Google

Look in:MousePlanetWWW
MousePlanet logo


 
Main Directory: 
 
 
Reviewer Comments For Submit a Review!
Old Key West Resort Old Key West Resort
 
Send this review to a friend!
Description:
1510 North Cove Road, Lake Buena Vista
Book this hotel now!
Subscribe to review alerts?

Would you like to be notified about each new review that comes in for this item? Enter your email address below and subscribe. Your e-mail address will not be used for anything other than sending these alerts.

Your email: 
subscribe to this item
unsubscribe from this item
Average Reviewer Rating: 4.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 54.1 out of 5
Number of Reviews: 16 ( Displaying Reviews: 1 - 10 )
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   October 19-23, 2009
Reviewer: BrandonHRich (brandonhrich@gmail.com) Nashville, Tennessee     December 07, 2009
We are Disney Vacation Club members who had our first experience with the Old Key West Resort this Fall. We have stayed at Saratoga Springs, Villas at Wilderness Lodge, Boardwalk Villas, Animal Kingdom Villas and some off-property hotels in Orlando prior to our OKW experience. First I will speak to the positive aspects of the stay. I thought the theming of the resort was very well done, with many touches that reminded me of its namesake. Our 2-bedroom villa was clean (except for some mold in the guest shower) and it had a very nice view of a waterway and a golf course. Also, I love the close proximity of parking at OKW which is similar to Saratoga Springs. The overall experience and theming at OKW is pleasant, but not awe-inspiring like some of the other Disney resorts. Now to my dislikes. We took friends with us and, to save DVC points, spent our first night in a studio then transferred to a 2-bedroom villa. Our studio was on the ground floor and was perfectly fine. Our 2-bedroom unit was on the third floor. Much to my shock and horror, we discovered that there are no elevators at Old Key West Resort!!! I don't even know how this is legal. Not only did we have to lug our baggage up and down thoses steps upon arrival and departure, but at the end of a long day in the parks I was in no mood to climb to get to my villa. I cannot imagine why nobody with DVC bothered to tell me about the lack of elevators. I was not told this when we bought our DVC points nor when we booked this trip. I was horrified, especially since we had brought friends with us to share in our awesome DVC resort experience. Aditionally, the decor and furnishings in the villas are in desperate need of updating. The beds in both the studio and the 2-bedroom were very hard and uncomfortable. Not firm. Hard, like you would expect from a very cheap, poor quality mattress.
If you like the Key West, Florida theming and if you like the close proximity of parking and if you like the proximity to Downtown Disney and if you want to be on the cheaper end of the villas, and as long as you don't mind climbing steps...then this is a good option. If you are spoiled like I am and want an elevator and a plush bed...book Saratoga Springs or another of the villa options.
 
13 out of 33 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   December 16 - December 23, 2007
Reviewer: sjsjbrook Ontario, Canada     January 27, 2008

The Hotel Theme really doesn't have a Disney look to it. However my entire family loved loved loved the resort.

We were Welcomed home when we entered the lobby. The kids were given flower baloons.

Our room was huge, which was great for our family of five. As we were on vacation, with a 4 and 6 year old, we didn't rush out of our room in the morning. We were able to have a leisurely breakfast every morning. During rest times, they was plenty of room for everyone to do their own thing.

When we went to the parks, we returned to find that the dishes did themselves (I thought that was absolutely wonderful).

They were happy to bring us a bed rail for our 4 year old who did fall out of the high beds several times our first night.

The pool staff were friendly and the pool was warm and a perfect depth for none swimmers. I got to sit on the edge and avoid going in ( it was quite cool the week we were there).

The staff here were very happy, they waved and smiled whenever they past us.

I would definately stay at this resort again.
 
