Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Regal Sun Resort (formerly Grosvenor Walt Disney Resort)
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1850 Hotel Plaza Blvd, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 53.2 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 5 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 5 )
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   02/23/07
Reviewer: imic Philadelphia     March 06, 2007
I booked thru Orbitz and though it advertised lower rates this hotel has outrageous surcharges which make it more expensive that the Disney Resorts. Service is extremely poor.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Sept. 7 - 12, 2005
Reviewer: epmc3 Long Island, NY     September 17, 2005
We thought this hotel was just fine and would stay there again. The rooms were large and price can't be beat. It included buffet breakfast with Pluto every day and Sunday included buffet brunch. For the same price as a value resort I was able to get my hopper passes and room for 5. The value resorts only hold 4. The price also included one dinner. The only thing that could have been better was the transportation, but even that was not bad. We went at a great time of year, no crowds. I was nervous about this hotel after reading some of these reviews, but it was really very, very nice. Affordable. We were all happily pleased.
 
6 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 1st,2004
Reviewer: kat408 Atlanta,Georgia     June 17, 2004
This hotel was good. They had good service. The check-in process was good. Convient to Downtown Disney. Bus Transportation took A LONG TIME!! All of the resorts in Downtown Disney had 1 bus that they all shared the time I was there. The bus was OVER CROWDED! My 10 year old daughter was put standing next to the drivers window,with NOTHING to hold on to. I had to tell them that this was not acceptable, and I made them move us back,because it WAS NOT SAFE!
 
5 out of 18 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   5/28/04-5/31/04
Reviewer: Tuke Pensacola, FL     June 02, 2004
Room type: Standard (West Wing)
Room rate: $89/night
I couldn't find any recent reviews on this hotel, so I based my stay on the older reviews. What a mistake!
1) The rooms: The room itself was clean, but in dire need of a refurb. From what I could see, the other rooms in the wings needed some work as well. The breezeways, and elevator could have used a serious steam cleaning, they were nasty. The elevators (microscopic) were so slow we never actually got to ride in them other than once (at midnight). We ended up having to take the stairs every time. The lobby and entrance area were very clean. A facade of sorts.
2) The shuttle - Terrible, terrible, terrible. The shuttles take a loop through the Downtown Disney area hotels and the Grosvenor is last on the loop. This means by the time the bus gets there in the mornings, it's already full, and in the afternoon it takes forever to get back to your room. For example: On one trip it took over 45 minutes to get from AK to the hotel. To top off the long ride, the A/C in the bus didn't work, so the bus was a rolling sauna! Our driver got off the bus a few times to cool off and chat the the folks at each hotel. Nice. Our next trip to a park we took Disney busses to DTD, and walked to the hotel, saved about 15 min, and had A/C. The bus pick-up at the parks is in the middle of uncovered blacktop. so the heat is unbearable. You have to wait in the shade and RUN FOR IT, when the bus finally shows. I say this because the buses do NOT run 15-20 min. apart as advertised. Also unadvertised:
3) Room rate: We chose this hotel in part due to the room rate, which we discovered was highly deceptive. AFTER, arriving we discovered that they had included an unadvertised "RESORT FEE" of $7 a night for a few "conveniences" they thought we might like. Yes, it was only $7, but it's the principal of the thing (did we even have a choice?). That and multiplied over length of stay it adds up!
Listen folks, even if you have to spend a couple extra dollars (with a discount code you'll actually save money) stay at ANY of the value resorts over this place. I sorely missed even the All-Star Music by the time we left.
 
24 out of 27 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   7/31/02-8/9/02
Reviewer: peterpan47 New Mexico     August 17, 2002
This was our first trip to WDW and we wanted to be as close to Disney property as we could get at a price we could afford. We were able to reserve a room with 2 double beds through an Entertainment discount for $55 per night. The Grosvenor is located on the corner of Hotel Plaza Blvd and is about a 2 minute walk from the crosswalk leading directly into Downtown Disney on the other side of the street. If you like super fancy, huge, expensive hotels, this one probably won't suit your needs, but we were very happy with the comfort level in this hotel. The lobby is very nice with a Disney Gift shop and a little deli-like food place that has all kinds of things to eat and drink. The only thing I purchased there was a bagel and cream cheese, and it cost $1.50 and the clerk told me to take all the butter and cream cheese I wanted. The rest of the food prices were not exhorbitant either. There is also a nice restaurant with a mystery dinner theater on Saturday nights, but we did not eat there.

The rooms are all equipped with a refrigerator, and an air conditioner that brings you back to life after walking around in a sweat bath all day long at the parks. Our room was a comfortable size with clean comfortable beds, poofy pillows and a plush bedspread. It had a television with a good picture, plenty of closet and drawer space and a nice bathroom. The bathroom had a retractable clothesline that stretched from one end of the tub to the other, for swimming suits, towels, etc. The rooms also have a vcp's in them, but you are advised not to use your own video tapes because the players have a weird speed or something and tend to eat non-hotel tapes. They rent videos in the hotel lobby to be used in the vcp's. The rooms were well cleaned every day. The hotel staff was polite and helpful in all instances.

The pools were very clean and nice-two full sized pools, a whirlpool and a kiddie pool. There was also a poolside bar. Busses are scheduled to run every half hour to all the parks. There was a different bus for each park except MGM and EPCOT shared a bus. The busses got off schedule a couple of times during the middle of the day, but in general, I found them to be more on schedule and regular than when we tried to use the Disney transportation to get from one place to another. At park closing times, we never had to wait for a bus more than 15 minutes to get back to our hotel.

The hotel consists of 2 wings with 5 floors each on them and a tower section in the middle. Our reservations were for a room in one of the wings, overlooking the parking lot, but when we arrived, I asked if we could get a free upgrade and the desk clerk didn't blink an eye and gave us an upgrade to a pool view (still in the wing). However, the parking lot view would have been no less pleasant than the pool view was. The parking lot is covered in trees and shrubs and Downtown Disney is visible (with its fireworks) from the rooms with a parking lot view on the side of the hotel we were on. If I try really hard to find something not perfect about this hotel, it would be that the elevator in our section was a tad bit slow. But we were on the 4th floor with the lobby on the 3rd floor and we didn't even try to take the elevators much. We just walked down one floor and were in the lobby where we either walked to the front of the hotel to catch a bus to the parks, or walked to the crosswalk and went across the street to Downtown Disney and took the Disney transportation system to the parks. The hotel busses were much more comfortable than the Disney busses. Disney busses had hard plastic seats and the hotel busses were like greyhound busses with plush, comfortable seats.

Local telephone calls were 85 cents, but you need to be careful because the 85 cents covers only the first 20 minutes, and after that you have to pay a per minute charge.

Since there is no option for a 4.5 planet rating, I gave this hotel 5 planets. It's better than 4 but since it's not completely perfect, I think 4.5 is probably more accurate. But I would certainly have no problem at all staying in this hotel again.
 
181 out of 192 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page