Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Tony's Town Square Restaurant
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
Table service restaurant based on the cafe from "Lady and the Tramp". Italian cuisine.
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 3.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 53.5 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 21 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 2, 2009
Reviewer: Jodieileen6 Mechanicsburg, OH     June 12, 2009
I was a little apprehensive about eating here after reading all the negative reviews. What made me keep my reservation was the fact that this was the "Lady and the Tramp" restaurant.

Our server was very quick, I can't complain about the service at all, except I don't know if she ever made actual eye contact with us! The hostess did sprinkle confetti on our table, since I had indicated that it was our son's first visit. This is the only time this happened our entire visit.

My boyfriend and son both ordered spaghetti and meatballs, and said they were good. I had the shrimp scampi with pasta and asparagus and sun-dried tomatoes. It was way better than I expected--very flavorful and some of the few vegetables I had all week.

It was a little busy while we were there, and the only windows I could see were mirrors--so no Lady and the Tramp. It was okay. We got in and out quickly with full bellies, but I couldn't really shake the feeling that we'd had an overblown counter service meal.

The tiramisu was delicious, but steer clear of the lemon-walnut cake. Although it sounded good on the menu, it was drier than dry.

Final ratings:
Service--Very good if not engaging.
Price--We were on the dining plan so it really didn't matter but I'd say right about in line with most table service restaurants at Disney.
Food--Surprisingly good. I'd say a step or two above counter service, but if you want a good sit-down meal, go somewhere else with your table service credits.
Atmosphere--Little to none. I mean come on, you've got the Magic Kingdom right outside your door!
 
0 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Tuesday, April 28, 2009
Reviewer: Kathie New Hampshire     May 31, 2009
We had an ADR for four at 5:30 pm for dinner, but due to my daughter's illness it ended up being just two of us and we were seated right away. The food was very good; Caesar salad and chicken parmigiana for my husband, minestrone soup and shrimp scampi for me. We both had diet cokes which our server refilled several times, although it was not really necessary. The service was excellent and our total was $52 plus tip. It is a nice full service restaurant if you need a break during a long day at Magic Kingdom and we will be coming back here again.
 
Did you find this review helpful?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Nov 13-18, 1007
Reviewer: HILNDKID (alan@digis.net) Highland, Utah     January 29, 2008
We went to dinner, 6 of us including grandpa and grandma. Grandpa is steak and potatoes guy, the rest of us are good for anything. Food was good, steak was real good. Atmosphere was very nice, well worth going and would go again if we ever make it back to WDW.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   September 18, 2007
Reviewer: Disneydad 1963 Charlotte Michigan     September 20, 2007
We had dinner reservations booked at 4:50 p.m. and were seated promptly. Our server was good until the desert. We split the chicken fiorentina between us. The meal was at our table less than two minutes after we ordered. The dish was obviously pre prepared. The food was o.k., but not great. We decided to try a desert. My wife asked what was available and the waiter said, "You don't have a choice, you'll take what I bring you." We thought and hope he was joking. He brought us a plate that had a small piece of three of the deserts. These were very good. I still wonder about the waiter not letting us pick. For the price, we will not eat here again.
 
1 out of 1 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   Sunday,August 5,2007
Reviewer: lisakb22 Prospect Heights,IL     August 23, 2007
We started our week vacation at WDW with Tony's and it was a great start. We were on the Disney Dining plan so it was a huge meal. I started with the mozzarella/tomato salad-awesome! My friend had the artichoke dip,good, the crackers were the best part. I had the chicken,moist and yummy! Friend had salmon,tasty.I had the ice cream bombe for dessert so beautiful and incredible tasting. Friend had tiramsu,very light and yummy. Service has medium at best and they ran out of creme brulee whcih were the only disappointments. Definitely reccommended!
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   June 2, 2006
Reviewer: rbaadmin Elwood, IL     June 25, 2006
We met some friends here for dinner and had mixed reviews from the group. We were about 30 minutes late for our priority seating time due to a monorail train breaking down at the Transportation center, and even though our friends were early, they would not seat them. When we arrived, they said they would get us right in, but they lost our reservation and we were seated an hour and half later than our reservation time -- not good with two tired and hungary young children. There seemed to be several irrated guests due to the computer system for seating that was having breakdowns, but the poor female "cast member" working the front desk handled the rude customers with grace and dignity. Once we were finally seated, the food was very good and the service was good as well. Due to the hectic day, we were thirsty and the waiter kept us filled with drinks the entire time. Being seated so late did help when the spectro-magic parade started -- we just walked right out the front door and watched it from the porch. We would eat here again.
 
2 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   10/4/05
Reviewer: coloradomousefan Aurora, CO     October 16, 2005
The atmosphere is charming and the location wonderful. We did have to wait nearly 30 minutes to be seated as restaurant was very full. Our waiter was less than acceptable and total experience disappointing. The food was very basic, nothing fantastic for the price you are paying. We had spaghetti and pizza (the kid's pizza's were the best of all the meals ordered). Food was edible but definitely nothing special. After paying nearly $90.00 for this meal, I would say never again.
 
