Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Crystal Palace
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Buffet-style character meals featuring Winnie-the-Pooh and friends. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Located between Main Street and Adventureland in the Magic Kingdom.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 30 ( Displaying Reviews: 11 - 20 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   03/04/05
Reviewer: Tara13 Memphis, TN     March 07, 2005
Dinner at the Crystal Palace had to be my favorite dinner of all the restaurants we ate at. The buffet choices were good - they had choices to please everyone in our party. I really liked the prime rib and the roast turkey. The cookies on the dessert bar were great - make sure to try both sides of the dessert bar...the choices are different on both sides. Pooh, Tigger, Eeyore and Piglet come around to the tables. I was so excited to meet Eeyore (he is my hero)...after I met him, I was ready to go and we hadn't even eaten yet. Tigger was a bit brief at our table, we missed Piglet (poor timing on our end), but Pooh and Eeyore stoped and hugged everyone at the table. It was incredible. I HIGHLY recommend this for any Pooh fan!
 
7 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Oct 29 - Nov 1, 2004
Reviewer: MiMa Derry, New Hampshire     November 09, 2004
This is our favorite WDW character breakfast; we make sure we always have one breakfast during our stay at WDW at the Crystal Palace.

We had a PS time for 9:15 am and we were seated at 9:10 am. Our waitress greeted us right away and was very pleasant. We gave our drink order and started right away for the buffet. Piglet was standing near by and we got his autograph and plenty of pictures. But things went a little down hill from here.

I was a little disappointed in the character experience this time around. The characters didn't have handlers with them to keep the children in their seats until it was their turn. We waited close to 20 minutes for the characters to make their way around the room and the whole time my four year old was very patient waiting his turn as he should. Eyore was the first and went well, followed by Pooh, but by the time Tigger came to our table, my four year old had his autograph book and pen held high and ready, but all of a sudden a swarm of kids rushed poor Tigger and in desperation he tried to get away from them. I actually had to stop him and remind him that we had been waiting and I also had to tell the other children to go back to their seats and wait their turn! I was more angry that I had to be the one to scold the children instead of a character handler or the wait staff or better yet, their parents. I think Tigger knew how I felt because he gave me a big hug and kissed my hand.

I just felt so bad for my four year old who was really good the whole time and also that I actually had to get huffy, which is not me. Actually, one of the parents came over to apologize when we were leaving and I felt good about that.

This was the first time I had actually experienced this and it made me sad. We've been visiting WDW every two years for over 20 years, most recently twice in one year and this kind of broke the magic for me (although not for long!)
I just wonder why the characters didn't have handlers this time, they really need them.

I really do recommend this place for everyone who is a kid at heart. The food is decent, the wait staff is very friendly and the atmosphere can get a little noisy (very high ceilings) but is beautifully decorated.
 
7 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
1.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.01.0/5.0   Sept. 23 2004
Reviewer: rt2dz Texas     November 08, 2004
Characters Present: Pooh, Eeyore, Piglet, Tigger

This was the one I was looking forward to the most. It was the hardest one for us to arrange PS for. I had heard so many wonderful things about this meal. Since are kids are little, we were all excited about this breakfast. We had PS for 10:15. We showed up to check in at 10, finally doing so at 10:10. They told us they were running late and it would be more about 10:30. Understandable. Both my husband and I worked in restaurants (hosting, waiting, bartending, managing, consultanting, & servicing) and realize how these things work. However, we were not sat until 10:50. This is a little extreme.

When we finally were sat, it took 13 minutes (yes, I do literally time this out of habit) before we were acknowledged by our server. It took four more minutes before he took our drink order and then another 10 minutes before he brought it. Then we never saw him again. During this time, we never saw the characters. We tried to get food, but they had already shut down over half the buffet. What was left up there, was the scraggly ends of the foodburnt, greasy, just plain yucky with next to no selection. At first, we thought it was just a change out and we would go back up in a few minutes. Not the case. The buffet just kept getting more and more closed out.

The seating was awful also. The tables were so close, when they did do the one fun thing (the parade), my children could not get out and around the adults to participate. They were practically in tears. When the characters finally came by, they breezed by. They hardly stopped, seemed very annoyed when we tried to get a picture. They got more time with the characters at Toon Town. Except for Piglet, who you go up to.

I tried to complain. I received five blank stairs. Finally, the character guide to Pooh brought Pooh over and apologized. She asked if we wanted to be moved ahead of the line for a ride. Of course, I declinedit is not fair to those waiting in line and, besides, the longest wait was 5-10 minutes. I did want our food comped totally or partially seeing how we did not see the characters or get to eat (and not from our slowness). That was not happening though. I will not go back. This meal is WAY, WAY over rated. It may have been a fluke, but having had so many other good to excellent character meals, this was a bit on the extreme side to normally be so much more wonderful.
 
