Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Crystal Palace
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Buffet-style character meals featuring Winnie-the-Pooh and friends. Open for breakfast, lunch and dinner. Located between Main Street and Adventureland in the Magic Kingdom.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 30 ( Displaying Reviews: 21 - 30 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   9/8/2003 - 9/15/2003
Reviewer: drew489 (limitedition@yahoo.com) New Hampshire (near Boston)     September 16, 2003
No one knew what to expect, myself included. when I booked an 8AM breakfast buffet for my family early in our WDW trip. I had 3 adults with me and my 2 going on 3 year old daughter too, so to get up at 6:30AM to get ready for a breakfast after a long night at the Magic Kingdom wasnt an easy task.

But it was worth it.

The Crystal palace is right inside of the MK and is beautufully designed with glass ceilings and the slighly illusion of being in castle.

The food was very good again and plentiful, the characters visited several times and made my daughter feel special. I recommend this character breakfast but bring your wallet, over $100 including tip for 4 adults and one child.
 
5 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   june 24 2001
Reviewer: shannon1219 Warner Robins GA     September 03, 2003
We went to the breakfast buffett for my daughters 6th birthday. When we got there they had mickey confetti on the table and the pooh characters sang the celebration song while everyone twirled thier napkins and they brought her out a cupcake with a candle.My daughter loved it. The food was good and the service was great.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   21 December 2002
Reviewer: chezp United Kingdom     June 25, 2003
21 December 2002, breakfast

Service: Excellent
Price: Very reasonable
Food: Good selection
Atmosphere: Absolutely wonderful!

I've loved the Crystal Palace ever since our first meal there in 1999 and not just because Eeyore's my favourite character! We always find they've got a wide selection of food for both breakfast and lunch and as a vegetarian, I never have a shortage of items to eat.

The setting of this restaurant is wonderful too - very light and airy and I noticed it was slightly more so on our most recent visit, following their shutdown and rehab, which had only just been completed a few days before.

We had a great breakfast, piling our plates high with lots of food and gradually getting visits from all the characters, except for Pooh, who was having his photo taken by the dessert area. They seem to time the characters very well, so that you're not inundated at once, but you also don't spend your time wondering where they are.

I got an extra big hug from Eeyore when I told him it was my 30th birthday and I'd come all the way over from England, especially to see him! It's certainly worth playing up to the characters like that, as you'll get a lot more out of them. As it was my birthday, DH asked for a cake for me and was very disappointed when he was told that the staff no longer sing "happy birthday", as had happened two years earlier when we'd come here for my birthday. As he was so disappointed, they made a big thing of doing it just for me - and I think it was a nicer way of celebrating, than the general celebration they do every hour around the restaurant.

We will always come back here everytime we go to Disney, as this just has it all for us - good food, reasonable prices, lovely atmosphere and some great character interaction. It's well worth building a meal here into your plans for the Magic Kingdom.
 
4 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   June 14, 2003
Reviewer: Poohfan28 Jacksonville, FL     June 17, 2003
My husband and I ate here for the first on June 14, 2003 for dinner. We had told the PS Seating people when I called to make the ressies that it was our anniversary. We checked in about 30 min. before our time and we seated in 10 min. We got to our table and the hostress had laid out Mickey confetti in the shape of a heart. I brought the Mickeys home with us as a memory. Back to the food. The salad bar was very good. I loved the Ranch Dressing. My husband liked the pasta salad. I had the boiled shrimp. I had prime rib which was awesome. I had a mushroom and pasta dinner that was good also. My husband had the spicy things like black beans and rice. After we ate the dinner we ate some of the good desserts. Too many to remember. The characters were great. Pooh and Piget. We are going back in the fall. The price was about $60.00 with tip.
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   April 10, 2003
Reviewer: KSchultz Carol Stream, IL     April 21, 2003
Although we had no kids with us (we left our 17 and 14 year old boys at home), we wanted to do a Character Breakfast. We chose the Crystal Palace because we have dined here before and always enjoyed it. We were not disappointed. The French Toast is as good as ever! There was plenty of items in the buffet to choose from, even for picky eaters. Our waitress was a little slow in getting our drink orders and bringing them to us, otherwise we had a great dining experience. One suggestion for during the times that the show is going on at the Castle. They might want to give you the mechanism that flashes when your table is ready as it is very hard to hear over the music and singing at the Castle when your name is called.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Feb. 25/03
Reviewer: Joytotheworld Orillia, Ontario, Canada     April 04, 2003
My 21 year old daughter and I had lunch at the Crystal Palace and enjoyed it. The service was excellent and the characters were a tremendous amount of fun. I had a furry Eeyore change purse hanging from my camera bag and so got more than my fair share of attention from the adorable fellow. The service was excellent and the food was good but there wasn't a terribly varied selection. With one notable exception, (Boma), we found this to be the case with all the buffet meals we had inside Disney World. The decor inside the Crystal Palace is lovely. It's so bright and airy and the skilful use of mirrors makes the place look way bigger than it really is, adding to the whole airy open feel.
 
