Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Crystal Palace
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Buffet-style character meals featuring Winnie-the-Pooh and friends. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Located between Main Street and Adventureland in the Magic Kingdom.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 30 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 4, 2008 week
Reviewer: DVCmom Alabama     March 18, 2009
Time of day:
We had early lunch reservations. We were seated after a 30 minute or so wait.
Service:
Quick and prompt service during our entire meal. Our server had placed tiny Mickeys in a heart shape on our table for our anniversary. They explained the order of the characters before we made our plates.
Price:
We had the deluxe plan so that was not an issue.
Food:
The food here was GREAT. I was especially pleased that it had more than enough choices to satisfy us both. We have very different tastes in food. The vegetarian choices here were outstanding. This was the best salad bar in all WDW! My husband was very pleased with his choices as well. He was not so excited about this reservation but this will be a "must do" for us in Magic. We felt this offered a great variety for all. The kid's section would please any little ones. The sweets could have been more unusual...at least one or two interesting choices would have been great. They were good (what we tried) but they were the usual Disney choices you find most anywhere.
Atmosphere:
A little loud but OK. The characters made from dried flowers were so cool.
Characters:
These characters were very animated. We really enjoyed them! I felt the characters were very well organized. During our visit all guests stayed at their tables and all went well.
WARNING: THIS MEAL TOOK ONE HOUR AND WE DID NOT JUST SIT AROUND. This may be very important for those who run around the park and can't "waste" time. We enjoyed this a great deal and never considered it a waste. It was a SUPER experience. We consider a nice meal a way to recharge and part of the Disney magic. Some, do not...so just be prepared for 1.5+ hrs from waiting to be seated until you leave.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Sept. 15, 2007
Reviewer: indybraces luvdisney (susiebhthackney@yahoo.com) Anderson, IN     August 06, 2008
We LOVE this place. It was my 1st trip to WDW. We had reservations for 5:30. Our wait time was less than 10 minutes. We were seated next to a window with a beautiful view of the creek. The buffet has someting for everyone. As it was our first day at Disney we opted for a lighter meal (jet lag) so we hit the kids buffet. OMG!! the chicken strips,mac&cheese,saladand pizza were all very yummy.
The characters were most pleasant. It was just my husband and I and we were pleased that the characters gave us quite a bit of attention. The parade in the middle was so cute and guests were eargly invited to participate. The setting is very nice and the "garden characters" were adorable. I am pleased to say that we will be returning this September and Crystal Palace is our first dinner reservation (again).
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   12/09/2007
Reviewer: bartsfam (bartsfam@netzero.com) Rutland, Massachusetts     December 23, 2007
We had reservations for 12 noon for lunch at this restaurant on a busy Sunday afternoon. I have two children, ages 9 and 5. After a half hour wait, we were seated.
The buffet was very good. We enjoyed, delicious cold salads, and freshly carved pork and beef. The kids loved the mac and cheese and chicken fingers. Desert was various small slices of pies and cookies. There was also a make your own sundae bar!
The characters came to our table twice in one hour. All of the Winnie the Pooh characters visited. My 5 year old daughter loved it, while my 9 year old son tolerated the charcaters. Once and hour, Pooh leads a parade around the restaurant and all of the kids are invited to join in.
Overall, a very good experience and highly recommended.
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 10, 2006
Reviewer: Neon Cactus Tucson, Arizona     June 21, 2007
This was my first time at Crystal Palace and I was excited because it was also the first meal of our vacation. By the time everyone arrived, our reservation time was 8:20. It took us about 30 minutes to be seated after that. I understand the concept of priority seating and that there may be some wait, but 30 minutes seemed excessive.

Once in the restaurant, the service was pretty good. The buffet had a lot of interesting food. I had the adobe pork and mahi mahi, which were both good. The rest of the food was pretty average. I tried the cheddar cheese soup and maybe it was me hoping it would taste like Le Cellier's, but it was pretty bad. The desserts were OK, but nothing spectacular.