22 out of 24 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
2.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.02.0/5.0   6/22/07 - 6/24/07
Reviewer: AndyMan Atlanta, Georgia     June 27, 2007
Our first time at Old Key West resort, we were kept waiting for over 10 minutes at the main entrance gate by a security person in an SUV talking to the entrance person so we decided enough was enough and drove around the guy... he came after us like we had done something wrong... we parked up to go to checkin and got an earful from this guy who said we had to show id to the security person at the front gate, we told him that he had been talking for over 10 minutes and we got tired of waiting so I went around him. I started to get back into the car to go to the gate when he said I could show him my id which I respectfully did... not a good start to the weekend! Woohoo, no lines at the checkin, this was very refreshing!

Luckily we were in building 11 which is actually close to all the amenities, it was only a 150yd walk to get to the ice machine.

The room itself was pleasant and airy altough sharing it with cobwebs was more than a little disappointing for a Disney experience. We were facing the woods and our patio overlooked the Air Conditioning blowers.

The beds in the resort appear to be 2 different sizes, the actual bed frame is about 4 inches larger than the mattress so be careful when skirting around the bed corners because the frame has a tendency to bite (got me 4 times in 3 days and my right knee is black and blue because of this)

The other disappointing thing about the room itself was the chairs (of all things)... the seat cushion seemed to be covered in that plastic table-cloth type material that always manages to cling to the back of your legs. Not the most comfortable seating when trying to login to the internet connection.

The pool(s) were easy to get to as were all of the general amenities and parking outside of the room was easily accessible and not crowded at all.

Transportation to and from all the parks seemed to be frequent and friendly be it bus or water taxi.

Overall, personally, given I could have gotten into Port Orleans for $70/night cheaper... I would say that we should have gone that route BUT we're trying to do all the disney resorts and give an overall feeling for the year.

Think we'll pass on this resort next time around
 
15 out of 46 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   10/3-10/7/05
Reviewer: coloradomousefan Aurora, CO     October 16, 2005
This was our 1st stay in a studio @ Old Key West, and WOW is all we can say!! We rented Disney Vacation Club points from a member and were told "Welcome Home" everytime we came into the resort. We also had a "welcome home" mat in front of our door. The location was unbelievable!! Our deck overlooked the lake/river and trees. There were absolutely no views of any other room from our deck and we never heard a single noise of any kind from other residents. The grounds were impeccable and the pool w/water slide just way too much fun. LOVE, LOVE, LOVE Old Key West, could not speak highly enough about it to anyone. In fact, we will soon be owners of Disney Vacation Club @ Old Key West, we just could never get enough of it! We love the secluded location which makes it so quiet, but is very central to many parks and of course Downtown Disney. Stay here, I'm sure you'll love it as much as we do!!
 
57 out of 57 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   June 6-13 2005
Reviewer: Stitch101875 Leominster, MA     July 26, 2005
We have been members of OKW since 1992 and this is the best way to see Disney I think. We usually get a studio but I have also stayed in a 1 bedroom. It is really a disney community, you can choose from 3 pools and now the main pool has the waterslide. If you are a runner it is gated and a 1.5 mile course. Golfers paradise right out your back door. I love the fridge and microwave in the studio, also w/ a coffee pot and toaster. This allows us to have breakfast in the room and then head to the park! Also to take those leftover home from dinner! It isn't noisy like a hotel since you have your own individual unit ! The buses are never really that crowded except a peak times but even then it isn't like the all star. If u are a member you get all kinds of discounts and perks!!! Highly recommended...
 
11 out of 11 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   9/19/04-9/24/04
Reviewer: kec9 Eugene, Oregon     March 22, 2005
Fabulous! We rented a studio, water view for $100/night from a DVC member. The room was perfect for 2 people, and we never heard anything after we went to bed. So quiet and peaceful....much needed after a day at the parks. The main pool was closed for renovation while we were there. but we spent an afternoon at one of the quiet pools, and enjoyed it very much. We had our own car, but used the Disney bus on a couple of occasions to go to watch the nightly fireworks. Buses were prompt, and the drivers helpful. We ate breakfast and dinner at Olivia's on a couple of occasions. Service was topnotch and food was good. All in all, a great trip!
 
