Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Royal Plaza in The Walt Disney World Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1905 Hotel Plaza Blvd, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 54.4 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 5 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 5 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   10/27/2007-11/3/2007
Reviewer: rosie Portland Oregon     November 14, 2007
I just returned from my stay at the Royal Plaza and here are my impressions:
Check in was fast and easy. My reservation was in order (after initially receiving an incorrect confirmation) and there was a microwave and refrigerator in the room as requested. We stayed in a tower room, initially I thought the room looked small, but after spending several days in it I appreciated it's roominess. My only complaint about the room was, indeed, the lighting in the bathroom (not enough) as others had said. Otherwise it was very nice...hot and forceful water in the shower and plenty of towels. Housekeeping was great..left me some tea for the coffee pot (there was none on arrival) and kept the air off as per my notes.
One night I heard a baby crying, but I really wasn't bothered by outside noise.
The buses were always on time and we had plenty of seats to choose from. Still, you needed to be patient with the bus service as the morning bus went to AK and MK, and the afternoon bus to MGM and Epcot...if you were going to another park you needed to transfer buses...no big deal, but it did take up a bit of time.
DD and I ordered room service several times and it always came right away, the prices were as expected (spendy). My biggest complaint was the restaurant...I thought the prices would be cheaper than room service (they weren't), but worse than that the atmosphere was just awful...there was none. Despite being empty, the service was dull. It felt as if you were eating at a truck stop...an abandoned one!
The attached cafe had a small selection of yogurt, fruit, and sandwiches and that was very handy.
The gift shop had the usual assortment of sundries, and it's staff was very nice.
I did not use the pool and I didn't get a chance to see inside the poolside rooms...but they looked very nice from what I could tell. The poolside cafe was open the two times I visited but never seemed very busy.
Charges to use the internet in the business center was $13!
Over all, it was a nice enough hotel and my DD and I enjoyed our stay there...but, for the price, and given the reosrt fees and charges for the refridgerator I think next time I will try a Disney moderate resort. It wasn't that it was a bad hotel by any stretch of the imagination...it's just that it lacked anything outstanding...anything that would make you want to go back.

 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   April 23-26, April 30-May 3, and October 21-29, 2003
Reviewer: DisneylandGuy (disneylandguy@yahoo.com) Atascadero, California     July 02, 2004
I stayed at the Hotel Royal Plaza in April, 2003 after finding a $93.00 (+$8.00/night "Resort Fee") rate on a Deluxe Tower room with a Jacuzzi tub through MouseSavers.com. The room was absolutely perfect! It was clean, smelled nice, and was decorated beautifully.

The bathroom is huge, you get Bath & Body works soaps, lotions, shampoos and rubber duckies. The in-room safe was a nice amenity, we didn't have a car to lock stuff up in, so it was nice to be able to lock up our valuables in the room.

We had an excellent view (14th floor) of Downtown Disney and their nightly fireworks. We watched some spectacular lightning storms from our balcony and we could see "Illuminations" at EPCOT from our room too!
The whole hotel is all light and tropical-feeling. It feels like you're in Miami Beach.

In October, my Brother and I brought our families to Orlando, and again I got a ridiculously low rate of $59.00 (+$8.00/night "Resort Fee") through MouseSavers.com. That, combined with a coupon the Hotel Royal Plaza had sent me after staying there in April, got me a rate of $49.00 a night. (+$8.00/night "Resort Fee") for a "standard room".

When we checked in, they gave us a poolside room with a balcony overlooking the HUGE L-shaped swimming pool. This room was very nice, but the Deluxe Tower room was nicer.

They have a poolside bar that serves the best strawberry daiquiris I've ever tasted. Our room was just steps away from the Jacuzzi, where we rested our weary bones every night, and every night, we met lots of nice people from all over the country.

The Giraffe Cafe has an all-you can eat breakfast buffet with lots of yummy choices and (my favorite) you can make your own fresh Mickey Mouse malted waffles.

The Front Desk and Bell Staff were all friendly and helpful. They made us feel like they were genuinely glad we chose to stay at their hotel.

I highly recommend the Hotel Royal Plaza. I also highly recommend upgrading to a Deluxe Whirlpool Tower room facing the front of the hotel. What a view!

The first time I stayed there, I was a little worried because the rate was so reasonable, how nice was this place going to be? Well, I was pleasantly surprised! The Hotel Royal Plaza is a REALLY nice place.
 
