Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Fort Wilderness Campground Fort Wilderness Campground
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
4510 North Fort Wilderness Trail, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 54.3 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 19 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 19 )
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 2002
Reviewer: Pirate's Life For Me Albuquerque, New Mexico     June 07, 2004
We stayed in one of the fully-furnished wilderness cabins. Our family of four was pretty comfortable there. The cabin slept about 6 people total. It also included a kitchen with fridge and freezer, stove, oven, coffee pot, toaster, microwave, plates, glasses, mugs and silverware. It also had a table on which we could eat our meals.
The cabins are set up in a circular manner and we were in the middle of the circle. The bus was at the entrance to this circle so we had to walk all the way around one side of the circle. Sometimes this was worse at night due to the extreme amount of mosquitoes in the area. However, the bus system did run regularly and we never waited long for one to come.
Overall, we enjoyed our stay here and found it very accomodating to our needs. There was a lot of wildlife around including little frogs and lizards. We all really enjoyed that aspect of this resort. We would recommend this resort especially to those who particularly enjoy the outdoors.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 2003
Reviewer: disneygirl99 Northern Indiana     September 27, 2003
Well, it started off rough, but the cm's made every effort to try and rectify the wrongs. We camped in the 1400 loop of Fort Wilderness and the bathrooms were broken in our loop for about 3 days. They tried to help us by giving us a complimentary golf cart to travel to the nearest loop's bathrooms, but the battery died after only one trip! The mosquitos were unbearable and the noise from the camfire sing along drove us bonkers late into the night. Although a big bonus was the fact that our site was very nice, quite large compared to the room we needed for our pop up camper. A suggestion would be that the pool needs to really be themed to enhance the appeal. The park that we took my daughter to was really nice and the petting zoo was so much fun for her to see everyday. One of the best benefits is the white sand beach which was so relaxing and fun to just sit and enjoy while the little ones play. After we got home, I contacted Disney Guest relations and they actually sent us 6 free Disney Days for our next visit for our trouble with the resort. (this was also due to some rudeness on Test Track from a CM and the hostess at the restaurant at FWRC) The restaurant buffet food is actually quite good and the waiters and waitresses are very nice. All in all, I would recommend it rhough. The campground has so much to offer! My advice would be to bring Off!, camp in a camper with your own potty and shower...and bring your bikes or expect to pay for the golf cart at $45 a day (worth it!) You should be set!
 
12 out of 18 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 28 - 31
Reviewer: liroi Katy, TX     September 10, 2003
First time at the campground--chose it because of it's kitchen facilities as we were making our first trip to Disney with our 1 year old. First off-whatever you do, should you stay here, make golf cart reservations!!! It's really so much easier to get to and from your cabin to transportation if you have one--well worth the cost. It makes it easy to get to the bus stops, the boat docks, the grocery store, the Revue and the pools. The transportation is a little tricky if you don't pay attention or have a golf cart. The cabins themselves were surprisingly spacious--more than enough room for 4 adults and a 1 year old. We had a double bed, a set of bunk beds and the living room had a surprisingly comfortable double sized murphy bed. There is a littel sitting area in the kitchen. There is also a picnic table and a grill just outside the door on the deck. We did not use it, but could see the benefits. The grocery store provided lots of snacks for us. The back of the property near the Hoop-de-do Revue and the boat docks is wonderful--lots of wildlife roaming around and things to look at. All in all, a great place to stay--particularly if you're going to be on property for a long time. We stay at a different hotel each year we go (6 years running now) and can say several hotels we wouldn't do again. But, we would definitely go back to the campgrounds.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   February 2003
Reviewer: mamatojon Tacoma, WA     May 01, 2003
We rented one of the cabins, I believe that they are all the same configuration inside - 1 double bed, 2 twins (bunkbed) and 1 double murphy bed in the living room. We paid approx 150$ per night on a Disney Club winter special room only package. It was so wonderful. I can not say enough good things about the cabins.

I was really worried that the beds, being doubles, would be too small. But they were plenty large enough. They seemed larger than doubles to me, maybe there is some difference regionally in bed sizes? We were sharing a cabin with my husbands parents and had our young son with us so we were really concerned about this, we are all a tad on the hefty side. The housekeeping was great, they took care of everything, even doing the dishes! It was so nice to have a fully equipped house to come back to after a day in the parks. The kitchen is a full kitchen, with oven and range, microwave, and full size refrigerator. I had read reviews that said they did not have a coffeepot, but they actually had two! A small 4 cup, and a large 12 cup maker. They were fully equipped with all silverware, cooking utensils, detergent and dish soap, extra linen, and plenty of towels. The bathroom is a really nice size, and the bedroom is very cozy. They are fully air conditioned. The only complaint I would have is there was a surprising lack of drawer space for your clothes, we ended up using the top bunk of our bed to stack most of our clothes on. With six people (the max capacity) it might be a little tough.

Great place!
 