14 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   January 7-12, 2005
Reviewer: jdsmichigan Grand Rapids, Michigan     February 20, 2005
This was our first time staying at OKW. We picked it because we were traveling with a larger group - my parents, sisters along with my husband and myself. We had a 2-bedroom villa that was handicapped-accessible. We were in building #23 on the first floor. The 2-bdrms are a studio and a 1-bdrm that are connected. The decor was very florida and very well maintained. My parents (first trip ever to WDW) were blown away by the size and ammenities. We loved the kitchen - had every breakfast in the room. We were able to pick up all the groceries we needed right at the resort. We also used the in-room washer& dryer daily. The room had a patio overlooking the golf course and it was a great place to sit for with your morning coffee. It was nice to have a living room to kick back in after a day at the parks. The resort is beautifully landscaped and peaceful. Not loud and busy like some of the other WDW resorts we had stayed at.

Price - We "rented" DVC points from a member which made this room $348/night. You pay a lot more for Fri/Sat. It was worth the splurge for this occasion - traveling with a group, especially with an impaired child. We needed all the extra space for her wheelchair. And it has a WOW factor for first-timers.

Transportation - We drove down in an RV but didn't realize that we wouldn't be able to park it at OKW. We had to park it at Port Orleans. So we were dependent on the buses. In all, not to bad. We only had 2 long waits during the entire trip. Never thought to ask about parking.

Comfort - You can't beat it! It will be hard to go back to a standard hotel room after this vacation.

Resort Extras - There seemed to be a lot of activities to do, even though we didn't have a chance. We did take the boat over to Downtown Disney. That was nice.

I highly recommend this resort. It was our first time at a "home away from home" resort and I would love to go back!
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
4.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.04.0/5.0   November 3-10, 2004
Reviewer: tumuluscrux Bangor, Maine     November 19, 2004
My family stayed at Old Key West during the first week of November, 2004. We stayed on the second floor of building 54 in the rear of the Old Key West property. The unit was a two-bedroom villa with the kitchen and living area.

The unit was beautiful and we loved the bright colors and sunny windows along with a large deck off the living area and the master bedroom. The kitchen was outfitted with everything that we needed, but we didn't eat in as much as we had planned. We went to Goodings, a local grocer, which is not very far away, and spent a couple of hundred bucks filling the cupboards and then ate very little of what we purchased. The most important things we bought were water and snack food for the evenings. We ended up eating breakfast at Olivia's every morning except for the two character breakfasts at Cafe May and Chef Mickey's. I had the pancakes at Olivia's and they were wonderful along with the service. More on Olivia's on the restaurant reviews.

The couch and loveseat were a little stiff as were the mattresses, but overall the beds were great. We rented the room and were not vacation club members at the time so we had daily maid service. We came to OKW expecting that we would not have maid service everyday, but we were pleasantly surprised. We have since joined the vacation club because of the wonderful stay we enjoyed.

We rented a car from Alamo while here and decided to keep it for the duration of our stay so we can say nothing about the transportation other than from the standpoint of a personal car. Although the buses were at the bus stop frequently and my teenagers used them and said they were good. Security at the resort always welcomed us home and the OKW paper in our car window allowed us to park at all the theme parks without a fee. We were able to travel to the parks in a short time and we had little trouble getting around after we got a few of the basics down. The first couple of days we made some wrong turns and had to back track, but overall there are good signage. I would recommend that they do a better job with street signs. The best signs are the ones directing you to theme parks and attractions.

We parked in front of our unit and this made it easy to lug things in and out of our unit. The pool was directly across from our unit and the theme pool was out of commission for the time we were at the property which was a major disappointment to our children. The pool near our unit, although it was small, was fun for our two small children. There was a hot tub that was great and not a bad size either, at the far end of the pool area. There are no life-guards on duty.

