathroom.
We rented a car and made about three trips to the grocery store. The on site store is pretty expensive and doesn't have a complete line of food. The front desk was happy to give us directions to Publix and Walmart. We put our photos on a CD at Walmart for under 3 bucks. $12.00 at the theme parks.
You can't park anywhere within the fort except for 15 minutes at the store so we walked, took the internal bus system (never had to wait long), rode the shuttle boats around the bay and rented a golf cart for 24 hours. What a hoot! Remember to plug in when you park! Tennis rackets, ball, basket balls, shuffle board stuff are all free to guests. There are canals and a small lake for boating. The beach is lovely with an interesting marsh trail. The night time outdoor movie was a blast for us two. Honestly, it was our 30th anniversary and we acted like kids again. We looked forward to meals at the cabin and drinking our own beverages. We grilled everyday. I bought a $2 cloth for the picnic table. The buffet restaurant looks like a great deal though, with a small take out menu. The bar has rocking chairs all around the covered porch.
We didn't use the pools but they are heated to 85 degrees and the occupants seemed to be having fun. We had a small pool near us with very clean restroom and shower facility. The pools are not themed but the surrounding woods set them off nicely.
The serenity of the place just grows on you. I know that most people are there for the parks but we didn't use half our tickets so we purchased non-expiration for the remaining days. Before we got there, my husband said it would be his only visit. Well, he fell in love with the cabins and is already talking about a return trip.
I would stick to the advice about renting a car for quicker transportation. It is so nice to pull up outside your own little house as the walk from the bus can add about a block or two. We highly recommend the cabins at Fort Widerness and will be back.
 
67 out of 67 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 2000 & May-June 2003
Reviewer: DisneyDel Ohio     August 29, 2005
Guess I'm a little late in getting our review sent in but better late than never, right?
Our family of 6 absolutely LOVES the Ft. Wilderness Cabins! They are just the right size for us and we get a full-size kitchen to save big $! (not to forget the daily maid service!)
I highly recommend renting a golf cart while there too. It helps save on time waiting for the buses and you get to see all the resort has to offer from a comfy seat!
A big bonus for us was the nightly movies played on the big outdoor screen - felt just like the drive-in at home and the kids got to make their own smores over the campfire and meet Chip & Dale without waiting in a long line!
You can even box up some dry goods (ex.: cereal, poptarts, snack cakes, koolaid, sugar, soups, etc...) and mail them to the resort a few days before you leave & they will be waiting there for you at check-in! It sure was a lot cheaper than buying at Goodings or inside the resort!
DH said to mention the mouseboats that you can rent & don't forget to take your fishing pole!
Our last trip, I dedicated an entire day of doing nothing but the "free" things to do at this resort and all of the family enjoyed it just as much (if not more) as a day in the parks!
So my advice, if you have a big family and all want to stay together in the same place...give the Fort Wilderness Cabins a try. I guarantee you will NOT be disappointed! ;)
 
17 out of 17 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   4/29/05 - 5/10/05
Reviewer: sharris300 Clarksburg, California     June 03, 2005
What an awesome campground!! We stayed in a 38ft. fifth wheel. Space was large and tons of folige for privacy. Very clean. A very short walk to the bus stop. Bus transportation to and from all parks was very well organized. The wait time for a bus was maybe 5 minutes at the most. You take a boatride to get to the Magic Kingdom which was cool. They have a huge lake where you can rent boats. We had a blast on the Searay boats. Prices are very reasonable. Next time we will rent a golfcart. It seems the easiest way to get to pools and activities and to cruz around and see all of the campground. All in all I highly recommend this campground and plan to return again soon!!
 
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   4/23/05-4/29/05
Reviewer: randall8060 Indiana     May 03, 2005
We had a cabin in the 2600 loop, the cabin is stocked and ready. Plenty of room to spread out and relax. The deck outside has both of the doors to the cabin located on it, so go in either way. The kids loved going round and round.....the pool by the cabins was plenty big for the amount of people and way less crowded than the big pool. This wasn't our first stay, so the only difference I noticed was that the music that they have playing down by the beach wasn't on during our entire stay. Made a small difference to us....details. The maid was wonderful leaving plenty of towel animals every day for our kids and even played a game of tic tac toe with them. It was a very nice choice for the price $179 a night with our annual passholder discounts.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 21 to August 3, 2003
Reviewer: hratliff (girlinaflightsuit@hotmail.com) Ansbach, Germany     August 15, 2004
Overall Experience:

Arrival at Ft. Wilderness brings with it the same Disney pizazz as other resorts, so the excitement is palatable from the minute you pull up to a Settlement-looking building, and someone steps out in Wilderness attire to check you in, without leaving your vehicle. You can also park your vehicle in the main parkinglot if you arrive before check-in time and want to experience the parks.

