Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Grand Floridian Resort and Spa Grand Floridian Resort and Spa
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
4401 Grand Floridian Way, Lake Buena Vista
On the Resort Monorail Line
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 11 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 18-25, 3011
Reviewer: tinkaparis Connecticut     September 02, 2011
Unbelievably we ended up at the Grand Floridian because of a room issue at a different resort. We checked in around midnight and were greeted with warm concern and prompt service. The hotel is absolutely gorgeous. We were in building right next to main building facing the marina called Sago Cay. This ended up being a great location because we were closest to morning coffee at Gasparilla Grill and there was a shortcut to the bus stop so you didn't have to go through the main building. The Sago Cay building had a wonderful clean smell and every morning the man cleaning the tile would say Good Morning to me, as did every other person you see. The CM's are willing to bend over backwards for you and we fell in love with the turn down service, which was very convenient. The beds were extremely comfortable as were the pillows and towels. The double sinks seperated from the bedroom area was a plus so that any night time trips to the bathroom wouldn't wake you up. We chose the top floor of the building and our room had a beautiful vaulted ceiling. Finding a free laundry machine in your building can be difficult and the machines don't make change so come prepared. A CM actually took our money and made change for us. The quiet pool and the beach pool were both great. At the beach pool the DJ and lifeguards keep it lively and the slide is great. The quiet pool is nice and there is a big bar overlooking the pool. The coffee at Gasparilla Grill is real brewed coffee and it is very tasty. Overall, it was a grand experience and the convenience of being 1 stop away from the Magic Kingdom was great.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   9/18/09-9/26/09
Reviewer: wonderfulshana Berryville, VA     April 01, 2010
We loved our stay at the Grand FL! I was 6 months pregnant for my annual girls only trip with Mom this year so we decided to splurge & get a park view since we would be in the room more often. WOW it was so worth it, we watched Wishes & HalloWishes twice each and had room service bring sparkling cider~what fun! The staff was very friendly, we received a family Disney frame as a surprise in our room after check-in after telling Jennifer at the front desk that I was having my 1st baby & Mom's 1st grandchild. We were also given a personal guided tour of the new tile work in the lobby after asking a quick question of one worker. If you have the means I would recomend treating yourself at least once and try for a park view, it's just simply great!
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 1 - May 9 2009
Reviewer: TheRASGuy (ronmel@gmail.com) New Jersey USA     May 11, 2009
I booked the GF due to the outrageously good deal of Buy 4 get 3 free and the GF was in the budget. We arrived on the Magic Express bus line and were greeted by an impeccably clean and superb lobby and gathering area. The desk staff was very helpful and we were put into our room by 1PM. We had a Garden View room in the Sago Key building - which actually was a Marina view and was on the 5th floor so we had the high vaulted ceiling but the enclosed balcony.

Plusses : best pillows I have ever used - honest - I want to know where I can buy them - I have over a million miles in frequent flyer miles and have spent a ton of time in hotels and NOTHING beats the beds and pillows @ the GF. The room was very clean - although my kids socks were dirty from the room carpeting - the room itself was spotless and kept that way. The staff was attentive and very friendly - it will be hard to stay anywhere else in Disney for us - we liked it that much. The 'kid' pool with the water slide and the waterfall was FANTASTIC for the kids (and me) we had a total blast and with a zero depth entry pool even the littlest of kids can confidently venture into the water. Poolside activities hosted by the GF staff daily were a godsend as was the sandcastle building on the beach. You can see a majority of the fireworks from the dock and the lagoon electric parade viewing is outstanding from there also (best kept secret in Disney). Monorail access to everything was great and we saved by not renting a car. We ate at 1900 park fare for a character bfast and also at the GF cafe and both were very good. 1900's buffet for bfast was outstanding and their Eggs Benedict in Lobster Sauce should not be missed.

Minuses - while we could not hear any neighbors on an side of us and they all had little ones - there was a honeymoon couple a few doors down & you certainly know that they were consumating their marriage multiple times across a few nights - luckily the kids were sleeping like logs but it was quite surreal to hear the bed banging into the wall at 1,3:30 and 6 am - ah to be young again....

The monorails were quirky at best - we waited at time for 15-20 minutes for a monorail to whick us the 1 stop to the magic kingdom but it was better than walking another mile in 90 degree heat.