4 out of 9 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 28, 2004
Reviewer: Aurora's Mommy Philadelphia, PA area     September 02, 2004
We really enjoyed our visit for dinner to the Crystal Palace. The service was great, and the interaction with the characters was not rushed so we were able to get lots of great pictures. And the buffet was really surprising to us. We expected the usual, roast beef/ham, large vats of veggies, but they really had some unique items. The pulled adobe pork was terrific. I also liked that they had a seperate children's buffet, but I would have liked to see some healthy alternatives there (they only had chicken strips, pizza and mac n cheese). Also, I would have liked to see more options at the make your own sundae bar. They didn't even have whipped cream and cherries! But, a great selection of desserts, just make sure you check both sides, because they are different.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   7/13/03
Reviewer: britty1260 (incubrit12@yahoo.com) Saratoga, New York     July 09, 2004
This is without question the BEST character breakfast in all of WDW. even if winnie the pooh isn't your favorite (sure isn't mine), you will definitely enjoy this. the characters spend more than enough time at your table with you, and you never feel rushed. although every table around us was full, we got to take our time, and go up to the buffet tables as much as we wanted. the food was constantly being refilled and we had no problems or complaints about it. the atmosphere is airy and open. going back in 2 weeks!
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   May 8, 2004
Reviewer: laurenblythe Shreveport, LA     June 27, 2004
Quick service and great location. Immediately after dinner, we could step outside the restaurant and watch the fireworks. Food-not spectacular, but good. The characters spent lots of time with us, so it was worth it. My child is 3 and was completely enthralled with them.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 3, 2003
Reviewer: RagDahl Ft. Lauderdale, Florida     January 08, 2004
This was one of the most enjoyable experiences I've ever had in Disney World. I know Disney like the back of my hand, but a few months ago I got the official guidebook and went through it eagerly. I read about the Crystal Palace and how it shouldn't be missed for the character breakfast. I wanted to do it, but wasn't sure we could fit it into this trip.

My boyfriend and I decided that we could, so we called the night before and made a PS for 8:15am. We got the gate of the Magic Kingdom at about 7:45 and lined up with all of the people going in for an early PS (the park didn't open until 9:00). They let us in shortly before 8:00 and we made our way to the restaurant. I was glad to see that most of the crowd was going to Cinderella's castle.

We lined up at the Crystal Palace to fill out a card with our name on it. Once that was turned in, we stepped aside to wait for our names to be called. We were called by our waitress at about 8:10. She brought us in and seated us directly under one of the atriums. She was a very sweet woman. She asked if we had ever been there before and when we said no, she explained everything to us. She saw that Eeyore was on his way, so she advised that we wait for him before going to the buffet.

I was amazed with the selection of food they had! Everything that I could have wished for. We loaded up and got back to the table to find our drinks waiting. Here was another nice touch, individual coffee pots: regular for me and decaf for him.

Eventually, Pooh and Tigger came around to us. What I liked is that after my boyfriend had taken my picture, they'd go sit with him or force him to get up and pose too. Piglet was standing up by the buffet and we were able to go right up and see him. I have to admit that I worried a little if I saw the characters skipping tables, but they ended up going over to everybody.

The feel inside was so nice and everybody was so nice to each other. Families who were strangers were interacting with each other. People offered to take pictures for each other so that everyone could be in the photo. It was so great! It was nice to see the characters get all the kids up to parade around the dining room. I didn't know they did that. The kids were ecstatic! The little girl next to us was chosen by Tigger to lead the line.

All in all we loved it. The food, staff, characters and atmosphere were all great. The cost for an adult breakfast buffet was $17, so for the two of us plus tip our total was $40.00. Everything was fantastic and I can't wait to go again next time!
 
24 out of 24 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 19 and 22, 2003
Reviewer: mom22gls Jenkintown, PA     November 23, 2003
We enjoyed our dinner at the Crystal Palace (my 5 year old daughter just loved the characters), and I was pleasantly surprised by the quality of the food at the buffet. The only slight disappointment was that they did only one little "parade," and it lasted for less than two minutes, and my daughter missed it because she was in the bathroom. For our last morning, I then booked a breakfast there, and we did not have to wait at all to get in. The breakfast was also good. Tigger did not come to our table, so we approached him at another table as we were leaving, and a CM politely intervened, but let us take a picture when I said we had not seen him at our table. It was really nice to be in the park for the opening, on a non-extra hour day, especially when we had to leave the park at 10:30 to check out of our hotel.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   October 22, 2003
Reviewer: CatLover Bargersville, IN     October 30, 2003
We attend a character lunch with our son, our young adult cousins, and my brother, sister in law and their two young children, age 4 and 1.We read good reviews of this character meal in advance, and booked because of an earlier good experience with Restuarantasaurus at Animal Kingdom. We arrived at 1:55 for a 2:00 seating. We were given a beeper, and were finally seated about 2:30. We had the first table in the room, and we were repeatedly bypassed by the characters, to the degree that I wasn't sure if we were supposed to go to them or they were supposed to come to us. The second time the characters came into the room during our meal, we were able to corral them into seeing our son, age 5, and somewhat timid. Once my son had seen all the characters, my niece, at the next table to ours, had not seen them, and, the characters were taking break. After the break, and after everybody at our table had eaten, and the bill had been paid, finally, my niece was able to get her autographs signed and pictures taken with the characters. Tigger, in particular, never stopped at our table. My son once followed him as he was leaving the dining room, and got him to sign his book and get his picture taken.
On the other hand, the food was excellent and well prepared, not at all the usual fare.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   September 9, 2003
Reviewer: reghoy St. Petersburg Florida     September 24, 2003
This is an experience that you won't want to miss. We usually eat at the Garden Grill with three girls. Age ranging from 2-10. We had lunch at the Palace this time and the girls ate, played and had fun not to mention my mother and I. We participated in the Pooh parade that they have during the time you are there eating. The whole atmosphere was fun and relaxing. The waiter that we had was one of the best waiters I have ever had, and I've been in that field of work. The price of this lunch was cheaper then other character lunches and great food. We have already planned this for our next trip.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page