Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Liberty Tree Tavern
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Table service restaurant located in Liberty Square. Open for regular service during breakfast and lunch. (See Character dining / Liberty Tree Tavern for dinner character meal reviews.)
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 54.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 18 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   11-15-09
Reviewer: ls3015 Freeland Michigan     November 25, 2009
This was our 3rd time eating at the tavern and found it to be just as good as the previous times, they but on a family style dinner with Turkey, prime rib and pork, mashed potato's greens and salad.
Everyone in my party enjoyed the dinner very well, the waiter was great very attentive, the only thing lacking was the characters, they have been removed from the restaurant which I think hurts them, that was one reason for going, I hope they bring them back. But the tavern still has very good food. We were staying at the all star sports and the turkey dinner that was served there was the same turkey and mashed potato's that the tavern has, and just as good, so if you like turkey and can't get in at the tavern maybe your resort serves the same.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   8/14/09
Reviewer: swimmer62 Chicago IL     November 25, 2009
We visited liberty tree tavern, on August 14th 2009. When we first arrived there were not many people there, since it just opened. But we had to wait 15 minutes anyway. Our server was very odd. I think he was new, because he seated us at the wrong table. So we had to move. Then when my sister wanted the kids mac and cheese, he said because she was on the adult DDP, we had to double the order size. I ordered the burger, my mom ordered the soup of the day, my dad ordered the turkey sandwich, and my sister had the mac and cheese. The food was very good, but the portions were huge!! If possible ask for a half order my sisters mac and cheese could have feed a family of 6 !! the food was very flavorful and it was very good.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Monday September 10, 2007
Reviewer: Michelle1503 (michelle1503@hotmail.com) Cape Coral, Florida     September 17, 2007
Liberty Tree Tavern was a magnificent experience. We had reservations, arrived early and were seated only ten minutes after our scheduled time. The food was excellent, more than enough, and delicious. The service was great, though quick as they have many tables to wait on. My husband and I were celebrating our two year anniversary and even though we didn't have kids with us, the characters spent a lot of time with us, took a lot of pictures, and made it very special, and funny!
Any one who has bad reviews is probably b/c they were tired from walking around the park all day, or are very hard to please because you should not miss this experience! Well worth the price!
 
4 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   03/15/07
Reviewer: Mermaid Glendale, AZ     March 31, 2007
We ate lunch here and were not disappointed. We had made ADRs and it was a good thing we did. They were turning away walk-ups. We waited about 10 minutes to be seated. We loved the theming of this restaurant. Our waitress greeted us right away and was very nice! She gave us plenty of time to decide. We were on the Dining plan so we got an appetizer, entree, and desert. I got the Crab Cakes as my appetizer and my sister got the the clam chowder. Both were great! Upon the recommendations of the waitress, I had the William Penn Pasta which was awesome! My sister was dying for a burger which she got with bacon and like it. The waitress recommended the chocolate dessert but we don't like chocolate so we both got the berry tart which was yummy. This was one of my favorite meals and was hidden gem in Magic Kingdom!

Service- 4.5 planets
Price- 5 planets (dining plan)
Food- 5 planets
Atmosphere- 5 planets
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   March 7, 2007
Reviewer: TinaMouse Farmington, MN     March 30, 2007
Oh how much we expected to LOVE LTT. We had dined here back in 1999 for a character dinner, but chose to eat here this trip for the non-character lunch. We expected a 5 planet experience (like last time) but we found ourselves a bit disappointed this time.

Three of us dined; DH, myself, and 4 yo son. We had ADRs and were seated within 5 minutes of arrival. Our table was a lovely spot in front of a window but off the "beaten path" of the main section of the restaurant. There was a nice fireplace nearby. Initially, we were the only ones in the "room" but by the time we left, it was full.

Our server was the biggest reason we found ourselves disappointed. He was aloof, took FOREVER to bring our drinks and take our order. Curious since we were the first in his section. We had to ask for iced tea refills, and the child's meal came out a full 15 minutes before the adult meals arrived. Son was completely finished and got antsy waiting for us.