Hints : BUY the refillable coffee/soft drink cups @ Gasparillas - while the initial price seems outrageous ($14) you can get all you can drink coffee/tea/soda/water and I easily got triple my $ worth. This may be one of the ONLY deals in Disney left.
 
25 out of 25 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   February 2007
Reviewer: charlestonsc Atlanta     October 23, 2007
Unlike the other reviews, unfortunately, we had an extremely disappointing experience at the Grand Floridian. The hotel just seemed very run down. We paid almost $900 a night for a "suite" which was nothing more than a very small hotel room that looked extremely worn out . Also, the "suite" was right above the pool restaurant with the laundry cart going by every 20 minutes. Not pleasant. When we arrived, we needed to put our daughter down for a nap and thought we would sit out on the balcony - unfortunately, the very small balcony was 15 feet over the outside of the restaurant and it just wasn't a pleasant situation, especially with all of the birds "presents". Also, when we pulled back the covers to put our daughter down for the nap there was mold all over the pillow. When you pay this much money PER NIGHT for a hotel room - you expect the best - We were so excited to arrive after such a long drive and thought this hotel would live up to other reviews and expectations- VERY disappointing. Now, I will say that after the mold issue, the hotel did upgrade us to a 2 room suite which they said ran $1800 per night, but only because they refused to refund our money (we were so disappointed we just wanted to go home at that point). The suite was awesome but how many of us can afford $1800 per night? Just don't expect alot for your money in our opinion. Maybe they will do a renovation soon - the hotel needs it.
 
19 out of 36 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   JUNE 2005 AND APRIL 2006
Reviewer: RJM New Jersey     May 04, 2007
Looking forward to our May 2007 visit. WOW, That is the first impression. Requested a garden view and was upgraded to sugar loaf concierge both times. The food and drink was expanded our second visit. Its a great hotel to slow down and relax by the pool. Room service was great. The large pool close to the room was good for nightly swims. During the day the small pool was fun for the kids. The beach had clean white sand and was nice to enjoy a relaxing evening build sand castles, waiting for the electric light parade.

The only down side, is now its difficult to go back to the Yatch and Beach clubs, because the monorail and boats to Magic Kingdom are easier than sitting on a bus for 20 minutes.
 
9 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Sept. 17- Sept 24
Reviewer: Tara mom of three Pennsylvania     October 07, 2006
The GF is absolutely the place to stay at WDW. Spring for a concierge room and feel extra special! The staff is very friendly and willing to do whatever needs to be done to make your trip magical! Travel on the platinum plan and have the itinerary planning office plan your trip--you won't be sorry...ask for Heather, she is the BEST!!!!. All of the resturants are terrific here! Try Victoria and Alberts for a real romantic splurge and be sure to have Tea at the Garden View. Our children love the pools and we love the Cabanas...you can even have your spa massage poolside in the cabana. Just sitting in the lobby and listening to the band or piano while soaking up the atmosphere is a pleasure. It's worth the price!
 
11 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   February 25 - March 4, 2006
Reviewer: gaylesisk Covington, Louisiana     March 10, 2006
I have stayed at the Grand Floridian for the past 8 years and it keeps getting better and better. We always request a lagoon view facing the castle and we have never been disappointed. This year we were offered a free upgrade to the concierge level. We declined because we wanted our view of the castle. Unfortunately during this stay, I became ill and was confined to my room for 2 days. While I was ill, a beautiful package filled with magazines, cards, goodies, etc. arrived at the room for me with a note from the Marketing Staff at the Grand Floridian saying how sorry they were that I was not feeling well. What great customer service! If you have a chance to eat at the Grand Floridian Cafe, ask for Seth. You will be totally entertained through your entire meal. Seth used to be Price Charming in Disneyland Tokyo. As he told us, how many people can say they were served breakfast by a Prince. Customer service is outstanding at this resort. Everyone aims to please.
 