34 out of 34 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   August 24 - 28, 2003
Reviewer: tikibirds (tikibird@comcast.net) Pittsburgh, PA     October 16, 2003
I highly recommend this property! My son and I stayed here when I dropped him off for the WDW College Program. I booked it when it became apparent that AP rates might not happen for my stay, and my experience has me rethinking my "must stay on property" stance!

I received an excellent rate of $69.00/night for a deluxe tower room from Travelzoo, which included wavier of the $7.00/night resort fee, and the 4th night free!

I have a history with the resort, as I stayed there in '78 and '80 when with my high school band, so I have some fond memories! My son and I immediately noticed a fresh, clean smell when we walked into the lobby, which is beautiful. When we walked into our room, he actually said "Wow!" The bathroom is incredible and huge, and includes a Roman Tub (part of the deluxe rooms only) - I could have stayed in there for a week! It also include Bath and Body Works soap and lotion.

The room was nicely decorated, and included a ceiling fan, and a separate seating area. A coffee maker with coffee and tea, as well as a daily paper is provided. There was also a walk-out balcony which looked over the patio area next to the pool. The only thing we didn't like about the room was that there was a snack basket out on the dresser (at very steep prices), which would prove quite tempting to a small child.

We did not use the transportation, or the pool, but did use the laundry facilities, which like most hotels, is a bit small for the number of people staying there. We purchased a few items from the snack bar, but did not use the Girafe Cafe.

We really appreciated being able to walk to Downtown Disney. It was a pleasant commute!

The service was wonderful! I had my son's suit dry cleaned - ready at the end of the day. I had a problem getting my room key to work - an employee helped me right out with it. We spilled laundry detergent on the bedspread - a new one arrived shortly after my call to housekeeping.

The location proved ideal, as it was also right across the highway from Vista Way, where my son is staying for the WDW College Program. I actually tried to cancel the last two nights of my stay at the Swan to continue my stay here, but was already past the cancellation deadline to do so at the Swan.

In short - this place is a gem. I have already rebooked it and will be staying here at the end of October 2003.
 
28 out of 28 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   06/08/00
Reviewer: karren surrey,england     April 09, 2003
Although this seems a bit late writing a review, I can't praise this hotel enough. My children were the ages of 2, 4 and 6. The staff were very helpful we had emptied some of the contents of the mini-bar to keep milk in it, we received a bill for the usage, after explaining what we did and why they rectified the bill promptly. The swimming pool was empty first thing in the morning but full of life in the evening with live entertainment and the pool bar. Rooms were spacious enough for 5 with a large bathroom, towels fresh everyday. The on site restaurant is good with lovely meals and kids ate free with paying adults. Service here is brilliant especially with children. Arriving we thought we were out of league it being so elegant and three tearaways with us but they made us feel very welcome. Goodings supermarket and a variety of restaurants 10 minutes walk away as is Downtown Disney. Free transportation to the Disney theme parks very reliable and again drivers very polite and extremely friendly always spoke to us and made smalltalk with the kids. This hotel I would recommend to anyone.
 
30 out of 30 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   July 7- 10
Reviewer: Dunnsman Missouri     August 16, 2002
We were very pleased from the minute we walked in the lobby. We had stayed here several years ago. The hotel has undergone a recent renovation. The place is just beautiful. The pool is great. The hot tub was a very nice place to relax and meet other hotel guests. Generally the kids tended to go to the pool and the adults in the hot tub. While the resteraunt was not much to write home about, the location allowed you to eat at downtown Disney or at our favorate, Jungle Jim's just accross the street from Disney property. We had a standard room and it was great. Right by the pool entrance. These rooms are nice since they either overlook the pool or have a patio door access to the parking lot. A great way to facilitate unpacking your car. The front desk staff was very good and went out of there way to please. The family we were traveling with had there reservation lost, but the front desk compensated them with an upgraded room. We used the internet site discount rate. The only bad experience we had was with bus transportation the day we went to the magic kingdom. There was a huge line for pickup. The driver needed to step out of the bus and help police the line. People mobbed the bus door and those waiting the longest were unable to get on the bus. This is a shared service with the other downtown disney hotels so it needs to be taken up with the service, not the hotel. Other than that, it was great. Definately a value. Especially good if you intend to split your time between Disney and non-disney attractions
 
82 out of 83 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page