Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Cosmic Ray's Starlight Cafe
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Counter service restaurant in Tomorrowland with continuous corny-yet-fun entertainment from Sonny Eclipse. Features burgers, rotisserie chicken, soups, sandwiches and salads.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 16 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 11, 2006
Reviewer: mickeysgirl17 Jacksonville, FL     October 24, 2007
During our visit to the magic kingdom, we decided to eat here for lunch. I was pleasantly surprised at how much food you get. The portions were huge and could easily be shared amongst 2 adults.
I did not like the fact that my family had to split up since lines are divided. My husband wanted a burger and I wanted the half chicken and rib combo meal so we had to wait on different lines.
We found a table in this busy place and were entertained by the talking, singing alien while we ate.
Food was pretty good. I did not care for the ribs.
For dessert, we both got chocolate cake and It was okay but I was too full to eat most of it.
We will return.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   5/6/07
Reviewer: tjrj Durango CO     May 17, 2007
Had lunch here. Arrived early(prior to 11:30) because I knew that it could get crowded. To simplify things, we ordered from one bay rather than each of us going to a different bay. 3 adults-Mom & two teen boys. Ordered two of the chicken and rib combos. Plenty to share. Each combo is 3-4 ribs, 1/2 of a roasted chicken, mashed red potatoes and glazed baby carrots. Because we were on the DDP, we also got desserts. Chose 1 chocolate cake and one sugar free brownie. Chicken was so tender it was falling off the bone. And I have no idea what kind of glaze is on the baby carrots but I ate most of both portions-delicious! The robot-Sonny-is kind of cute; and it was air conditioned which was appreciated. Boys said ribs were good(and looked it). We were all too full to eat the desserts so we took them back to the room to have later. When we left, it started getting really crowded-go early!
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   September 30, 2006
Reviewer: lisaboo Sacramento, CA     October 18, 2006
The food here was good but the set-up to get food was extremely frustrating and VERY slow. As we did with most counter-service meals, my fiance stood in line while I saved a table. Because what we wanted was in two different lines my fiance had to stand in line twice and by the time he got back with his food I had finished mine. The place was so busy and slow that they ended up giving out free desserts as compensation. I had the chicken and ribs platter and my fiance had the bbq pork sandwich. The desserts, a no-sugar added brownie and a chocolate cake were nothing special. Overall, if the place was empty I might go back, but it was always crowded and the pods cause even longer waits. I will skip Cosmic Rays next time.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/14/06
Reviewer: hfreisem1976 Orlando     October 15, 2006
If you are at the Magic Kingdom and are in the mood for a good hamburger or grilled chix sandwich for lunch or dinner, Cosmic Ray's is suprisingly good. For the price you pay, you get a very large selection of condiments (including sauteed onion & mushroom (no extra charge)). Beware of food that has been sitting under a heat lamp for an extended period of time though. This has become one of my favorite quick- service restaraunts in Tomorrowland. The service is average, you will pay about $6.99 for a chix sandwich with pasta salad, and the atmosphere is mildly entertaining
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Oct 05
Reviewer: TinaMouse Farmington, MN     September 10, 2006
What an unexpected surprise! We wandered in here and were blown away by the size of the menu. They have pods, with a different menu for each pod. The problem is, you will have pay for each pod's items separately.

The ribs are really good. The size was huge and fed 2 adults easily. The burgers were juicy and the bacon was crispy. Chicken strips adult meal fed 2 kids--1 pre-teen and one preschooler.

We ate here twice. On an Extra Magic Hour night, CR's was open, but with a very limited menu. We had the veggie soup that night and it was quite tasty. It was not an item I would usually order at WDW, and specifically not at MK.

Prices were commensurate with other MK eateries. Entrees were $7-12 (ribs) and drinks were around $2.

This is one of the only WDW restaurants that I know of that has Kosher meals.

There was a lot of seats, including those around an animatronic alien that has a corny Vegas-type show. The kids will like it. The adults might like the puns--for a few minutes, at least.

Good middle-of-the-road food. Should be able to feed picky eaters and children easily here.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 29, 2006
Reviewer: rbaadmin Elwood, IL     June 25, 2006
Cosmic Ray's is very conviently located in Tomorrowland, and it has decent quality food. The selection is somewhat limited, especially for the kids. The biggest problem is the ability to find a seat in spite of its size. The place is big but the crowd is bigger. You have to case the joint like a CIA agent waiting for the slightest movement of someone leaving their seats. As soon as someone gets up from their seat it is like a group of starving seagals after a dropped french fry, and at that point it becomes survival of the quickest. We actually eat here everytime we visit the Magic Kingdom, but just plan to go just before or after "meal times."
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Friday, February 17, 2006
Reviewer: crazy4daisy Connecticut     February 21, 2006
My husband and I stopped at Cosmic Ray's for lunch at Magic Kingdom. There were quite a lot of people here, so we were lucky to find a table inside. There are 3 different food counters (sandwiches/soup, chicken or burgers). My husband ordered the Bacon Double Cheeseburger meal with carrots and I had the regular cheeseburger meal with fries. There was also a fixin' bar where you can add your own condiments on your burgers. The food was fast and it satisfied my hunger. The fries could have been cooked a little longer, though. The bill (with no beverages) came out to be around $15.00.
 
1 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/20 and a few more times
Reviewer: bassett1976 Pasadena, California     December 29, 2004
We really enjoyed eating at Cosmic Rays. We liked it so much, we kept coming back during our stay!

The menu is very reasonably priced and has many options, which is great for picky eaters such as myself. There are three different sections to the place (which my husband didn't like since you could conceivably have to stand in three different lines to feed everyone in your family). There is a chicken counter, a burger counter and a soup/sandwich counter. There is also a yummy dessert menu available at each of the counters.

It was crowded almost every time we were there, but still, we did not have to wait more than 10 minutes to order or get our food. There was a topping bar in the middle of the place, which was cool. I was surprised to see grilled mushrooms and onions as toppings instead of just the usual ketchup, mustard and mayo.

My husband had the chicken Caesar salad and the double cheeseburger and the tripple chocolate cake (not all in one meal, but over the course of our stay). He enjoyed all, but the chicken Caesar salad was his favorite.

I had the chicken sandwich, the hamburger and the carrot cake, over the course of our stay. I enjoyed all the food, especially the carrot cake.

On average, for the two of us, we spent under $20 per meal. Dessert for the two of us was around $6.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 2004
Reviewer: sphallx2 Tupelo, MS     November 27, 2004
This location has many choices. Don't forget to check out each side because they offer different choices. I had the rotiserre chicken with veggie and mashed potatoes. Was excellent!! Husband had chicken strips and liked them too. Plenty of inside seating (we were during off-peak times) and outside too. Not too loud - you can actually relax somewhat in here.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   7/12/03
Reviewer: britty1260 (incubrit12@yahoo.com) Saratoga, New York     July 09, 2004
Cosmic Ray's is a great place to go for a quick bite to eat. the chicken is awesome, although I have never tried anything else there. Cosmic Ray entertains you while you eat, although he does tend to get annoying if you're there for too long. if you choose not to watch Cosmic Ray, there is seating elsewhere in the restaurant as well as outside. definitely reccommended!! we're going back in a few days and we defnitely plan on stopping there!
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page