On the flip side, the food was excellet. Son and I had the traditional turkey dinner. Turkey was flavorful and rather juicy. The mashed potatoes were excellent. Stuffing was fine. Veggies were fresh and thankfully not overcooked. I wish they would've served cranberry sauce with the meal!

Hubby had the Amber Waves of Grain, a quinoa and grilled veggie dish. He loved it. It was quite different than the "expected" entrees and he gobbled it up as well as a cup of ham and split pea soup. He enjoyed the soup as well.

The bill on the complete meal was around $50.

The only reason we "knocked" down our rating was because of the awful service.

Food--5 planets (yea for different entrees!)
Atmosphere--5 planets
Price--5 planets (because the serving sizes were huge)
Service--2 planets (if I'm being REALLY generous!)
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 2005
Reviewer: cocoabeach Portland OR and Cape Canaveral FL     September 30, 2005
Liberty Tavern Lunch Review
Lunch at LTT is so different from the character meal that I wanted to separate out the lunch review. This last time we ate at LTT consisted of spouse Rebecca (28yr) myself Paul (30yr old), father Jim (retired) and two kids girl age 4 and boy age 2. We did not have priority seating reservations this last time and it was during the regular season (May).

Food:
First and foremost, the food a LTT is extraordinary and it is reason enough to go there. If you are like us, eating out every meal for 2 weeks can sometimes begin to drag (another chicken strip? Please.) but LTT is the perfect place to refresh the cuisine. If you are the type that prefers food that is "familiar" or conversely you really like to have unique flavors LTT is for both camps. With meal choices like Pot Roast and Chicken Breast it would seem to fit the comfort food category but each plate has a truly unique and delicious sauces and other flavors.

I had the Pot Roast, Rebecca had the William Penn Pasta and Jim had the Fresh Harbor Salmon. Coming from the Pacific Northwest, Salmon in FL could be an iffy venture but the pumpkin bread and cream sauce are amazing. The light burst of sweet with the delicate salmon was too good. The Pot Roast doesn't disappoint either with the roast being incredibly tender in the wine (reduced no alcohol content) and mushroom sauce. Each bite broke off in tender flakes with a fork only. Finally, I'm not normally a fan of the ubiquitous pasta and grilled chicken meal that usually has little distinguishing flavor but this was uniquely flavored with the Applewood bacon and marinara and was very good. Highly recommended all three.

If you are unfamiliar with New England clam chowder (I was born and raised in Boston), it is a thick creamy soup with small pieces of tender clam and potatoes. A fine chowder is perfectly smooth cream and supports the weight of your spoon on top. Normally a restaurant claiming to have New England chowder doesn't live up to the challenge but LTT was solid enough that oyster crackers and pepper (traditional) would mask the good flavor.

On desserts we just couldn't decide so we had both the lava cake and the shortcake and we've had the apple tart in the past. These are all three warm and fresh and not just your average fare. If you have to decide on one, choose the lava cake which had a slight streak of raspberry syrup and the warm moist cake wow. The shortcake wasn't the cheap substitute sponge cake often used and for those who like subtler sweetness than a chocolate lava, this is for you.

Service:
As mentioned in other reviews, your name is "announced" like the days of gentry and New England was known for it affluence and culture. I will mention that if it is really busy like the last time we went the cast do their best but are often drowned out by the noise and the energy of acting varies. But the food makes everything better. I'd like to compare LTT to the Prime Time at MGM which similarly has "American" dishes and fun service with actors PrimeT dishes are less ambitious (but still good IMO) and hence are less flavorful overall. I've had better experiences with the acting at PrimeT though.