The real reason we were there was the characters for our kids to see. Piglet, Eeyore, Tigger and Pooh were there. And we saw Piglet and Eeyore within about 20 minutes of being seated. But we were there well over an hour before Tigger and Pooh came, which probably explains why we had to wait 30 minutes, because the guests who were there before us had to wait so long to see the characters. I had a much better experience at Liberty Tree Tavern later in the trip, so I really didn't understand the hold up. I don't think I would do this meal again unless I did breakfast right at opening.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 8
Reviewer: NeilPage Columbia, Maryland     May 29, 2007
Our ADR was for 2:30 -- we figured a late lunch worked best with our schedule, and it also satisfied dinner as well. We had to wait about 20 minutes to be seated. This was our 3rd time at CP, each time going for lunch. The food was excellent -- great variety and tasty. The characters were constantly coming around, inbetween their parade times. It is time-consuming, we were probably there for at least 1.5 hours -- eating, photo taking and using the clean bathrooms.
Definitely, a worthwhile lunch excursion.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 2, 2007
Reviewer: Imjusta babyduck Pace, Florida     May 15, 2007
We ate here for dinner on May 2, 2007. It was our first time eating dinner here, we normally eat lunch, and it was fantastic. It is a buffet so I will not go into what everyone ate from the buffet. I will say, however, that the salad portion of the buffet was amazing. Anyone who loves salads (as I do) will find this buffet heaven. My first plate was nothing but various salads and they were all so good that I could have made a meal out of any one of them. That is not to say that the remainder of the buffet was not good; it was very good. The prime rib and potato dishes were exceptional. The dessert bar was beyond fabulous (and even included some really good cheeses). All 13 of us loved this meal and we will be back. As always here, the characters were great and they took a lot of time with the kids and we were able to get lots of pictures. The only down side to this dinner was the long wait, even with an ADR (well over 30 minutes). With one exception, we had this problem everywhere we ate table service. Disney really needs to work on time estimations with respect to ADR's.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 28, 2006
Reviewer: kc82271 NJ     August 21, 2006
My 10-month old daughter loved this breakfast. I did her nursery with the Peek-a-Pooh pattern so she was well aware of the characters. The interaction was great. The food left something to be desired, but was edible.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   May 7th
Reviewer: jcapo25 New York     May 10, 2006
I'll start off by saying my 18 month old son loves Pooh and this was the reason for me booking this breakfast. We had a reservation for 9:30am and were seated at that time. Our server was pleasant and the buffet had alot of choices. We enjoyed the food, not the best, but good. What I was really disappointed about was the fact that we were practically done with breakfast before characters made their way to our table. Kids were running free around the tables and up to the characters, hogging all the time. Parents did not have the courtesy to make their children sit in their seats and wait for the characters to come to them. When the characters finally did come by, Pooh was a no show. We had to get our server to go talk to the person who walks around with Pooh. He did come over and apologize and did bring Pooh with him after waiting another 10 minutes (we were already finished eating and paid the bill). I felt this breakfast was very unorganized. We did the character dinner at Liberty Tree a few days prior and that was an excellent experience, not rushed, the characters were always around and just an overall great and fun experience. This breakfast was very rushed and I would not do it again. I rather wait in line at Toon Town, even there you got to spend more time with Pooh.
 
5 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 25, 2005
Reviewer: sewshawn Laredo, Texas     December 29, 2005
Even with a group of teenagers (17,15, 11, 7) this is a must do activity. We really enjoyed the variety of food, the atmosphere was bright and cheerful, the wait staff was attentive and the price was pretty reasonable. At first the kids really only wanted to see Tigger (the reason for the booking in the first place) but the other characters were also very engaging. Especially Piglet! Our teenagers were delighted by the attention they were given and it is amazing what message those characters convey without words. Everyone in our group was enthralled! An A+ activities for all ages.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   march 12,05
Reviewer: xperiment625 Just a wee bit south of Mouse Town, Florida.     April 17, 2005
OH HO, great dishes, tantalizing desserts, extremely bright and cheery atmosphere, value for the price, all this and Tigger too! Having spent ALOT of time in WDW throughout my life (my father was a mechanical engineer during the initial construction and a consultant for many years after and later in life I've done contract work at various times) I've enjoyed many of the restaurants on the property but have never dined in the Crystal Palace until last week, and I was throughly satisfied with the experiance. The available choices on the buffet were diverse and well prepared, the service was of the usual high WDW calibur, and the characters from the Hundred Acre Wood continually circulated the dining area entertaining not only the children present but even our motley crew of (rapidly approaching) middle-aged rascals. I regret that I've never enjoyed a meal here in past years, but from now on it will be on my list of "favorite places" within the Magic Kingdom.
 
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page