We enjoyed the pool even though the temperature was a little mild while we were there. There is a small play area beside the pool with a sandy area for the kids to build sand castles. The bathrooms are close and large which allows you privacy and room enough to change if needed. We went early one morning and there were a number of bugs in the pool and lizards around the pool. Shortly after we arrived the exterminator arrived and I got the idea that he was pretty busy around there.

The grounds are well maintained and there is a golf course running beside the unit. There were not a great deal of flowering plants at this time of year, but the grass was well manicured and the golf course had a mower cross it every morning. The daily 6 am mower was a little annoying, but I get up early ordinarily. The highway is not too far away and the sound was not a problem, but it was noticeable. The unit was basically quiet. I could shower and not wake everyone in the unit. The only disturbance was a family who left at 3:30 in the morning and their children banged on the handrails and jumped on the landings for about a half an hour. When they dragged their bags down the stairs it was the loudest, but it was the last. We never complained so I am not sure how security would have dealt with it.

The gift shop was what you find at most disney resorts, but small by disney standards, and they included a few food items to help you get by. You can find water, wine, beer, soda and juice or milk. There are snack foods along with frozen pizza and a few other items. You can find bread and a few baked goods along with sweet snacks too. It is like a mini convenience store.

We had several dinners at Olivia's and the chef was fabulous. Our daughter has a dairy allergy and our experience traveling has been mixed at best. This restaurant went over and above what you would expect. Turn to the review of Olivia's for more detail.

My wife and I loved the penne pasta dish with sun-dried tomatoes, although the restaurant is popular for fish dishes I was not as happy with my gumbo. I wish I had ordered the penne pasta dish a couple more times while I was there, it was wonderful.

We really felt at home here and we look forward to coming back when the pool is complete. We highly recommend the Old Key West.
 
10 out of 10 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
5.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.05.0/5.0   Sept 2002
Reviewer: shelleyg74 Biloxi, MS     May 12, 2004
We stayed @ OKW during the week of Sept 11, 2002. My husband, I, my mom and dad, my grandparents, and great aunt stayed in a 2 bedroom villa. The accommodations could not have been more perfect. We found the kitchen and washer/dryer helpful. There was plenty of room for all 7 of us. The staff was very helpful with all of our special requests and needs. There was never a problem with the buses or the wait. I would highly recommend that anyone traveling together look into staying here. The rate on the room was $289/night for a 2 bedroom villa.
 
3 out of 3 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
3.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.03.0/5.0   March3-7 2002
Reviewer: cocoabeach Portland, Oregon     April 23, 2004
Enjoyed my stay, quiet and peaceful. Sometimes the walk was too much and it was a bit too tranquil for my tastes but still nice.

Biggest Pro
I like the sense of seclusion even with lots of people and activity all around. Very nice. Well-tended lands and beautiful palms to cover the area.

Room
The room was definitely a good room. Kitchen type area was small but adequate. Very large room and a king bed. Plenty of extra room for a crib and cot too though.

Food
Since you have your own kitchen hopefully you have stocked it for breakfasts ahead of time so that you don't have to eat at the restaurant in the morning because I ate at the restaurant and it was a hassle. I wasn't terribly thrilled about the eating arrangements. The building I was at was not close to the main building and was either a wait for a transportation to go by or a long walk. I normally don't mind long walks so that wasn't an issue with me but when you want to get to the restaurant and you are hungry then it was an annoyance. Food was good quality. Again, if you brought your own food, you are all set. If not, expect to shave off an hour at the beginning of the day.

Pool
The pool was nice not much theme. Hottub was nice. It depends on your building location though too because the pool won't be right outside your room or anything.

Altogether, if your room is more of a home base and you only spend the nights there and you have your own food, I definitely recommend this. In my experience though, it was a knock-your-socks off hotel stay. I preferred water slide pools, fun and tasty food and a little more sociality.
 
6 out of 14 people found this review helpful
Was it helpful to you?  
    
 
pages:  1 2
Reviews powered by Magpie v1.06t for www.mouseplanet.com

Top of Page