Tips on last minute reservations:
As mentioned, we did not have a priority seating this time but you can generally still get seated with about a 45 minute wait even on busy days. I suggest that you make up your mind to eat there for lunch and show up some time after park open to get a time. Even if they are booked, you can still show up in the afternoon and get on the waiting list. They keep two piles of cards one is the priority seating pile and the other is the standby so they never trample on each other. We decided to put our name on the list, the family went to get signatures from Woody and Jessie and then hung out at the arcade while I waited for our name to be called. We bring our cell phones with us to the parks (if you have a national carrier, this is highly recommended) so when our name was called, all it took was a quick phone call to Rebecca and we were reunited for a great meal.
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Sept. 10, 2005
Reviewer: epmc3 Long Island, NY     September 17, 2005
Excellent!!!!!!!! If you like home-cooked old-fashioned comfort food, this is the place to eat. We've eaten here both times we've been in Disney World and will go back next time. One of my daughters, who does not usually eat bread in restaurants, couldn't get enough. The dinner is served family style; turkey, ham and pork loin, with all the trimmings.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 3rd 05
Reviewer: Disney Don (tr8r@cableone.net) Boise, Idaho     June 15, 2005
Hello all,
Good food can be found @ Liberty Tree but at a price.

We didn't do the character meal. I had the Turkey & stuffing etc, delish, $20 bux, my wife had the Beef whatever-it-was version, $20 bux, = not bad but as she admitted not as good as the turkey. No burgers on the menu's for kids so my son enjoyed a $14 cheeseburger, yikes, but it was more substantial than most of the burgers to be found in the park. Finally, I don't remember what son #2 had, but I do remember he ate it. ;-)

Service was barely adequate but I choose to leave a good tip anyway. Drink refill's came too late on each one and most of the time we had to flag him down to get those.

I would eat here again but I would have to close my eyes to the prices. It's good food but still a poor value when compared to a meal in the real world where restaurants have to pay for a lease and all the other overhead that comes from an independant business not affiliated with the property it sits on.

If Disney believes in magic in meals, it's restaurants could learn a thing or two from The Outback Steakhouse.
 
6 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   January 22-29, 2005
Reviewer: HaleyAnn Chicago, Illinois     February 05, 2005
We dined at the Liberty Tree Tavern on our latest Disney trip. The name of the character dinner sponsorship has been changed from Minnie's to Goofy's. The name change appears to be the only change. The same menu of ham, beef and turkey is offered along with sides of mashed potatoes, stuffing, glazed carrots and very delicous bread and flavored butter. All of the food is quite good and refills are provided. Dessert is a also good ...apple cobbler. Minnie Mouse still appears in Martha Washington type attire. Chip and Dale, Pluto and of course GOofy also appear. Our big complaint about the Liberty Tree is that our party of 8 came for dinner after the Electrical Pageant Parade. It was about 6:45 and the park closed at 7. The restaurant was 1/2 empty. This afforded us plenty of visits from the characters and attention from the waiter. The waiter, I guess, was a little too comfortable with us and forgot we were guests at the Magic Kingdom. We had 3 children in our party and when Goofy was acting silly at a nearby table our waitor said "that guy is really goofy, and I don't mean the character I mean the guy inside the costume." Talk about killing the magic! Two kids were in the restroom but the third heard the comment and even us adults didn't want to hear it. We were paying $20 bucks a meal to forget this was a person in a costume. It wasn't a very "Disney" comment. So, if you want relatively good food and a break from the burger and fiy routine come here. Just don't be surprised if the waiter ruins the magic just a little bit....
 
6 out of 6 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   July 11, 2003
Reviewer: Richard Bonyak (richardbonyak@yahoo.com) New Castle, PA     September 01, 2004
My family, which included my parents, my wife and myself and our three children, ate lunch here three times during our week in the World. We always found the cast members here attentive and curteous if not downright hilarious. The food was outstanding (the honey butter, to quote Scar, is to die for!) and reasonably priced for lunchtime diners. We never did sit down here for the full family-style meal, but on the one occasion when we ate late (in order to watch the parade pass by) and lingered until the characters arrived, they did not try to hustle us out and the characters gave us their full attention. We celebrated my son's 9th birthday here and the cast members hammed it up wonderfully for him and presented him with a small birthday cake. When we return this will again be our usual lunchtime experience in the Magic Kingdom.
 
5 out of 5 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page