28 out of 32 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   March '04 May '04
Reviewer: Kevin E. Knox New York City     January 16, 2005
This hotel is the tops! It's not cheap, but then again quality and uniqueness never seem to be.
It's clean, tastefu, prettyl and charming. It's like staying in the Magic Kingdom, if that's possible. If you stay in the Boca Chica wing, and have access to a Lagoon view, you can see the castle at night, the color changes are magical and if you listen close enough you can hear the musical stage plays from Cinderella's castle. I think they leave that on for the late night workers. In the morning you see the sun come up over the Seven Seas lagoon. I took some great shots on my walk alone w/my complimentary coffee (had about ten or twenty) while the wife and baby slept. The pool is fun, both of them.
The restaurants all spectacular, Citrico's, 1900 Park Fair and the other one close to the pool for breakfast, not Gasparilla's but the one w/the delicious citrus French Toast, yum! Sorry the name slips me, that was a few months back.
The service is friendly and very helpful in all aspects, from valet, check-in to housekeeping. I have nothing bad to say, even the price seemed fair.
I've been fortunate enough to have stayed at posher hotels, w/better ammenities and incredible views but nothing can compare to looking out at night and seeing Cinderella's castle and knowing you are less than five minutes to the most magical place on earth. Who needs fancy 500 thread count Frette linens on there beds when you have Mickey Mouse saying good night to you from the wall paper and lamp stand. Save some bucks, gather up family and friends and whatever you do, allocate a day by the pool and just hanging around the grounds.
 
44 out of 46 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12-20-04 - 12-26-04
Reviewer: oregonjuli Lafayette, louisiana     December 30, 2004
The Grand Floridian was beautiful with all the Christmas decorations. We received a warm welcome from the bellman who helped unload the heavy suitcases from the carrier on the top of our car. Check-in was very easy. Our room was a lagoon view in Boca Chica (8313 & 8315). We had a view of the water parade each night and could see the Epcot fireworks as well as the Magic Kingdom fireworks, although those were through a tree. The rooms were amazing with the tall beds and decor. We had requested a crib and a refridgerator. THe crib arrived within minutes. We did have a fridge in our room, but it was so fully stocked with mini bar stuff that we couldn't put anything in it. What's the point?! I had read that there weren't coffee makers in the GF rooms, but was surprised to find on in each room. Our maid service was adequate, but not great. THey left trash on the floor everyday. The only real complaint I had, and this is not about the hotel but the other guests, On Christmas day we went to the parks and it was pouring rain. We all purchased rain ponchos and I had a stroller cover. When we got back to the rooms we left all these laying RIGHT outside our door to dry for a minute. When we went out the door 10 minutes later, they were all gone except for the 1 poncho that was a child size. Come on people, you can afford to stay at the GF but can't buy your own poncho?! I hadn't thought it would be a problem to leave them out there since other people on our floor had left carseats and strollers in the hall all week. All in all it was a wonderful week and the hotel was amazing right down to the duck swimming in the pool with the steam rising off of it. Be sure to buy the mugs from the mini bar and refill them in the gasparilla grill since there are no coke machines available and no room to stock your own in the fridge.
 
7 out of 16 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 7, 2001-April 11, 2001
Reviewer: VinnyDisney St. Paul, Minnesota     August 18, 2002
I was in heaven while staying at the Grand Floridian. The name says it all, grand. I felt like royalty at the resort. From the moment we arrived to the moment we left. Everything was done to the T. The doorman was adorable. The service was fast and friendly. The grounds were impeciable. We had a lagoon view, that had an amazing view of Cinderella Castle. It was gorgeous! At night we could see the castle lit in the various colors as the water parade performed on the lagoon. The rooms were adorable, with all the Victorian touches mixed with a little touch of Disney, including the wallpaper and Mickey lamp. There was nightly turn down serice that left a mint and a Disney "message" card on your pillow. The pool was relaxing. (The new pool was under construction during our visit, but the plans for it looked perfectly themed and for children) The perfect finishing touch for the grounds was a family of ducks, with the mama leading around her ducklings. The interior of the main building was breathtaking! The lobby was out of a story book. Domed stained-glass windows, large birdcages, which held birds which matched the carpeting. A grand piano, with hidden Mickeys and a band on the second floor that played live in the evenings. The food was great. We ate in the GF Cafe. Terrific food and atmosphere, very relaxed. And also at 1900 Park Fare for the character breakfast, where many characters made the rounds and made everyone smile. Access to all the parks was quite simple, especially with the monorail right there. We had some problems with the buses and having to wait more than the scheduled time. We said something at the front desk when we got back to the resort. No biggie. And when we got back to our room five minutes later we received a call apologizing for the inconvience and a small explaination for the problem. Such service! Staying at the GF was a dream come true and it was worth every penny! It was about $545 a night but totally worth it. Everything, from the room to the grand lobby, from the pool to the white sand beaches, from the view to the grounds, absolutely everything was perfect...JUST PERFECT!!!
 
71 out of 76 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page