Location: Premium Site in Loop 700

This is a great location choice. It is a very short walk to the Bus stop, Marina, Pioneer Hall, and Settlement Trading Post. If you stay at one of the other loops in the middle of the Campground, you will have to catch a bus to one of the main bus stops to get to MGM, AK, etc. So, staying in loop 700 (or an adjacent loop) allows you to save time getting to either MGM or AK (the bus to one of the parks spots by loop 700...the other spots near the check-in...I can't remember which is which, but it is definitely a time-saver).
Having the premium site is also nice. If you have a cable hook-up in your RV, either bring coax cable (or buy it at the Settlement Trading Post), and you have the Disney TV options you would get in one of the resort hotels! Definitely adds to the Disney experience, and it gives you up to date info on park openings and events.
If you have a long RV (we have a 33' Prowler pulled by a Ford Excursion), getting into the sites is no joke. Have confidence that your driver is skilled at baking in. My hubby and I make a good team, and we didn't have much difficulty, but it was definitely the tightest spot we've attempted, due to the width of the main road on the loop, not because of the size of the lot. If you tow with stabilizers, disconnect them before you pull into your loop. On the main road from the entrance, there are pull-off areas, which make it easy to do this. You will need your full turning-radius to get into the site.
Once we were set up, we LOVED it. We were there in late July, so the dense foliage does make for a humid, Florida summer experience, so bring your bug spray. Nonetheless, the foliage made you feel like you were in your own world. We did not attempt to roll out our awning, for fear of summer T-storms, which proved to be wise.

Other Ammenities:

The Settlement Trading Post is great for Ft. Wilderness Souvenirs and almost any type of emergency camping or food supply.
The Trails End restaurant is a buffet with average food, but it is very affordable (compared to other resort restaurants) with plenty to please kids, and it is convienient for parents. Crockett's Tavern is great for late night munchies, and has the typical bar fare: nachos, pizza, etc...all good.
The Laundry facilities are convienient and clean, as well as the bathrooms and showers.
They have a Campfire Sing-a-long and show a Disney movie. I was dying to do this, but we were always so busy, we never had the opportunity. I do recommend it, however.
Taking the motor-launch from the Marina to the Magic Kingdom is the way to go. Pay attention to the times, because you can get stuck if you stay out too late. Another favorite way to get around is to take the motor-launch to the Contemporary and take the monorail, either to other hotels (Polynesian or GF), to the MK, or to the TTC, from where you can get to Epcot, or take a bus to MGM, AK, Dowtown Disney, etc. Of course, buses to all those places do run from Ft. Wilderness. If you find yourself getting back late, make your way to the TTC. They will always have a bus to Ft. Wilderness.

Overall Experience:

Ft. Wilderness is the budget minded way to stay in the same area as the main Deluxe Resorts by MK (Polynesian, GF, Contemporary and Wilderness Lodge). They start at $199 a night in Value Season. We paid $65 a night during Peak Season. Staying by the MK gives you the best access to the parks, plus you are close to great restaurants at Contemporary (California Grill!!!!), Wilderness Lodge (Artist Point), Polynesian (Ohana and the Spirit of Aloha Show), and GF (Narcoosees, Citrico's, Victoria and Albert's, The Afternoon Tea in the Garden View Lounge). My hubby and I were sans kids when we went last year. He had just returned from Iraq, and eating at the California Grill and watching the fireworks from MK, and then taking a quick boat back to Ft. Wilderness was the height of romance. Plus, we were able to take our three cats with us, so no boarding costs!
I also stayed at Ft. Wilderness in 1978 (as a little kid) and again in the Wilderness Cabins in 1986. All experiences were magical. I highly recommend it!
 
30 out of 30 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page