Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
 Main Directory: 
 
 
E-mail a Friend About Behind The Seeds at Epcot!
 
Want to tell someone about Behind The Seeds at Epcot? Just enter the information requested below and click on E-mail a Friend. *Neither your e-mail address nor theirs will be recorded, so you don't have to worry about these addresses being used for anything other than sending this message.

A template of the message sent is displayed below the mailing form.

 
Name of recipient: 
*E-mail of recipient: 
Your name: 
*Your e-mail address: 
Add a personal note? 
Add sample reviews? yes   no
Message Template
Hi RECIPIENT_NAME,

SENDER_NAME visited www.mouseplanet.com today, and thought the following item might be of interest to you.

Reviewer Comments For Click for more reviews!
Behind The Seeds at Epcot
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 2 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 2 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 24, 2009
Reviewer: sbmmickey Athens, GA     February 01, 2009
I decided on the spur of the moment to take the Behind the Seeds tour. I walked up to the counter at about 9:50 am and there was a spot left for the 10:30 tour. The tour costs about $16 for an hour, but with an AP or Disney Visa it's about $13.50.
My tour guide was named Jennifer and she was great. First we went into a bug lab and learned about how Disney uses bugs for natural fertilization, with leafmining flies and parasitic wasps. We also saw the testing area where they let the leafminers and wasps work to see how best to control when they release the wasps (which are actually smaller than gnats so they don't sting).
Next we saw the bio lab. We couldn't go in but Jennifer told us some facts about what they do in there.
After that, we went to the greenhouse, and it was similar to what can be seen on the boat ride (just on the other side of the greenhouse). We got to release ladybugs onto plants, taste cucumbers they grow in the greenhouses, ask questions, and take our time (and plenty of pictures) so it was much more in-depth than riding a moving tour. After the greenhouses we went into the fish area, and saw the alligators up close and were able to feed the tilapia.
This tour was really great. It was nice to see how much effort Disney takes in making their produce as natural as possible. Also, it was much shorter and less expensive than most tours so it's perfect for even a short trip.
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 19, 2008
Reviewer: mom22gls Jenkintown, PA     April 01, 2008
Our participating family members ranged in age from 6 to 83. My father cited this tour as his favorite part of our recent vacation, his first to Walt Disney World. He was especially interested in the section describing fish farming, which, it turned out, was our guide's area of expertise and career interest. My 9 year old daughter also asked some good questions, and was given information which she will probably use for a school project in the future. Be aware that some sections of the tour go through some rather warm and humid sections of the gardens, therefore individuals who are sensitive to heat, should be warned that it could be uncomfortable. You are also in full view of the people going through the Living with the Land ride, and they will be looking at you, wondering how your got into the gardens. I thought it was neat, to be part of the tour. This is one of the few tours that welcome young children, who get to release ladybugs at the end. It is also relatively short, and inexpensive. It was a nice way for us to excape the spring break crowds, and was well worth it.