3 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 1999
Reviewer: aimster (aimster7609@hotmail.com) Tampa, FL     March 01, 2003
There were 2 people in our partyboth times. Also, both times we were able to walk up and only had a 20-30 minute wait before being seated. The food was really good. I like buffets as you can pick what you want and how much you want. Our server was very nice and attentive. I'm a huge Tigger fan and had purchased a pair of Tigger ears earlier in the day. As a result I got quite a bit of attention from the Bouncy One every time he came by our table (which I think was 3 or 4 times during the course of our meal). If you're a fan of the Pooh characters, this is a great place to eat.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   12/31/2002
Reviewer: kirkharrod KY     January 08, 2003
We had 12:00 pm priority seating at the Crystal Palace. We got there 15 minutes early and probably should have gotten there a little earlier. It was sold out so I was glad I had reservations. I checked in and they gave me a beeper. At 12:05 pm, we were seated. The server took our drink order and told us that the characters make their way around the room so as they get to your row of tables, stay at your table so you can interact with them. They put the kids on the outside so the characters can reach them. I have seen reviews of the Crystal Palace that said that the buffet is just standard buffet faire. That is not true. The food is excellent. Every offering that I tried was very good. The menu consisted of delicious carved flank steak, orza paella with calamari, mussels, shrimp, andouille sausage, etc., oven fried chicken, smoked salmon, sliced turkey and ham, a chicken pasta with cheese, and probably something I have forgotten. Sides included a mélange of mushrooms balsamic, black beans and rice, green bean casserole, and garlic mashed potatoes. Salads included pineapple coconut cole slaw, tomatoes and mozzarella, pasta salad, Caesar salad, and other salads. The kids buffet had macaroni & cheese, chicken nuggets, peanut butter and jelly, and corn. I did not try any of the kids buffet, but it must have been good because my picky son ate two servings of m & c, and he usually does not like it. The dessert bar had cookies, ice cream, bread pudding, brownies, cheesecake squares and apple crisp in an iron skillet. The price was $16.95 for adults and $9.95 for kids. We were so full we did not eat anything else until 7:00 pm. I think eating the buffet actually saved us money. Since we were so full of good food, we did not waste money on unsatisfying junk. We will always eat at the Crystal Palace when we go. Next time we will try dinner. The only diasappointment: the characters did not get around quick enough. We saw Piglet and Eeyore but Pooh and Tigger did not get to our table in the hour we were there. (We would get lots of playtime with Pooh and Tigger later) We could have stayed longer, though. The staff did not try to rush you out, and the restaurant is actually not over crowded.
 
13 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Oct 6, 2001
Reviewer: kennyhues Campbell, CA     July 24, 2002
We walked up to the Crystal Palace expecting to see a disheveled wreck, owing to the posts on MP and other boards about its deplorable condition. We saw some peeling paint and small signs of disrepair, but it was FAR from deplorable. The wait outside was a bit unpleasant for this as-yet-childless couple: Several little ones were voicing their displeasure at being "cruelly" removed from the home-based daily routines. Thankfully we didn't have to wait very long until a grandmotherly CM with a wide, geniune smile opened the door for us and said, "Welcome to the Crystal Palace."
The buffet rocked that morning. I'm a big fan of the hot geasy breakfast and it was all there - eggs, bacon, biscuits and gravy, sausage, you name it. Waffles and pancakes were in abundance as well, as were fresh fruit, oatmeal, grits (oh yeah, this is the South), muffins, croissants . . . . A brekkie lover's paradise.
Our server used an expression that was new to us. He told us that the buffet was "all you care to eat," as opposed to all you CAN eat, which is the usual wording and somehow it made a potential gorgefest sound more genteel and civilized. Anyway, here as everywhere in WDW, coffee lovers will be bitterly disappointed with the instant coffee that issues from the bottomless carafes. Tea bags are offered at the buffet.
We ate moderately, because we didn't want a giant meal to slow us down all day, but we tasted a variety of things and it was all at least corner-Denny's quality. Most of it was a little better than that.
When we visited, Winnie the Pooh and friends were the characters "on duty." I'm not sure if the character roster gets rotated or not. CRO could certainly tell you where to start your day with Mickey and all if you'd rather. Tigger and Pooh came to visit us, with Tigger being to more entertaining of the two, as you'd expect. I offered him coffee, and he rubbed his belly "Yum yum" and then grabbed the carafe to top up my cup. He gave my wife a big hug and posed for photos with each of us. By the time Piglet made the rounds, we were ready to move out into the Magic Kingdom. It was enjoyable. Everything at WDW is priced at a premium, so in the cold light of day I'd have to say that the meal was overpriced, but adjusting for the "Diz markup" and factoring in that you leave as full as you'd like to be, there was nothing to complain about. Go do it!
 
4 out of 7 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   06/18/01
Reviewer: krise177 Charlottesville, Virginia     July 08, 2002
My husband and I took our two children ages 8, and 2, and a cousin age 11 to the Crystal Palace Dinner Buffett while visiting Disney for a week. The wait was a bit lengthy, but well worth the wait. The food was wonderful and a huge variety to pick from. Believe me even someone with a picky child (which I have) could find something. Pooh and friends take a lot of time to visit and entertain the children and my 2 year old hugged and loved on them all. I can't wait to go back this October. It is somewhat pricey, but something the kids will love as well as adults.
 
10 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page