2 out of 2 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   Aug. 18, 2005
Reviewer: sorgan Lagauna Niguel, CA.     August 26, 2005
Very Disappointing. So much so that I decided to write a review.
We decided to celebrate my daughters 12th birthday and made reservations for a party of 8 at 7:00PM.
After waiting approx. 15 mins we were asked if we minded sitting at 2 tables, seperate, but next to each other. We agreed and discovered that the two tables were seperated by an isle-way for patio traffic. We asked if we could push the tables together and were told that we could not since they were mantained by seperate wait staff. Mangers got involved and after 10 mins. they pushed two other tables together and we had a nicely decorated table with celebration confetti in honor of the Birthday Girl.
Dinner started off okay, with the round of drinks and appitizers to get things started. The calimari and fried cheese arrived 20 mins later.. a little cold, but edible.
But, by this time, we still had not given our order... I guess we should not have asked for another minute to review the menus when asked if we were ready at the time of the drink deliveries.
Waiting for the food:
I asked for a refill of coffee when the waitress came by... 10 mins. later I see her again and ask for a coffee refill. She explains that she needs to make another pot and will do so when she gets a chance.... My cup is refilled 15 mins later.
45 mins after our order, still no food. The waitress comes by and mentions that there was a broken gas pipe in the kitchen, so none of the ovens are working! We are given a choice of Pasta for everyone or canceling the remainder of the dinner so that we can eat at another restaurant.... We had already invested over 1.5 hours at this point and did not feel like looking for somewhere else to eat... so everyone switched to pasta.
Luckily for us, sort of, the gas issue was fixed 10 mins later and we were told that our food would be out shortly.
I don't know how large kitchens work, but I have to assume that most of the food is "par-cooked", then reheated before being served to have it nice and hot at the table.
We had ordered a large assortment of different dishes; steak, pork shank, salmon, fettichini,etc..... All of it arrived at room tempurature.... did we complain? No, we did not want to wait another 45 mins.
We all poked and prodded our dinners half heartedly. I don't think that the taste would have been much better even if it was warm.
Dinner course was over and we decided to skip desert so that we could try and find a decent spot for the fireworks that were due to start at 9:30. Yes, we had been there for over 2 hours... it was an endurence contest.
When asked if we wanted dessert, we kindly declined, hoping to get the check and get out of there.
The waitress explained that the Birthday Girl gets a special sundae. She could bring it right out. Another 10 mins later the sundae arrives, but then the waitress announces that we all have to sing Happy Birthday with the special performance where they all swing towels over their heads. More delays whiel she gathers up other wait staff for the show.
Whew!, that's done. The fireworks are just starting, we still might have time.....
None such luck, we asked for the check and I made the fatal miskate of asking for a refill on the coffe.... 'Sure' she responded, 'right after I make a fresh pot'.....
Needless to say, I missed the fireworks, but I did get the coffee, 15 mins later.

Kitchen problems and mediocre service aside, the food was just plain old bland. When you are paying $18.00 - $26.00 for an entree, you expect it to have a little more zest then the local diner.
We eat at various sit-down restaurants at Disneyland in California and have always enjoyed the food. This was our first trip to Disney World and I noticed how the food at all of the establishments we ate at could not compare to Disneyland. Maybe it's an East Coast - West Coast thing.
 
4 out of 13 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   6/4/2005
Reviewer: luvmyboys Marysville, OH     June 14, 2005
This was the best meal of our 8 day trip! We've been to WDW numerous times, but never eaten here...boy am I glad we gave it a try this time! Our server was very friendly and helpful and the food was all good. A definite stand-out was the Spinach and Artichoke dip. It was honestly the best I've had anywhere (even better than my own recipe!) Oh and dessert...YUM!
 
2 out of 4 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   May 29, 2004
Reviewer: Tuke Pensacola, Fl     August 19, 2004
Meal (this time): Lunch
Food: A+
Service: A
Price: C
Atmosphere: A

My family discovered this restaurant during the Crystal Palace rehab, and weve been back every time since. I not a big fan of bland chain Italian restaurants (ie. Olive Garden), so I had low expectations the first time we ate here. For once I was happy to be wrong!
The food is flavorful with many wonderful yet not-overpowering spices. The portions are rather large, and the selection more than adequate, even for a family of picky eaters. My kids love the childs pizza and spaghetti, but they have never been able to finish them. My wife and I have tried many of the menu items (Im especially fond of the stromboli), all of them great.
The service has always been more like a fine restaurant than a theme-park eatery. All of our servers have always gone above and beyond to take care of us and the little ones. The décor is dark and also quite fancy, which always makes us feel under-dressed. For a little extra light, and great view of the parades, be sure to ask for a table on the sun porch. The prices are quite reasonable, considering the quality, size of the portions, and the fact that you are a captive audience. Well worth the money. A must.
 
8 out of 8 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2 3
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page