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 1-4, 2003
Reviewer: szymcl Indianapolis     April 07, 2003
I have always wanted to try the cabins and I'm glad we did. We are a family with 2 teenage boys and 1 teenage girl. The kitchen was great and the cabin was really cute. Our favorite part was renting a golf cart and driving around. The golf cart (we got the smaller one) was big enough for the 5 of us to squeeze in to roam around. One night we watched a little of the movie and the campfire (Hercules) and you can see the MK fireworks from the beach as well as the Electrical Water Pageant. The interior bus stops were close to the cabins but we usually drove our golf cart to the main bus stops.
The trip wasn't long enough! We might stay there again, but we like having two bathrooms and 2 TVs so 2 rooms is sometimes a better option for us. We paid $199 per night. Oh yes, the Trail's End Buffeteria was great!
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 15 - 21 2002
Reviewer: ktglads Cheektowaga, New York     January 10, 2003
Wonderful cabin! Set back from the road and away from the noise of pools (about a 5 minute walk away). Lacking the loud noises of neighbors that can be experienced at most hotels. Cabin is the size of a double-wide trailor, with a living room/kitchen, bathroom, and a bedroom with a door that can be closed. We fit 6 adults (20 - 25 year old girls) in with plenty of room, including our piles of souveniers and huge suitcases! The bathroom was fully stocked with enough towels that we did not have to call housekeeping once to get more, like we had to do in other hotels. The Murphy bed in the living room is a great help. We also found out that on rainy days, you can hang towels from the rafters to help them dry. Otherwise, there is a deck and picnic table that can be used. One thing that was greatly appreciated was the dishwasher. Could set when we left in the morning and had clean dishes when we got back at night. Private quarters and did not even wake the neighbors when we can in late/left early in the morning. Kept a car at the cabin, so we did not take the buses on the grounds, although there is a system that requires changing buses at the transportation center of the resort. The only transportation we used was the boat to Magic Kingdom which was quick. Took the monorail/bus home after a e-ride night which did take over an hour, due to the fact that buses were not running to the parks at that time of night. Other than the fact that only one car is allowed at the cabins (there is a parking lot in front that second cars can be left), very few downpoints to the cabin. Tip of advice: Find a grocery store and stop there to stock up on cereal, drinks, snacks. It saves a lot on breakfast and late-night snacks! Also, there is a full refrigerator and freezer that you can freeze waterbottles in and use all day long in the park!
I would highly reccommend this to anyone with 5 or 6 guests! In fact, we are going back to Disney this year and with 6 people, wouldn't think of staying anywhere else!
 
25 out of 27 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   10/20-22/2002
Reviewer: LPnerd S.W. FL.     October 29, 2002
CUTE! spacious, good play area and pools. good innercamp busses.small cottage in woods. nice living rm with full kitchen.table for 5. 2 small chairs and little tables for young 1"s. hall to bathroom with tub and shower ( good water pressure) iron, vacume,coffeemaker hairdryer. 1 double bed and bunk beds . Pull down queen in living rm very comfortable!only objection is to general store with HIGH prices and NO selection. Would be great if you have access to car to leave WDW to do some grocery shopping. Otherwise, just as expensive to cook as to eat in park so why stay here?used vacation points so no idea of cost per nite.Did go to Hoopdydo revue. Dinner show.It was GREAT!!!!! all you can eat, great show. Buss to park was slow but we had car so no big deal. Boat to Magic kingdom was perfect.Lots to do here,petting zoo,horse and hayride, campfire singing.most people rent a golf cart to get around as the whole site is huge! for a large family ,with car this is a perfect place.would sleep5 well and u could do 6 if only 2 adults with ease here.Staff was wonderful.
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   December 1-7, 2000
Reviewer: kew Maine     September 24, 2002
We stayed in one of the cabins. It was great to have all the space. The kids loved the bunk beds in the bedroom. Two tvs at night was also nice. The kids could lay down to go to bed and we could hang out and watch tv in the living room. I will say that if one were planning to do cooking here, make a trip to a grocery store outside the campground as the trading posts charge highway robbery. Also, one of the complaints that I had was the lack of attention paid to cleanup here. Maid service was minimal, they made the bed and I assumed vaccumed but we found mandm's under the bed from who knows when and the carpet under the dining table was never vaccumed (that we could tell).

One thing that I wished I had known, was that even though there is a parking space at your cabin, there is no parking at the restaurant or at the marina, trading posts, pools, etc. The campground(which is huge) gives you two choices to get around, 1 take the resort bus ( a wdw transportation bus that loops through the campground) or 2: Rent a golf cart from the bike barn for $30 per day. We would have skipped renting a car had we known.

The pools are not themed here like the other resorts.

I understand that it is a campground but we booked the cabin for convenience and it seemed like there was a lot more hassles.

Boat transportation to mk was extremely convenient and efficient. CMs were friendly and helpful. The kids loved the animals and had a ball.

Overall, I'd say the cabins were a nice experience but not outstanding. The fact that in value season, we spent $220.00 per night, it would have been nice for them to include the golf cart or at least specify the need for one when booking the resort. I would not stay here again with out one.
We are going back to wdw this december and are staying at the Wilderness Lodge. We are giving up some space for a little more convenience. Also, our kids are a little older.
 
20 out of 23 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 19-30, 2002
Reviewer: disneyanne Jacksonville, FL     July 06, 2002
This is my favorite of all WDW resorts. It is comfortable, spacious, and feels like "coming home" every time we come back from the parks. With all of the recent rain it was especially nice not to be cooped up with 5 people in one hotel room. WE loved it.
 
17 out of 31 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page